THE CO-OPERATORS

THE CO-OPERATORS Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun loving people to work with
Data Analyst and Developer (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON19 November 2016
I love working with my team mate, great management and good environment. I love to work again if I get opportunity. No pressure and helpful team mate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Multiple Locations5 August 2016
Overall it's a good place to work, with good training. The main focus however is on life insurance and investments with complete disregard for all other stats. It's actually a very greed focused set up and if you don't play the political game they don't have need for you. If you focus on helping people you will enjoy it more than if you focus on selling to people.
Pros
Full benefits, bankers hours no weekends
Cons
Micro-management, pay is low compared to other companies
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Senior Underwriting Coach until retirement in 2006 (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 August 2016
Started in 1977 and worked for 30 years. Many opportunities for advancement. Started as file clerk, policy change, clerk, underwriter, senior underwriting analyst, national underwriter, then senior underwriter/trainer/coach. Took early retirement. Excellent experience.
Pros
working conditions wonderful
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
General Agent (Former Employee) –  La Crete, AB21 July 2016
Pros
-easy going people to work with
-Edge benefits

Cons
-No advancement opportunity
-low income compared to surrounding area
(7 hours a day no saturdays)
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never boring, higher education career
Insurance Sales and Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Innisfail, AB15 July 2016
Continual education on Insurance changes as set out by the Government regulations.
High paced environment.
Must have excellent time management skills.
Heavy workload.
Excellent business experience.
Working with anyone from a 16yrs old person who just got their driver's license, to multi-million dollar business clients with multi- faceted needs.
Pros
continuously learning new skills
Cons
must be a perfectionist as liability wieghs on your shoulders
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Training
Commercial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC8 December 2015
Training was great! Staff was easy to work with; but management was weak and un-educated in team management. Salary was decent for the work load given. Job expectations change frequently without notification, so be prepared for possible frustration.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The awards don't lie
Web Publisher (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON17 November 2015
The Co-operators receives recognition every year as being one of the best employers. The awards don't lie; they are a great employer. Everyone is great to work with and professionalism never wains.
Pros
2 paid days for volunteering
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small office
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  grimsby29 September 2015
Everyone had their same daily routines. I would open bank deposits box and process any payments scheduled for that date. I would check messages and emails and start responding to any incoming inquiries. Throughout the day I would work on any ongoing work, quotes or insurance policies to write. On down time I would prospect new sales within current clients and out call for new business.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace with lots of room to grow and Support from you leaders
Personal Lines Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 September 2015
A typical day at work was fun but also a heavy work load.
I learned a lot as this was a big change in my career. Learned a lot more time management and organization as it is needed in the role so that you don't fall behind.
The management was supportive, caring, helpful, hard working and professional.
My co-workers were all supportive and helpful and enjoyable to work with.
The hardest part of the job would some days be the work load, but with time and patience you learn to manage the work.
The most enjoyable part of the job would be the culture of our department. Every part of the job was incredible and the work life balance in the company really makes for a happy team.
Pros
Quiet rooms, Treadmill, Ping-pong table, amazing benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work positive environment
Book Keeper (Current Employee) –  Bonnyville, Alberta31 August 2015
I love it there just not enough hours as I am only part time.

Great team building events and great training and support.

Staff is good to work with very enjoyable

Love working independently there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced interactive work environment
Associate Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  La Crête, AB25 August 2015
- Client based work
-Learned how to deligate work, make schedules, plan days, prioritize clients by needs.
-Amend policies
-write new business
Pros
Got to meet new people and make relationships dailey
Cons
Dealing with unruley clients
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperators
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Moncton NB5 August 2015
I worked with the cooperators for 6 months and it is a fantastic company to work with. Every person truly does matter and everything changes fast and there are lots of opportunities to grow and develop. I feel the Coaches and Supervisors really want to see you reach you full potential and they are willing to help if they can.

I worked with phone support for other agents of the cooperators and also did data management. I really enjoyed the job.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
Most positions are only offered on contract
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes fun to work and most times stressful
Personal Lines Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 August 2015
The above work places was fun especially the staffs.We did a lot of group outside and inside activities. A table tennis table was available to all staff and also an exercise machine.
Pros
Flex time
Cons
shift schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great leaning experience
Associate Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON7 July 2015
Repetitive work environment

Continuously addressing customer inquiries - educating clients on new and existing products.

Ensuring all client information is up to date and correct.

Identifying new potential clients

Promoting company brand and values

Strong verbal and written communication

Immediate and accurate responses
Pros
Positive work environment
Cons
extensive hours and limited room for growth within agency
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4-star
Associate Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  newfoundland21 April 2015
Great building, great staff, great training.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the day-to-day interaction with clients and taking care of their individual needs.
Pros
great hours of work
Cons
dealing with claims
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too short period to comment
IT Procurement - Contract Management (Former Employee) –  Guelph16 April 2015
Helped out with RFP process to find a vendor who can print one policy. I like it the fact that they have a gym in house so it's very convenient.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Should never have left my previous employer
INSURANCE SALES SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  London, ON24 March 2015
Stressful place to work. ......micro management. ..management doesn't like to be proven wrong. ...
you don't know from one day to the next if you still have a job
they fired 60+ people to hire new staff a lower wage
not a good place to be. ....
Pros
No pros
Cons
Stressful atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes26No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping people achieve their financial goals
Financial Planner (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON15 March 2015
Love my clients and helping them achieve THEIR finacial goals! Hardest part of the job is balancing home and work life balance. You have to see your clients when it is convenient for them so there is alot of long days if you want to make any money.
Pros
Flexible schedule, great clients
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 March 2015
Very good company to work for, company pushes for life insurance sales too much, and would disregards all other stats......................
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance industry Experience
Associate Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  New Minas, NS3 January 2015
I received experience in the Insurance industry, specifically in House insurance with some experience in auto and life. I passed my general insurance license exam also.
Was this review helpful?YesNo8Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.6