Find companies:
Tesco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,990 reviews

Tesco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Customer assistant (Former Employee), Coventry, ENGJuly 28, 2014
Pros: treated equally
Cons: management was lapse at times
Overall the company was a good place to work, however there were times where I did feel like I was being discriminated against
Some areas of management would make remarks some would find offensive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed
customer assistant, stock control and bakery (Current Employee), SheffieldJuly 27, 2014
Good place to work with benefits in pensions, shares and a good salary. Management team isn't all that great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christmas Time
General Assistant->FMC (Former Employee), WellingboroughJuly 27, 2014
Pros: shares every year
Cons: wages were poor
Every year no matter what department I was working at once they identified my skills on the Wins & Spirits Aisle, I always used to get put on there October onwards to set up the warehouse and stock coming in for the Christmas Rush. Always seemed to go quick at Christmas time filling shelves up once emptied and repeatedly checking the stock levels to – more... make shore we did not run out. I also took the position of a Wine consultant, so that I could advise customers on which wine suited who and what meal they were planning on having with it. Again good staff of which I still to this day have friends working for the Store. I just needed to earn a bit more money – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Customer Assistant Produce (Current Employee), Oldham, ENGJuly 27, 2014
During my time at Tesco i have met some brilliant people, staff and customers. My colleges treated me as family and Tesco always helped me with problems inside and outside of work. I worked as a customer assistant on the produce department, and i enjoyed it alot. I learnt alot about the fruit and veg, and Tesco also offered me chances to grow through – more... the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place of work
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Liverpool, ENGJuly 27, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long days
A typical day at work consists of operating the checkout, and making sure customers transactions are processed correctly. While working here I have developed great customer service skills. The management and co-workers are great people to work with, I would consider the majority to be life long friends. The most enjoyable part of the day is meeting – more... new people and seeing all my regular customers for our daily chats. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weekend Staff through College
Customer Assistant (Former Employee), Hastings, ENGJuly 25, 2014
Pros: good staff
Cons: long hours low pay
When I worked for Tesco it was a high customer service job. This is where I first cut my teeth at the face to face role. This job was a weekend job to give me money through college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no contact with manager
General Assistant (Former Employee), Langport, ENGJuly 25, 2014
Pros: school hours fitted in with my family
Cons: to many mangers
you try do your job and they move other people on to it awfull place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and non rewarding
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Withernsea, ENGJuly 24, 2014
Cons: management do not listen
a very difficult company to work for who pick and choose how to treat there staff and there working hours poor management in charge who constantly moved the goal posts so you never knew where you stood in your job role a hard job as they was constant cut backs overtime bans etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product and fun workplace
Duty Manager (Former Employee), London, OHJuly 24, 2014
Pros: lunch times are paid from pocket. surprises on birthdays.
Start of Day

Till Checks
Price Changes
Scan Out of stock products
Take in deliveries
Assign state to take of the day
Replenishment
Till pick-ups
Safe/vault checks
Regular till checks
Training (update staff folders)
Update company log
Shift change
Take customer complains if/when any arises
Investigate complains / miss products
Update Store manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), LondonJuly 24, 2014
Learnt the operations and day to day activities of retail companies such as Tesco. I enjoy working with the public and taking extra responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganised and intimidating
Checkout Assistant (Former Employee), OxfordJuly 24, 2014
Pros: time and a half on sundays and bank holidays
Cons: hectic environment with little support
Typical duties include serving customers on a checkout or monitoring the self serivce checkouts, ensuring every checkout has bags, returning unwanted items and answering customer queries.

I learned to work in a busy and hectic environment with little support.

The management on the whole were fairly disorganised and difficult to contact.

Co-workers – more... were occasionally helpful but were often fairly hostile and the environment felt very cliquey.

The hardest part of the job was trying to keep queues down as it was a very busy store that was often understaffed.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to interact with customers at the self service checkout. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tesco customer assistant
Customer Service assistant (Former Employee), Preston, ENGJuly 24, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: bad management at times
Decent place to work as long as you don't expect too much from them. Flexible and ok money but not really somewhere you would want to stay for a long time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
General Assistant (Former Employee), Dingwall, Ross-ShireJuly 24, 2014
Pros: friendly collegues
Cons: long hours
Throughtout my 5 Years in this work place I have learnt skills that i use in everyday life. I was a general assistant with many duties that had to be completed before the end of the day. My management were very good, always helpful if you needed help with your work and my co-workers were more like friends than collegues. Everyday working life in Tesco – more... was overall easy but I worked nightshift hours 10pm-7am and that was diffcult because I studied during the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christmas Temp
Check Out Assistant (Former Employee), Ipswich, ENGJuly 24, 2014
Pros: .
Cons: busy/long shifts
Work day serving customers and restocking shelves. the staff didnt really talk to each other, helping the customers find what shopping they couldn't find.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant on clothing dep.
Customer Assistant (Former Employee), ColchesterJuly 23, 2014
My day to day job at tesco involved manning the changing rooms as well as replenishing the stock on the shop floor. I also occasionally put away deliveries. I was multi skilled which involved me working on the checkouts if they needed support. I did enjoy my job there but due to being on the clothing dep I didn't deal with customers that frequently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright
Customer assistant in the dairy department (Current Employee), Inshes, InvernessJuly 23, 2014
Pros: good pay, very cheap meals and a good work enviroment
Cons: currently understaffed, can be stressful and some managers are a nightmare
Currently the Tesco that I work at is really good, it has a good work environment and there is always something to do so you will be bored, also the pay is very good for the work you do. I would recommend working for Tesco to everyone of all ages as Tesco has something for everyone. Unfortunately there are a few drawbacks for instance the some of the – more... managers do not pull their weight leaving you to talk to their friends that have entered the store for an hour at a time when ironically I got threatened of being fired when I finished all of my work and talked to a friend I had not seen in three years for only five minutes, some departments are also very understaffed which can cause frustration if you need to get your own work done but you get thrown onto another department to help them finish their job while your department is struggling badly, so Tesco in my mind is overall a good place to work even with it's drawbacks. I am in no way saying that all of Tesco's stores are like this just the one I work at I'm sure there are ones that are better and ones that are worse up and down the country this is just my view of the Tesco store I am currently working at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast paced
Team Leader/ Union Rep/ Health and Safety Rep (Current Employee), KentJuly 23, 2014
Day to day running of the shop includes making sure the legal labels are on the shelves before the shop opens, taking in delivery and making sure they are worked within a high standard e.g. rotation on the shelves, making sure all your routines are complete before you go home and just generally giving amazing shop standards and excellent customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Customer service (Former Employee), londonJuly 23, 2014
Pros: break times
Cons: too much work
the day will go normally meeting different people/customers each day, learned that hard work pays off.. co-workers were friendly with me and helfull. most enjoyable part of tesco was everything to be honest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Service Representative/Back office support (Current Employee), Newcastle upon Tyne, ENGJuly 22, 2014
Typical day at work involves dealing with customer query, back office support to different departments , team support when there is no manager's support.

I have learned how to deal and liaise with both internal and external shareholders. A good understanding of process analysis on projects and supports to projects.

Great team to work with respectable, – more... understanding and fun to work with.

Most enjoyable part of my job is been able to put to practice my skills and resolving customer queries and providing solutions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expectred of this retail giant hence my desire to seek a new challenge.
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Forest RowJuly 22, 2014
I wanted to experience the retail industry, gain experience and look for opportunities to progress and take on additional responsibilities. Tesco's is a Company undergoing enormous transition and, I have concluded, is not a company I wish to stay with hence my resumption of job searching.

About Tesco

Tesco, the world's fourth-largest grocery retailer and the UK's biggest retailer, runs over 5,000 stores in the UK. Its operations – Read more