The Brick Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Any brick22 January 2018
Management is a joke. Doesnt about employees. Work every weekend. Not a friendly place to work. You can be successful if you don’t care about your coworkers. Work every holiday. Forget about spending time with family and friends. Need to be cutthroat to be successful at this job.
Pros
None
Cons
Everyrhing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun Workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON21 January 2018
What i learnt:
- Answering product and service questions
- Maintained Customer Records
- Balanced and handled large amount of funds
- Filed and printed reports

Hardest Part of the job:
When customers got upset or mad

The most enjoyable part of the job:
Working in a safe and fun environment with people you know
Pros
Lunch breaks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treat employees like kids high turnover Slimy management
Appliance/Electronic Sales (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC9 January 2018
hated working there , made good money, but hated the way management treated sales people...that thrived on intimidation. Catered to getting customers credit more that getting them the right products
Pros
did well at commission
Cons
awful work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work for
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC8 January 2018
Worked here back in June and it was the worse experience I've ever had. They force the protection policy on clients and if the customers don't like want the protection they try to find a way to sneak it in. Would I recommend anyone to work here possibly not unless you like to push stuff like that on me then be my guest. Co workers were stuck up and rude. Very high demanding job.
Pros
Hour break
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in sales is tough
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 January 2018
Job culture is good there. people are friendly there. If you are working for services and merchandising you are fine. Sales is a little tough there. Weekends are always on for sales people. The hardest part is to get the products delivered to the customer due to unavailability of stocks or delivery dates.
Job culture and environment is very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clumsy system and managment
Merchandizer / Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON6 January 2018
managers do not teach the team well enough about the system because they themselves do not know how to use it pay was terrible dirty dusty warehouse with moldy boxes and dat rodents traped
Pros
free lunches sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome friendly and cooperative workplace
merchandising/warehouse (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta27 December 2017
Typical days are fairly simple, pre-planned by management, received much warehouse experience, friendly, knowledgeable management, awesome workplace culture, hardest part is the computer system with occasional lagging, love the friendly coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have to be fit for the job.
Delivery helper (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 December 2017
You can make good money working for the brick. Enjoy being on the road freely rather than working in a warehouse. You can meet interesting customers. Overall you can learn a lot with experience at the brick
Pros
Making tip money.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good if you like people
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BC15 December 2017
difficult work /life balance, demanding job but good co workers, numbers are all that matters ,get to learn lots on the job, co workers are very helpful .
Pros
meet lots of people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Assistant Manager The Brick Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 December 2017
the time i was there i really liked it , my co workers were dearly amazing . completely sweet hearts . if i could work there again i definitely wold .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment to work in
Customer Service / Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON12 December 2017
I had fun and learned a lot working at The Brick. I enjoyed the management training and most of the employees were nice to work with. I also enjoyed the community feeling of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Customer Service/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC11 December 2017
I built a great family within the company of The Brick.
Lots of laughs and pranks which made the job so much easier and smooth-going.
I appreciate the company for letting me explore all the different departments within the establishment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company Poor service
Sales Rep (Current Employee) –  Langford, BC9 December 2017
Clock in and walk floor checking sales flyer items are displayed and know location. Sale merchandise, ask customers for a Brick Card.
Clean assigned area daily. Keep client contact list, and prospect always.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Cons
Terrible training and relationships with customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyed working there.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 December 2017
very nice place to work with a lots of challenges. I learned about customer service orientation and how to deal with them effectively.
I enjoyed working in a team and I helped my co-workers and achieve my goals efficiently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a commission job should be your last option
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 November 2017
Typical day at work-Wait for the customers to walk in the store and assist them with their purchases.
Learned- about the products- furniture, mattress, appliances and electronics sold by the company through the brick learning site, fairs, training, etc.
Management just cares about the numbers and their priority is selling warranties, plans, etc.
Most of the people around are friendly and co-operative.
The hardest part- it is a commission based job, so the more you sell the more you earn. But during slow traffic(which is most of the times) you have to wait long hours for the customer to enter the store and with so many sales people on the floor you have to wait for your turn to approach customer.
Best part is- you do not have to stand for long hours unlike other retail places. During holiday seasons you earn good amount.
Pros
Ample relaxation time during slow traffic
Cons
Long hours, pay is less for the amount of effort and work, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worplace assesment
reatil sales consultant (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK4 November 2017
I learned a lot at the brick when it came to customer service and making sure the customer was satisfied not only with the intial purchase but also with the follow up. the follow up included scheduling delievery/pick up dates, calling them to make sure they received and are happy with the product and letting them know of any new sales that are coming up.
Pros
sales bonuses for performance
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not approve
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB3 November 2017
I was constantly stressed out working for the Brick. Commission pay is highly competitive and this causes fights amongst co-workers. I'm glad I left. Goodluck!
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
Easy to become bored
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with a great team
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC26 October 2017
I worked at The Brick for 3 years and couldn't have been happier to do so. My fellow employees and management team were supportive, hard working, always willing to lend a helping hand and enjoyable. It's impossible to say what I enjoyed most about the company as it ranges from my work in general to regular and new customers.
Pros
Great team, great pay, great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Possible room for growth
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC25 October 2017
Not a bad place to work. Management is respectful and there seems to be room for advancement within the firm. I recommend it to anyone who needs work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working in Limbo
Multiple Positions (Sales, CSR, Warehousing) (Former Employee) –  Multiple19 October 2017
Working at the Brick is kind of surreal. If you're passable as an employee, don't messing things up too badly too often, and show up for your scheduled shifts, you're basically employed for life (at least in Ontario's Bricks anyways). But at the same time, so many employees are simply "passable" that if you show even a hint of intelligence or aptitude you get shoved into the management training programme and promises about your future get shoveled onto your lap. It feels pretty good for a while, but it rubs off quickly when you realize that management has no intention of doing better than yearly twenty cent raises and slashing hours when they screw the budget.

The people are usually nice enough, or at least fun enough that work isn't so bad. Nothing is exceptionally difficult, except some customers who either were promised something impossible or randomly decided the Brick would move heaven and earth to make their wildest fantasies come true. You'll never be punished for not being able to literally change the fabric of reality to make some of their wishes materialize, but neither will you get a pat on the back or a raise for making minor miracles happen. You'll get good stories to laugh about at least.

Management ranges from well-trained and thoughtful to bumbling and impossibly irrational. You'll get requests from one manager like "go help put that couch by that door," then three hours later when they leave another manager will come up and say "put that couch back, manager A had you construct a fire hazard." With customers, sometimes you'll answer the phone and be given
  more... fixable, approachable issues you can knock out in five—other times you'll be saddled with multi-week (or month) problems because some doorknob high up the food chain refuses to do their job, but also refuses to deal with the fallout (ie. getting screamed at by customers) so you get to be their fall guy. You'll also see some pretty astoundingly shady stuff happen. Usually those managers involved will get fired or put under a microscope for long enough to be fired later.

But it's fun when it's not stressful. You have to get used to being yelled at, or figure out coping mechanisms, because you will be yelled at eventually. Some dumb butt will eventually get you blamed or take some heat for their mistake even if you don't make any big/noticeable ones. Smaller stores have a good sense of community and supervisors or departmental managers generally are pretty easy going.
  less
Pros
If you're trainable you're untouchable, good community
Cons
Stressful, customer expectations way too high (who's promising all this?), getting shouted at, low wage, low raise, advancement slow, unclear policies, unclear advancement structure, some difficult coworkers or regional higher up employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Brick. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 301 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3