Find companies:
The Body Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
204 reviews

The Body Shop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Manager/Events Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 2, 2013
Pros: environment
Cons: retail hours, no benefits, low pay
Would like to still work for the company. Small shops with only part-time positions except for managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of this job is taking to customers about different products
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Doha, QatarAugust 31, 2013
i enjoyed working at the body shop since this is my favorite shop , i had good experience by communicating with customers ,understanding what customer needs and help him making a decision by showing variety of products to choose from
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier/ sales associate
Cashier (Former Employee), Fort Walton Beach, FLAugust 22, 2013
my position was to greet customers, ring up their merchandise, and opening dressing rooms. Also we have to meet daily sales quota.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team to work with excellent customer service and very enjoyable.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Hempstead, ENGAugust 22, 2013
Pros: good team
Cons: work experiance only
I learnt a lot on my two weeks work experience at The Body Shop including a lot of new skills such as time management and customer service. It was a great team to work for with a group of fun reliable hardworking people. The Body Shop was my ideal workplace I was always busy whether it be helping the customers, handing out free samples or giving hand – more... massages. I would not hesitate in taking on any retail job like this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment in the shop.
Shop Manager (Current Employee), IndianaAugust 20, 2013
Pros: free product. my team was amazing. easy to sell to customers.
Cons: home office and district managers.
The products are great. Once you get outside the store level there is absolutely no support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad communication.
ASSISTANT SHOP MANAGER (Former Employee), Torrance, CAAugust 18, 2013
Corporate and lower level management were not on the same page. Often online sales varied from in store and made customers confused and ultimately upset. False emails advertising sales that they were not actually having made it a very stressful and often hostile work environment with the amount of upset customers. Upper Management had disconnect with – more... store level employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable company to work for
Home Consultant (Former Employee), LetchworthAugust 7, 2013
I started working as a Home Consultant for The Body Shop because I was looking to bring in a little extra income whist raising my young family. However I learnt that working from home is not as simple as you might first think and there is a lot of work to do that can still affect your time with your family so therefore I chose not to continue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and overpowering company
Supervisor (Former Employee), UKAugust 2, 2013
This company has given me extreme stress! I am currently dealing with them regarding them not paying me correctly. If you are going to work for them, expect confusing payslips where you can't work out if they have paid you properly. Expect to work just as much outside of work unpaid as you do in store. The whole company is just about making money and – more... giving you extreme targets in order for you to make them money. A typical day at work consists of getting on the floor and working 15 minutes before hand, and 10 minutes after, UNPAID. During your paid time you have to achieve hourly targets as an individual and as a store. Co-workers are the only good thing about this job, and mine were all lovely. I would never work for them again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compnay, slow traffic
Store Manager (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILJuly 25, 2013
Good company, but it is a much slower retail environment. Pay is not the best, but a positive atmosphere for the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company while I was there (former Store Manager)
Store Manager (Former Employee), Garden City, NYJuly 24, 2013
Pros: discounts, great bond w staff, benefits, pto
Cons: not very structured
High Volume mall store, opened, most of the time. Closed 1 night per week which was peak day Saturday, 1-2 mids. Average day was opening the store, set up products on floor for demo's, makeovers, etc. I learned a lot about being a super hands on Store Manager even w/ a good sized staff. My DM was incredible. I will Not identify her she recently left – more... several months after I did but I will say she was hilarious, fair, also very hands on, and you could talk to her and she would always understand. She was a no bs, say it how it is person and I adored her for that. Hard Part was a disconnect between the corp world and the in store world.Hence where local Sm's and my DM filled that gap. .My passion for makeup and skin care and being surrounded by that daily taught me an immense amount even more so than I thought – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and great place to work and gain new skills
Shop Assistant (Former Employee), LondonJuly 23, 2013
Pros: free beauty gift set
Cons: long hours
I gained skills such as communication skills, and was able to work in a team thus furthering and developing me teamwork skills. I was able to adapt to the sometimes busy environment and was taught how to work under pressure as I was given a sales target.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Good Experience
Sales assistant (Former Employee), CrawleyJuly 22, 2013
Pros: free body butters
Cons: standing for 7 hours
A typical day at work involved standing a lot and restocking when the stocks were running out. I learnt that being patient is key and that if you speak to a customer with respect they will also respect you back. The management within the shop was perfect, there would never be any complaints about there being a mess anywhere or any of the shelves being – more... dirty. The people I worked with were very nice and very social, they were so easy to get along with it didn't feel like I had known them for such little time. The hardest part of the job was making sure I got the numbers exactly right for how much more of the new stock was needed to get from the stock room as if there was less the shelves would look empty and if more they would look over loaded. The most enjoyable part was socialising with the customers and being able to help them when they were asking for a product or some guidance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Face Paced
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 21, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: no health benefits
Columbus Circle is a busy and face-paced location in New York City.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical factory job.
Assembly Worker (Former Employee), Wake Forest, NCJuly 18, 2013
The Body Shop was just a typical factory job. the atmosphere was friendly and the duties weren't to hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 10, 2013
The Body Shop had a specific type of mantra dealing with people on an intimate level. Good place to work if you're a people person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), HounslowJuly 4, 2013
Pros: day shifts, working in a team
Cons: constantly on your feet
Working in a busy environment on a day to day basis. Working with a team that are willing to help you learn about the company and products. The hardest part of the job is that we are always on our feet but the most enjoyable part of the job is that meeting new people and receiving good feedback from the customers about my customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best place to work
sales assistant/shop formen (Former Employee), DeLand, FLJuly 3, 2013
Pros: frendly and helpful
Cons: n/a
the one place you never had to worry. were they would do anything for anyone with home town values
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous company to work for!
Store Manager/ Area Manager for Northern CA (Former Employee), Roseville, CAJune 24, 2013
Pros: fun environment, wonderful co workers, great customers.
Cons: little room for upward growth, low payroll allotted.
Because the store ran on single coverage everything was done on the sales floor, for example, making the schedule and processing shipment. The real focus was on customer service, it was important that every customer received personalized time with you, and the idea was that if we spent time really trying to understand their skincare needs then we would – more... be able to properly recommend the best products for them. We were required to actually demonstrate the products on their skin so we often did facials and make-overs. The job was not very operationally demanding, but there was a strict focus on sales goals and profit. We also focused a great deal on conversion goals to help boost sales during slow traffic times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and Friendly environment
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee), Grimsby, ENGJune 21, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed my work placement at The Body Shop. It was a positive introduction the working world and was extremely beneficial. I worked with various people who were all very friendly and welcoming. I completed the tasks of a Shop Floor assistant which I really enjoyed. I would like to complete another job similar to this, however I would like – more... to extend my knowledge in other areas also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SO much fun
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Phoenix AzJune 17, 2013
This comany has so many values and its so earth friendly. I enjoy this company very much.. I would definitely go back

About The Body Shop

Promoting beauty in the customer's eye instead of the beholder's, The Body Shop International sells skin and hair care products – Read more

The Body Shop Photos