The Home Depot Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 1,269 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company depending on the management team per location
Operations (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSAugust 24, 2016
Great company depending on the management team per location.
Could be the best or worst of working environments. Way too much freedom of management types left unchallenged from outside of each location. The concept of the Home Depot culture is great and if followed was a wonderful work environment.
Pros
Excellent culture and great employees.
Cons
Managemnt styles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
phenomenal place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ONAugust 20, 2016
I love working here as I love dealing with the public and the fast paced environment. My co-workers and direct management are incredible to work with.
Pros
benefits, incentives, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Electrical sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBAugust 19, 2016
i am happy to work with home depot. really good place to work. enjoy with coworkers, good chance to work with people from different countries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place
INBOUND-OUTBOUND SHIPPER& RECEIVER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 17, 2016
getting recipe and mixing ingredients
cleaning dishes
sanitization
filling up the empty bins with product
washing and moping floors
the management was good and the CEO openly visits the production
Pros
free cookies cakes pastries coffe
Cons
too hot and no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 15, 2016
Wonderful workplace with readily available associates eager to please customers. It feels rewarding working for a company so passionate about genuinely making customers happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for long term goals
Front End Associate (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ONAugust 15, 2016
The home depot- Front end Associate position is a long hours and tiring position.
there is no job security.
More of the political environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Great Management
Freight Associate (Former Employee) –  Orleans, ONAugust 15, 2016
Home depot is a good company with a great Management Team and very understanding Management Team. I enjoyed working with them and would love to go back if they hire me again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Associates and customers
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Langford, BCAugust 14, 2016
A great group of associates with a willingness to help each other.

Customers are without a doubt my favourite part of working at the Home Depot. I enjoy helping people and sharing my product knowledge.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disliked
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, ABAugust 14, 2016
Being lot associate is a joke for the pay they give you, better off working at tims or mcdonalds, at least they're somewhat nice and decent management.
Pros
Decent lunchroom
Cons
Everything about the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, Management sucks
Electrical Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 11, 2016
Pretty easy customer service job if you know what you're talking about otherwise you're boned cause the training is completely insufficient, the value put on being part of a team is excellent and actually up-holded in there, other low level employees are all nice and tend to want to help you, management on the other hand looks for any screw ups so they can boot you out the door cause the less employees they have on at the end of the "Season" the more money management gets as a result. There were people in there that they wanted gone so they suspended them for being a minute late 3 times in a week, which according to policy they can do but you also have to clock in with everybody else at that exact time so it's kinda hard core if they want you gone they will find so many reasons you literally can't do anything.
Pros
Part of a team, great customer service experience
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work but some miscommunication between managers causes confusion on a daily basis
Order Picker (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, ABAugust 11, 2016
Typical day at work is usually fairly busy. You learn to prioritize your time according to your daily tasks that are given. The hardest part of the job is the general lack of communication between departments and the manager. For the most part it is a good place to work, especially if you are seeking part time employment .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and Secure
Paint Associate (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCAugust 10, 2016
Work at the Home Depot for 3 years now it is a stable and secure work environment. My fellow associates are good to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
home depot its a student job
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCAugust 10, 2016
you'll build your communication skills, customer service skills and there is more thing you will learn day by day . the team I had was a great team really helpful .
Cons
8 to 5 are the long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Electrical/Paint Department Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ONAugust 10, 2016
Work was only busy during the summer. Management was always changing. Had to leave because of lack of hours, even though sales were great in my department.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
No reconition and lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Excellent Customer based.
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONAugust 9, 2016
A typical day consisted of loading assistance for customers, directions of store, minor store cleaning, clean up of parking lot and organizing of shopping carts and special carts, order picker. I learned excellent customer service and communication skills, very friendly work environment with fair management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Hardware sales associate. (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 6, 2016
Wonderful place to work. They really care about there associates. The training is very in depth and detailed. All management is very good and fair. They try very hard to get everyone involved in outside activities and I feel that is very good.
Pros
Wonderful place to work everyone is very close.
Cons
Cement floor, dealing with angry customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New management made it very difficult to work
Time management/Team management (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONAugust 4, 2016
Employees were expected to be available 24hrs a day 7 days a week and start times changed day to day (no shift work could start at 6am on Monday and 2pm on Tues)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ONAugust 2, 2016
This was a great company with flexible hours. Management was nice, and they work around your schedule for students well. It teaches you great customer service skills.
Pros
great peopl
Cons
Very hard for growth with in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with some fun people
Merchandise Associate (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ONAugust 1, 2016
I didn't work for home depot for to long, so I cant really give a full on review but what I do remember is the focus being on great customer service and depending on what brand you where working with, it being more or less tedious.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and challenging
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ONJuly 29, 2016
receive all the merchandize (dry walls, lumbers, plumbing ,etc.) from the trucks by driving the forklift and organize them in stock pile.
the hardest part of my job is the night shift that starts from 10 to 6:30 am.
the most enjoyable part of my job is when I fulfill all my tasks on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 19,911 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7