The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 1,678 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work depending on your job
Freight Associate, Cashier (Current Employee) –  Pembroke, ON10 May 2017
Home Depot is a great place to work if you work in the right department and have a good supervisor. You get benefits as a part timer. You get an yearly raise. Hours can between 20 or less to 30 all depending on what department you work in and how many call ins you get.
Pros
Benefits as a part timer, Yearly raises
Cons
Low Hours, inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 May 2017
Work days vary to how busy store is.
Always stay calm when dealing with problems.
Slow periods are most annoying.
Always enjoy busy busy times when there is a constant flow of customers and questions !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with friendly staff and support.
Department supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 May 2017
Busy fast paced workplace. Lots of training. Friendly management who supports their staff. Hours can be hard as they change from day to day. You can do anything throughout the store as long as you keep busy.
Pros
Many BBQ's and pot lucks.
Cons
Hours can take a toll on you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working in garden center/outdoors
Seasonal/Electrical Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 May 2017
Arrived at work- Made sure shelves are stocked, Helped customers, cleaned up work area.
Management was always available for quesitons/concerns.
Loved working with other employees.
Hardest part was dealing with demanding customers who were yelling at me or my co-workers because we ran out of something that was on sale.
Loved working outdoors in the garden centre.
Pros
working outdoors
Cons
long hours on my feet
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Instructional Designer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 May 2017
Great Company ...i highly recommend Home Depot..great benefits and work life balance...Management unfortunately wasn't that great but the company was such a good company you end to overlook it.
Pros
Work Life Balance
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON4 May 2017
all the staff were very helpful i worked on 4 month contract i did my level best at work got a lot of appreciation from customers but at the end of contract i was removed from job .Some departments have some heavy work, the workplace culture is very friendly very good benefits for staff like discounts etc good place to work on permanent basis
Pros
good discounts
Cons
heavy work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Job
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON4 May 2017
Very physically demanding, team-driven job. Great job when working with a productive team. Very knowledgeable staff, willing to share experience and support home-improvement projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room for advancement if one applies themselves.
Assistant Store Manager (HYPO) (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON4 May 2017
Interesting environment to work in. Good management team that recognizes good effort with opportunity for advancement. Pay structure is positive. If one is flexible, success can be yours.
Pros
Busy environment with always something to do.
Cons
Tough to balance work expectations with customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Équipe dynamique
Caissière et service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Boisbriand, QC3 May 2017
journée de travail variable,,
bonne collaboration entre les employés
Pros
bonne ambiance de travail
Cons
horaire variable
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON3 May 2017
The people who worked here were very professional and good to work with. I learned alot about working with people and team building skills. The management here was very good and fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 May 2017
Overall, I enjoyed working at home depot, it was fun, exciting and you are always learning new things about products and customers. Management was amazing there and your overall day goes by fast
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
not enough hours or room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
building materials associate (Current Employee) –  Leaside, ON3 May 2017
Great place to work, and learn everything about building materials, and customers service. Update yourself with anything you need to know about construction or renovation
Pros
Great Place
Cons
Tought environment in terms of dealing with contracters everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & friendly place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 May 2017
The managers and associates at Home Depot Morningside make each day fun and exciting. The managers try their best to make sure each associate is safe and working in a happy environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK3 May 2017
very good staffs and management, with proper planning and putting customers first, making sure the work is done properly and the customer goes home happy and satisfied
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and informative workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON2 May 2017
I have learned many skills and product information during my time as a sales associate at Home Depot. Each day there is something new I can learn about a product from looking it up on the website or from customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place of employment
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ON2 May 2017
A wonderful environment with extremely friendly people. I've learned a lot about being a cashier and met some extraordinary people. The hardest part is not knowing a barcode, but that's okay. Sometimes the customers will help you out, but your head cashier is always there!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal place to work
Cashier / Flooring associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 May 2017
if you have time for a temporary work go ahead and apply to the place to work really good for students or people who are retired and want something extra to do on a daily basis
Pros
lots of breaks
Cons
grumpy customers if you dont know the answer to their problems
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse employer with opportunities for advancement
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 April 2017
Lots to learn and possibilities for advancement. Benefits for part-time and full-time employees, and flexible scheduling. It is a good job for students.
Pros
benefits and flexible scheduling
Cons
working every weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people in a safety minded enviroment
MET Associate (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON29 April 2017
I worked within the store for a only a short time and left only due to lack of available hours. However, during my time of employment, I enjoyed the team I worked with and liked the mindset of the management team and my fellow co-workers. They are very safety oriented and the job wasn't the most physically demanding that I've had, despite the number of heavy objects/products.
A place I would work in again.
Pros
Great co-workers and management
Cons
customers do have an expectation of being skilled in home reno
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low wages, zero training
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 April 2017
Very poor training involved, After their "training period" you were told to go on the floor and I had no idea or direction as to what was expected as well as very low wages
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 26,469 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7