The Grove Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Restaurant
Barista/Cashier/Runner (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 30, 2016
Awesome staff, lovely restaurant with great food. Perfect location to expect busy nights due to the Symphony and other venues in the ares which means good tips. Customers are great for the most part.
Pros
Free Food.
Cons
NONE!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and Worse boss
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYJanuary 4, 2016
Management was poor. Maintenance Supervisor would rather call in vendors to do the work and act as a manager rather than be a maintenance supervisor and help out.
Pros
Lived and worked on property
Cons
No breaks, poor attitude from management.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life At The Grove
EVENT SERVER (Former Employee) –  Cedar Grove, NJNovember 10, 2015
Working at the grove you get to see how nasty the area your food is being prepared in is. The dish washing area of kitchen is horrible. the dishes are never cleaned properly , and i wouldnt be caught dead eating off of their tableware. Absoultely unacceptable.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job ever no training
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Milltown, NJOctober 16, 2015
never got any training even if I asked the other co worker typical day was clock in then try to pike the ripest fruits to cut
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient and professional
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Watford, ENGSeptember 29, 2015
Whole hotel works together to deliver a five star experience to all guests. The staff are offered many opportunities to advance and are encouraged to complete training sessions.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Commis Chef (Former Employee) –  London, ENGSeptember 7, 2015
I really enjoyed working with all my co workers they were cooperative and well mannered. Human Resources were treating everyone equally.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fashion for less
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 27, 2015
very very busy store, lots of demanding customers. Loved the fashion trends and styles we received daily. shifts go by fast because you're always busy.
Pros
you can always have the latest styles in fashion for less
Cons
10% discount only
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work because the job was located in the airport. My co-workers became family and we just always had a good time.
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 19, 2015
I always looked forward to going to work. We always had snacks and fun. Management was not as strict as they should have been but everyone loved the boss. The coolest part of the job was meeting a lot of new people with funny accents and the hardest part of the job was closing the store.
Pros
Interesting people, great working environment and easy going boss
Cons
Short breaks, no healthcare, and no way to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers
Behavioral Modification Technician (Current Employee) –  Winter Springs, FLJuly 20, 2015
Great environment, co-workers are very helpful and skillful. Most have been in the industry for years. Your co-workers can be a great source of strength and comfort.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place worth applying
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJune 19, 2015
A great environment to work at and a lot of culture. Learning how a real kitchen works is a lot of fun. The staff is always helpful when you new to the job.
Pros
Busy enviornment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
faa (Current Employee) –  las vegas nvJune 18, 2015
not a good place to work no opportunity to grow management is a joke you will be mistreated and harassed employees are not treated fair favoritism one of the main problems
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Cook (Former Employee) –  Strongstown, PAJanuary 13, 2015
Preparation of food for the dinner rush on Wing Nights. I learned how to multi-task at cooking, serving, and dishwashing. My co-workers were very easy to work with. The hardest part of the job is making sure everything is done in time when your in the middle of a rush. The most enjoyable part is the relaxing environment on your down time.
Pros
free dinner
Cons
if you don't smoke the people that do smoke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an independent contractor
Special Events Director (Former Employee) –  Franklin, TNNovember 21, 2014
Beautiful community with great amenities including a Greg Norman Signature Golf Course, two pools, tennis courts, fitness center and equestrian facility. A new 33,000 square foot Manor House is under construction and scheduled to open in May 2015.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upscale catering facility
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Cedar Grove, NJNovember 9, 2014
nice place , good atmosphere, polite guests. a typical day at work your serving and bussing tables for 200 plus ppl.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 15, 2014
It was great to work there because I got to meet a lot of people. My co workers were great to work with.
Pros
fun
Cons
it closed
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't work here
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALSeptember 1, 2014
no incentive, low low pay, no extra training, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work in. Job was located in the Louis Armstrong Airport.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  kenner, laApril 13, 2014
Good job for students. They were able to accomodate my school schedule and that was a big help.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
weak management
Stocker/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTNovember 12, 2013
The work and hours expected is not even close to being worth the $8.00 an hour i was paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield, ENGOctober 1, 2013
Get in go into the store cupboard get the cleaning products out start cleaning the tables then hoover the floors. Then go in and clean the toilets and sinks. Then clean the bar along with the pumps and mopping the floor behind the bar, then put all the cleaning stuff away.I learnt how to clean a bar and toilets properly. The manager was very nice. I worked on my own. Their wasn't a hard part of the job. Making friend with the staff and manager.
Pros
learned how to clean the pub from top to bottom
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes28No71Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A venry innovvative and dynamic place.
Educator and PR Liaison (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, WCSeptember 27, 2013
I loved working here. It was dynamic and proactive. The institution was proactive in its decision making process and the parental involvement was uncanny.
Pros
Innovative Drive
Cons
An overfull termplanner
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1