Find companies:
The Hertz Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
979 reviews

The Hertz Corporation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a seasonal job I did in the winter for several years.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Gunnison, COOctober 24, 2014
I would open in the mornings and get everything situated for the days rentals so I knew what times and places we had reservations, then I would go out the the garage and wash and detail cars while waiting on flights and reservations. I learned a lot about customer service and meeting different peoples needs and requests by talking to them about there – more... plans while having a rental car like where they were traveling how much luggage how many people what type of equipment they had as far as skis, snowboards, golf bags ect. in order to give them the proper vehicle to ensure a worry free experience on their trip as far as the rental car goes that is. The staff was small just me my manager and one other employee we all worked together great. The most enjoyable part of the job was not always being at the counter being able to go out and wash cars throughout the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zurich Airport
Temporär Mitarbeiter (Former Employee), Zürich, ZHOctober 24, 2014
Pros: free coffees are available
Cons: yes
Renting and Returning of reserved cars in Zurich Airport.I have learned how to Rent a car for our customers. The management is good and some what organized. The hardest part in the job was check in cars alone in the peak times. The most enjoyable part in the job is meeting lot of customers in the different part of the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked at a Hertz Car Sales lot with 2 sales people and myself.
Secretary - Part-Time (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FlOctober 23, 2014
As a secretary, I handled files on customers' purchases, filled out test drive forms, typed information on titles and such, drove cars to the airport and back, picked up mail from the airport, and went to Department of Motor Vehicle for registrations and tags.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work, decent company
Transporter, Return Representative (Former Employee), reno, nvOctober 23, 2014
Working as a Transporter at Hertz is one of my all-time favorite jobs. driving cars and getting paid can be pretty fun. Unfortunately, the pay is minimal, only part time, and no benefits.
The biggest problem with Return rep has little to do with the company: the customers, but what are you going to about them right? other than that it was decent pay, – more... benefits and hours for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training and development
Location Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 21, 2014
Running each and every day as the ring-leader of a 10 ring circus sure can teach you how to juggle - with finesse! Good company, good people, not so great at the top levels - as in wall street issues and bonuses not getting paid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Place to work
Manager/Senior Pricing Analyst (Former Employee), Estero, FLOctober 21, 2014
• Performed profitability and revenue analysis by location, channel, segment, product, and equipment group and made recommendations for improvements to both develop and perform monthly market share trend and reporting analysis. This analysis was the support for price increases of up to 100 basis points over budgeted price.
• Created Regression Models – more... that used Macro Economic variables which identified and examined geographic markets and regions, competitor pricing, and overall business trends in relation to pricing. This reporting provided the sales force the data needed to maximize pricing on specific pieces of equipment.
• Proactively Analyzed historical data associated with rental location pricing, contribution margins and utilization rates to evaluate past and current profitability scenarios to maximize profitability. Produced and distributed these location performance and benchmark reports on a monthly basis.
• Developed ad hoc complex reports and analysis using data warehouses which were used for deep dives on profitability, sales effectiveness and other key operating metrics at a granular level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days, unorganized management, not what it looks like type of job.
Branch Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 19, 2014
Pros: benefits, occasional awards
Cons: long 8+ days, no organization, no management.
Had I known that this position dealt with long hours (11 hours a day on average) for 5-7 days a week, I would have never taken the job. You are forced to do things, without proper tools and sometimes training. And for this position, if you do not make sales after a specific time period you get fired, yet this position is supposed to be about making – more... you into a branch manager. Most branch managers do not give support you in any way, as in furthering your training or if there was a customer service dispute. This position has taught me a lot in terms of fleet management and sale revenue management as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
heavy fleet management
Utility Mechanic (Former Employee), houstonOctober 18, 2014
Pros: three days off of week
Cons: long work hours
a variety of automotive installations including changing oil, preventive maintenance, tire installation and minor parts installation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Corporation
Management Associate (Current Employee), Hilo, HIOctober 15, 2014
If you work hard and dedicate yourself to this company, you will always improve and always move up in the company. Hard part is if you are willing to relocate and the pay is okay. I learned a lot, and am still learning. Employees are great and always fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Transporter (Former Employee), Temple Hills, MDOctober 14, 2014
Not a hard job at all. Simple rules for a simple position. Typical day was just getting an assignment and finishing it, Management was cool and very flexible. Best part was driving the different cars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to travel all around GA and Company car
Area / Regional Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: company car, employees
Cons: nothing different from other sales and customer service jobs
Every day is different. I like the employees I work with as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Transporter (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEOctober 13, 2014
bad work environment/every employee for there self. No teamwork nor equal treatment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space for driven individuals
Manager Associate (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 13, 2014
Sales performances based
Communicate with new and existing clients
Market to new businesses
Multi-task at a high volume
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere to work
Senior Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 12, 2014
Pros: given a company car
Cons: people who do not respect you
Began each day with doing inventory of cars on the airport premises. Managed employees on my shift. Making sure employees were in proper uniform and conducted themselves in a professional manner. Treat employees and upper Management with respect. Handle many customer complaints. Held meetings with employees. Processed daily deposits. Hardest part of – more... day was an irate customer. Most enjoyable pleasing the customer. I learned working with the public you must have patience, extremely important. Try to always turn a bad situation into a pleasant experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN
Driver/Auto Detailer (Former Employee), Cockeysville, MDOctober 9, 2014
COOL PLACE TO WORK, MEET DIFFERENT PEOPLE ALL THE TIME AND THE PAY IS ALRIGHT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLOctober 7, 2014
I recommend anyone who likes personal interaction and test driving some of the most beautiful cars in the world to apply at this job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Management Trainee (Former Employee), Folcroft, PAOctober 7, 2014
A typical work day allowed you to various people and develop rapport with individuals who frequently visited the facility. The business was salary + commission based on performance, and was easily attainable. At times, you may have been left to run a facility by yourself, and depending on our location that may have been a hassle, but for the most part – more... the atmosphere was very peaceful (even around the holidays) and there was much room for growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience for young graduates...but not much else.
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee), Metairie, LAOctober 6, 2014
Pros: paid vacation, sick days, health insurance, etc.
Cons: management, understaffed, underpaid, not enough fleet for demand.
I worked in the restaurant industry all my life (I'm 27). Hertz was an opportunity for me to get out. It's a horrible starting pay, but they are changing that soon (November 2014). There are opportunities to bonus, but Corporate finds ways to not pay you those bonuses (stipulations and not guaranteed). This company has potential, but needs a lot of – more... help.

I would only suggest this job to a recent graduate. It does provide great Customer Service experience and some sales experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace
Revenue Analyst (Former Employee), Park Ridge, NJOctober 6, 2014
Bad management, great people to work with. Very data heavy workload
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work in an exciting and ever changing industry.
Location Manager (Former Employee), Ontario, CAOctober 6, 2014
Pros: a lot of room for advancement.
Cons: direct financial impact of condition of corporation.
Working for Hertz Corporation was very exciting and upbeat to say the least. I enjoyed it very much. One minute I was writing a report and the other I was paged to handle a customer complaint or concern. Hertz training is very diverse and they teach you every aspect of running a business. I learned about the marketing, sales, customer service, compliance, – more... inventory mangement, production, etc. of running a business. I was promoted to Location Manager at an airport office within 12 months. – less

About The Hertz Corporation

Hertz operates its car rental business through the Hertz, Dollar, Thrifty and Firefly brands from approximately 11,555 corporate – Read more

The Hertz Corporation Photos