The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 1,760 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot was a rather enjoyable workplace.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK3 August 2017
Getting in contact with the managers was hard, especially when dealing with a rude customer who insists to see the manager. other than that i enjoyed being a cashier at The Home Depot. I would asked to be filled in for the lot associates often, that was probably the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
free bbqs during long weekends
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chilled place
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC3 August 2017
Good place and chilled people.
Everyone was nice and it was calm.
There's always free food and celebration for one thing or the other.
A lot of chilling time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC31 July 2017
Home Depot is a great company to work for and I am proud to have spent the last 11 years working for them. Starting as a cashier and working my way up to assistant store manager has been so rewarding and I am forever grateful for my experiences.
Pros
Management incentive program
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Electrical/ Plumbing Associate (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB31 July 2017
I enjoyed working with my customers and educating them on anything that may have needed and how to use a certain product. The staff for the most part worked as a team and would help other associates with customers needs.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
Concrete floors.Hard on the knees and back
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON29 July 2017
Friendly staff
happy clients
pool table and free coffee
i learned how to use a cash register and how to do gift registery for clients.

There was no hard part in this job
Pros
free lucnhes
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Night Freight Team Associate (Current Employee) –  Shawnessy, AB29 July 2017
Its nice to work here.. its fun its good all the co-workers are kind, helpful, approachable even the management is very nice.. they are all nice here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
sales associate (Current Employee) –  London28 July 2017
the people i work with were awesome , management was ok, but overall the whole job experience was pretty good. I would recommend working here for anyone looking for a decent job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet alot of nice people
Tool Rental Associate (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB28 July 2017
Great place to work. Very accomodating to individual needs. Train their people well. Safety is their first priority. Respectful employer, do not discriminate.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, earned a pay check.
Overnight Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB27 July 2017
Long hours, some of the best people I ever worked with and built friendships with were fellow co-workers and supervisors. I do have a personal beef that I did not like that I will voice. To save money the management decided to cut costs by removing overnight staff and forced them to sign a contract saying they will get a large wage cut per hour, lose all benefits even though you were a full time employee already receiving them and have your hours cut from full time hours (40 per week) to under 20 hours as a part time worker during the day. They forced several people to sign this contract or were to be fired on the spot. A majority of the staff that had this happen to them quit and never looked back. This has left a very bad taste in my mouth with that company for the bonds and camaraderie of professionalism I built up with staff was a high light of my time spent there. It was sad that this event took place but I do thank the company for allowing me the opportunity to save up money to buy my vehicle that I am currently driving today.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning enviroment for drivers
Overnight Freight Associate (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON26 July 2017
While the associates are great people, the management doesn't seem to care about the associates. "If I fired everyone here I could have 50 new people in here tomorrow."
Pros
Fellow associates are great people.
Cons
Long Hours, Very little flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skill Development
Full-time Lumber Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 July 2017
The Home Depot allowed me to earn income while I was in the process of competing my undergraduate degree. Allowed me to develop my customer service and time management skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, great staff associates
Merchandising Execution Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON23 July 2017
Your MET team makes your experience at Home Depot worth while. While in MET with Home Depot worked with a great team who had each other's back and helped with lifting or big projects. Fast paced, interesting but LOTS of cleaning bays and seasonal displays!
You never stop...low pay for job requirements!
Pros
Great team, interesting work, learn many skills
Cons
Low pay, management on you all the time!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne embiance
Associate (Current Employee) –  Greenfield Park, QC22 July 2017
Très bonne endroit pour travaillé ,
Bon avantages
Camaraderie
Pros
Bonne valeur
Cons
Loin de chez noi
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time for students
Hardware Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 July 2017
They got me through financially while I was a student in Winnipeg, Canada. Great workmates and I really enjoyed the interaction with customers, as well as the challenge of dealing with the "not so happy" customer.

Picked up some great work skills as well.
Pros
Great work skills, workmates, super-flexible hours
Cons
It was cold, really cold during Winter months
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mainly dealing with customers
Sales associate III Tool Rental (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 July 2017
Being at the home depot is a okay job
for the most part its dealing with customers and heavy / light construction machinery .
mainly just dealing with customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible
Lot Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 July 2017
Home depot is a good place to work at. The managers are really nice and HR is very easy to talk to as well and very flexible with availability and booking days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Tool Technician/In-Focus Team Captain (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2017
This is a good job if you are a semi retired contractor or tradesmen. The pace is reasonable, hours are ok, and they are located everywhere. Management is well trained.
Pros
hours
Cons
customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salary is very low in the Home Depot
Kitchen Designer (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON17 July 2017
work benefits are very good, but for those who needs it.
sometimes it is laborious work, always working and walking on the hard cement floor, and the environment is very dry, may be for the building materials. The hardest part of the job is nasty customers who know that they can complain to the manager anything they want, they lie and manager will try to make customer happy by any ways, some customers want to take that advantage!
The most enjoyable part of the job is we can learn a lot of things.
Pros
learning many things everyday.
Cons
very poor salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Freight Team Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 July 2017
A typical day at home depot is really exciting but also tasking.. I learnt how to prioritise things working for homedepot as well as customer satisfaction
Pros
Continuous career development
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about the working world from here.
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 July 2017
Learned lots from the diverse range of employees working there. Managment makes every employee feeled valued and gives them the tools and power to succeed.
Pros
treated with respect among all employees
Cons
short contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 28,103 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

81%
8,717 ratings
Add your rating