Find companies:
TGI FRIDAYS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
676 reviews

TGI FRIDAYS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A close and friendly enviroment
Line Operator (Former Employee), Sutton Coldfield, ENGMay 16, 2014
Pros: friendly people, 50% off tgis food
Cons: small working space in the kitchen, often became very warm on busy nights
On a typical day i would work on the line cooking the starters as well as keeping the station topped up and clean, i learned to deal with a wide range of people, and how to insure that the customer is always kept satisfied.
During my time at TGIS i got on well with the management and my co workers as i am a fun and sociable person that loves a bit of – more... banter to make the shift more enjoyable for everyone. That being said i know the fine line between work and fun and treat the workplace with respect ensuring that the job i am doing is done to the best of my ability.
The hardest part of my job at TGIS was dealing with the constant demand for food on a busy night such as a Saturday, where i could easily cook for 300+ people in the space of 4-5 hours. While these shifts were busy and you often didn't get much of a break i had to insure that all the food was cook perfectly and presented well to insure customer satisfaction.
The best thing about TGIS was the relationship everyone had that worked there. while we all were often stressed over the tasks we sometimes faced as a team we were all very close and helped each other when it was needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowledge check, classroom training
Line cook/kitchen staff (Current Employee), abu dhabiMay 16, 2014
in TGI FRIDAYS i learned what is WORK, it means alot you will take it as bread and butter, your blood and sweat. i learned how to be pressured, and fight with it, in fridays you will have too much pressure physically, mentally and emotionally, it will be your call how to take it as a challege or to become a loser. in fridays i learned also how to work – more... as a team and deal with other nationality, i become a coach with a very early of time its heaven and earth my co worker against with it, and it become a big challenge in my part how to prove to them that i deserve it, not only the management i need to prove my ability but also to my co workers for them to trust me. lucky of i prove it. the most enjoyable in my job is im in fridays, FRIDAYS that i never forget, and i learned too much things – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like it there
Prep Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 16, 2014
had fun, meet interesting new people. enjoyed my time there. pay was good. managers were nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work here.
Server/Hostess (Former Employee), Williamsburg, VAMay 16, 2014
Cons: no breaks, bad management, poor training.
TGIFridays use to be an amazing place to work. Every one was happy, and every one was a team player! Last year, they got new management and since then, the whole place has gone down hill. The training is no longer as good, so people are being trained very poorly. You must charge for ANYTHING extra, including an extra side of ranch for a salad. Everyone – more... I worked with when I worked there have all quit due to the restaurant being poorly managed. They failed their health inspection last year right before I left, and the restaurant stayed open!!!!! It was never closed down or anything! Please, I warn everyone who reads this, do not put yourself through the stress for this part-time job.! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy and fun work environment with interaction with customers
Hostess (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAMay 15, 2014
Pros: half off food while working and 30% off any other time
Cons: standing on feet for over 8hours, the pay was low
the most enjoyable part of my job was the interaction with people. the hardest part of my job was standing on my feet for 8hours or more. my co-workers were nice and personable. management was understanding. my typical work day would start at about 10:30 am and I would prep for customers, then as the day started I would stand and wait for guest to seat – more... them and tell them about or new specials so their server could do the rest, and I would do that until like about 11:30 at night – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Tips
Lead Server (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 12, 2014
Taking customers orders and ensuring that they leave happy and are satisfied with the service and food provided. I learned how to multitask and how to interact with all types of people. Management was awesome and very supportive. I was shift lead and got alone and helped all my fellow employees. There wasn't any hard part to this job. The most enjoyable – more... part was meeting so many new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Server/Bartender (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILMay 12, 2014
Pros: almost everything
Cons: work holidays
Fast paced, fun, great money, cash every day, discounts on food, great people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive job.
Sauté Chef (Former Employee), Sheffield/MedowhallMay 12, 2014
Great management giving any help needed.
Excellent atmosphere at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a nice place to work at/
hotess (Current Employee), chaguanas, prize plazaMay 10, 2014
Pros: the discounts an service charge at the end of every month.
Cons: very short breaks
on a regular day of work its normally good until it gets busy. i learned how to great guests properly.
The management is hard on you, but i guess its because they want their restaurant to do well. Employees at TGI's are very competitive at times but a pleasure to work with.
The hardest part of the job is cleaning the toilets but on the other had we – more... dont work very long hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Server (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 9, 2014
Pros: exciting, busy
Cons: seasonal
Very fast paced.Collected payments from customers. Provided customer service. Took orders from patrons. Served food or beverages to patrons. Prepared checks. Handled cash and credit cards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoddy benefits and compensation
n/a (Current Employee), MichiganMay 5, 2014
Pros: good to make some cash at the busier restaurants
Cons: no benefits, low hourly, tips can be good if you're lucky
Typical restaurant: low hourly wage and you tip out other employees so they don't need to pay them, either. No benefits for servers or cooks.

Management is typically newer managers because skilled ones will move to other companies with better pay and benefits. Same goes for most servers (again, no benefits for them). Worse, corporate refuses to see – more... this "brain drain" for what it is and persists in subsistence pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY PRODUCTIVE, FUN, CHALLENGING,
Broiler Cook / Sautee Cook / Fry Cook (Current Employee), VICTOR NYMay 3, 2014
Pros: 25% and 50% meal discounts
Cons: very busy, on feet all night
I LOVE WORKING FOR TGIF BECAUSE ITS VERY CHALLENGING, PEOPLE ARE TEAM PLAYERS MANAGERS ARE RESPECTFUL, THE COMPANY HAS ALOT OF BENEFITS AND ITS A PLACE WHERE YOU CAN ADVANCE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting celebrities taking pictures with them
Host (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 1, 2014
Great place to work to move up in this company alot of opportunity and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun employees, hard clientele
Host (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 30, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: hard clientele, poor tips, tough nights, can be very stressful
If there was anything I missed from working at Friday's it would be my fellow colleagues. Everybody had different backgrounds, but shared familiar bumps on the road. It was easy to establish a relationship with everyone who worked there, including management and kitchen staff. This was important as the work environment was extremely stressful and exhausting.
The – more... job wasn't hard, but the clientele was. The store I worked in was frequently busy and hectic. With the ball constantly rolling it was incredibly easy to feel the weight of pressure. Problems could quickly escalate and it often did.
The hardest part was honestly staying positive in an overall negative environment, and this was especially true if you were working late shifts.
The clientele could particularly unforgiving. In this location it was hard to work for tips because it was inconsistent and sometimes absent. While there were days where tips were rewarding, there were more when it just didn't deliver. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and co-workers.
Hostess, Server, Shift leader, Coach. (Former Employee), North Miami BeachApril 28, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules.
Cons: bad tips. corporate do not care about staff.
Could be slow for a minute and then super busy.Great management and co-workers. After coupons and specials the guests quality suffer. Big parties and bad tips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place fun and very diverse. Networkable and convenient
Service Waiter (Former Employee), Detroit, MIApril 28, 2014
Pros: laid back attitude very open and fun.
Cons: non
The day at work is very simple. come, serve guests in the Fridays style of service, make them feel as comfortable as possible. Mangement was good for the employees and vise versa. The hardest part of the Job is being ever so humble with belligerent customers but is handled with expertise and corrected. The most enjoyable part was to give the satifaction – more... to a guest(s) and making them want to come back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work if you're a teen or don't have kids
Server (Former Employee), District Heights, MDApril 27, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: some of the management
All in all it's a fun environment and you'll make a lot of great friends bu that's just about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fast Workplace
Server (Former Employee), Bloomington, INApril 22, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers
Cons: pay
Shifts are fun and fast. Management is friendly. The tippers in my area were kind of lame but it is what it is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work.
Hostess (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCApril 21, 2014
Pros: discounted food.
Cons: health care was expensive
I liked the crowds and the people that came in almost every day. It was fun to be busy and not standing around all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make it
Assistant Manager/Stewart (Former Employee), Gettysburg, PAApril 21, 2014
Starting off at TGIF I was excited because of the diversity in the employees and the leniency of appearance. However, a new vice-president took over and changed all the policies. Within 6 months I was dreading going to work. the management team is very inconsistent and forever changing. They do not reward hard work but instead take credit for it. If – more... the team does not work together, the staff gets over stressed. The managers also don't know what is going on half the time. The also lean on their "head" employees way too much. – less

About TGI FRIDAYS

Carlson Restaurants Worldwide (CRW) has a lot of Friday's for which to be thankful. A leader in full-service restaurants, the – Read more