Find companies:
The Hertz Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
738 reviews

The Hertz Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people not management
Sales Coordinator (Current Employee), Columbia, SCMarch 10, 2014
Pros: getting to work with people.
Cons: management, pay and no incentive for hard work
Typical day is to do two job titles, Sales and Shop supervisor. The most I learned was how to look up help from the intranet provided by hertz. Management for lack of words is nonexistent. There was no guidance or help. They try to be your best friend but they are just sharks in the water. Co-workers are great. The hardest part of the job was doing – more... two jobs and only being compensated for one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hertz Corp
Purchasing Card Administrator (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMarch 10, 2014
Pros: location, in building cafeteria
Cons: bonuses were only at director level, benefits were subpar
In my position there was a lot of freedom to do my job with minimal supervision. I was able to run with my own ideas and there was not a lack of listening of ideas. The room for advancement was reduced because of cuts in the company as well as management not leaving current roles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible job
Manager trainee (Former Employee), Foley, ALMarch 7, 2014
not enough pay for the jobs they expect of you to perform. They were a very unorganized poorly run organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Environment
Branch Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Waukegan, ILMarch 7, 2014
Pros: the time and a half
Cons: hours, management, no at home life
They made me work a minimum of 60 hours a week, force my fiance to work and drive other employees around in our personal car with no reimbursement. I was doing the job of 3-4 employees while my manager sat on his but, didn't let me doing any of the sales and made my girl & I do everything. He kept me out from 7:30am - 10om -12am with my fiance as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and productive atmosphere.
Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Miami, FLMarch 6, 2014
Pros: sharpens multi tasking and service skills.
Cons: face to face complaints.
If I were to sum up in a phrase what a day at Hertz local edition is like, it would be “fast paced.” There is so much going on at once and one really has to be on their toes to be a productive member of the team. I have gotten plenty of training with management and service based selling. Most of the job is simply finding solutions to obstacles that – more... come up threw out the day and satisfying customer needs while meeting office goals. I am blessed to be part of an office with great characters from the branch manager all the way through the utility; it really makes a task easy to tackle when you have reliable people on your side. The most difficult part of the job is having to juggle cleaning the cars and running the office when understaffed. The most enjoyable part of the job is the satisfaction of solving issues when resources were limited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome employee discount
Management Trainee (Former Employee), Harriman, NYMarch 6, 2014
worked 6 days a week. hated having to wear a suit just to clean a car
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not ranked 4 th worst for nothing
Sales and Service Representative (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVMarch 4, 2014
Pros: nothing good
Cons: no life, no pay, jut aggravation
The company is like a rudderless ship with Captian Crunch at the helm. The company could actually be a great company but the leaders at the top are only looking out for themselves. They are graet demotivatiors losing top people becasue they just do not care. The goals that are set are unattainable and even if you could get to them have been capped so – more... as to limit their exposure just in case.My advice to anyone is to run away and fast. It is not a learning experince just a waste of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Manager, Web Content (Current Employee), Park Ridge, NJMarch 4, 2014
Pros: summer hours, casual fridays, gym
Cons: heathcare
I've had the pleasure to work for Hertz for 17 years and along the way was fortunate enough to move up the corporate ladder with great bosses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMarch 4, 2014
Always out of the office was fun
great managers
realiable vehicles
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very informative work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Romulus, MIMarch 3, 2014
Typical work day included assisting customers with rental, problem solving, answering telephones, filing customer documents. I gained more tactful customer service skills, how to multi-task, and manage customer conflict. My co-workers were reasonable and easy to get along with. The hardest part of this job was getting angry travelers to their rental – more... in a timely fashion. The most enjoyable would be seeing the customers smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMAZING JOB!!!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), OKLAHOMA CITYMarch 2, 2014
AMAZING JOB GREAT BENIFITS JOB SECURITY ANYONE WOULD BE OUT OF THERE MIND TO ACCEPT A JOB THROUGH THIS EMPLOYER AND QUIT..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced enviornment
Location Manager I (Former Employee), Denver, COFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: company vehicle
Cons: no breaks, long hours, constant face to face complaints, no upper management support
Hertz is not interested in Customer Service. The overall impression is to do more with less which causes managers to work 12-14 hour days by no default as it is no fault of their own. There is no balance for personal life and the overall need to serve the customer is very minimal. It was difficult to look a customer in the eyes and explain a 2 hour – more... wait for a vehicle when upper management simply over books reservations for revenue and utilization purposes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sunrises and camaraderie are a great start to a day
Transporter (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 27, 2014
fun to drive up to date vehicles ,although you are exposed to all weather conditions .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Part-time Translator (Former Employee), AthensFebruary 23, 2014
I was a part-time translator for the company Hertz. I worked when needed to translate e-mails or other documents from English to Greek. I would work from home, and usually had a dead line of 3-4 days since given. It was a very good company to work for the employers where helpful and it was a rewarding job, to learn to work under pressure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment
Manager, Branch (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAFebruary 21, 2014
drive all kinds of cars
meet diverent people everyday
fun co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Car detail (Former Employee), Port hedlandFebruary 21, 2014
did car detailing from 6am-2pm
Worked Monday to Saturday
Had a great Team and Great manager
Had to get the cars cleaned and washed each day
Drove cars from wash/cleaning bay to airport pick up location
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 to 13 hour work days
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee), Pasadena, CaFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: going home at the end of the day
Cons: really !?! everyrthing, pay was insulting, washing cars in a shirt and tie, everything else
I worked Monday through Saturday all the time, weekdays were generally 12 or 13 hour days. I learned early on that in order to avoid Physical confrontations with the Branch Manager never ever ask for a Saturday off. my day would typically start at 6:30 every morning, It would usually be myself and the porter who would open the Branch,check and make – more... sure what little cars were there were rent able and clean.Branch Manager(BM) and other employees would get there when they felt like it ,and this is usually while having to deal with rentals and returns, answering the phones, getting the porter to go pick up customers at local body shops Then when the BM did show up he would usually bring up some B.S that took place the previous day. The environment was usually tense and stressful. Most Hertz employees smoke or drink or both, I can see why. I felt like an overall degenerate subhuman while working for Hertz. Having to force useless insurance on a customer who is having their rental car paid for by an insurance company still to me makes no sense. Chances are when a customer has their vehicle in a body shop to begin with they probably aren't to happy to be renting from Hertz anyway...Bottom line if your a RECENT college grad and if you cant get a job anywhere else then I would say try Hertz, otherwise KEEP LOOKING ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Sales and Service Associate (Current Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: good discounts
Cons: no breaks
i mostly like to drive the cars, the customers just like any other place can be very rude, but it's ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meet new people
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), West Chester, PAFebruary 19, 2014
Assisting customers working with coworkers to have inventory
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job!!!!
Home Sales Representative (Current Employee), Home sales agentFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: short lunches, high stressful job!!
Constant changes... very very stressful you are required to make sales goals which can't be guaranteed because your can't make individuals rent a car when there are several other rental companies that have much better rates.This company always try to make you sale additional services which most customers are not going to want because hertz rates are – more... most likely always the highest on the market.Management can be very downward because their jobs are at risk and stressful as wells, if their teams aren't meeting monthly goals!!! They give you vacation and sick days which can be very difficult to take because time taken is based on seniority, and if you don't use the time by the end of the year you lose it which you most likely will because you want be able to utilize it. Only good thing about this job is working from home! – less

About The Hertz Corporation

If you've ever said, "Don't worry about it, it's just a rental," guess who hurts: Hertz, a world leader in car rental. On its – Read more

The Hertz Corporation Photos