Find companies:
The Hertz Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
729 reviews

The Hertz Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and Fun Environment
Finance Procedure Analyst (Former Employee), Park Ridge, NJMarch 24, 2014
This company has a great environment and the individuals are great to work with. This was the first time that I worked at a publicly traded company, and the exposure was very beneficial to me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work non stop!!!
Miami Airport Location Manager I (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 22, 2014
Pros: car benefit..
Cons: union
• Supervised activities and development of operations, security, and counter staff.
• Handled customer service issues to insure customer satisfaction while adhering to company policy.
• Performed employee audits, assigned staff, manage staff schedules and employee time cards.
• Balanced and arranged daily cash deposits.

You have to deal with all kind – more... of situations in the company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
used to be fun
vsa (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: driving nice cars
Cons: to many to name
This used to be a fun place to work then when new managment came along everything went haywire. Steer clear of this place. I hate the fact I have to give it one star it deserves 0 stars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like working in a place where no one knows what's going on, this is the place for you!!
Branch Manager (Former Employee), St. LouisMarch 20, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: counter lady thinks she knows it all. mechanics don't want to work
To many conference calls, upper management is a joke and has no clue, they all came from the car rental side. They judge success by piece count and not by dollar volume on rent. They e-mail you at all times of the night, no respect for your time off or privacy. I have nothing good to say about the company except the pay, it is above average.
Bad work – more... environment due to not working together. Then there's the thing called PMED. What a joke, you're graded on things you can't control which of course effects your bonus. STAY AWAY!!! Branch manager usually last a max of 2 years at this location. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAMarch 20, 2014
Assist customers with vehicle rentals.

Learn dealing with different customers.

Work with management's direction daily.

Work as team player with col-worker.

Hardest part of the job is none.

Most enjoyable part of the job is working with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
driver (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMarch 20, 2014
Cons: healthcare
My typical day of work consist of driving.I learned to get along with people,also enjoy working with my co-workers. The hardest part would be to make sure that i dont have an car accident.The most enjoyable part of the job is being outside and driving all day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hertz
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 19, 2014
Pros: knowing people
Cons: long hour
Customer in and out. Learned that every costumer need something different. Always send more paperwork to sing. Grate relationships. The hardest part is when the customer book a reservation and we don't have the vehicle for them. No bonus pay out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Ok job
Vehicle Service Attendant (Former Employee), Teterboro, NJMarch 15, 2014
Cons: healthcare
I come into work first thing I do is.Check for vehicle damage and ensure features of the vehicles are operational. Check vehicle status.Ensure interior of vehicle is clean. Fill gasoline tank and check fill levels of all fluids. Clean the exterior of vehicle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
counter productive
Agent Owner HERTZ/Marketing, Sales (Former Employee), Sun City, Peoria, AZMarch 13, 2014
Pros: company car
Cons: long hours not work life balance
Company overall is about a 2 clear cut objectives always seem to change every 6 months or when upper management changes. Given expectations to complete goals but most of the time not given the tools to complete said tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for 1 year
Mechanic (Current Employee), Newark, NJMarch 13, 2014
Pros: your check is on time
Cons: too many hours, do not replace staff resigns
You have no family life, often working 7 days, 12 hours, do not get qualified staff. wages are really low. it's good to get experience, and after 1 year, look for a company that appreciates the human resource
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work enviorment
Transporter (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: i got to travel, i learned a better since of direction.
Cons: i didnt have any benifits(medical, dental, etc)
A typical day at work was clocking in and getting straight to work. We had to go from one building to another to pick up and drop off cars. I took away from this job a great sence of direction and a even better sence of communication with my fellow co-workers which i didnt have before.The hardest part of the job was the weather and the mos enjoyable – more... was traveling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this a good company
Field Service Mechanic (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 11, 2014
i liked working for hertz for the competitive wages and the benefits that came with the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people not management
Sales Coordinator (Current Employee), Columbia, SCMarch 10, 2014
Pros: getting to work with people.
Cons: management, pay and no incentive for hard work
Typical day is to do two job titles, Sales and Shop supervisor. The most I learned was how to look up help from the intranet provided by hertz. Management for lack of words is nonexistent. There was no guidance or help. They try to be your best friend but they are just sharks in the water. Co-workers are great. The hardest part of the job was doing – more... two jobs and only being compensated for one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hertz Corp
Purchasing Card Administrator (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMarch 10, 2014
Pros: location, in building cafeteria
Cons: bonuses were only at director level, benefits were subpar
In my position there was a lot of freedom to do my job with minimal supervision. I was able to run with my own ideas and there was not a lack of listening of ideas. The room for advancement was reduced because of cuts in the company as well as management not leaving current roles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible job
Manager trainee (Former Employee), Foley, ALMarch 7, 2014
not enough pay for the jobs they expect of you to perform. They were a very unorganized poorly run organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Environment
Branch Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Waukegan, ILMarch 7, 2014
Pros: the time and a half
Cons: hours, management, no at home life
They made me work a minimum of 60 hours a week, force my fiance to work and drive other employees around in our personal car with no reimbursement. I was doing the job of 3-4 employees while my manager sat on his but, didn't let me doing any of the sales and made my girl & I do everything. He kept me out from 7:30am - 10om -12am with my fiance as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and productive atmosphere.
Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Miami, FLMarch 6, 2014
Pros: sharpens multi tasking and service skills.
Cons: face to face complaints.
If I were to sum up in a phrase what a day at Hertz local edition is like, it would be “fast paced.” There is so much going on at once and one really has to be on their toes to be a productive member of the team. I have gotten plenty of training with management and service based selling. Most of the job is simply finding solutions to obstacles that – more... come up threw out the day and satisfying customer needs while meeting office goals. I am blessed to be part of an office with great characters from the branch manager all the way through the utility; it really makes a task easy to tackle when you have reliable people on your side. The most difficult part of the job is having to juggle cleaning the cars and running the office when understaffed. The most enjoyable part of the job is the satisfaction of solving issues when resources were limited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome employee discount
Management Trainee (Former Employee), Harriman, NYMarch 6, 2014
worked 6 days a week. hated having to wear a suit just to clean a car
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not ranked 4 th worst for nothing
Sales and Service Representative (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVMarch 4, 2014
Pros: nothing good
Cons: no life, no pay, jut aggravation
The company is like a rudderless ship with Captian Crunch at the helm. The company could actually be a great company but the leaders at the top are only looking out for themselves. They are graet demotivatiors losing top people becasue they just do not care. The goals that are set are unattainable and even if you could get to them have been capped so – more... as to limit their exposure just in case.My advice to anyone is to run away and fast. It is not a learning experince just a waste of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Manager, Web Content (Current Employee), Park Ridge, NJMarch 4, 2014
Pros: summer hours, casual fridays, gym
Cons: heathcare
I've had the pleasure to work for Hertz for 17 years and along the way was fortunate enough to move up the corporate ladder with great bosses.

About The Hertz Corporation

If you've ever said, "Don't worry about it, it's just a rental," guess who hurts: Hertz, a world leader in car rental. On its – Read more

The Hertz Corporation Photos