The Brick Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Responsible in Customer service, payments, returns (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 October 2017
Staff was amazing. Productive job. Learned so much and would love to recommend this job to anyone that loves to interact with people. Very good working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual fun workplace with friendly staff
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB2 October 2017
A typical day is normally fairly slow where you could solicit while you waited for work to arise. You learn lots about merchandising and how to persuade a customer to close a sale as a sales associate. As a CSR, you deal a lot with online sales, orders over the phone, assisting customers with questions and concerns or directions. There really was no hard part of the job. Being technologically inclined learning how to operate the system wasn't difficult, but may be for the average mind.
Pros
Friendly environment, Slow Pace
Cons
Slow Pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK29 September 2017
made some good money on commission and was able to develop my sales skill while becoming top sales person in my region for more than a few months in a row
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 September 2017
Enjoyed my time there as well. At the store it was a positive culture. Dealt like we were just a number. Work life balance was not the greatest. Overall good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chill environment, policies a little off
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK27 September 2017
unfair compensation structure
a lot of pressure on sales staff
communication is minimal between sales and delivery system, between sales and management
awesome showcase reps
Pros
incentives
Cons
compensation structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and Long Hours
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK26 September 2017
A lot of standing around waiting for customers to walk in the door. Extended hours from 10-12 hours on days there was a special offer. Not good for anyone who has a family. Great for people who enjoy having no life or personal time.
Pros
Lots of places to sit when slow
Cons
Slow days = Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to work
CORPORATE SECURITY ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 September 2017
This company sees their employees as names, not numbers. The Brick was the most productive places I've ever worked (they also had a lot of fun too) My management team showed me so much about my chosen field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company for sales employees
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ontario24 September 2017
All management promises are 100 % lies, company only looks for new ways to cut commission and income of sales employees.

Worst company for sales people to work
Pros
nothing
Cons
so many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pushy staff and rude customer service management needs improvement
Employee (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC18 September 2017
When I started the job was good. But the customer service department was a gong show. For the amount of time I was there the turn over rate really said it all. Compensation was good for the amount of work you do but the policy for respect in the workplace here is a joke. Understaffed and undertrained. Questionable place overall.

The policy for working at the brick is not that bad its the enforcement that needs work.
Lots of perks work wise. Good deals for staff. Lots of incentives.
Pros
Good breaks job perks incentives for good work
Cons
Management customer service store policies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of perks
Warranty Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 September 2017
Good place to work, lots of work/life balance. Supportive culture. The nature of my job was claim related, so not very positive to begin with, but the company as a whole is good. Helping people was the best part of the job.
Pros
lots of perks
Cons
work load was extreme, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unorganized environment, stressful long days where too much was expected, poor planning was a major stressor.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NS5 September 2017
average day consisted of sales people providing surprises of favors they offered on your behalf to close a sale. usually a surprise at every delivery had to move other furniture or remove old furniture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission Sales
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB29 August 2017
The Brick was my first job in a commission sales environment. I learned how to sell a product and break out of my shell. It was difficult to get proper operations training. It was also difficult to move up
Pros
Amazing family/work balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job for a decent amount of pay
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  High Level, AB28 August 2017
Very physically demanding.
Not a lot of organization.
Pay is good.
Puting in an hour of paid overtime is not uncommon for delivery days.
Unloading weekly freight trucks is often rushed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but fun
Warehouse Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  London, ON24 August 2017
I enjoy working at the brick I just wish that there was a full time position for me then i wouldnt be searching for another job, I do enjoy the work and my coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst company I ever worked for!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON16 August 2017
A brutal company that brutalizes its employees from the top down. Unethical and immoral. The company has formalized harassment in its procedures. I could write more but you get the point.
Pros
None
Cons
Immoral and Unethical
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 August 2017
Friendly co-workers and great management staff. I learned good team work principles. And developed good sales techniques. Very good pay for a work I love to do
Pros
Great management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting new people
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 August 2017
Always remember from my first job, you never too old to learn something new. There always be something to learn and be shown. Work in management for 10 years as a operation supervisor. Enjoy job training and learning new programs. Most important part of the job is seeing the customer satisfy with your work. Having repeat customer is great for my self and the company I work for.
Pros
Employee disount
Cons
Nothing bad
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a pretty decent place over all
Swamper/Labourer (Former Employee) –  British Columbia6 August 2017
not that bad crews where nice i buy there products still and do deliveries with my company for them from time to time over all not that bad of a place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprentissage
Conseiller aux ventes (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC5 August 2017
J'ai appris les différentes technique de ventes et le fonctionnement des promotions. Très utile dans ma vie de tous les jours
Pros
Ambiance de travail excellente !!
Cons
Rémunération à la commission ce qui résulte à des payes très instable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and ever changing environment
Visual Merchandiser/Interior Decorator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 August 2017
Great balance of work home life
Job allows you to show your own creative style and freedom to do so .
Always changing product lineup to keep job and environment fresh but sometimes challenging.
Pros
Sufficient breaks
Cons
Blackout periods for vacation time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Brick. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 255 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2