Find companies:
The Hershey Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
75 reviews

The Hershey Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced place with lots of fun and sweets
System Developer (Former Employee), Bentonville, ARAugust 9, 2013
1. I worked in a goal-oriented team that always delivers great results.
2. I had lots of opportunities to make a difference.
3. People are fun and friendly to work with.
4. Unlimited free chocolates and candies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this Company
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Appleton, WIJuly 28, 2013
Great company to work for! Would definitely recommend to others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Material Handler (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 26, 2013
packed candy into the boxes for shipping, watch the lines, and put the caps on the candy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Material Handler (Former Employee), Memphis,TnJuly 18, 2013
Hershey was a very nice company to work for. all types of candy. Everyday at work it was a different smell. Sour candy, sweet candy and fruity candy. I love working here and will be glad to work there again. It was fast pace and steady, sometimes slow. The managers was nice and loveable. Everybody was like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The first few years were a joy, but the last year of work things changed.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 27, 2013
Pros: free samples, hershey items.
Cons: working in the az heat. hot car.
I planned my day, what stores to call on, making sure I had my supplies and anything I would need to do my call. I called on at least 8 stores, depending on what was going on. I worked independently for the most part. Sometime I worked with another representative or my manager. I loved working with my first two managers. I was treated very well. I attended – more... meetings out of town, and this was about the only time I really had a chance to interact with the other representatives. We all got along great. It was a fun place to work. The hardest part of the job is the lack of respect in a work place. The most enjoyable part were the friends of made, my clients, co-workers, first two managers. I worked part-time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shop closed on E. Chocolate
Industrial Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Hershey, PAJune 25, 2013
Good Company when it was still making chocolate. Now not so good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but not as great as they make it sound
Retail Sales Representative (Current Employee), United StatesJune 16, 2013
Pros: able to manage yourself, company car, good benefits
Cons: you're a merchandiser/vendor, not challenging
The Hershey company has great employees and your co-workers are more than qualified to perform their job duties. I thought this job was going to be mostly sales oriented but sales is only a very small part of the job. You have to be able to merchandise and move candy product all day. Good pay for this economy and a company car. Best part of the job – more... is when you sell in space for your product or have a win with a customer and the worst part of the job is that you are pretty much on your own and you are a vendor/merchandiser in places like Wal-Mart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Brands
Customer Sales Executive (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 11, 2013
Pros: free candy
Cons: too much time sitting in front of a computer
Direct Selling calling on 3 customers.

Learned the confections category

Great team lead

Tons of paper work

Great team of co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work if you have 35+ years of service.
Qualified Manufacturing Associate (Current Employee), Hershey, PAMay 14, 2013
Not a family friendly place to work if you have a mere 15 years of service.

Mmichaels – July 7, 2013

I have over 25 years of manufacturing experience...Is it dificult to get a job there? I've worked for the Mitsubishi Co,Continental Tire Co,Emerson Electric Co.Problem is im 57 years old...I know lots of places refrain from hiring someone older...They have their ways although its illegal to do.Note>> Can you hire on direct or have to go through a temp. agency?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pruductive and fun workplace.
Material Handler (Former Employee), Humboldt, PAMay 7, 2013
Pros: 30 minutes braek avery two hours.
Cons: work scheduled for seven days a week.
Work was amazing each day when it had its busy hours. Especially I that love to work in a fast paste environment. The job had me going daily. Most of the time I like to work by my self but definitely had learned here at Hershey's Company that working in teams it's more helpful such as combining different skills and talent to others. The job was done – more... faster and with better quality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a great place to work
Maintenance (Current Employee), Lancaster, PaMay 6, 2013
Pros: benefits are good, good pay
Cons: always at work, poor management
If your in need of money, then this is the place for you. If you want to see your family, or have any life outside of the job, then you had better not even think of applying here. They will lie to you about how much weekend and Holiday work there is. You will be lucky to have off 2 weekends a month, count on 1 weekend off per month, as long as no one – more... goes on vacation. If you want a Holiday off, you better schedule a vacation day. The people you will be working with are a great group of guys, and will soon become your family! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place about business
Material Handler (Former Employee), Memphis TNApril 28, 2013
Pros: the simple fact of being employed
Cons: no time off, work you like a slave
A typical day at Hershey is fast pace non-stop.It is a unfriendly environment and very stressful. The majority of the co-workers are old and about to retire. There is a lot of fighting and bickering all of the time with co-workers. The management is no better. There is a lot of favoritism ,and crooked things that go on with management. I would not recommend – more... that anybody work there. The best part about the job is staying focused on your task and overcoming all the mess that goes on around you. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the mess around you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retired
Mechanic (Former Employee), 19E. Chocolate Ave.March 30, 2013
Pros: history
Cons: poor management and supervision
Retired / Severence
Maintained equipment in Chocolate Processing departments.
Learned everything about the chocolate process.
Management is now poor due to their inability to know the process of chocolate making. Treatment of employees was wonderful at one time, sadly not anymore.
Co-workers are almost all like family.
Hardest part of the job was hot – more... and heavy work.
I enjoyed fixing things and understanding chocolate processing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Retail Sales Merchandiser (Former Employee), FLMarch 19, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: room for advancement is non existent from pt
I highly recommend working for The Hershey Company. Probably some of the nicest people I've worked with/for. My only complaint is that there is no path to full time if you start out part time. Other than that the pay is food, the benefits are great and the people are supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chain Retail Sales Representative
Chain Sales Representative (Former Employee), Hershey, PAFebruary 23, 2013
Pros: company car and lap top
Cons: the only con i have is when i was laid off.
I enjoyed working the Hershey Company,it was a great company to work for.My team all were great people to work with as well as my DM.To me there was no hard part of the job,I have been doing chain retail sales representative for 25 plus years, and I enjoy meeting new people and helping them grow there business as well the company.I learned alot from – more... others and always keeped an open mind to my co-workers as well as the management team.You can never stop learning something new or show others as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to build a career
HR Business Partner (Former Employee), Hershey, PAFebruary 20, 2013
My experience was very positive. I had the chance to build a sales career and then transition into an HR career. Advancement and mobility are important to The Hershey Company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete disappointment with their definition of professionalism
HR (Former Employee), HersheyFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: candy everywhere
Cons: candy everywhere, no direct line of work load, worst office politics ever experienced.
I was a contractor for a few months in HR. I was praised on a phone in meetup call with 30 people on Tues and told not to return on Thurs. I was let go without much of a reason and certainly never had any discussion about things to work on, but I was told from the agency by them I seemed "frustrated" wow. Part of my job was selling Hershey to candidates, – more... ironic isn't it? 90% of the time was never spoken to by my on site manager, Only saw the one who approved my timesheet 5 times ever. Finished my work then at the end of the day was given the work of the others who were perm that they sat on all day. nice! good luck if you choose to work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here with amazing co-workers and great job opportunities
Human Resource Intern (Former Employee), Hershey, PAFebruary 4, 2013
The Hershey Company has the kindest co-workers. Every day when I arrived at work I received good mornings and there was always fresh coffee and chocolate baskets everywhere.
I was an Intern for the summer so I did alot of office work like filing, copying, data entry, and answering phone calls. However, I also got to help plan Relay for Life and that – more... was an amazing experience.
The hardest part was organizing their entire filing system. And the most enjoyable part was working with a great boss and amazing co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production line
Machine Operator / Syrup Line (Former Employee), Hershey,PaJanuary 25, 2013
maintain production line to attain the production goals for the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work for.
Retail Sales Representative (Current Employee), Lubbock, TXJanuary 13, 2013
Great company to work for. Good pay and benefits. Work life balance is also great. Only negative would be difficulty in advancement from entry level sales.

About The Hershey Company

The Hershey Company is a manufacturer of chocolate and sugar confectionery products. The Company’s product groups include – Read more

The Hershey Company Photos