The Home Depot Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 1,273 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
District HR Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 13, 2016
Flexible work environment, great values, great people, challenging bur rewarding. Culture of giving back, opportunities to grow and advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great workplace for startups
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 5, 2016
A very friendly working environment with many advantages and various things to learn for our day to day life.
The management is very supportive and helps with all our queries and resolves ant issues regarding our work if any.
Pros
Success Sharing
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, especially for students and Part-Time
FLOORING ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONJuly 21, 2016
Good Support and job Culture. Managers and supervisors are really helpful. Training you can use for other trade jobs. work days are not too long and supervisors take time to properly train each associate with almost professional precision.
Pros
easy work, hour launch
Cons
none really for the type of job
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant atmosphere
Special Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ONAugust 25, 2016
Worked in "Special Services" dept, served customers in person and on the phone whose orders were incorrect or unavailable. Phoned customers when their orders arrived, recorded daily sales, expidited items for orders and inventory.
Pros
Staff was amazing
Cons
Company relied too much on computer numbers and not customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting company
Lumber Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 17, 2016
staff is amazing, always friendly and willing to give a helping hand. Management seems to not care about you. Customers can be a pain.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive nights, and long hours.
Freight Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBApril 26, 2016
5 days a week, 8 hours a night, I worked night shifts, every day of the week, including weekends. Co-workers were well informative, and very helpful. I learned it is very important to stay on task, and do your assigned job, as instructed to do so, without any complaints. It is important to keep a positive work attitude, and stay on track with your hours, if not, it could affect you in the long run.
Pros
Lunch Breaks were good
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work environment
Conseiller en vente (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QCJune 22, 2016
I enjoy every day at work, the colleagues are all fantastic insofar as the way they treat each other. The management team listen to employees complaints and try their best to change things, the main bonne of contention is the salary, which, according to many co worker and i is low as compare to the competitors.
Pros
free dinner once a month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSNovember 13, 2015
Decent benefits, nice coworkers and good customer service. It's very hard to get fired though and that can be a problem with bad coworkers who have a negative effect on the work atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun with the supportive Teams
Merchandiser Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMay 22, 2016
-stocking product to shelf so customer can buy their needs, i learned that no matter what customer is always right and you have to value their opinion,the management is good too.very supportive to the employee to the work standard,the team is very supportive o each other,the hardest part of the job is is you have to get up so early to work,i always enjoy with my job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what was promised.
Contractor Services,Estimator (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSMarch 17, 2016
Full time hours,no benefits.Have you work full time and keep you on the books as part time so they do not have to give you benefits!~
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Home Depot
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ONMay 2, 2016
The Home Depot has taught me diversity, time management, leadership, and independence.

The hardest part of the job was learning and remembering all the different departments and merchandise that comes in each said department.

The most enjoyable part of my job was definitely the customers. Home Depot has some of the most loyal, honest, kindest and understanding customers I have ever witnessed out of all my years in retail.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Excellent Customer based.
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONAugust 9, 2016
A typical day consisted of loading assistance for customers, directions of store, minor store cleaning, clean up of parking lot and organizing of shopping carts and special carts, order picker. I learned excellent customer service and communication skills, very friendly work environment with fair management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homedepot Review
Freight (Overnight) Associate (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONMarch 3, 2016
Great work experience and terrific staff but the consistency in the hours were not accurate. I would be all over the place with scheduled hours.
Pros
benifits
Cons
random scedual
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hd
Assistant Manager, Operations (Former Employee) –  parry soundMarch 2, 2016
very demanding for management employees but financially rewarding. Strong customer service focus at all levels. Component managers but very focused on sales at the store level.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got paid to chat about decks
Building Materials Department Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 30, 2016
Learned about different home projects and how to do them. Co-workers were friendly while management pushed for results/seemingly were unaware of how the employees operated in store during work (disconnect b/w sales floor associates and mgmt)
Pros
Good People
Cons
alternating schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt alot from the Pit of Sharks
Pro Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONFebruary 28, 2016
I used to call the Pro Desk a pit of sharks cause the Pro Desk Associates were always so serious... but that was until I was sent to work there, they turned out to be nice friendly sharks. They were vegetarians. I have learnt so much from them, Cause they shared their information and experiences with me. I didn't think I could learn so much information at once, they made their work and knowledge seem so easy and that they were their forever. Thank you Guys at the Home Depot at 7011 Pro Desk Guys/Sharks, but nice.
Pros
Friendly Customers
Cons
Not enough Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 12, 2016
It was a basic retail job. Nothing special. Management was friendly but not extremely reliable. Shifts were horrible though due to under staffing.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Electrical Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 1, 2016
I learned much about electrical equipment and how to assist others with their problems. I also learned a great deal about the electrical code and how to explain electrical code to customers
Pros
good colleagues
Cons
not the greatest management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity in the work place
Merchandising Execution Team (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJune 23, 2016
Love that this company hires a wide variety of employees with different ages, ethnicity, beliefs and backgrounds

Worked with most immediate coworkers for 5 years resulting in some amazing life-long friendships
Pros
Competitive full time benefits
Cons
Merchandising team was hard to advance in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'll Be Chasing That Twinkie Forever
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Millstream, VictoriaApril 7, 2015
Management leads its associates on forever telling them they'll get more hours, a raise, more training, but it never happens. When they do want you to train they make you train while your on the sales floor but if you miss one customer they poo all over you.
Basically they feed you a bunch of sugar coated lies and then when you show initiative and or when they feel they could have someone else in that position at min wage you get the boot for whatever reason they choose. Employees start out happy but end up very bitter and depressed from working there.
Pros
$5.00 Lunches on Fridays
Cons
Managment that cares only about themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 19,956 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7