The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 1,680 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON13 June 2017
in order to gain any respect you need to work hard. You must comply with Home Depot standards and promote the credit card and survey endlessly.........
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop experience with dealing with customers
Tool Rental Associate/ Sales Associate III (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 June 2017
Untrained management was probably the biggest downfall, i learned many things, especially how to deal with unruly customers and how to pass on knowledge i had learned at the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter or retired job
Lumber associate (Current Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC12 June 2017
simple enough place to work. Managers want to push goals and achieve many things but don't provide the staff to do so. You can easily find yourself getting overwhelmed doing many different jobs with many responsibilities the ore you learn at the Home Depot. Becomes a burden while you are being under paid and under valued altogether. There is space to move up in the company but it's hard. May take a long time as much as they may make it seem difficult. It requires no professional background or degree to move to a high position. You can learn everything you need to just being an employee.
Pros
Free meals once in awhile
Cons
Under paid/under valued
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time spent with Home Depot
installer 3DIF (Former Employee) –  Okanagan, BC12 June 2017
I have found in working for this company that there are excellent people hired on the whole and are open to learning more about there position and customer service
Pros
excellent culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pays little and expects a lot
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 June 2017
Always disorganized with schedules and short staffed. Expects a lot for very little pay. Communication in the store is awful, different managers would tell you different things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time only
Delivery Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 June 2017
i would not recommend working here full time the pay is not there, part-time i would since its very easy work to help balance out a busy schedule for extra money.
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going nowhere
Cashier and Tool rental Associate (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON7 June 2017
Didn't advance in job. I enjoyed those I worked with in the department. Enjoyed working with the customers and tools. However I was wrongfully dismissed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limité professionnellement
Représentant (Former Employee) –  Granby, QC7 June 2017
Poste idéal pour personne retraitée ou besoin d'un second revenu.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting and helping people
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 June 2017
Great way to meet customers and help them fulfill their ideas and dreams. Plenty of chance to learn new things, Hard work, definitely not an office job.
Pros
working with professionals and learning new things
Cons
long shifts, very demanding physically
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
flooring specialist (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK6 June 2017
Was a great working environment for the most part. I had a great relationship with my customers , had good knowledge of products which company supplied the training for. Hours were reasonable and suited my life style.
Pros
Great work team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot
Escalation revolutionist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 June 2017
Very stressful environment management sucks and the play favourites. Not a very good overall rating but they do have good benefits package and bonus at end of year
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Terrible amount of stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it an ok place to work
Appliance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON6 June 2017
good company , fun, learning many things there , the management team could be more clear on a few things and be on the same page as each other, store needs more communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is nice place to work
Merchandiser Execution Associate (MET) (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK5 June 2017
People are nice environment is good, but it is hard to get promotion as management promote there favorite most. steel toe shoes hurt alot but there insurance plan is great
Pros
nice people, diversity
Cons
standard salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
LUMBER SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Orleans, ON5 June 2017
Great place to work, great training, low pay for the amount of physical work you put in. No extra pay for learning to use heavy equipment (I.e. Reach truck, forklift, etc.)
Pros
Decent management, great training and coworkers
Cons
low pay for physical labor and knowledge of heavy equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 June 2017
It was a good part time job. the management was amazing and very accepting of whoever you are. As a Transman I have a hard time telling employers my preferred pronouns, but everyone was so cool about it.
Pros
great staff
Cons
sporadic hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an OK place to work
Seasonal Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 June 2017
The Home Depot is an OKAY place to work, if you are okay with not being recognized for the work you put in. Are payed less than a lot of the work you put in, and don't plan on moving up
Pros
Friendly People
Cons
Bad Hours, Not Recognized for the work you do as a lower associate, overworked compared to pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and creative workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK5 June 2017
Regular process of scaning products
friendly customer service
application for credit cards
participation in different activitiessuch as health and safty projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customers very much culture priority
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON5 June 2017
the learning was around home improvement and how to build and create new projects with the customer

Most enjoyable part of the job was customer engagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Merchandiser at Home Depot
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Landford BC5 June 2017
I start work at 9 pm with rally- meeting to go over company safety and work for the night, followed by stretching. I work on major projects and resets. I remove old product and clearance product and add new product as per planogram. Sometimes this requires to change elevations of steel or add steel beams to the bays. I build displays vanities, toilets, many lights including wiring. I also organize the product, packdown to fill the shelves, replace all price labels on big projects, and sequence the bays. Sequencing is the order in the computer that products go as per the planograms. I work until 7:30 am with a half hour luch. Monday-Thursday nights.
Pros
Enjoy the people at my store, Love my job.
Cons
Long nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but not the greatest.
Tool Rental Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 June 2017
Fun to work when you get to know your colleuges. Despite the odd bad customer you can always vent to someone and they will know where you're coming from.
Pros
Benefits for part timers. Free lunches, great Christmas parties, fun events, and alot experience life and work related, from the old timers that have been there for a while.
Cons
Departments are not always fully staffed so you might have to cover, pays not the best, depends on the store but management can be backward sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 26,550 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7