Find companies:
The Body Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
254 reviews

The Body Shop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Customer Consultant (Former Employee), CoventryFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: the products are amazing and you get good bonuses if the store hits targets
Cons: really hard to progress in the company, not as glamorous as it seems, very low contracts, hardly any overtime
I enjoyed working at The Body Shop, mainly because of my colleagues and my love of the products. There is a lot more to this job that you would initially think. For example, tidying stock room, heavy lifting, a lot of cleaning, makeovers, shop floor moves, cleaning make up stand, skin consultations and a lot of knowledge of all products (where the ingredients – more... are from and how the money from the ingredients helps farmers, women etc). A big issue for me was the hours. I was only contracted 12 hours and had rent and bills to pay which was very hard. The overtime wasn't that great. For me, it was never a permanent job due to short-houred contracts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Senior Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COFebruary 14, 2014
This was a learning experience if you enjoy retail work. This was about 10 years ago.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low volume A/P role
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Mulgrave, VICFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: relaxed environment, onsite cafe, friendly
Cons: not as busy as i was used to.
Very friendly environment to work although I would have liked to have been a bit busier. On a daily basis I would open mail, process invoices, answer queries, do filing etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Temp (Former Employee), London, ENGFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: learning new skills of beauty
Good Overall Workplace, Friendly Staff, Learned New Skills Of Beauty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: great product
Cons: my manager wasnt the greatest
the only thing i liked about my job was the customer service being able to find what they needed, my manager was not the greatest, she would ignore you for a week if she didn't like the way you made your displays, i didn't really learn much and i never felt appreciated even when i would make the highest sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with people are nice, but working in there is different
Part Time Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Chesterfield, MOFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: long breaks, good salary, and nice co workers
Cons: short hours, try to keep up with stocking on shelves to make look full, and possible get written up for not doing your tasks
When I got this job, I was told that I was gonna get about 35+ hours and it only happened just one time so I'm very disappointed with the hours I get. The people I work with are nice and fun, but whenever I work at there like things are not busy and this is my first time working as a manager and I'm still trying to learn how to be a leader in the store – more... and I get some negative comments/reviews from the store manager and area manager that I didn't do so well. I'm just very disappointed with this job. If you ever think about applying at this place, I would do it if only you love, I mean like truly love the skin care, body care, and giving others a make over too. That's another thing I've realized is I'm more into clothing fashion than beauty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting experience and good climate at work
Casual Christmas (Former Employee), NFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: free lunch, friendly enviroment, weekends free, some times short shifts
Cons: minimum wage
Work in The Body Shop make me involve in the fair trade and Community trade with people from the South Pacific countries.

As a journalist I enjoy met different stories, some very hard to deal with, as a war o be separate of their family or fiance for more than 1 year.

Even though the job was not my profile I really enjoyed my days in the warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work with
Adecco Temp (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: standing for long hour
Working long hours , Meeting new people, Learning new things
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
RETAIL MANAGER (Current Employee), RomfordFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: progession through the business, from sales consultant to store manager, ten years service rewarding in extra holiday and bonus.
Cons: salary not in line with the long hours put in and the responsiblitly i have.
Very productive and fast pace business, Since being at The Body Shop I have built self confidence, team motivation, great customer service skills as detailed in my CV.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Independent Consultant (Current Employee), HomeFebruary 5, 2014
You're paid for what you do, so as such you can get out as much as you put in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Sales assistant (Former Employee), Islington, ENGFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: owen lunch
Cons: part time
working at body shop was great having different things to work out with everyday such helping to do displays on the shop floor and heling at the till.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for a on the side extra job
At home party consultant (Former Employee), Wangaratta, VICJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: working when it suited me, and being able to book parties around my other two jobs and busy lifestyle.
Cons: not a steady income and that the effort put out was more than the the money recived.
i started working for the body shop at home parties after i had one myself. the person who took my party suggested i started my own parties as a way of earning a bit more money on the side in the lead up to my overseas travels.
i grew fond of it however i didnt see the profit so thought that it was unbalanced in that i was putting in a lot of effort – more... and not seeing it as much in return. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A neat place to work.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: diverse workforce
Cons: upward mobility is minimal
Fun working environment. I enjoyed working in an environment that was physically demanding, and diverse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice experience to work with multi national enviroment.
SALES ADVISOR (Former Employee), bahrainJanuary 25, 2014
This is my first abroad job, the work culture was fabulous, Our manager she is wonderful lady.In Body Shop I get chance to learned customer service about cosmetics beauty product,skin care product,As i was assigned as Skin care specialist, they use to provide me training about skin care and there product on weekly basis.Even work shift was hard but – more... I use to enjoy every moment of my work because it was all new to me so i learned everything whenever i get chance – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active enviroment
Full time assistant manager (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CAJanuary 21, 2014
This is a good place to work, for someone who likes to be active, meet new people, and work in team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experiance role
Sales/ Make-up assistant (Former Employee), westwood cross shopping centreJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: samples of products
Cons: not getting paid
I went in on a 13 week work experience course after leaving from college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun , out going , diverse
Customer Sales Associate (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 17, 2014
great retail. fun people. good diverse job. nice variety. helped close the store , was cashier . did make up. lotion. cleaned. did sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Stockroom Consultant (Former Employee), Thurrock, ENGJanuary 15, 2014
A typical day for me was to get stuck into to the stockroom and unpack all the boxes.
i learnt that work places like this can be friendly and i gained more experience to my stockroom experience.
The managment is fantastic, just how how work place should be ran.
hardest part of the job is equal because everything is tough.
The most enjoable part of the – more... job is the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Practice what you preach
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Milford, CTJanuary 14, 2014
The company would have contests but management got all the perks. One prize was a cosmetics magazine subscription. One for the ENTIRE store to share. Woo-hoo? But the job was alot of fun and the products are great, but there is too much pressure to sell and you don't get any commission or other incentive to do better and are chastised for not making – more... quotas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great products
Part-Time Assistant Manager (Current Employee), City of Sunrise, FLJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: benefits
Working at The Body Shop has been the best experience in my life. I've meet a lot of interesting and fun people who have influenced me in a positive way. The Company is a great place to work, the products are amazing as well as the value of the company. I get along with my co-workers, we are like family. The hardest part of my job is to keep all the – more... visual merchandise to date. The most enjoyable part of the job is to interact with people from all over the world, try the products and get to know them all. – less

About The Body Shop

The Body Shop® Australia is a fully Australian owned company. Owned by the Wise family, Graeme Wise opened the first Australian – Read more

The Body Shop Photos