The Brick Employee Reviews

Found 213 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse specialist
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 June 2017
Made $14 per hour wage, moving furniture onto trucks for delivery and within warehouse. Worked with an exceptional crew nighttime in suburb of Calgary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 June 2017
Good learning environment, good first job, possibility for advancement possible. West and East locations poorly run.
Sales people sometimes misinform customers leading to conflict in the CSR dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well operated
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Brockville, ON9 June 2017
Everything is well looked after both in and out of the store with assistance from all the employees, management and coworkers are respectful and easy to work with and it's all around a very lucky possition to be in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management don't know anything
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB7 June 2017
Unless you are a white male over the age of 50 you have zero opinion, and no rights as sales staff.
Females beware, male associates will make lude comments because they are encouraged to.
Pros
Beside timmies
Cons
Over worked and underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just working in the back
Senior Warehouse Agent (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK30 May 2017
We worked in the back, unloading trailers or building displays of products. loading customers vehicles and dealing with product transfers. Even carrying out products threw the front doors for customers.
Pros
Good staff to teach you
Cons
Lots of work done is not needed to be done and offten un done by manament
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, Disorganized and disrespectful
Private Contractor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 May 2017
Contracting with the brick is pure stress. They are disorganized and disrespectful about it. They will not take responsibility for their poor action and will throw their employees or contractors under the bus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind of lame
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC9 May 2017
The job surrounds you with greedy people who lie and cheat each other. The management style encourages the employees to steal from each other. The only good thing about the job are a few friendly employees that will treat you like a human being.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 May 2017
Not great for family life but for a ambitious person you can make good money. Work mostly evenings and weekends and they are very strict on scheduling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very toxic workplace
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON7 May 2017
There is a lot of drama at this place, each department seems to hate the other ones and it is extremely tiring. The work its self isn't bad, a little weight intensive with all the lifting, but the environment makes it extremely difficult to continue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 May 2017
I worked here for a short period and didn't enjoy my time. I was trying to change my career path and the expectations on someone completely new to the industry wasn't fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about The Brick?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i nice place to work
warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK4 May 2017
i enjoyed working. it was a nice environment to work in. i didnt have any trouble with my colleagues and enjoy the customers sense of humor. so thats all i can say
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchandiser
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 May 2017
I really enjoyed working at the brick, just sucks that i got let go because sales were slow. Other than that great place to work and a great group of people to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent job
Delivery/warehouse, Customer service (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB25 April 2017
this was your typical retail job. hours were nights and weekends sometimes, and most stat holidays but the job was good. pay was what is to be expected of a warehouse/ customer service job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company to work for.
Order Picker/Shipper Receiver (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 April 2017
Very hardworking staff, incredibly friendly, well paying, co-workers are always willing to help, consistent staff working there for years. very professional and very organized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC18 April 2017
Sales driven so they don't care about anyone that isn't selling. Minimum wage with 19 cent raises, terrible hours, benefits don't kick in for a year after you've become full time which is likely already a year wait. So two years before benefits. Warehouse employees expected to learn their antiquated, super unfriendly computer system. Again, all for minimum wage. Look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK18 April 2017
I enjoyed working at the Brick. Staff and management were great. There were plenty of opportunity to grow within the company. Training covered everything I needed to know!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC7 April 2017
Trés bon travail , J'ai bien aimer mon expérience chez brick .
Pros
Expérience
Cons
travail stressant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Atmosphere
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  London, ON2 April 2017
Working at the Brick allowed me to be creative in my day to day. We had several contests that I was able to participate in, as well as an excellent staff that made the day fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customers and friendly co-workers, poor management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 March 2017
Sales are the most important part of the job and in all fairness, the Brick has a good selection of products, accessories and other add-ons to make money. Vendor training and online training is good and detailed.

The co-workers are all right mostly but the job being commission based, the environment is always competitive and sometimes your colleagues will fight over customers.

Management is poor, and they will go back on their words if it's inconvenient to them- discourteous and disrespectful with sub-par training are mild terms to describe them. Favouritism is rampant, with lots of 'reporters' on the sales floor.
Pros
Lots of opportunities to make commissions, training and new product launches
Cons
micro-management, outdated and slow sales computer system, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad managment
Warehouse Attendant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC25 March 2017
I didn't like this job because of the management and I the disrespect the employees received on a daily base. I was an order picker and would drop my orders to selected bays for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Brick. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 222 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

65%
58 ratings
Add your rating