Find companies:
The Body Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
270 reviews

The Body Shop Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Student Representative (Former Employee), LondonAugust 6, 2014
I worked for Body shop as work experience. Working was fun however it would have been more fulfilling if i was on the shop floor often. The staff were lovey and give you in depth information regarding product.As my fist job experience i acquired my basic skills like friendliness, being approachable and helpful from there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), romfordAugust 6, 2014
Pros: bonus free products
Cons: not enough hours
fun and quirky company to work for.
perfect learning curve for marketing products and on go events.
great small team to work for
opportunities to grow further into the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Store manager (Current Employee), Manchester, ENGAugust 4, 2014
Your standard company to work for.
Management isn't great at all, don't really understand what it is they do but there are some very good people in this company.

Love the products and they live up to there reputation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place but tiring standing on your feet all day.
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee), Greenhithe, ENGAugust 2, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks are free, you can leave the store.
Cons: it was work experience so unpaid.
Working at The Body shop was work experience, therefore I was working unpaid. But a day consisted of an early morning briefing, target sales and promotions. We all then took a selected part of the store and made it our target sales area. I learned a lot of new things, also hand massage and customer care. My co workers were very supportive and helped – more... out when I needed them to, but I am a fast learner and didnt really need any help what so ever. It was hard standing on my feet for 6 hours, basically not doing anything except holding a bottle of perfume and asking if the few customers that walked in were okay. I did make up some Christmas gift sets though, and that was really fun. I met some lovely people and had a good time whilst being there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I lovvved this Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 22, 2014
This job gets 5 stars and more . The people that you meet are like one of a kind. I learn so much from this job, like how to , Addressed customer inquiries and resolved complaints,Maintained daily record of all transactions,Completed weekly schedules according to payroll policies.

I loved this place!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have a room with a basket ball hoop and something like a ping pong table
Picker/Packer (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJuly 20, 2014
Pros: they give out freeze pops when its real hot in the warehouse.they buy us hot dogs, chips and soda some times.
Cons: we have two 20 min break.if its real hot in the warehouse they let us go to break a little early
when getting to work i punch in grab scan gun set it up put boxes on my pallet and lables on my boxes and start picking orders.i learned to make sure my count is right and try to stay productive .management is real good.my co-workers are real friendly if i have a problem with a product or something they do there best to help me are find someone that – more... can. the hardest part of the job is there is none.the most enjoyable part of the job is every time you pick a large amont of products your name goes into a drawing for a $50.00 gift card . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to develop as a manager
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), union stationJuly 12, 2014
Pros: ethical company
Cons: high stress
High valume sales
Managed all facets of a stand alone retail store
Management team is supportive
Respectful relationships with co-workers
Difficult to break through customer objections
The team effort
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the fashion store
Store Manager (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great discounts
Cons: long holiday hours
I loved and enjoyed my career here the most a very friendly customer service based business very fashion forward company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Body Shop
Shop Floor Assistant/ Stock Assistant (Former Employee), Kingston upon Hull, ENGJuly 8, 2014
Pros: breaks
Cons: wasn't paid (work experience)
Although I wasn't at Body Shop for long I did enjoy my time there as I gained the knowledge of how retail works, I learned how to interact with customers etc. Some of my co-workers are really friendly and happy to teach me the ways of the shop. The hardest part of my time at Body Shop was probably trying to get passing people to try out products, most – more... of the time you are ignored but you have to have the confidence to approach people and I gained this confidence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Body Shop
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CAJuly 6, 2014
Pros: training, free dinners from winning competitions
A typical Day at work was taking direction from manager as to what needs to be done. Then I would relay this with strategy and technique to sales associates and so on floor training. I would assist the sales associates with closing a sale and add on our member card. My coworkers were great we had a small staff which was nice to work things out with – more... them and know how everyones learns. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning all the new and eco friendly makeup tips and skincare products through our awesome corporate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
room for social growth
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAJuly 5, 2014
awesome environment, not a lot of room for advancement and the pay and benefits aren't the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is where I found my calling.
Assistant manager (Former Employee), Aventura, FLJuly 1, 2014
It was working here that I realized I wanted to get into the Makeup/skincare field. I loved it and was pretty good at it. The job itself was hectic at times and the co workers were amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), LiverpoolJune 26, 2014
Pros: gaining knowledge of products and store discount
I interacted with the public to give them the best possible advice I could. I worked in the stock room refilling shelves and also gift wrapped sets as it was a Christmas job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About me
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), bristolJune 26, 2014
I am an enthusiastic individual with confidence, I am prepared to undertake challenges and new experiences. I feel motivated by setting myself targets that are both challenging and achievable.

I have the skill to listen to others, giving advice and putting instructions into practice. I am a trustworthy individual therefore reliable and a matured potential – more... employee.

A typical day is monitoring sales and to convert sales, this is done by up-selling and cross-selling.

I have gained confidence in selling and building trust with customers in order for customers to feel impressed with my service.

I treat everyone equally which creates a nice balance throughout the day.

Good customer service is important to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Assistant Part-time Manager (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Hated the hours, management was not appreciative and the pay was horrible for what they wanted from you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interaction and social nature of position
Shop Manager (Former Employee), Swords, DublinJune 19, 2014
Pros: special offers, promotions
Very positive environment and learning skills to interact with customers. Co-workers were very friendly and we all worked as a team. A part of the job I didn't like was when certain members staff would speak and gossip about another member of staff which is behaviour I do not agree with, a positive atmosphere is important to the shop and to customers. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job for me was being helpful to customers and knowing that they got good customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, yet easy going ,good vibes from co-workers
Seasonal Stock Associate (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 18, 2014
Pros: positive work environment .
Cons: there wasn't any 9-5 shifts
A typical day at the body shop was very productive. as a stock associate, I checked in with management about shipping and products that needed to be displayed immediately. There was always great communication between myself and management. My co-workers were friendly and willing to help if needed. The hardest part of my job was finding a way to make – more... space for over stock, But in the end I learned how. I really enjoyed learning about the products and where they came from. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing products & ahead of the curve on "going Green"
Assistant Shop Manager (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJune 18, 2014
The Body Shop was a fantastic intro to the retail & beauty industry. They have all kinds of wonderful products & amazing core values which is very admirable. I learned everything from proper makeup application to the correct way to diagnose some ones skin care needs. Management team were several at a time. A good thing is we were always learning. The – more... most difficult part of the job was if I were managing the store alone at some point, it was hard to provide good customer service to each customer if it were more than 3 in the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and happy place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee), ENGJune 16, 2014
I have enjoyed working at The Body Shop as it has good values and its a fair place to work. I learnt alot about the products and where they came from. I also learnt the importance of good customer service and making sure we try our hardest to meet our targets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company values are exceptional
Store Manager (Former Employee), INJune 14, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: lack of training
I loved working this position, however, for the store management positions the upper level managers, district managers specifically do not give the required training for the store level management to be successful.

About The Body Shop

The Body Shop® Australia is a fully Australian owned company. Owned by the Wise family, Graeme Wise opened the first Australian – Read more

The Body Shop Photos