The Hertz Corporation

The Hertz Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 71 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal day at work
Vehicle Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Dorval, QC27 October 2016
Typical day at work would be, getting in a car and bringing it to the gas pump, fulling the car with gas, then clean the interior, once finished the interior move on the the exterior and the run it through the car wash and park it and repeat. sometime have to drop and pick up cars at the air-port aka "tripping"
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some workers,DONT WORK..
Heavy Duty Diesel Technician (Former Employee) –  foster creek5 October 2016
Great company to work with BUT some people do not work at all..Some workers bribe boss so they do not have to work and do not follow rules.otherwise if it wasnt for these type of people it was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management, Lazy Employees
Tripper (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON8 September 2016
Worked here for couple of months and must say a real bad place to work.
Some Managers/Supervisor favour own kind of people, while their are some work well but get taken advantage of.

Office is a mess all the time.....and oh don't mention of the washroom

When I was there one of my colleague a girl was harassed and when went to Management they did not seem to care!!!!

Pay and Union is a joke!!!!
Beware of high turnover rate as well!
Pros
None
Cons
Lots read above.....more to list!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great foundational start to working in Toronto
vsa (Current Employee) –  Lester Pearson international Airport31 August 2016
lots of room to get involved in improving the working environment. This is a good foundation job for new comers to the country.
Pros
Unionized
Cons
Unionized
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voted 4th worst company in North America to work for
car jockey (Former Employee) –  pearson airport8 August 2016
no benefits, extremely low pay which increases each year by pennies.
staff is slow and in some cases can barely speak English
hard workers get punished for small mistakes.
Pros
close to airport
Cons
extremely low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive.
Tripper moving cars from location to location (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON13 July 2016
fun place to work.i was very familar empoloyee with the company.i really miss nice co-workers.I volunteerly resigned when i retired.
and it April 5,2013

Now instead of sitting in my apt i would like to work part time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and fun to work
Tripper (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 June 2016
Too many things to say, but I am not a part of management, so its none of my business. As a tripper, I drive clean cars from distribution to airport and bring back the dirty ones to distribution. It is an easy job and fun to work.
Pros
Fun to work, easy, low stress, drive new cars
Cons
poor wages, no health benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Job
Customer Service Rep in January 2014 (Current Employee) –  Billy bishop Airpirt5 June 2016
Hertz has provided me with work security and good benefits the 3 years I have been working there. I have no problem with the workplace or how they run things, I have just outgrown the job and am currently looking to get into my field.
Pros
Union job, Benefits, Good Pay
Cons
Repetitive, Not challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 June 2016
Long hours, on call 24/7, great co-workers, met a lot of new people, learned about a lot of different cultures.The job didn't give me much time with my family.
Pros
great people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Parts Manager
Shipping/Receiving PartsSupport (Former Employee) –  Edmonton1 June 2016
My manager was a great person,
In my position I dealt with the mechanics , ordering and receiving parts from the vendors. As well as arranging shipping of the products.
Most of the time every one was fun to be around
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communication
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 April 2016
Poor communication, little training, high expectations for this company but in the end feel disappointed with the leadership at Hertz.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you were a number and disposable
Rental Manager/Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC21 April 2016
the company has no loyalty to its staff and the employees spend a lot of time in fighting with the management. I cant work in that kind of environment so I left.
Pros
pay was good, hours good
Cons
staff vs management issues, not enough staff to do the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company even better employees
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK19 April 2016
I couldn't ask for better management and employees. I was responsible for dealing with customer sales, customer rejections and signing new prospects. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the slow winter months. I am a person who needs to stay focused and busy year round, which unfortunately led to me leaving the company. I enjoyed the new challenges presented daily, as no two days were the same. Creative thinking is a must, as no two customer issues were ever the same. Very positive experience.
Pros
Meeting new people, facing new challenges
Cons
Very slow winter months, comparable to being laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work Environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 April 2016
I learned how to handle tough situations with customers and management and co workers were great. Hardest part of the job was making sure the system did not crash.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality performance to produce outstanding results
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON11 April 2016
Supporting achievement of location sales and margin goals
Ensuring positive customer experience, making Hertz #1 in car rental company experience
Achieving individual sales goals and customer service goals
Growing sales utilizing business-to-business sales tactics
Upholding company standards by ensuring cars are presentable to customers
Clean and service facilities/vehicles to ensure customer satisfaction
I am responsible for managing a unionized and/or non-unionized workforce
delivering quality customer service,
increasing sales and revenue,
scheduling adequate staff coverage,
handling customer issues and requests, and training new personnel. Scheduling and payroll on a weekly bases.
Pros
A lot of responsibilities, Good training programs
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop managerial Skills
Senior Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON22 March 2016
Great place to interact with internal/external customer and to exercise sales and customer service excellency. Great place to exercise business skills learned at University
Pros
Company Car
Cons
Limites career advance
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 March 2016
found management good
learned to always have car insurance
learned how to both open and close
really enjoyed the location an people i worked with
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone
General Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 February 2016
Learn a lot, lots of challenges, difficult in making positive change, HR department needs to go. a lot of sr. staff, very closed minded. small minded people, they wake up dreaming how to make your day a memorable one
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 February 2016
I worked there for 1.5 years and experienced some very poor management. I thought after a while of proving myself I would earn some respect, but I found little. The job was simple but the pay was bad
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great with customer service
Sales and Service Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON5 February 2016
the most enjoyable part of the job was talking with others and meeting new people

a typical day at work was answering phone, greeting customers and washing cars
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 2,510 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2