Find companies:
The Hertz Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
824 reviews

The Hertz Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place
Global Marketing Intern (Current Employee), Park Ridge, NJJune 18, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
The pace is very fast at Hertz, however you do learn a lot because you're exposed to many different tasks and projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced busy company
Assistant Management (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 17, 2014
Pros: relationships between staff and customers
Cons: driving to multiple places in short periods of time
There was never a dull moment. There were a lot of customers and cars to care for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is my review
Reservation department (Current Employee), Swords, DJune 17, 2014
Pros: no free launches
Cons: we do long hours
I arrive at work at about 20minutes before to start, so I can open all programmes that I need and to be ready to log on on the phone at the right time. The hardest part is when customers don't undestand for example all the requirement they need to rent a car, so being calm and with patience I explain what they neccesseraly need to rent with hertz. The – more... most enjoyable time of the job is when we do team briefing with our team leader and assistent team leader, that's the moment when we can share suggestions, ideas with my collaugues and we get to know each other and be a a part of team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed cars at several other locations as well as Portland
Receptionist/ detailer / courier / chauffeur (Former Employee), Portland, VICJune 17, 2014
Pros: getting to drive all the new types of cars
Cons: very low income
Booking out cars, returning cars, relocating cars. Keeping cars presentable ( washing and vaccuuming) for the next booking. Meeting prospective hirers at the airport. Paperwork submitted correctly.
Flew to Mildura (head office) for further learning at times.
Most enjoyable part of this job was the driving and the hardest when trying to relocate cars – more... and having to find drivers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little piece of Cassandra's troubleshooting skills
Roadside Assistance Agent (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 17, 2014
Pros: management was always on your side. and the tools we needed to find customers was always there.
Cons: there were 3 company layoffs while i worked there
A typical day at work for me is to clock in,clock into the phones and help customers that have become stranded in our vehicles. The hardest part of the day is that they call very irate that they have spent a lot of money on the car and now there is something wrong with it. I enjoy the irate people because I explain to them wherever there is a problem – more... there is a solution. So the first thing I would do is brainstorm, "how do I get these people back on the road in a timely manner and not ruin their vacation anymore than it has been. The best part of the day is that we have Hertz locations everywhere, and it only took a phone call to have a to service there to change a tire, or give a jump start. Or a locksmith to open the vehicle, or also Hertz employees to drop off another vehicle. I also had the power to compensate part or all of the rental depending on the experience they had. Anything to keep the customer from going to the competition. Management was always there to back you up if there was something that just couldn't be done right then and there. i.e. the time of day, or where they were located. I did everything in my power to take my cases on personally and to turn my irate customers into smiley faces at the end of the call.Another hard part of the job was to educate the client on Hertz policies and procedures when the insurance was not bought. So setting those expectations were a little tricky, but I always wanted them to be advised so there were no surprises when the vehicle was returned. Clients appreciate that. I would love to share my experience and help a company grow with my foot in the door and my chance to show my skills you will see the changes as we grow together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible business that refuses to innovate or accommodate its workers
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), novatoJune 15, 2014
Pros: overtime hours
Cons: everything else
too many hours. not well organized. extremely high turnover. low compensation. coworkers were mostly nice and understanding. way too much driving for a manger job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Environment
Branch Manager Trainee (Current Employee), houston, txJune 11, 2014
Pros: decision making
Cons: inconsistency
• Supporting achievements of location sales and margin goals.
• Ensuring positive customer experience, making Hertz #1 in car rental company experience.
• Achieving individual sales goals and customer service goals.
• Growing sales utilizing business-to-business sales tactics.
• Support branch’s business plan by assisting the Branch Manager.
• Upholding – more... company standards by ensuring cars are presentable to customers.
• Reviewed and processed expense reports.
• Served as a point of contact for billing resolution as well as collections.
• Process electronic billing (EDI) for project billing accounts as well as third party expense billing.
• Maintain financial records, other records, and data entry.
 Maintained accurate accounts receivables including cash, inventory, prepaid, fixed assets, expenses, accounts payable, accrued expenses and line of credit transactions.
 Assist with month-end closing and reconciliation – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company with good co-workers
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Conroe, TXJune 5, 2014
Pros: closed on sundays, company car, good benefits
Cons: run out of cars too often, pressure sells per upper management, rule changes of how to rent a car by upper management way too often
good company with good benefits. upper management needs to listen to employees more about the changes being made that hurst potential rentals. Have to cancel reservations for customers due to running out of cars
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working outside in the summer is awesome.
Shuttler (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJune 4, 2014
All I do is drive cars back forth, very easy. Hardest part of the job is working outside in the winter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well rounded team
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Lahaina, HIJune 4, 2014
worked very well together. Where one lacked, another picked up and succeeded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job itself is easy, the management made it unbearable
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 4, 2014
Pros: tons of overtime, great bonus check for selling upgrades
Cons: management is uneducated and inexperienced, co-workers are not supportive and gossipy, most overtime is mandatory and short notice
Worked 4pm to 12am (sometimes to 4am if a flight was late). Loved the hours. Learned much patience. The customers are incredibly rude. I had never experienced such attitudes and I have owned 2 businesses. The management is awful. They either started as counter service reps or worked the fleet and somebody just lucked out and got moved into a management – more... position with NO experience. Hardest part of the job was having customers and no cars available and management making excuses over and over. Continually running out to the garage to check for keys with customers standing in line getting more and more impatient is unacceptable. Co-workers...the night crew didn't like the day crew and vice-versa. Lots of gossiping and charging customers for additional items they didn't approve.
The bonus pay was great! Loved working overtime when notified in advance. Many times overtime was mandatory and little to no notice, the schedule would just be changed. Can make a nice monthly bonus selling extras at the time of rental (and yes it can be done honestly). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible workplace
Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJune 3, 2014
The company is so unorganized and every day we would be running around like we had no idea what was going on. Totally unprofessional. Terrible trainers if you would call them trainers....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for co-workers but no real work/life balance
Manager Associate (Former Employee), Hicksville, NYMay 31, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: not much work/life balance.
The company itself is not a bad one to work for if you plan to move up quick. They have a set management structure that is followed with very large demands set for employees. As a company you are helped if struggling. Overall they state one thing and do not follow through with it. Expect to work 5-10 hours on average more then whats said upon hiring. – more... Usually a work week was around 50-55 hours per week during day time. As a company, they run very short staffed to cut corners which as a result increases customer complaints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scrambled
Management Associate (Current Employee), North AuroraMay 26, 2014
Pros: trying out all new cars
Cons: not having enough cars
There isn't such a thing as a typical day in the rental car industry. Every day there's a new challenge to over come. Whether it is finding a specific vehicle or figuring out how to get a car back to rent-able condition in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving with Hertz
Driver (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 26, 2014
Pros: hours are totally flexible, you can work as much as you want up until 30 hrs, you get to drive awesome cars back and forth, and enjoy a discount when renting.
Cons: no health benefits, no extension on hours so no overtime, the mandatory shifts in order to remain employed, and the long hours you can put in without realizing it.
Overall Hertz is a great part time position because it suits your needs and pays decent. The people are friendly and the job is simple. Take care of the cars you drive and make sure you follow the law while driving. Be prompt with pick ups and deliveries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a Job
LOCATION MANAGER (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 21, 2014
Pros: free car
Cons: long work days, un-organized environment
Very demanding because of the lack of organizational structure within the location. Too much is required from a manager where too little is given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee), Warwick, RIMay 21, 2014
Pros: become a jack-of-all-trades
Cons: long hours, a lot of stress
They work you hard, but if you put in the work you get a lot out of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an awesome expanding company to be apart of!
Rental Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 21, 2014
It was an awesome expanding company to be apart of!The company was very enjoyable , the training was very reliable. The pay & the benefits were amazing as well as the people who worked there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Utility Worker (Current Employee), PhoenixMay 21, 2014
Work with a great team, Practice my customer service skills daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great to meet new people and learn skills
Gold Choice Representative and Transporter (Former Employee), Austin, TXMay 21, 2014
Had fun at work once I got there and got moving. Not every customer is happy but sometimes the little things you do canturn their day all the way around. I learned a compassion for people.

About The Hertz Corporation

Hertz operates its car rental business through the Hertz, Dollar, Thrifty and Firefly brands from approximately 11,555 corporate – Read more

The Hertz Corporation Photos