Find companies:
The Bargain! Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

The Bargain! Shop Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly easygoing workplace, great for scheduling
Associate (Former Employee), Petrolia, ONApril 26, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: few hours
Started out as a fair job. Typical work day involved serving customers as well as stocking shelves. Learned a lot about multitasking and time management. Co-workers were hit and miss. Some had a lot of negativity towards many of the others, so there were a lot of tense moments and a lot of favouritism. The job got harder as hours were cut by head office – more... and we wouldn't have enough people working at a given time for certain jobs to be able to be finished before the end of the shift. For example, when I started working there would be one person working the cash, one person working on the floor and as a second cashier when needed, and a keyholder. However, when hours were cut, there was only the person at the register and a keyholder, the keyholder would essentially have to do enough work for two people on the floor as well as work as a second cashier. However, even when there were more hours, scheduling was very flexible and forgiving, if you needed a day off on short notice you could get it and they were also very patient with working around any other schedules. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I met a lot of different and interesting people.
Office Associate/Keyholder (Former Employee), Port Alberni, BCDecember 21, 2013
Pros: every second weekend off, benefits package.
Cons: staff turnover.
On a typical day my duties included opening or closing the store, providing excellent customer service, preparing cash register floats, sorting and filing daily/weekly/monthly paperwork, preparing and delivering bank deposits, receiving purchase orders and processing vendor returns and store transfers using Microsoft Back Office Application, performing – more... cash register transactions with accuracy, reconciling cash register totals with computer, managing my departments and maintaining planograms, preparing store for inventory, completing and forwarding the necessary year end paperwork.
As the #1 Keyholder associate I worked closely with management and would take care of day to day store operations when my manager was on vacation or sick leave. I was responsible for reading daily emails and passing tasks along to my co-workers.
The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting and getting to know a lot of different people customers and co-workers included. The hardest part of my job was when co-workers left town or went to work somewhere else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company always looking for managers-enough said
manager (Former Employee), southwestern ontarioNovember 25, 2013
Pros: great staff and customers made the long hours enjoyable
Cons: everything else
As a manager a typical day was 10 hours so when you factor in that it was a salaried job I wasn't making much more than minimum wage with all the reponsibilities. I learned that no matter what you do if they want to get rid of you they will. I have a hard time rating the company even a 1 star since the salary wasn't good, bonuses were taken away if – more... you didn't have a good performance appraisal, upper management NEVER worked in a store (or it seemed that way), job security and advancement were for a very few and you were at work most of the time and on weekends so work/life balance didn't exsist. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Oliver, BCJuly 17, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, good pay, friendly staff, good hours
Cons: lack of things to do for cashiers
I had good hours and staff was friendly and fun to work with. When i work there it doesnt feel like work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely disorganized
Key holder (Current Employee), AlbertaMay 21, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, very accommodating of my messed up schedule
Cons: lack of proper upper level management
It seems as though the ones at the top have never worked in an actual store. Which should be a requirement for upper level management. It all feels like make work projects from head office to individual stores. Since the CCAA filing in Feb, it also feels like the people at the top are the only ones that matter, not the little people that actually open – more... the stores on a daily basis. My manager is great as are my co-workers. That will be about the only thing I would miss if and when I leave this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably one of the most disorganized company I have worked for
Ops (Current Employee), TorontoApril 17, 2013
If you seek a company that excels at communication then TBS is not for you. In all aspects of the above rating system I found it hard to even rate them with one star. If you are currently looking at any postings available here, please do your research into the company but please remember that the storys you read will be painted over to make the company – more... be good....Not a disgruntled employee just an honest one – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good retail job
Part-time Store Associate (Former Employee), Wingham, ONApril 3, 2013
There were ups and downs when I was with this company. I experienced good management, but I also experienced not so great management, but I learned a lot from it. I got to work with a lot of great people and I made many new friends. The Bargain Shop is a very enthusiastic, but busy environment. It's always fun and if you enjoy interacting with people, – more... this is a great job. Something must have went right because I was there for three years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier at the Bargain Shop
Cashier (Current Employee), Exeter, ONMarch 18, 2013
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: working weekends and holidays
typical day...working at cash
...stocking shelves and pricing items
....customer service
.... keeping store neat and tidy
... responsible for health and safety
....sometimes working with co-op student
got along fine with co-workers and management
hardest part of job was remembering to check BBE on products
most enjoyable was dealing with the consumers
learned – more... computer skills...patience...tact...how to deal with difficult situations properly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment. Face paced enviroment. Customer oriented
Manager (Former Employee), Belleville, ONMarch 17, 2013
Pros: leading the team to success, customer focus
Cons: store closing
The Bargain! Shop has always been a wonderful, challenging job. I love the customers. I enjoy teaching and coaching associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun, Good Environment, Good Core Values
Treasury Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga, Ontario, CanadaMarch 9, 2013
Pros: lots of fun social activities, good employees, good managers
Cons: no bad issues..
A very good place to work. I worked with stores, managers and CFO/CIO. Management was very nice and understanding.

The hardest part of the job was sometime not getting answers from co-workers on a timely manner, in order to complete a task at hand.

I really liked working at The Bargain! Shop Holdings Inc. Since they have gone into Bankruptcy protection – more... my job was no longer available once I was to return from maternity leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review on my job
Store Associate (Former Employee), Essex, ONOctober 6, 2012
I would clean clothing, candy, and seasonal. I would run the cash register and handle money, do all of the night routines for getting the store ready for closing. While helping customers with whatever they need. I have learned how to handle money, and how to work with different type of people. I liked my manager for the most part. She was very good – more... at her job, and I got along with my co-workers and always had fun working with them. The hardest part would be making sure I did everything perfect so the boss would like what I did when she came in the next day. I loved meeting new people and being able to help people. – less