The Grove Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Restaurant
Barista/Cashier/Runner (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CA30 June 2016
Awesome staff, lovely restaurant with great food. Perfect location to expect busy nights due to the Symphony and other venues in the ares which means good tips. Customers are great for the most part.
Pros
Free Food.
Cons
NONE!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student housing
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Waco, TX18 September 2013
A typical day was full of walking the complex checking on maintenance. Half of the day was spent filling and sending reports. Once a week had to post the schedule for maintenance, management, staff and rotation of on-call duties. Keeping up with scheduling events for current residents and to recruit future residents. Of course keeping track of rent being paid and residents' behavior was always on the list.
Pros
benefits, free rent
Cons
living on site, on duty 24-7, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and Worse boss
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WY4 January 2016
Management was poor. Maintenance Supervisor would rather call in vendors to do the work and act as a manager rather than be a maintenance supervisor and help out.
Pros
Lived and worked on property
Cons
No breaks, poor attitude from management.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an ok job when I was a teen and living with parents.
Customer Service/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UT14 January 2013
I didn't get any benefits I wasn't making enough income to help me move up but i did enjoy serving customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work because the job was located in the airport. My co-workers became family and we just always had a good time.
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX19 August 2015
I always looked forward to going to work. We always had snacks and fun. Management was not as strict as they should have been but everyone loved the boss. The coolest part of the job was meeting a lot of new people with funny accents and the hardest part of the job was closing the store.
Pros
Interesting people, great working environment and easy going boss
Cons
Short breaks, no healthcare, and no way to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a team member performing cashier duties, product assistance and cleaning while providing excellent customer service
Supervisor/Shift Caption (Former Employee) –  Kenner, LA15 October 2012
Greeted customers entering the store to ascertain what each customer wanted or needed.Responsible Giving Break's, stocking store's counting money for changing Shifts Opening and Closing Store's, and Receiving Order's
Earned management trust by serving as key holder, responsibly opening and closing store.
Described product to customers and accurately explained details and care of merchandise.
Answered questions regarding store and products, while maintaining knowledge of current sales and store promotions.
Organized store merchandise racks by size, style and color to promote visually appealing environment
Cons
supervisor/shift caption
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life At The Grove
EVENT SERVER (Former Employee) –  Cedar Grove, NJ10 November 2015
Working at the grove you get to see how nasty the area your food is being prepared in is. The dish washing area of kitchen is horrible. the dishes are never cleaned properly , and i wouldnt be caught dead eating off of their tableware. Absoultely unacceptable.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient and professional
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Watford, ENG29 September 2015
Whole hotel works together to deliver a five star experience to all guests. The staff are offered many opportunities to advance and are encouraged to complete training sessions.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job ever no training
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Milltown, NJ16 October 2015
never got any training even if I asked the other co worker typical day was clock in then try to pike the ripest fruits to cut
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fashion for less
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA27 August 2015
very very busy store, lots of demanding customers. Loved the fashion trends and styles we received daily. shifts go by fast because you're always busy.
Pros
you can always have the latest styles in fashion for less
Cons
10% discount only
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
faa (Current Employee) –  las vegas nv18 June 2015
not a good place to work no opportunity to grow management is a joke you will be mistreated and harassed employees are not treated fair favoritism one of the main problems
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Commis Chef (Former Employee) –  London, ENG7 September 2015
I really enjoyed working with all my co workers they were cooperative and well mannered. Human Resources were treating everyone equally.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers
Behavioral Modification Technician (Current Employee) –  Winter Springs, FL20 July 2015
Great environment, co-workers are very helpful and skillful. Most have been in the industry for years. Your co-workers can be a great source of strength and comfort.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place worth applying
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Reno, NV19 June 2015
A great environment to work at and a lot of culture. Learning how a real kitchen works is a lot of fun. The staff is always helpful when you new to the job.
Pros
Busy enviornment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't work here
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Mobile, AL1 September 2014
no incentive, low low pay, no extra training, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield, ENG1 October 2013
Get in go into the store cupboard get the cleaning products out start cleaning the tables then hoover the floors. Then go in and clean the toilets and sinks. Then clean the bar along with the pumps and mopping the floor behind the bar, then put all the cleaning stuff away.I learnt how to clean a bar and toilets properly. The manager was very nice. I worked on my own. Their wasn't a hard part of the job. Making friend with the staff and manager.
Pros
learned how to clean the pub from top to bottom
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes29No72Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Medication Passer / Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Forest Grove, OR22 May 2013
a typical day at work would be taking care of residents, interacting with them, very busy most of the time on your feet all day. the management isn't the very best though. The co-workers were nice but, some were very dramatic and hard to work with at times.
Pros
great enviorment
Cons
poor managmnet
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Cook (Former Employee) –  Strongstown, PA13 January 2015
Preparation of food for the dinner rush on Wing Nights. I learned how to multi-task at cooking, serving, and dishwashing. My co-workers were very easy to work with. The hardest part of the job is making sure everything is done in time when your in the middle of a rush. The most enjoyable part is the relaxing environment on your down time.
Pros
free dinner
Cons
if you don't smoke the people that do smoke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Proactive Environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Newark International Airport17 April 2013
Open store on time at 7am

make sure the employees were in their positions on time

(book keeping) counting the money bags for the previous work day.

Making deposit slips and ordering change

Making food orders,sorted inventory, and worked on invoices

I also managed the payroll
Pros
people interaction and opportunity for self improvement
Cons
the commute became too far.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL30 April 2013
Learned a lot from this place. Fun workplace but this was the 1st job of my life and It has helped me a lot. nice people to work with and management also. this job was easy.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Less pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1