The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 1,368 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Lumber sales assosicate (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON19 September 2016
the job os okey and the pay is bad
but the people i work with make it worth it
its fun to work with the guys but i sill want more from work than just this.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales representative (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON18 September 2016
starting work at 5:30 till 2:30, have 10 minute breaks every 3 and half hours and 20 minute lunch break, I learned how to manage time and handle my own responsibilities, having good conversation with my co-workers, I used the forklift to move products around.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot
Phone Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 September 2016
Home depot is a friendly environment but not a place to work for a living there pay makes u work like a slave and customer service is not professional;
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 September 2016
Great job! Been with the company over ten years. Work steady shifts Monday to Friday,one Saturday a month.Great company and managers. Great products and services.
Pros
Great company benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Tool Rental/Business Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB14 September 2016
have worked sales and with people face to face but never in a situation like Home Depot...helping people decide what they need/want, etc. They helped me move up in the company and if i didnt get the opportunity for the electrician job i may still be there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Store
Front End Service Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2016
Enjoyed working with my co workers learned a lot from customers. Home Depot definitely had great culture and spirit, made many friends and would definitely recommend a friend to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours
Shipping/ Receiving (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2016
Good hours
Good workers
Good management
Healthy working area
enjoyable experience

one of the best places for work if you need a good pay with minimal work exp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work and Opportunities of Advancement
Department Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC7 September 2016
Its a great fun and fast paced environment with placement opportunities. All the management is so supportive as well as co-workers. I dont find anything hard in this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 September 2016
Home depot is a very good place to build a career. The job is set up to help their employees balance out their personal life. Its a place where you feel at home when working. All other employees are willing to help you carry out your daily activities at work.
Pros
good working place
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, Great benefits
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON6 September 2016
my co-workers were the best part about that job they always wanted everyone to succeed and would go out of their way help,

I was part time but i got benefits that most places would only give to full time employees.

the hardest part of the job was finding the products that where still on the shelfs.

the management could have been better, there was a lot of miscommunication between management, it was mostly miss scheduled days or things being moved and no one being told where.
Pros
family freindly/ can plan your job around your life
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical shift from consulting to retail
Service Desk Associate (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke South1 September 2016
After spending almost 6 years in Consulting industry, I was very much worried to start another new career in Retail. However the experience is not at all as I was expecting. I am doing good and I can actually invest the knowledge that I have learned in Consulting. Such as, leadership, time management, work ethics. Because these are normal and easy to use anywhere. My regular day at job spends with customers and my associates. I have learned how to be polite, be patient, be fast yet be perfect. I am ready to move and continue my Consulting career where I have left, with all these learning from Retail and I am excited.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with the prospects of future advancement
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 August 2016
- great coworkers and warm, open-minded environment
- opportunities to grow in the store/ transferring to the headquarters
- comparatively low pay that is hardly negotiable
- higher salary expectations in the headquarter positions
- management is positive and very helpful in career growth strategies
- sometimes poorly administered health and safety policies (like not informing employees about harm of not wearing mask when handling concrete and not giving masks unless directly requested)
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall company but poorly managed at my location
Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 August 2016
On the whole the company was pretty good to work for but the management in place at my location was shady at best and at times, they were unethical. I enjoyed most facets of the job, but given the poorly utilized resources, unstable work conditions and unclear expectations, it became clear to both parties that I would be better suited elsewhere.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB26 August 2016
A very nice and friendly co - workers. Providing good hours and free treat with co - workers. Intelligent easy job and very accurate job. I've learned to be accurate in things and be specific. The hardest part of this job is only when you encountered a problem with your friendly customer. The most enjoyable of this job is being around with friendly people, providing and supporting me for giving me a good hours and encourage me to keep on some of my talents.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant atmosphere
Special Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON25 August 2016
Worked in "Special Services" dept, served customers in person and on the phone whose orders were incorrect or unavailable. Phoned customers when their orders arrived, recorded daily sales, expidited items for orders and inventory.
Pros
Staff was amazing
Cons
Company relied too much on computer numbers and not customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company depending on the management team per location
Operations (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS24 August 2016
Great company depending on the management team per location.
Could be the best or worst of working environments. Way too much freedom of management types left unchallenged from outside of each location. The concept of the Home Depot culture is great and if followed was a wonderful work environment.
Pros
Excellent culture and great employees.
Cons
Managemnt styles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
phenomenal place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ON20 August 2016
I love working here as I love dealing with the public and the fast paced environment. My co-workers and direct management are incredible to work with.
Pros
benefits, incentives, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Electrical sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 August 2016
i am happy to work with home depot. really good place to work. enjoy with coworkers, good chance to work with people from different countries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place
INBOUND-OUTBOUND SHIPPER& RECEIVER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2016
getting recipe and mixing ingredients
cleaning dishes
sanitization
filling up the empty bins with product
washing and moping floors
the management was good and the CEO openly visits the production
Pros
free cookies cakes pastries coffe
Cons
too hot and no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 August 2016
Wonderful workplace with readily available associates eager to please customers. It feels rewarding working for a company so passionate about genuinely making customers happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 21,333 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7