Find companies:
Tesco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,167 reviews

Tesco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun productive place to work
Teamleader (Current Employee), Devizes, ENGOctober 6, 2014
Pros: good breaks, pension, holidays
Cons: none if you put the work in
Tesco is a great place to work,
If you are willing to put the time in and effort the benefits are rewarding , there are opportunities to get on in the company if you show willingness, hard work and dedication
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable company with career growth
Customer Assistant (Former Employee), LondonOctober 6, 2014
Working with Tesco was a great opportunity for me to work on my confidence in dealing with people on a day to day basis. I learnt a lot from it. The most enjoyable part of the job was the Team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working experience with wonderful Team
Logistics Analyst (Current Employee), IndiaOctober 6, 2014
Collaboration in working.
Power of Innovation.
Learning of coordination.
Enjoyable and friendly working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Tesco Dotcom Driver (Former Employee), London, ENGOctober 5, 2014
• Customer service
• Administration
• Work on own
• Motivate myself
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is poor
Customer delivery assistant (Former Employee), Crawley, ENGOctober 4, 2014
Pros: security benifits and pay co workers well some
Cons: management under staffed doinng two or more peoples work
great place to work but not very good if you need to change shifts to suit a family lifestyle co workers were ok to work with the way the depot was managed was awful always leaving the yard late and having to catch up the job isn't that hard the hardest part was leaving due to the company not helping me change my contracted hours most enjoyable part – more... of the job was my co workers and most of my customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dotcom home shopper
Dotcom customer assistant (Former Employee), ely, cambridgeshireOctober 4, 2014
Cons: retail is not career path i want to take, looking for admin work.
On a day to day basis my hours are 6am-2pm, 5 days a week. I complete customer orders that they book online. I currently work on the admin side of the department, taking care of customer queries and complaints, processing orders, booking time slots etc. via computer. I also have an excellent telephone manner and take a number of calls regarding many – more... different queries. Also I take care of managing the department holiday and training new members of staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Couldn't think of a worst place to work!
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Watton, ENGOctober 4, 2014
Pros: it's the best paid retailer... thats honestly it!
Cons: long hours, they can ask you to be in when ever it suits them, selfish company!
It's awful, managers don't seem to do anything and when they do it's all together as they can't work individually which is expected of us as well as not being allowed to talk to other members of staff! It's 1 rule for them another for us (workers) Managers will walk around the store on their personal mobile phones whilst working, even phone calls whilst – more... on shop floor, doesn't make tesco look good as a company at all and especially as we get told off for having phones on us they are allowed?

If you're off ill for what ever reason it can go against you big time! you have a 3% leeway for when you're off ill anymore time off which will push your percentage up over 3% you will have to have a meeting for your attendance, not only are the very intimidating whilst doing this procedure you'll more than likely get warnings then the sack!

Basically if you're not a manager, you're not worthy. You don't feel a part of the team, but more importantly the managers have a different set of rules so it seems which isn't fair at all considering they are meant to be role models! they will round each other up like sheep to go for a cigarette together, yet we can't take 5 mins out of our break to have 1 on our own!

CONCLUSION: Don't work there or any tesco, it'll ruin your life everyone i know who works there or has worked there hates it and wishes they can get out! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large retail Company
CUSTOMER DELIVERY ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Skegness, ENGOctober 4, 2014
Pros: staff discounts
Cons: not much opportunity for additioanl hours
Good working conditions but employment is part time on low hours contracts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Non Food Out Of Hours Manager (Current Employee), Warrington, ENGOctober 3, 2014
Ok place to work can be very challenging and stressful. Think it will become a easier place to work in time due to investment that is happening in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Driver (Current Employee), Loughborough, ENGOctober 2, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: odd hours
It is important to enjoy the work you carry out be polite and happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place is fun
MITRE - CLEANER(BAKERY, PART TIME) (Current Employee), ENGOctober 2, 2014
Pros: excellent work colleagues and enviroment
Great place to work and when the work is completed you seem to have enormous job satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Picker (Former Employee), Bristol, ENGOctober 1, 2014
Working with food product:
picking
loading
filing
Working on warm room and cold room.
Good in this work is , you are not alone and you still work with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Express Retail.
Deputy Manager (Current Employee), Southbourne, ENGOctober 1, 2014
Pros: staff priviledge card, great examples of genuine displays of loyalty to myself and gestures of good will from my staff.
Cons: understaffed (running whole shifts 1 and 1), shoplifters
My life has been Tesco Express for the last 10 years, which is longer than some marriages last and like any relationship ,they do not always run smoothly.Retail is a hard task master and an unforgiving, demanding child at the same time.From minute one the job is a fast paced , busy place to be though you could attribute that to my work ethic and personal – more... desire to achieve the best that I can, each shift.There is not a typical day as each is different, except for the facts that deliveries arrive, need to be worked and customers need to be served but never in that order.I have learned that as a Manager in order to achieve my goals and run the store affectively and efficiently I need to be multi-faceted.My style needs to be flexible though constant, hard yet giving and easy going but firm, I have learnt that I need to be a listener,a social worker, a referee, a nurse made and a 100 meter sprinter.That the hardest parts and the most enjoyable parts to the job are one in the same... the staff and the customers. They both inextricably determine in what direction each day is going to take and my job is to steer a smooth passage with as little disruption as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Customer Assistant (Former Employee), Gallow cornerOctober 1, 2014
Pros: nearby home at the time
Cons: not very friendly
I worked on tills, serving customers and helping them pack. in a polite friendly manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay And Benefit
General Assistant (Current Employee), Ashford, ENGSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: not enough space to progress
Tesco is a Fairly good place to work like all companies it has good and bad points. Its busy day to day. People are generally friendly Managers are ok in most part
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm, clean friendly environment
Part-time Petrol Filling Station General Assistant (Current Employee), Ilminster, ENGSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: good work benefits
Cons: hearing bad news from customers first
To open up for 6am ready for the day. Check safe and legal issues, pricing integrity and till checks.
Learned that the garage is a potentially dangerous premises made more so by the general public.
Tact and diplomacy was required at times with both staff and customers.
The hardest part of the job was to give great customer service when working solo – more... in the garage and trying to process a delivery at the same time.
The most enjoyable part is to tell a customer that the price of fuel has just been reduced and that they have also saved £££'s with Tesco fuel save - many people are still unaware of what it's all about. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job
Customer services assistant (Former Employee), Pitsea, ENGSeptember 30, 2014
Worked with some good people.

Working nights.

Good to be part of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
delivery driver
customer delivery assistant (Former Employee), portsmouthSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: working with public
Cons: time scales to travel
at tescos I was a multi drop delivery driver bringin great customer service into a time fulfilling job getting customers there groceries and many more to there door, in my job at Tesco I had to drive from address to address making sure I was on time and always provided service with a smile

the hardest part of my job was telling a customer I hadn't – more... got something they had ordered and they had been given some bizarre substitute. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff
Checkout Assistant (Current Employee), Stowmarket, ENGSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: sunday premium
Cons: money made up by overtime
im contracted to 11 hours per week and work the rest of the week on over time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning operative
Cleaner (Former Employee), morecambeSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: shop discounts
Cons: local
i would arive sweep isles mop under isles empty bins buff shop floof sweep warehouse ready for mopping emptying of bins canteen i would sweep under table clean table sink wash out clean any glass ware and mop floor toilets sweep floor empty bins wash sinks and siramics change paper towells,hand creams and toilet rolls then mop floors.I learned how to – more... organize the hordest part of the job is getting it ready to cleen.the most enjoyable part of the job was useing the buffing machine and mopping. – less

About Tesco

Tesco, the world's fourth-largest grocery retailer and the UK's biggest retailer, runs over 5,000 stores in the UK. Its operations – Read more