Find companies:
Tesco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,612 reviews

Tesco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Assistant Supervisor - (Marketing and Sales) (Former Employee), London, ENGApril 6, 2014
Tesco is the leading Financial, Mobile, Insurance and Retailer chain in Europe. It stands second among the world’s largest retailers in profits (after Wal-Mart) & third largest by revenues (after Walmart and Carrefour). Founded in 1919, the organization had a massive market capitalization of almost £24.4 b as of 15th Jan 2012.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier assistant
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee), Finchley Central Station, ENGApril 5, 2014
well my typical at work was when i was training and i had to learning customer service and how to look face to face with customer when severing them by asking if they have got a Tesco card or if they wanted cash back or help with their bags as i had a co worker who would help and assisted customers when needed the hardest part i would say was when a – more... customer came back asking for a refund because he don't want the product no more so i said to him that he has to go to the front area desk and go to the customer serves for they refund but the customer said to me that why cant i do it at my till i said i wouldn't be able to as i have a customer to serve the guy was still continuing to ask me to use my till so i called the manager to assisted the customer to the customer services area the most enjoyable part of the job was when i got through the whole day and learnt a lots of customer service and what to do when you've got awkward customers to call the manager and i will be fine so i went home happy of my days work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Customer Assistant (Former Employee), Hexham, ENGApril 4, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of preparing, cooking and selling dozens of cooked chickens, pasties, sausages and other goods. Then following strict food health and safety guidelines we had to ensure fresh products were rotated and older products were reduced in price or wasted. Then at the end of shift we had to clean our equipment and work space – more... so it was clean and ready to use for the next day.

Some of the managers were ok and easy to work for whereas some weren't.

There was quite a large number of people who worked there so it was hard to meet people. But I got on very well with the people I worked with.

The job was quite straight forward, but if people didn't pull their weight and worked as a team then it made it quite difficult, especially if the shop was busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Sidcup, ENGApril 4, 2014
Cons: longhour
A typical day in Tesco include: working in a teams, cashier and solving customer problems and working in a till.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and exciting place to work with new chalenges everyday
Customer assistant (Current Employee), Maidenhead, ENGApril 4, 2014
Pros: good cantine
Cons: not enough hours
To report to a team leader or a manger before work, replenish stock and assisting customers and giving good customer service. keeping the general presentation of the store and tidiness, give help at the checkouts when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fully commited to my job
TRAINEE MANAGER OPTIONS (Former Employee), Thornton HeathApril 3, 2014
Pros: ending my days work on a positive note
Cons: concerns abouts others having a nonchalant attitude towards work ethics.
Planning and organising
Checking my diary
Communicating and feedback with Management for options and opinions, checking absences, phoning staff to change their day off to another day to save cost. checking all aspects of the Store to prevent slips and falls. I avoid disagreements and turn negatives into positives, doing a good job each and every day – more... to the best of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Checkout Assistant (Current Employee), n/aApril 3, 2014
Pros: people i work with and staff benefits
Cons: working alot of weekends
I really enjoy my job and working for Tesco, I have great managers and work with a great team of people I have gained a lot working for them especially customer service skills and confidence. I don't particularly find any part of my job hard things can always be challenging but if you try hard enough then you wont find it very difficult. I love interacting – more... with the customers and learning any new skills that I can to help me move on further within my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Very friendly staff
Customer Assistant (Former Employee), CardiffApril 2, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: not enough hours
Every one in Tesco made me feel welcome an part of the team.My day to day jobs required stacking shelves, serving customers, problem solving and general customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok short term
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Didcot,April 2, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management with personal issues
the work is ok, the co workers are lovely, the management are the hardest part of the job as they are to busy working against each other to do the managerial side of their work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning.Terrible.
Customer Assistant (Former Employee), Yeovil, ENGApril 2, 2014
Pros: makes you independent and you always get paid on time.
Cons: you wont always get paid right, you have to use your own initiative, they higher members of staff aren't there to help, abusive customers
Typical day at work requires you to address customers who are annoyed and abusive, without the support of management, and the customers are right to be like this as the management doesn't care.
The team spirit within the general dog-bodies is amazing but that is all that can be said for it really. Anyone higher up only cares about impressing others – more... higher then them.
You'll learn how to handle aggressive and abusive customers all by yourself and how to correctly respond to them and help them as best as you can whilst also making them realize its genuinely not your own fault.
They expect you do do hours they ask at the drop of a hat, there's never overtime when you need it and if you get ill or pregnant they'll moan about you behind your back for not being in work.
Your training is from another member of staff sat behind you as they work you have to bug them and ask them what to do while they're trying to serve customers.
The job's hard, but pays well, when they get your pay right.
If your just wanting to keep your head down, not make friends and get shouted at for no reason while getting paid quite well then this is the job for you! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cash Office Assistant (Current Employee), London, ENGApril 1, 2014
Its a great company to work for and I have learnt a lot in short time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff & some fun when new stores open
Department Manager (Current Employee), SCTApril 1, 2014
Pros: good team
Cons: late nights, long days, too much expected of you
good to work for but senior team fail to keep fun at work alive dont join in and the moral falls away, and high moral within your staff in key to great performance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracting
DAG Lead/Asst Database Administrator (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXApril 1, 2014
Had to hope to roll over to test after test. You did know when the test was going to be completed, so there was time to find another job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable happy enviroment
Customer service assistant (Former Employee), North Shields, ENGApril 1, 2014
Every day was different enjoyed each challenge as it came along, learnt a lot of tolerance and to be calmer with public and work colleges.I enjoyed working in a busy enviroment with lots of different people though sometimes it was very busy but we got on with every thing that came along with the help of managers other work colleges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun yet challenging
customer assistant (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGApril 1, 2014
Pros: good wages pension discounts really great higher managers
Cons: long hours and shifts that can be challenging
Really garus from delivering great service to General deliveries to filling and rumbling store
Great training around customer service and food hygiene to making you think on your feet and keeping calm
Learnt all management skills to do my job
Co workers in this environment come from all walks off life that makes it interesting .
Was the long hours which – more... are kind off expected tight budgets can lead to staff shortage.the variety and mix off routines people and cultuers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average worklife.
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Stevenage, ENGApril 1, 2014
Pros: staff discount (only 10% though), free uniform, decent pay.
Cons: bad management, bullying
From my experience as a young customer assistant within Tesco, as the bottom of the food-chain in terms of jobrole, you're often treated like a child by those higher up than you. I was constantly belittled by team leaders and managers for at least 6 months when I first started my job within Hertfordshire. I eventually just stopped talking to most other – more... members of staff and went into work purely to work til it was time to leave. After transferring to a smaller express store, not a lot has changed. The management system within express stores is appalling, we have a new manager every few months who never seems to know what they're doing. I would honestly say to only apply for a job here if you are prepared to hate your work life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
General Assistant (Current Employee), fraserburghApril 1, 2014
Pros: good pay and staff are friendly.
Cons: poor moral within the store, this is due to management an rotation of hours
good place to work, staff are friendly and helpful job is interesting although can get boring after a while, management are helpful but due to other reasons staff moral I very poor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Tesco (Former Employee), PolandMarch 31, 2014
I was covered a goods on shelfs. This was very nice jobe. I lifted a very heavy products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team member but management is poor
Personal Shopper (Current Employee), SwanseaMarch 31, 2014
Pros: nice atmosphere, lots of overtime & staff discount of 10%
Cons: expect you to not have a life outside of work eg constantly do overtime.
Good working environment, always supply sweets & wine incentives & lots of competitive competitions. As long as you keep your head down & reach targets if not exceed them then you will be treated well, if you constantly miss targets you will have manager on your back & watching you like hawks even if you ill.
Really supportive team member especially – more... with things outside work such as family bereavements, illness etc everyone is caring & compassionate that I have met.
You do have jobs worths & sometimes it's good to be seen but NOT heard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work
Bakery Assistant (Current Employee), Bulwell, ENGMarch 31, 2014
Pros: cheap lunches/ 10% discount
Cons: early starts.
My day starts at 6am. The first thing i do is the safe and legal checks then i start my set up which has to be done for 8am. After this my day consists of packing bread and cobs, slicing bread and helping customers. I occasionally work on the check outs too.
My co workers are great and have become like a second family to me. They help the day go by – more... faster. Some of the management team treat you the same but others look down on you. It seems like if your face doesn't fit the Tesco look you wont progress regardless of how good you are at your job. – less

About Tesco

Tesco, the world's fourth-largest grocery retailer and the UK's biggest retailer, runs over 5,000 stores in the UK. Its operations – Read more