The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 1,364 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Working Environment
Bookkeeper (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 November 2016
Working at this company has been quite a rewarding experience. I have developed strong customer service skills. Management at The Home Depot is somewhat good, sometimes a lack of communication between associates and management can be the most difficult part of my job because when there is no communication, it creates a stressful work environment.
The most enjoyable part of my job is working with my co-workers. They are quite a helpful bunch of associates. Also, sometimes we would get free lunches. So, it's nice to feel appreciated!
Pros
Free Lunches/profit sharing
Cons
Stressful environment and poor communication between management and associates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 November 2016
It is a good place to work. The management is good except sometimes it's hard to approach. but otherwise, they are ok. The associates are very nice and friendly except for some but I guess that's normal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fun working in your dad's favorite store
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 November 2016
Home Depot was a fun place to work. The advancement opportunities were there and I was encouraged every day. Everyone seemed to love their job and open communication was present almost every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON13 November 2016
The Home Depot actually cares about it's people.There's lots of incentives and rewards for going above and beyond. They are very open for movement within the company. Overall a fabulous environment and family to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kitchen designer
Kitchen design and flooring specialist (Former Employee) –  Sault-Sainte-Marie, ON10 November 2016
designed kitchens and baths, Also specialized in flooring and installs, in-store blinds and special order. Daily customer service . Team work and organizing product within the store
Pros
always meeting new people and helping out with customers projects
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people and great benefits but not a great working wage
Appliance sales specialist (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON10 November 2016
too many issues with certain department supervisors who leave their work for others to do for them... the real workers do the brunt of the work and the department supervisors reap all the benefits.
Pros
add-ons
Cons
wage
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great, safe place to work at
Special service associate (Current Employee) –  6725 104 st edmonton ab9 November 2016
The Home Depot is great working place. I work with great team, i receive great support form my management team. We have very good benefits, work is very safe.
Pros
great team
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a ok place to work as long as you are not in lot.
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK6 November 2016
The home depot is a good place to work as long as you are not in lot if you are in lot you will work in the blazing hot sun all day wile lifting very heavy objects and be treated like garbage the whole time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace lots of nice people
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON4 November 2016
lots of job openings great hours
lots of help with the carts and customers
amazing work experience loves how the employees did everything as a team
a home from home work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON2 November 2016
i was in sales for 6 years with this company. I found it that I didnt have much of a life with the hours I had to work, other than that it was an ok place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to work at
Customer Service/cashiers (Current Employee) –  1983 Kipling avenue1 November 2016
Great opportunity to work at
Great opportunity to learn
about what the company can offer
Good benefits and values
More career opportunity
Busy work place
Company took care of their people
Respect others
None races
Pros
Profit sharing, salary increase after reviews
Cons
Minimal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contineous Workplace Training
Customer Service Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 October 2016
As an associate in Home Depot, I am required to know the store layout, location of merchandise and services in store by providing friendly and courteous customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON31 October 2016
I loved working there, the people were great. The management was good but we didn't have a store manager for a while. The money was not bad, but i left and then came back the next summer and they tired to lower my pay. I got the hours i wanted and i had opportunities to move up.
Pros
hours
Cons
money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Special Services & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON31 October 2016
nice place to work. Hours can be hard depending on your lifestyle. Most people are nice. Some are rude. Management needs improvement.
Pros
gh hfgh fghfgh
Cons
hgfgyf
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience
Tool Rental Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 October 2016
Worked as cashier . Leaned to handle cash at a fast pace. enjoyed interaction with customers. Leaned a lot about the products. Also worked at returns area. Leaned to be observant.
Pros
liked the environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Orangeville, ON28 October 2016
This is a good part time job. However hours are limited in the winter months Coworker are excellent to work.
Customer interaction is excellent part of the job.
The training is provided however more could be done in this area.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad of a work day if your not in need to pay bills
Sales Associate level 2 (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB28 October 2016
The job itself is not too bad and the manager are not the best but they are good at what they do. Your hours can get cut but they will do what they can to improve them. You sort of get the chance to pick your own wage but has long as you have long experience of working in sales. But they do not increase your wage that much and you get arise once a year, you basically have to relied on profit sharing which I find is a joke for the company to not pay you more money and everyone seems to be convince that it is the best thing but its not which means you have to hit target each day that you are here. Be aware of lot of change when you come to work here.
Pros
Free meals once in a while
Cons
Have to relied on profit sharing a lot to make money
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping customer do it yourself.
Lumber Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 October 2016
Loading, shipping, cutting materials, and customer service.
Holding do it yourself seminars on a weekly basis.
On the job training everyday or when needed.
Pros
Team socail events.
Cons
Outside / Weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well rewarding entry-level job.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON25 October 2016
Though the job can get boring at times, and the pay is lackluster at best, the job itself and benefits are good enough for an entry level job. The issue I have with the job is that I came to it with 5 years of experience in my field, and I was not given any form of pay raise for that experience, though I consistently outsell my quotas.
Pros
Good benefits, relaxed environment.
Cons
Boring tedious work, lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
valuable experience
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 October 2016
learned the standard procedure of cash check out,gained experience to avoid shrinks, fun to wok in a team, supportive management, resulting to gain more experience in different departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 21,285 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7