The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 1,766 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, reasonably good perks but weak management.
Overnight Freight Associate (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC8 July 2017
The co-workers are nice and helpful. Management takes care of employees by arranging lunch or other stuff once a week. Managing decisions, however, are weak and instead of resolving problems people pass them down to the next shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive work place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 July 2017
Great leadership team
Good benefits
Room to advance and succeed
Ever changing goals and strategies
Education subsidies and school tuition reimbersement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some managers suck
Associate (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON8 July 2017
Went through quite a few managers and some of them sucked. Basic retail job, got moved around too much. Took experts out of their departments and put them in areas they had no interest in.
Pros
Pretty good benefits
Cons
Typical retail, hardly any full-time positions ever came up
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours given are not what was promised at interview
Paint Associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON8 July 2017
I was looking for part time work and was not wanting to work every weekend because I had other obligations, this was discussed during my interview. The schedule was as discussed during training but once the honeymoon was over so were the required shifts. I also found management very cliquish and did not hesitate to show who was their favourites. The job itself however was fun and I really enjoyed the customers. The training was decent as well.
Pros
Training
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enough
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 July 2017
Decent place, many coworkers often skipped shifts leaving the blunt of the work on your shoulders. Decent pay, and coworkers who did attend were very friendly and helpful
Cons
Unreliable coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnpeg6 July 2017
They provide lots of training with pay. They also teach to operate different equipment like forklift. Busy on the summer season and you will learn different home improvement products.
Pros
Provide training and development
Cons
Weekend work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier and customer service rep
Cashier and Customer service (Former Employee) –  North whitby6 July 2017
The workplace was good. I was cashier and customer representative there. They laid me off after Christmas holiday. I didn't have job security. Since it was a part time I don't have any benefits. I learned a lot about how to handle tough customer.There is nothing to learn in that job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellente école de vente
Associé aux ventes (Former Employee) –  Boisbriand, QC5 July 2017
Home Dépôt a été une excellente école pour développer ma confiance et mon professionnalisme face aux besoins de la différente clientèle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 July 2017
Good start for the beginners as it provides perfect work exposure and environment. The company gives everyone their workspace and flexibility to share their thoughts with management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going, Friendly Co-workers, Great Enviorment
Cashier, stocking, customer service (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC5 July 2017
Lots of chance to grow within the company. Home Depot is like a family and helps you if you need it. Great benefits for full or part time workers. All positions are paid over minimum wage. Management is super friendly. Hardest part about working there is when customers are in bad moods, which you can not help sometimes
Pros
Benifits, Free food on stat days
Cons
Sometimes you're short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Merchandiser/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 July 2017
I enjoyed my last position there as a Merchandiser but decided on a Career change. Decided to go in to a different area of work and to go back to school to upgrade my skills and knowledge.
Pros
Profit Sharing
Cons
More flexibility to Part Time Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Merchandise Associate Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB5 July 2017
Overall a wonderful place to work, low pay but the benefits compensate somewhat make up for that. Its a family atmosphere. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros
hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tres bien
responsable du shipping ( nuit) (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC5 July 2017
j'ai quitter pour avoir un travail avec plus d'heure et meilleur salaire
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good place to work
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 July 2017
good place to work with really good benefits. the pay is not that good. the place gives a good chance to employees to progress and understand any personal problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Inbound (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 July 2017
A good work environment, which help built my discipline with hours of rigorous lifting. Would recommend it to anyone. Great benefits, breaks and people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place if your a student
Cashier and Tool rental associate (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB1 July 2017
flexible and accommodating if your in need of a second job. It is a wide diverse working environment. Culturally respectful and on going. You can begin at one position and develop in the hierarchy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at the Home Depot was a pleasant one
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC30 June 2017
I learned a lot about teamwork and customer service at Home Depot. The management is very customer oriented and my fellow associates are friendly and hardworking. I'm looking forward to using these tools at another great company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment.
Seasonal Night Crew (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON29 June 2017
I enjoyed my time here, the environment was great and I personally enjoy working on a night crew. I was well suited to the job and would consider something similar.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and team environment
Hardware and delivery associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC29 June 2017
working as part of a rewarding team environment, with a good boss, and being productive was all part of the job at Home Depot. I enjoyed the people I worked with, and always felt like I had accomplished a lot at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company in every way
Overnight Floor Stocker (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON29 June 2017
Home depot is without doubt one of the best companies I have ever worked for, they provide you with a very good and friendly work environment that teaches you good professionalism and work efficiency. Home depot truly cares for their employees and truly does care for your best interest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 28,239 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7