Find companies:
The Hertz Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
875 reviews

The Hertz Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual, fun environment
Sales Rep (Former Employee), Rock Springs, WYAugust 4, 2014
At Hertz Rental i sold rental agreements, detailed and cleaned vehicles. Management was horrible, but the co-workers were great people. I learned basic sales skills and also a few computer skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the customers and transporting various vehicles.
Transporter/Driver (Current Employee), Absecon, NJAugust 4, 2014
Pros: meet diverst customers and driving different vehicles.
Cons: low pay and no need for retension.
I enjoy the daily experience of transporting vehicles to various locations and the communication with customers. I learned the safety guidelines outlined with Hertz. My co-workers helped teach the meaning of teamwork and togetherness in finding locations and assuring safe deliveries. The hardest part of the job is accepting the low wages for the amount – more... of responsibilities. The most enjoyable part is having happy customers and dependable co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and family oriented work environment
Driver (Former Employee), Riverside, CAAugust 4, 2014
Hertz Equipment feels like a small knit community where everyone knows their job, but is willing to lend a helping hand in many other areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers that work as a team
Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Anaheim, CAAugust 3, 2014
My typical day at work consists of making sure the customers needs are met. I rent, return, and wash cars as well as picking up and dropping off customers. I am also in charge of all the office work that takes place in the office. I enjoy working with all of my coworkers because we all work as a team and help each other out. The hardest part would be – more... the difficult customers but I have learned how to help them and make sure they leave happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only care about the bottom line. Very long work days.
Management trainee (Former Employee), LouisianaAugust 3, 2014
Pros: co worker made the day better
Cons: long hours, under paid hourly, unorganized
The company was not my cup of tea. Rude customers and management would run or not be there when you needed them to be. Co workers were great. It was a very unorganized and chaos everyday. I do not recommend this company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This position taught me how to really manage people.
Station Operations Manager/Shuttle Bus Manager (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLAugust 2, 2014
Pros: bonus potential
Cons: long hours
This was the toughest job that I really liked. The knowledge I gained helped me to become a better person. Also, the benefits were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good job
Gold Choice Counter Sales Rep (Team Lead) (Former Employee), Newark, NJAugust 2, 2014
Employer does not value its employees. Daily changes that are not followed by management, even they are unaware. Very unprofessional. Low wages and benefits packages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
counter sale rep (Current Employee), Warwick, RIJuly 31, 2014
knowledge obtained is transferable
uncapped commission
great company to for room to grow within and there always looking for employees that want to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST JOB I'VE EVER HAD!!!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 31, 2014
Pros: there aren't any
Cons: no breaks, long work days, extremely low pay, management are idiots, lack of communication, no cars to rent
Stay far away from this company. They tell you that you can make $45k a year when you start but that is a lie. You will have to work 60 hours a week but they take a hour away from you a day for a lunch that you rarely get to have. The management is the worst that I have ever seen in a business. There are never enough cars to rent to people who have – more... reservations. This leads to customers screaming, swearing, and getting angry with you over something you have no control of. My advice would be to stay away from Hertz unless you're desperate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Area Controller (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJuly 31, 2014
Not my employer by choice, but the time there was very beneficial in terms of learning the corporate world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has no regard for employees
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 31, 2014
Pros: lower level management and employees easy to work with
Cons: upper level management only cares about sales numbers, region grossly unorganized
The GM of the region refuses to hire an area manager so the stress is trickling all the way down to the drivers. Management is completely unorganized and does not communicate between each other, so employees are made to move around the region constantly to account for the massive under-staffing due to employees constantly quitting or being fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer Service (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: great
Cons: lots of paper work in the beginning....
its great the employes are a great group of people to work with...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience at Hertz
Location Manager (Former Employee), Baltimore Washington International, Hanover, MDJuly 30, 2014
Pros: company car, special privileges and authority, promotes within, very diverse
Cons: long hours, can be overwhelming at times, constant staffing issues
Each day has its own personality and challenges both expected and unexpected. Great job if you're a people person and can remain calm and profession when an angry customer is screaming and everyone wants something for nothing. You must be everywhere at all times... very demanding (especially when understaffed). I've learned quality sales techniques, – more... how to coach and develop low performers/ new personal, how to manage a high volume operation, and became a customer service model. Co-workers.... OK, a couple of them. Employee's are great although there's a high turnover rate. Most enjoyable part of my job is the satisfaction after solving a complicated issue and seeing the development of employees. Overall i am unsatisfied with my experience there. Politics and profit, in or out, lazy or busy, very dysfunctional in my opinion... At least Hertz has the bigger and better fleet compared to the competition at BWI. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They do have nice cars
Counter Rental Agent (Current Employee), Denver, COJuly 29, 2014
Pros: stable company
Cons: n/a......element of surprise
Every location is different. ..so favorable responses will vary one thing company wide is that its run by investors......
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work setting
Flexible Service Representative (Former Employee), Fairbanks, AKJuly 26, 2014
When applying for Hertz i knew it would be different than any job I had previously worked for which I was looking for so i could obtain new skills. I learned the different computer programs and was able to help customers in some cases very hard times of there lives.
My manager was awesome and super supportive and I felt comfortable talking to her and – more... asking her questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job afforded me the opportunity to meet people for all walks of life
Gold Choice Representative and Transporter (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 25, 2014
Pros: all gold card represenative are required to wear uniforms.
The hardest part of this job was the schedules during my last year of college.
I really appreciated meeting some of the most interesting influential people traveling to Austin. I meet a Country Western singer and he remembered my name on his second visit.
I was able to help one customer find her remote control 24 hours after turning her car in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Costumer Service Representative (Current Employee), Casper, WYJuly 23, 2014
fun people to work with the pay is good considering you make commission. everyday is new and fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviroment
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TexasJuly 22, 2014
Pros: free gas, and work car
Cons: long hours
Great co-workers with the opportunity to grow within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established Corporation with Opportunity for Advancement
Former Employee (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 22, 2014
Pros: working with a diverse group of coworkers and customers.
Cons: fast paced, stressful environment, could work evenings, weekends, or holidays
I do not have anything negative to say about this company. The company is a great training ground for anyone who wants to be in management in the customer service industry. Even if a person works here and decides to move on, they will take with them many skills to carry on for a lifetime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40% off all rentals, supervision is minimal
DRIVER (Current Employee), Charleston, SCJuly 20, 2014
Pros: 40% discount
Cons: benefits, pay, 30 min lunch
Pick what cars are needed for that day to be rented. Learn the classifications of that vehicle and how to prep and clean them. Management is learning to be all on one page so everyone knows what's going on. Most co-workers are fun to work with. The hardest part would have to be the weather, could be 110 degrees one day and the next, it can be pouring – more... down rain. The most fun part would have to be driving new vehicles and testing them out first hand. – less

About The Hertz Corporation

Hertz operates its car rental business through the Hertz, Dollar, Thrifty and Firefly brands from approximately 11,555 corporate – Read more

The Hertz Corporation Photos