Find companies:
The Drake Hotel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

The Drake Hotel Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun woking place
Mini Bar (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 25, 2014
Pros: goog benifets and pay
Cons: to work sometimes 2 or 3 days a week hard to support family
you can meet people from every part of the world, respect from co-workers, duties done on time and well done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy servicing my room assignments.
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 8, 2014
Cons: no healthcare plan
Always on time for my shift.
Flexible to fill in when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place with a lot of character
Waiter (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 19, 2013
Pros: compensation.
Cons: short breaks
great place to work. Sometimes long hours, but compensation was excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided customer service to hotel guests and teamworkers
Assistant Manager - Front Office (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 26, 2013
working with the hotel staff and guests was so rewarding everyday-every challenge was unique but a great management staff lead the way to a very well-run property with exceptional guest satisfaction scores
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Too Good
Receiving (Former Employee), Chicago, IllinoisOctober 25, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: bad management team
Co-workers were the best! Met many good people from all over the world. Also met some of the worst management people I've ever seen. Mean, vindictive and incompetent are 3 adjectives that I would use to describe those people. HR Department a disaster. Work/Life balance non-existent. Best to look elsewhere for employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun and a warm place to work
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 25, 2013
Pros: free breakfast, lunch, dry cleaning
Cons: the commute
The Drake Hotel was an amazing work experiance for me. Before I would start my shift I would pick up my clothes form the dry cleaner that was in house. They had showers, my own locker to put my belongings. I then would go to the employee cafeteria and eat a buffet style breakfast. I would start my shift at 6:30, at 9am I would take a 15 min break. Then – more... I would work till 12 noon then take my 30min lunch and the day would fly by because it was a great enviroment to work and the people were magnificint. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typcial 9-5
General Cashier/ Accounting Dept (Current Employee), Chicago, IlJuly 26, 2013
Pros: pto (personal time off) by far the best program out there for vacation time.
Cons: its a dead end job with no advancement.
my current job is the basic 9-5 filled with multi tasking with coworkers only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alway learning new things in fast paced friendly enviorment
Banquet Waiter (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 9, 2013
Pros: great tips free lunches extremely friendly associates
Cons: job security
never have had a hard day for the exception of long hours not so frequent day consisted of troubling shooting multi-tasking cleaning setting tables review menus in accordance to the guests requests.clean image always has been imperative very friendly accurate management and staff very fast paced . the entire work enviorment is the best part
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the guest
Book-Keeper (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 21, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: dealing with a mean boss
Meeting some many people. Being able to interact with employees and guest. Doing payroll, and bookkeeping for the laundry and valet departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culturally Diverse with friendly people.
Utility Steward (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: free meals, healthcare, employee events, nice pay, advancement
Cons: slow season
I've learned how to adapt to those from many different cultural and language backgrounds. Management, for the most part, seems to know how to properly manage their employees while also holding a positive rapport. My co-workers are friendly and helpful. It was especially helpful when I first started and thankfully has continued. The hardest part of the – more... job would be dealing with the high volume of parties and having the three restaurants busy at the same time. The most enjoyable part is the environment that my co-workers and supervisors create. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Event Services Floor Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 3, 2013
- Provides direction and supervision to affected departments and team members during execution of meeting and/or event.
- Directly serves on site group and catering customers in a proactive manner relative to logistics of group room block, food and beverage, public meeting space, meeting room sets, exhibit hall, ancillary and vendor services affiliates/exhibitors – more... and related material and billing processes.
- Analyze customers' service and product needs and financial issues of in-house groups; recommends and acts upon appropriate resolution of customers' concerns while maintaining profitability.
- Use computer systems to prepare reports, correspondence and analysis relative to group activity. Copies and distributes same.
- Participates in internal and external meetings as determined but the Director of Catering and Events (example: forecast, menu review, department, citywide pre-cons, operational departments pre shifts ect.) Participates in internal and external training and industry events. Participates in development and measurements of personal and team goals and action plans. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oversaw all food and beverage operations for this 495-room luxury hotel with three restaurants. Responsibilities included employee training, implement
Executive Chef & Food Service Director (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 7, 2012
Oversaw all food and beverage operations for this 495-room luxury hotel with three restaurants. Responsibilities included employee training, implementing and maintaining all food and beverage standards, as well as service and customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
PBX Operator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 16, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short lunches
the position itself was great. a typical work day had several challanges but it was the coworkers who brought excitement to the workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Guest service Agent (Former Employee), Chicago,ilMarch 8, 2012
Providing high quality customer service while checking guest in and out of a 500+ room property, handling telephone request, selling and upgrading rooms to guest

About The Drake Hotel

Throw a rock and you're bound to hit a Blackstone investment. The Blackstone Group is one of the largest private equity firms – Read more