The Home Depot Employee Reviews for Cashier

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON2 January 2018
home depot offers great benefits to employees. Part time employees are eligible for benefits. Company shares are offered. Company will work with you on availability
Pros
benefits for part time
Cons
open early closed late
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work with great mind but pay is very low
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC13 December 2017
I am working here and started as lot and cashier . It was good place to work in . Then they taught me departments and I started getting shifts but i was still on paper i was lot associate they were not able to find someone for lot so they kept on using me even when i was working as sales that was ok for me i love to work but at basic pay i dont think its worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 December 2017
Friendly staff, and very nice work environment. Management is always changing, which can be both good and bad. Both part time and full time staff receive benefits. Students are able to apply for tuition reimbursement. Pretty lenient on taking time off. Overall, a good place to work.
Pros
Free food during meetings
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and inclusive workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON12 December 2017
Being in school full time management allowed me to have a very flexible schedule. Along with that the company really cares for everyone and it really.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, challenging workplace
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON29 November 2017
Dealing with customers and their purchases and displaying great customer service to everyone.
Interesting and diverse people to deal with.
Continuous training through monthly INFOCUS computer courses
Pros
Meeting diverse people
Cons
Challenging people to deal with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB26 November 2017
Not much to say it is your standard retail job. Co-workers are nice and the managers do friendly competitions with prizes to help staff get motivated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
CASHIER (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 November 2017
Productive and fun workplace great employees friendly bosses giving rewards for good work allows to feel appreciated. celebrating national holidays in every culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 November 2017
It was really good experience working there. lots of defriend work experience in one store. I was really lucky to be part of their team. They have a good management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work culture is great
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 November 2017
great work culture - many courses offered - sound management team - on-job training - celebrations by department - team builds - community events - fundraisers
Pros
numerable celebrations by management
Cons
fluctuating hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 November 2017
The Home Depot is a great place to work especially if you are a student looking for a part-time job. The associates are all very friendly - very welcoming environment and family oriented.
Pros
Lots of Free Food
Cons
Poor Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 November 2017
The staff was very friendly
Sometimes complting transactions was difficult
Managment was friendly
long hours were worked but managers understood if u were a student
Pros
pizza party
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON31 October 2017
Very well organized store, Management was great and very understanding when needed days off, paid training and a simple training guide they used to teach us.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well established company with multiple avenues for advancement it knowledge
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC11 October 2017
This company opened the door for me to return the work force. They are well structured with many avenues to pursue if you wish to advance your existing skills or to learn new ones is you are able to be flexible to their requirements. They have great benefits with the ability to change them if your life changes. They have many flexible shifts to accommodate a number of lifestyles and disabilities. There is a great inclusive work environment where everyone tries to support each other.
Pros
Benifits, pay, structured work shifts, variety of hours, great work enviroment
Cons
you need to be very flexible to move up into management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversified workplace.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 September 2017
The good place to work as a part-timer, but not for those who need to earn a living. The management is good as they valued diversity, everyone is fairly managed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an interesting experience
Cashier, Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC11 September 2017
This was a seasonal job on a casual basis, although my offer of employment letter specified part-time.

I learned the layout of the store, and how to operate the particular brand of Point of Sale registers.

The hardest part of the job was spending hours on my feet wearing steel-toed boots.

The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with my co-workers.
Pros
My co-workers
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ON8 September 2017
Great company, I would recommend for anyone who's interested in the tech industry and loves a company who cares about its employees. Great benefits and company culture is top notc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 August 2017
The workplace culture at The Home Depot was great. The co-workers are very friendly, and always willing to help. Management is great as they understand people make mistakes and try to help each and every person help.
Pros
Good job culture
Cons
Long training period
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON30 August 2017
This was a great place to work and only left as a job opened in the field i am pursuing as a career. Unfortunately they would not hire me back even though i didn't call in sick, took extra shifts etc.
Pros
welcoming
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome people to work with
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON29 August 2017
There are some people you serve that will probably annoy you but you learn to smile and be polite with a smile to help them as best you can even if you don't know where everything is
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is like being in high school again.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC18 August 2017
This was a pretty good place to work my first few years there, but then management changed. As head cashier was promoted to supervisor, all she cared about was how fast she could climb that ladder to success. Cashiers were left without a supervisor as she was never around and began to bicker and step on each others toes trying to be the boss that wasn't there. Room for advance was nil unless you wanted to wait 10 years or more to move up.
Pros
benefits and flexible schedule
Cons
lack of supervision, management has favorites
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 32,723 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7