Find companies:
Tesco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,066 reviews

Tesco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
General Assistant, Hardlines (Current Employee), Stourbridge, ENGAugust 19, 2014
A typical day at work at Tesco goes like this:
I arrive at work and clock in. I then have to find my team leader or manager to announce my presence and to find out my list of jobs for the day. Sometimes midday I am checkout relief, so I will hop on a till and serve customers until im no longer needed. Then carrying on with my list of jobs (either pulling – more... out back stock cages and replenishing those or working on labels for the home and health department making sure they are the correct size and in the correct location on the shelf) until my shift is over.
Tesco is a great place to work for, I've made some fantastic friends and learned a great deal. To be honest I don't have a particularly hard part of my job. I've been taught all the necessary skills I need to complete my job. The management team are all really approachable and helpful and my co-workers are always on the ball. I can count on them to do their jobs properly. my most enjoyable part of the job is working with friends, I get on well with my colleagues and thats a great part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work place
Cafe Assistant (Former Employee), Edinburgh, SCTAugust 19, 2014
a typical day in the tesco cafe, was very fast paced, making sure tables where clean, cooking of food, taking food temperatures, record keeping.

Here i leaned food hygiene was most important and the greeting of customers

my co-workers where very friendly

hardest part of the job was the very fast pace in which the cafe worked.

the most enjoyable – more... part of the job was alost the hardest and that was the fast pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic team
General Assistant (Former Employee), DudleyAugust 19, 2014
Pros: staff discount, pension and holidays
Cons: long days
Helping provide a positive experience for all customers
I learnt new skills across a wide range of departments including Options, Produce and Deli
Great teams, worked well together in absence of management, all team members knew their roles and what work needed to be done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), PrestonAugust 19, 2014
Duties include dealing with customers when a certain item is needed to be located, operating, advising customers, stock, Replenishment and re-merchandising stock, and working on the tills, handling money and providing great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed my training
Trainee Manager (Former Employee), Bathgate, SCTAugust 19, 2014
Overseeing all supervisors to ensure performance was where it needed to be.
Making up shift rota's
Attending and carrying out management meetings
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very social place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee), Newbury, ENGAugust 18, 2014
Pros: subsidised canteen, pool table
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work would be to sit on a checkout for nine hours and think about what your customers needs are, as every customer is different.
Ive learned the different types of customer and what type of shopper they are. I usually have quite a nice set of customers during my shift that come to me for excellent customer service.
Im currently learning – more... a bit about team leading and running the checkouts to improve my skills.
The hardest part of my job was speaking to my customers with a stammer, but usually overcome the fear soon enough.
The most enjoyable part of my job is coming into work and socialising with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boaring and repeadative
Trolley Assistant (Former Employee), Cumbernauld, SCTAugust 18, 2014
Pros: cheap lunches
Cons: impaitent customers
transferring trolleys from the bays to the front of the shop. How to move the trolleys safely. Never really dealt with management. Didn't get much time to get to know colleges. The hardest part of the job was impatient customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun to work at the time
Customer Services Assistant (Former Employee), London, ENGAugust 16, 2014
when you got a costumer coming back saying the product didn't work but then they say costumers always right !!
then you do the best for that costumer to deal with the product to replace new one..

what i learned was when a costumer was upset about there product you know how to deal with the costumer how to make things get fix..

management. was good – more... he learned me a though things..

my team workers was as good a robert dyers team..

always on my feet ain't got one really when you enjoy work thats it..

the enjoyable about work is seeing people everyday and seeing to costumers i love it when i put that smile on the costumers face when they walk out the door.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Cashier (Former Employee), Prescot, ENGAugust 15, 2014
managers where over stretched and had to do smaller tasks like stack shelves rather than look after there department because of the lack of staff. this left some departments indecisive and not running efficiently. there was more evidence of lack of staff as the Internet shopping department had to work as over time everyday with managers and other departments – more... contributing in order to get the orders complete. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Senior management, not for starters
Officer (Former Employee), Bangalore, KAAugust 15, 2014
Freshers and starters need to stay away from here and find more competitive environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly place to work.
Shop Assistant (Current Employee), ebbw valeAugust 15, 2014
Pros: discount card.
Cons: early starts
Working at Tesco has helped me to develop my confidence and how to work with other people, the hardest part of the job is having such an early start and the weight of the Trollies I work on are hard to control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Team Leader (Current Employee), tower park pooleAugust 15, 2014
Pros: benefits and careerer opportunities
Cons: staffing levels to meet managers vision
my role would be stock replenishment to meet customer needs , liaising with customers and helping ,created great job satisfaction .learned with good team work anything was achievable and my co- workers made my job easy and an enjoyable place to work .one of the biggest things i noticed different from previous employees was the praise and thanks given – more... by senior management be it verbal or some form of certificate i.e. values reward etc. etc.it was the second spell in my work history i have worked for the company and would recommend them to anyone along with all the benefits they are one of the best companies i have worked for . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stock replenishment Customer Service
Temporary Customer Assistant (Former Employee), Chester, ENGAugust 15, 2014
Working on a temporary basis as stock replenisher working on night shifts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Personal Shopper Crawley Temp job (Former Employee), crawleyAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great community in the work place
Cons: long hours and unsociable hours
the typical day as Tesco superstore was picking the customers items while helping out members of the public with any problems they had with finding items or not sure about certain items. I learned how to deal with the public and provide great customer experience. my co works were very helpfully also had a great laugh.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard workplace
Picker (Former Employee), Miskolc, BZAugust 14, 2014
- hard work (in bakery have hot)
- good co-workers
- the hardest part is the hot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secured job
Team Leader (Former Employee), London, ENGAugust 14, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: pay rate averagly ok.
Career progression,Secured job and great staff benefits.Shift pattern work which is helpful to enable do other things
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Checkout Assistant (Current Employee), Chatham, ENGAugust 14, 2014
I enjoy working for Tesco as my store is such a close bunch of people. We all get along and enjoy working together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and love working with people
Customer service (Current Employee), Wakefield, ENGAugust 13, 2014
Pros: staff discount, local shop people
Cons: differnet managment in every 6month
Hi a typical day at work will be to help out with delivries,work cages, go on the till,belive it or not i learn something new everyday i have come across alsorts of customers from different backgrounds,cultures,disabillity,and i love working and helping people one of the best things you can do in life.The mangement are very good and help out as much – more... as they can they appreciate your work time and effort,peolpe who i work with are very good because it is a local shop you get to know everyone very easy.To be honest i would say the hardest part is when it is not busy because the main goal is the customers are first. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, but bad management/training staff
Customer Assistant - Checkouts (Former Employee), Yiewsley, ENGAugust 12, 2014
Pros: friendly collegues
Cons: bad management
A typical day at work involved serving customers on the checkouts, and occasionally putting back products that customers no longer wanted.
I learned how to communicate better with a variety of people and how to work as part of a team.
The management was pretty awful. On my training day, the checkout manager misplaced the photocopies of my passport and – more... bank details, which was a rather large setback. The recruitment manager was also incredibly rude and failed to provide the new recruits with key information which prevented us from doing our jobs properly. The managers were generally unmotivated to help you if you had a problem.
My co-workers were very helpful and welcoming. They supported you if you had a problem and gave me tips on how to work my till.
The most difficult part of the job was dealing with rude or angry customers. The most enjoyable part of the job was satisfying customers by providing great customer service and being acknowledged for your hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, But Intresting Work
Team Leader (Former Employee), Alton, ENGAugust 12, 2014
Pros: good pay compared to similar jobs
Cons: unsociable hours
Leading a team of staff working in a retail environment, maintaining stock levels, ordering, taking deliveries, carrying out stock reductions, changing prices and ensuring the site is ready for customers at all times. Greeting customers, receiving and resolving complaints or queries. Cashing up tills, opening and closing the store.
Very stressful at – more... times but there is also lots of room for advancement however after 6 months in the job most employees would not even consider advancement. – less

About Tesco

Tesco, the world's fourth-largest grocery retailer and the UK's biggest retailer, runs over 5,000 stores in the UK. Its operations – Read more