Find companies:
The Hertz Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
978 reviews

The Hertz Corporation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at all as advertised. Poor customer service and poor employee treatment.
Counter Sales Representative (Current Employee), Tampa International AirportSeptember 26, 2014
You are lucky to have the rental car you reserved. Unfortunately I am the messenger of bad news way too many times and sometimes there is no vehicle at all, let alone the one you wanted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits with opportunity for advancement
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Carmel, INSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: working hours
Cons: management and tense working environment, conflict in ethical values
Working for Hertz was my first career step after graduation from Anderson University. I enjoy my time at Hertz at first but really started to see how that business was really opperating. Because I was doing so well at my first location, I was transferred to another branch to help them raise their sales numbers. I was the top sales representative with – more... this particular branch but was being asked to perform unethical tasks, some of which started at the first branch I was at. I did not agree with the tasks being asked of me and knew that I did not need to do these tasks to reach my sales goals. Some customers actually asked to always deal with me when coming into our office. That showed me that people did notice and appreciate my customer service. I decided it was time for me to step away from that particular company since my beliefs and values were being jeopardized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Colleagues to work with
Location Manager (Current Employee), Greenwich Village, NYSeptember 24, 2014
• Assist Customer Sales Representatives with conducting calls, emails, faxes, group rentals, processing voids, payments, and in preparation for Platinum tier members.
• Attend daily conference calls with Manhattan operations team to discuss increases in Net Promoter Score, Service Revenue, Specials needed to accommodate upcoming clients, and encouraging – more... vehicle accuracy.
• Submit Shift Summary Reports, Inventory, and Reservation Manifest using Hertz program and Intranet applications to determine the needs of Manhattan Hertz locations, reviewing the returns and rentals on a daily basis for distribution and fellow city operations team.
• One on one coaching sessions with Customer Services representatives conducted 3 times weekly, to improve Net Promoter Score and Customer Satisfaction.
• Arrange appointments for customers in rent to buy program and with third party insurance claims. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Merger that should have NOT happened!
Express Rental Agent (Current Employee), Boston, MaSeptember 23, 2014
It was an enjoyable job. but then the merger happened and we were a car rental company without cars
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for starting, horrible management
Branch Manager (Former Employee), North Salt Lake, UTSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: its a job
Cons: long hours, bad middle management, bonus performance is a joke
There is a lot of incentive at the start of working for hertz, but the VERY long hours and lack of compensation are very apparent. You are thrown into the deep end and there is training that is provided but at most locations you will not have time to actually study. Most locations I worked with were criminally understaffed and overworked. Never take – more... the leap to being a manager either. Middle and upper management cares more about having all day meetings than actually running the offices. Bonus structure is horrible and often not paid for months afterwards – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, Diversified
Counter Representative & Sales, Vehicle Sevice (Former Employee), FloridaSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: free disney pass
Cons: layoffs
Airports are fun to work in, different customers coming in and a few locals. Hertz has a lot of locations. I started in Illinois it felt like a family, franchises are fun but corporate is different . Opportunity to work in different states and different positions. Best part of my job was the Manager we had at my latest location before the merger with – more... Dollar. She always worked her butt off making place run smooth always helping us out when things were crazy. The hardest part of the job was the merger that caused my location to close down .The new manager they brought in to replace her that KNEW NOTHING about our location. The location went straight down hill from there. Then layoffs hit ! VERY Sad I really loved the place before merger : ( – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A big agency!
Employee (Former Employee), Cagliari, SARSeptember 19, 2014
Hertz is knewed in all the world! For that was a big pleasure for me to work with this company. My main responsability was make contracts for the customs and give them the card that they rented. My manager was super cool, with him i can talk very easy and he undestand my problems. I liked very much work for that company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good times
Transporter (Current Employee), Brook Park, OHSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: well knowen company
Cons: it's cold outside
drive a new car. take a dirty car over and bring a clean one back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working from home was a plus in the beginning-you get cabin fever after a while
Reservations Agent (Former Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: helping the customers.
Cons: working from home was no longer fun.
A typical Day at Hertz was all about utilizing Excellent Customer service. Hertz Customers were looking for the best vehicle at the best rate to accommodate their travel needs.

I learned that the customer is always first and they deserve to be treated in a respectful way.

Multitasking on my computer was a big part of my job also. I learned a lot working – more... there. I actually learned a lot about the United States and the different personalities of each region of this country. It was a lot of fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job sucks but its a good resume builder
Assistant Branch Manager/Manager Assistant (Former Employee), New Orleans, LASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: learn a lot about selling, resume builder, get to see and drive the latest cars
Cons: never fully staffed, low pay, upper management for the most part sucks, work very long hrs
It's a good resume builder for those who just graduated college. Other than that it sucks. There is never enough associates, so you have to work twice as hard, which is not a problem but when you don't have any cars to do rentals. It freaking sucks. It like your getting yelled at all day by people. It just hard to do you job to the best of you ability – more... when you don't have the bare necessity(cars) to do you job. On top of that you really do not get paid good money – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hertz
Rental Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ontario, CASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: long lines
Cons: fun perks
good place to work, I just recently Moved.
Learned lots
good place to work, I just recently Moved.
Learned lots
good place to work, I just recently Moved.
Learned lots
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding company most of the time
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Lynbrook, NYSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: competitive environment with advancement
Cons: long hours, a lot of customer issues
Great job to learn sales, customer service and management skills. hardest part of the job is dealing with multiple customer issues every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hertz
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Snellville, GASeptember 15, 2014
A typical work required the manager and employees washing and vacuuming cars, while trying to rent the cars as well. The company cut expenses by having the managers and employees do the work of a wash tech while wearing dress clothes. The location was not a very safe location. The staff and customers was the most enjoyable experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Coordinator (Current Employee), Swords, DublinSeptember 14, 2014
I learnt a lot of things day after day.
After more than 6 years in Hertz I worked many jobs such as call center agent, credit controller, collector and coordinator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgraceful
Branch Manager-Trainee (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CASeptember 12, 2014
Pros: learned to love any job after this one
Cons: i can go on....
Stuck drying cars with napkins, basic humans needs not available such as toilet paper and paper towels, I brought my own. Another new employee and myself were stuck running the entire branch. We coordinated reservations with vehicles that were a to struggle to find and often had to ask other branches for vehicles. I now understand why they were hiring – more... for the position, this location was found in Southern California. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Player
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Enfield, CTSeptember 8, 2014
Exceptionally detailed, organized, and goal-driven professional with experience in claims administration and regulatory compliance, coupled with superior communication and interpersonal skills. Demonstrate strong ability to adapt with technology and workflows, as well as proficiency in working in a fast-paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has a lot of potential
Branch Manager (Current Employee), CaliforniaSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: honestly, just the potential commission
Cons: lack of personal life and pay increase.
The Hertz Corporation is not a bad organization to work for. Upper management is definitely disconnected and the culture needs to change. This organization is heading in the right direction to catch up to Enterprise, but they need to rectify the high turnover rate immediately. Overall, it is a C- in my book.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very team oriented, poor starting pay
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Marlboro, MASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: team environment, good management experience
Cons: long hours, poor pay
Company fosters a very team oriented environment, promoting from within only. Poor starting pay, and very long hours. Good management experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse Job that I ever had.
Manager Trainee (Current Employee), CaliforniaSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: a lot of overtime.
Cons: too much overtime, low pay, not being aware of employee satisfaction, high turn over rate
I enjoyed the people that I worked with, but the company has the worse business structure that I have ever seen in all my years of working. They express to you to rent cars but, don't provide the cars for you to be able to say yes. You try to get help to get cars and they tell you that they are on the way, but don't receive cars until hours later. If – more... you are not part of an airport location you are stuck renting cars with high mileage and stains that are all over the cars. They tell you to get cars detailed but you have a limit on how much money you can spend on the cars getting detailed and then realize the limit cap barely covers the car getting wash. The make promises to different accounts that they have gain and expect the counter employees to carry on with their promises when we don't have the tools to do so. The turn over rate is so high that everyone is working 50+ hours a week and being told that they can't take time off yet because they need to hire more people to accommodate for it. There is no support at all from upper management. Dealing with the stress of the job and going to guidance from a Branch Manager and seeing that they are trying to get the same support as you. Every employee is always tired,stress or broke and are always trying to find something better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place for starting you career
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), MalagaSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: fleet problems, unfriendly customers
I've been working in Rental companies for the past two years but Hertz has proved to be the best so far. The working enviroment is great, as well as the organisation and the training they provide you before you start. Furthermore, it is great for starting your career as you get to learn how to treat customers but you also learn computer skills and car-related – more... stuff. Really glad to get the opportunity of working in this company. – less

About The Hertz Corporation

Hertz operates its car rental business through the Hertz, Dollar, Thrifty and Firefly brands from approximately 11,555 corporate – Read more

The Hertz Corporation Photos