THE CO-OPERATORS

30 reviews

THE CO-OPERATORS Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The awards don't lie
Web Publisher (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONNovember 17, 2015
The Co-operators receives recognition every year as being one of the best employers. The awards don't lie; they are a great employer. Everyone is great to work with and professionalism never wains.
Pros
2 paid days for volunteering
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small office
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  grimsbySeptember 29, 2015
Everyone had their same daily routines. I would open bank deposits box and process any payments scheduled for that date. I would check messages and emails and start responding to any incoming inquiries. Throughout the day I would work on any ongoing work, quotes or insurance policies to write. On down time I would prospect new sales within current clients and out call for new business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace with lots of room to grow and Support from you leaders
Personal Lines Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 17, 2015
A typical day at work was fun but also a heavy work load.
I learned a lot as this was a big change in my career. Learned a lot more time management and organization as it is needed in the role so that you don't fall behind.
The management was supportive, caring, helpful, hard working and professional.
My co-workers were all supportive and helpful and enjoyable to work with.
The hardest part of the job would some days be the work load, but with time and patience you learn to manage the work.
The most enjoyable part of the job would be the culture of our department. Every part of the job was incredible and the work life balance in the company really makes for a happy team.
Pros
Quiet rooms, Treadmill, Ping-pong table, amazing benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work positive environment
Book Keeper (Current Employee) –  Bonnyville, AlbertaAugust 31, 2015
I love it there just not enough hours as I am only part time.

Great team building events and great training and support.

Staff is good to work with very enjoyable

Love working independently there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced interactive work environment
Associate Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  La CrĂȘte, ABAugust 25, 2015
- Client based work
-Learned how to deligate work, make schedules, plan days, prioritize clients by needs.
-Amend policies
-write new business
Pros
Got to meet new people and make relationships dailey
Cons
Dealing with unruley clients
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperators
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Moncton NBAugust 5, 2015
I worked with the cooperators for 6 months and it is a fantastic company to work with. Every person truly does matter and everything changes fast and there are lots of opportunities to grow and develop. I feel the Coaches and Supervisors really want to see you reach you full potential and they are willing to help if they can.

I worked with phone support for other agents of the cooperators and also did data management. I really enjoyed the job.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
Most positions are only offered on contract
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes fun to work and most times stressful
Personal Lines Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 4, 2015
The above work places was fun especially the staffs.We did a lot of group outside and inside activities. A table tennis table was available to all staff and also an exercise machine.
Pros
Flex time
Cons
shift schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great leaning experience
Associate Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJuly 7, 2015
Repetitive work environment

Continuously addressing customer inquiries - educating clients on new and existing products.

Ensuring all client information is up to date and correct.

Identifying new potential clients

Promoting company brand and values

Strong verbal and written communication

Immediate and accurate responses
Pros
Positive work environment
Cons
extensive hours and limited room for growth within agency
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4-star
Associate Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  newfoundlandApril 21, 2015
Great building, great staff, great training.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the day-to-day interaction with clients and taking care of their individual needs.
Pros
great hours of work
Cons
dealing with claims
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too short period to comment
IT Procurement - Contract Management (Former Employee) –  GuelphApril 16, 2015
Helped out with RFP process to find a vendor who can print one policy. I like it the fact that they have a gym in house so it's very convenient.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Should never have left my previous employer
INSURANCE SALES SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 24, 2015
Stressful place to work. ......micro management. ..management doesn't like to be proven wrong. ...
you don't know from one day to the next if you still have a job
they fired 60+ people to hire new staff a lower wage
not a good place to be. ....
Pros
No pros
Cons
Stressful atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping people achieve their financial goals
Financial Planner (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONMarch 15, 2015
Love my clients and helping them achieve THEIR finacial goals! Hardest part of the job is balancing home and work life balance. You have to see your clients when it is convenient for them so there is alot of long days if you want to make any money.
Pros
flexible schedule, great clients
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMarch 4, 2015
Very good company to work for, company pushes for life insurance sales too much, and would disregards all other stats......................
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance industry Experience
Associate Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NSJanuary 3, 2015
I received experience in the Insurance industry, specifically in House insurance with some experience in auto and life. I passed my general insurance license exam also.
Was this review helpful?YesNo6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Sales Associate/Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie ABNovember 18, 2014
A busy day filled with reviewing with existing clients and up selling them on different product lines.
Pros
prospecting and meeting with clients
Cons
none to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As good as the local manager's vision
Commercial Account Executive (Former Employee) –  BurnabyJuly 7, 2014
As good as the local manager's vision. Some offices do have advancement opportunities but not all of them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Job Security
Receptionist (contract) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 25, 2014
Before I left for my mat-leave, I was asked to sign a contract stating I was not going to be able to come back
Was this review helpful?Yes20No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  UnknownMarch 19, 2014
I didnt have a great experience as I never felt like I belonged there. One of the ladies ended up being a bully.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed working in sales
SR4 Agent (Former Employee) –  mississaugaNovember 9, 2013
insurance great business ,it gives security to people & peace of mind

iloved sales .
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management Worse Communication
Senior Associate Agent III (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKMay 16, 2013
No fair play and advancement was not based on seniority!! No training in some departments. Not family friendly!! Changes were made to the benefit package without notifying staff. Petty catty co-workers made for an uncomfortable day at the office. Unfortunately there are many complaints and not enough time.
Pros
benefit package
Cons
no paid overtime long hours no recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes23No7

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture