The Beer Store Employee Reviews

Found 119 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with
Key Holder/Sales (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON7 December 2016
Really dirt work customers can't read the sign that tells them to sort their empties and you can get yelled at a lot.
But really fun people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Retail Clerk (Current Employee) –  Port Credit, ON28 November 2016
relatively good wages, but wish there were benefits. It has nice flexible hours of work and it is great that can work in other cities, as I am now doing in London, Ontario.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, helpful staff and friendly customers
Part time worker (Current Employee) –  Haliburton, ON14 November 2016
Staff is awesome! I enjoy helping to recycle and be a part of the solution to all of the pollution that our society produces

Overall good vibes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
call centre environment
Customer Service/Order Entry (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 November 2016
- data entry
- take orders over phone
- co-workers are what keep you coming to work
- Management is a joke, They give special treatment to certain workers.
- Hardest part is trying to remember all the codes
- Enjoyable part of the job is the co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 September 2016
The company was amazing to work with and I think it is run very well. It is truly a unique job. I can say that everything I've learned here I will take with me not only when pursuing other careers, but also with me in my everyday life. My location was sort of a rouge store and had a broad range of very unique customers.
Pros
Recieved good experience that I will carry with me my whole life
Cons
inconvient hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Beer Enthusiast (Current Employee) –  Wallaceburg, ON7 September 2016
The bee store is a great place to work if you are fine staying on your feet for multiple hours throughout the day as thats really thee only demanding tasks of the workplace. Great people to work aside and a good work environment. Great management keeps things running happily and smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Hardworking job
Customer Service Representative and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON5 September 2016
You have to be okay with safe sales and sometimes refusal of sale. Asking for identification is a huge must do. It can be physically and mentally demanding. You learn how to act in interesting situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fonthill, ON1 September 2016
A typical day sucked, horrible management,and union rep. tries to sleep with you. Hardest part-showing up, Most enjoyable-leaving.
Pros
Great regulars, love people
Cons
self explained
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 August 2016
It's not so much the job that is stressful, it is the customer base. The majority of customers are buying single cans of beer 8 times a day with the smallest amount of change. Many come in intoxicated and angry.
Pros
Buying beer is easy
Cons
Customers are awful
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Depends on the Manager
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 August 2016
I have been lucky to work with a number of good managers with this company, but not every location does. If you enjoy working with a wide range of customers working for The Beer Store in Downtown Toronto is great.
Pros
Lots to learn on the job
Cons
Irregular Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
BC Accountant (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 August 2016
Extremely busy. Fast Paced environment.

Workers are great. We have a laugh all the time

People are motivated and management expects a lot.
Pros
Pub Night
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, welcoming atmosphere
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON24 July 2016
The Beer Store is a great place to work. The management is amazing and a great leader, and it is a great environment to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, energetic, busy, wonderful people
Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON, Niagara Falls, ON,4 July 2016
I enjoyed my career with the company, everyone I worked with and trained were great. We could all stay steady in a fast-paced enviroment and still have fun. It was instinctive to help eachother out in peak times, and everyone was always enthusiastic about learning everyone's roles so operations would always run smoothly.
Pros
Full time hours, great pay, benefits, great people, customers and staff alike.
Cons
Returns regulations for safety needed tweeking
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Inventory Analyst (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON15 June 2016
Its a good place to work, it can be a fast pace environment, but slow at times. it is a competitive environment to get in to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An emerging professional looking for full-time employeement
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON3 June 2016
The job I am looking for will help me move forward in my career, while helping me shape my skills.

I want full-time employment where I am able to use my education and skills in order to help move the company forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Beer Store Supervisor
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON27 May 2016
A day to day at The Beer Store was something very nostalgic. Majority of the customers that came in were usually regulars and you would know their order before they could even say it. You would almost be able to have their order there before they even arrived in the store. It was a very happy place even though the level of empty returns became overwhelming, we would all stick together as a team and work though it. I believe that working there allowed me to understand all walks of life and also help me to understand all types of needs. over all, Great Experience
Pros
great employees
Cons
empty return levels
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always work to be done, heavy lifting and sometimes dirty
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Newmarket/Aurora2 May 2016
The Beer Store is an excellent place to get in to for part time employment. There are opportunities to move up, and even without a promotion, yearly pay increases are mandatory. The job can be fun, but dirty, as you take back empty alcohol containers for the majority of your first year with the company and beyond. Your experience will very depending on who you work with and your cliental.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work at
Liquor Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 April 2016
Learned about Alcohol law and sales. The people were great and the workplace environment is great. A lot of heavy lifting involved.
Pros
The hours provided were flexible and good with work
Cons
cold work space
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job
Customer Service/Back Stock (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON2 April 2016
The beer store is a fast and intense work place. With that being said it is also one of the most enjoyable and fun places to work! You make relationships with people you see often and you get to ENJOY your job!
Pros
People, enjoyable
Cons
smell
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ON31 March 2016
I enjoy working at The Beer Store, staff hired is always fun and energetic people. Hours aren't too bad can go up to 40 hours/week as part-time if needed but mainly 20 hours/week.
Pros
Fun Staff
Cons
Would like more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 124 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7