The Beer Store Employee Reviews

Found 125 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 Years employed
Cashier and Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON11 January 2017
Like stated, worked there for 3 years. The job is alright, pretty simple and repetitive. Most people that work with you are good and caring people that will help when you need, while some are just there for a paycheck and ride the union card pretty hard. Its extremely difficult to be fired, so many people take advantage of that as well.
The Top Management is mediocre, not really caring about you as a human and more about just the operation of the store, while the lower management or the "Full timers" care more but have little say about most things.
The hours are not great, and you will have to work until 10 or 11pm on a regular basis. The customers are tough to deal with depending on if you work in a tough area.
Overall I think it depends on where you work, but this job was not for me.
It wasn't for me, and
Pros
Specific pay increases, Little extra pay on sundays
Cons
Non-stable hours, holidays manditory, booking off time is difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physical, demanding, fast past and machine work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON6 January 2017
I enjoy working in this fast pace environment, its a hard working, very physical and demanding work; heavy lifting and working with a stacker etc. Never sitting still, and always busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team..
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON5 January 2017
Fast paced environment. Great staff and hard workers to deliver great customer service. Very organized. Safety protocol is very high and in according to company policies and procedures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management at my location
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ontario19 December 2016
Excellent company for what its worth. I learned a lot about the human condition and how it's exploited. I do believe I had the best boss one could ask for. A typical day consisted of smashing bottles and recounting the display cases for possible stolen products. The most enjoyable part was the thirty minute break on a Saturday/Sunday afternoon.
Pros
Breaking bottles
Cons
Hearing loss if failure to wear PPE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The beer store.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON8 December 2016
This is not my review of the beer store. This is me typing so that I can move on from this page. This is also not my opinion on anything at this time. This is not useful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with
Key Holder/Sales (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON7 December 2016
Really dirt work customers can't read the sign that tells them to sort their empties and you can get yelled at a lot.
But really fun people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Retail Clerk (Current Employee) –  Port Credit, ON28 November 2016
relatively good wages, but wish there were benefits. It has nice flexible hours of work and it is great that can work in other cities, as I am now doing in London, Ontario.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, helpful staff and friendly customers
Part time worker (Current Employee) –  Haliburton, ON14 November 2016
Staff is awesome! I enjoy helping to recycle and be a part of the solution to all of the pollution that our society produces

Overall good vibes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
call centre environment
Customer Service/Order Entry (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 November 2016
- data entry
- take orders over phone
- co-workers are what keep you coming to work
- Management is a joke, They give special treatment to certain workers.
- Hardest part is trying to remember all the codes
- Enjoyable part of the job is the co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 September 2016
The company was amazing to work with and I think it is run very well. It is truly a unique job. I can say that everything I've learned here I will take with me not only when pursuing other careers, but also with me in my everyday life. My location was sort of a rouge store and had a broad range of very unique customers.
Pros
Recieved good experience that I will carry with me my whole life
Cons
inconvient hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Beer Enthusiast (Current Employee) –  Wallaceburg, ON7 September 2016
The bee store is a great place to work if you are fine staying on your feet for multiple hours throughout the day as thats really thee only demanding tasks of the workplace. Great people to work aside and a good work environment. Great management keeps things running happily and smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Hardworking job
Customer Service Representative and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON5 September 2016
You have to be okay with safe sales and sometimes refusal of sale. Asking for identification is a huge must do. It can be physically and mentally demanding. You learn how to act in interesting situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fonthill, ON1 September 2016
A typical day sucked, horrible management,and union rep. tries to sleep with you. Hardest part-showing up, Most enjoyable-leaving.
Pros
Great regulars, love people
Cons
self explained
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 August 2016
It's not so much the job that is stressful, it is the customer base. The majority of customers are buying single cans of beer 8 times a day with the smallest amount of change. Many come in intoxicated and angry.
Pros
Buying beer is easy
Cons
Customers are awful
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Depends on the Manager
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 August 2016
I have been lucky to work with a number of good managers with this company, but not every location does. If you enjoy working with a wide range of customers working for The Beer Store in Downtown Toronto is great.
Pros
Lots to learn on the job
Cons
Irregular Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
BC Accountant (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 August 2016
Extremely busy. Fast Paced environment.

Workers are great. We have a laugh all the time

People are motivated and management expects a lot.
Pros
Pub Night
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, welcoming atmosphere
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON24 July 2016
The Beer Store is a great place to work. The management is amazing and a great leader, and it is a great environment to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, energetic, busy, wonderful people
Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON, Niagara Falls, ON,4 July 2016
I enjoyed my career with the company, everyone I worked with and trained were great. We could all stay steady in a fast-paced enviroment and still have fun. It was instinctive to help eachother out in peak times, and everyone was always enthusiastic about learning everyone's roles so operations would always run smoothly.
Pros
Full time hours, great pay, benefits, great people, customers and staff alike.
Cons
Returns regulations for safety needed tweeking
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Inventory Analyst (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON15 June 2016
Its a good place to work, it can be a fast pace environment, but slow at times. it is a competitive environment to get in to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An emerging professional looking for full-time employeement
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON3 June 2016
The job I am looking for will help me move forward in my career, while helping me shape my skills.

I want full-time employment where I am able to use my education and skills in order to help move the company forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 131 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6