Find companies:
The Beer Store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

The Beer Store Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, high traffic, memorable customers
Cashier/Key Holder/Stock Handler (Current Employee), Stratford, ONSeptember 4, 2014
I work at a very high traffic Beer Store, which requires a calm demeanor and fast paced thinking. I love all my co-workers and love serving and conversing with my customers. They can make even a bad day enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, but smelly
P/T Cashier (Former Employee), Innisfil, ONAugust 23, 2014
It was great working at the beer store it was a very busy place to work. Organizing the empties was gross sometimes but, it was fun to be able to break the glass and not get in trouble for it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environemtn
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, ONJuly 30, 2014
Learned effective and responsible sale of alcohol in a fast paced environment. Training and management are second to none. Great pay, advancement and upward mobility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJuly 21, 2014
Movement available, personable staff/management, unionized, customer service oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering
Leukemia Bottle Drive- Volunteer (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 17, 2014
I loved doing this, it gave me a great sense of compassion. Seeing how many people would actually donate their bottles for a great cause was amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Joy of a great staff Delivering Joyous Beer to the Masses!
Senior Assembly (Current Employee), assembly FloorJuly 2, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, consistent work, sense of gratifications
Cons: hard work, slow raises, occasional miscommunication
As a Beer store employee for almost 4 years, I've grown close, not only to the staff, but the ideals and principals TBS has to offer. With a Solid management staff, and assembly lines and other who care about their job. What's not to love. I've Learn the core understanding of teamwork within this Company. The hardest part of the Job would be the occasional – more... sore, aches and pains, but granted you lift your product with consciousness, most pains can be avoided. My favorite part of the job is the people that surround me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beer Store
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), MississaugaMay 1, 2014
It was a good environment to work in, Sometimes very fast paced.
Had great interactions with customers as well as other Sale associates. Was able to learn alot but was difficult for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Sutton, ONApril 30, 2014
My typical day would start off by grabbing my till from the office and setting up at a cash register. From there on depending how busy it was I would take peoples orders, grab there orders, stock the beer fridge, sort through the empties. At the end of the shifts I would have to sweep and mop and then count my till. Working at the beer store i learned – more... a lot of communication skills by interacting with customers. The management was good, although we were short staffed a lot of the time. The coworkers were great. They were very nice and understanding when I would need help with things. The hardest part of the job was learning about everything. All the different types of beers, where everything was kept, etc. The most enjoyable part was the coworkers and the shifts were great. They worked around your schedule if you had some conflicts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONMarch 16, 2014
part time job money wasn't the greatest didn't stay long had fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Cashier (Current Employee), forest ontarioFebruary 26, 2014
its a fun work environment,
working with bottle returns can be quiet dirty
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy but physical and very motivating.
Assembler. (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONDecember 19, 2013
Pros: great work with lots of chances to advance.
Cons: it was a 3 month contract.
A great corporation that not only distributes alcoholic beverages to the people of Ontario but also provides great work opportunities to youth and young workers in Ontario.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Retail Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, OntarioNovember 27, 2013
It was a fun and fast paced environment. On a typical day I assisted in the opening of the store and the preparation for the daily operations. I communicated with customers and worked the cash register for several hours. Also I worked in the handling of inventory, I was responsible for keeping track of several different types of beers and keeping shelves – more... well stocked. At the end of the day I assisted in the closing of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great physical job that helps the day fly bye
Sales Clerk (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONNovember 23, 2013
A typical day at work would include, working with customers to find the product they wish to purchase, working with staff to keep the store sanitized and customers happy. Selling products, sorting empty returns, and stalking shelves. I learned to always stay positive when a customer whom becomes frustrated and to stay professiaonl. Management was very – more... easy to work with. They were very understanding of everyones needs. Management posted weekly schedules in advanse and tried to grant requested time off when available. Co-workers had very good team-working skills. Everyone knew what was required of us and we all worked together to get the job done. The hardest part of the job would be learning all the different beer name and brands. I enjoy my job because i am a very hands on and physical person. I like being busy and interacting with new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: the empties could be gross at times
The Beer store was hard working place but very laid back people
i enjoyed it there
we were responsible for our cash floats at the end of the day.
heavy lifting and beer knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good career option, unless you start casually around 18. it takes several years to make a legitimate wage.
Clerk (Current Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, ONJuly 9, 2013
Pros: employment was easily attained.
Cons: 2-hour shifts, minimum wage, poor execution of corporate minimum standards.
Not a good career option, unless you start casually around 18. it takes several years to make a legitimate wage. The corporate layout of the BS is that which does not recognize and reward hard work, rather seems to breed complacency with its' structure. Being a unionized staff protects those who should not be in customer service or otherwise, or simply – more... those who do not take their share of responsibility. Understaffed and poor working conditions all around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid working team
Customer Service Representative Part-time (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 26, 2013
I really enjoy working here, but need a job that provides more hours of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Cashier (Former Employee), Port Elgin, ONApril 30, 2013
Processed empties that were brought in by customers, minimal work on full side of till. Fast paced environment that involved team work as part of the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job i ever had!
General Laborer (Former Employee), brampton, ONApril 18, 2013
this job paid around $12 p/h to start and it was the job that fit me the best. its the Beer Store brampton distribution centre and i was in the recycling department. my job entailed dumping cardboard bins in a compacter and when the compacter got full i bailed the load and continued working. i would also help the bottle lady sort dark glass from clear – more... glass for recycling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 19, 2013
I learned to work on excel
Management was the best I ever had
Great co-workers
I enjoyed everything about this position.
I was in the accounts receivable department I had many duties but the main one collecting from customers in Ontario.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managers, underpaid for the amount of work done.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Midland ONFebruary 12, 2013
Worked for the beer store for 6 years. Have worked at two different locations. Both my managers were very professional and cared very much for their employees. Always looking out for their well being and tried to help any way they could. Pay could be better for the amount of work you do. Sometimes understaffed which created a very hectic day. Ability – more... to deal with upset or intoxicated customers in a professional manner – less