Find companies:
The Hertz Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
861 reviews

The Hertz Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned P & L
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 6, 2014
learned how to become a great leader and mentor to coworkers. Hardest part was working 65 hours a week. Enjoyed working with great clients and great peers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE TO WORK TO MEET NEW PEOPLE ALL AROUND THE WORLD
Manager Trainee (MT Level 1) (Former Employee), JAMAICA NYAugust 6, 2014
Pros: discounted rentals
Cons: not enough overtime
ASSIST CUSTOMERS WITH THEIR RENTAL NEEDS AND BILLING PROBLEMS. SET DAILY DUTIES FOR STAFF AND SCHEDULING
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Manager trainee (Current Employee), TylerAugust 6, 2014
Cons: everything about the company.
Terrible job. Management is awful they don't care about you. It's a every man for themself company. Zero teamwork even between other locations in your branch. Lots of stress. Customers constantly complain. Manager is never around. In training it's a 3 month program where your suppose to train beside your manager. I didn't see my manager till my third – more... week on the job and it was very brief when I did. I had to learn all the systems by myself. You work a minimum of 50 hrs a week with limited pay. Do yourself a favor and forget this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start
manager (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COAugust 5, 2014
Pros: stable company
Cons: upper management out of touch
great place to start after college, however upper management for the most part is out of touch with what goes on day to day on the front lines
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Contracts & Lease Analyst (Former Employee), Montvale, NJAugust 5, 2014
Would have stayed, HQ moving to Florida. Relaxed company to work for and doing very well financially.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prouctive place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Eglin Village, FLAugust 4, 2014
on.
Customer Service
Greet visitors and determine where they should be given access to specific individuals.
Answer phone calls and direct calls to appropriate parties or take messages.
Prepare invoices, reports, memos, letters, financial statements and other documents, using word processing, spreadsheet, database, or presentation software.
Conduct – more... research, compile data, and prepare papers for consideration and presentation by executives, committees and boards of directors.
Attend meetings to record minutes.
Open, sort, and distribute incoming correspondence, including faxes and email.
File and retrieve corporate documents, records, and reports.
Perform general office duties, such as ordering supplies, maintaining records management database systems, and performing basic bookkeeping work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual, fun environment
Sales Rep (Former Employee), Rock Springs, WYAugust 4, 2014
At Hertz Rental i sold rental agreements, detailed and cleaned vehicles. Management was horrible, but the co-workers were great people. I learned basic sales skills and also a few computer skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the customers and transporting various vehicles.
Transporter/Driver (Current Employee), Absecon, NJAugust 4, 2014
Pros: meet diverst customers and driving different vehicles.
Cons: low pay and no need for retension.
I enjoy the daily experience of transporting vehicles to various locations and the communication with customers. I learned the safety guidelines outlined with Hertz. My co-workers helped teach the meaning of teamwork and togetherness in finding locations and assuring safe deliveries. The hardest part of the job is accepting the low wages for the amount – more... of responsibilities. The most enjoyable part is having happy customers and dependable co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and family oriented work environment
Driver (Former Employee), Riverside, CAAugust 4, 2014
Hertz Equipment feels like a small knit community where everyone knows their job, but is willing to lend a helping hand in many other areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers that work as a team
Manager Trainee (Current Employee), Anaheim, CAAugust 3, 2014
My typical day at work consists of making sure the customers needs are met. I rent, return, and wash cars as well as picking up and dropping off customers. I am also in charge of all the office work that takes place in the office. I enjoy working with all of my coworkers because we all work as a team and help each other out. The hardest part would be – more... the difficult customers but I have learned how to help them and make sure they leave happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only care about the bottom line. Very long work days.
Management trainee (Former Employee), LouisianaAugust 3, 2014
Pros: co worker made the day better
Cons: long hours, under paid hourly, unorganized
The company was not my cup of tea. Rude customers and management would run or not be there when you needed them to be. Co workers were great. It was a very unorganized and chaos everyday. I do not recommend this company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This position taught me how to really manage people.
Station Operations Manager/Shuttle Bus Manager (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLAugust 2, 2014
Pros: bonus potential
Cons: long hours
This was the toughest job that I really liked. The knowledge I gained helped me to become a better person. Also, the benefits were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good job
Gold Choice Counter Sales Rep (Team Lead) (Former Employee), Newark, NJAugust 2, 2014
Employer does not value its employees. Daily changes that are not followed by management, even they are unaware. Very unprofessional. Low wages and benefits packages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
counter sale rep (Current Employee), Warwick, RIJuly 31, 2014
knowledge obtained is transferable
uncapped commission
great company to for room to grow within and there always looking for employees that want to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST JOB I'VE EVER HAD!!!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 31, 2014
Pros: there aren't any
Cons: no breaks, long work days, extremely low pay, management are idiots, lack of communication, no cars to rent
Stay far away from this company. They tell you that you can make $45k a year when you start but that is a lie. You will have to work 60 hours a week but they take a hour away from you a day for a lunch that you rarely get to have. The management is the worst that I have ever seen in a business. There are never enough cars to rent to people who have – more... reservations. This leads to customers screaming, swearing, and getting angry with you over something you have no control of. My advice would be to stay away from Hertz unless you're desperate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Area Controller (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJuly 31, 2014
Not my employer by choice, but the time there was very beneficial in terms of learning the corporate world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has no regard for employees
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 31, 2014
Pros: lower level management and employees easy to work with
Cons: upper level management only cares about sales numbers, region grossly unorganized
The GM of the region refuses to hire an area manager so the stress is trickling all the way down to the drivers. Management is completely unorganized and does not communicate between each other, so employees are made to move around the region constantly to account for the massive under-staffing due to employees constantly quitting or being fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer Service (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: great
Cons: lots of paper work in the beginning....
its great the employes are a great group of people to work with...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience at Hertz
Location Manager (Former Employee), Baltimore Washington International, Hanover, MDJuly 30, 2014
Pros: company car, special privileges and authority, promotes within, very diverse
Cons: long hours, can be overwhelming at times, constant staffing issues
Each day has its own personality and challenges both expected and unexpected. Great job if you're a people person and can remain calm and profession when an angry customer is screaming and everyone wants something for nothing. You must be everywhere at all times... very demanding (especially when understaffed). I've learned quality sales techniques, – more... how to coach and develop low performers/ new personal, how to manage a high volume operation, and became a customer service model. Co-workers.... OK, a couple of them. Employee's are great although there's a high turnover rate. Most enjoyable part of my job is the satisfaction after solving a complicated issue and seeing the development of employees. Overall i am unsatisfied with my experience there. Politics and profit, in or out, lazy or busy, very dysfunctional in my opinion... At least Hertz has the bigger and better fleet compared to the competition at BWI. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They do have nice cars
Counter Rental Agent (Current Employee), Denver, COJuly 29, 2014
Pros: stable company
Cons: n/a......element of surprise
Every location is different. ..so favorable responses will vary one thing company wide is that its run by investors......

About The Hertz Corporation

Hertz operates its car rental business through the Hertz, Dollar, Thrifty and Firefly brands from approximately 11,555 corporate – Read more

The Hertz Corporation Photos