Find companies:
Tesco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,605 reviews

Tesco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Checkout Operator (Current Employee), Doncaster, ENGApril 10, 2014
Pros: 10% staff discount, subsidised staff canteen
Cons: only contracted to work 7.5 hours a week and not guaranteed overtime, i need to work at least 16 hours a week
I really enjoy my job at Tesco, love helping people and seeing regular customers each week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee), hemelApril 9, 2014
I was working behind the till dealing with customers taking payments and helping to pack shopping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Im looking for more challenges and rewards
Engineer (Current Employee), BangaloreApril 9, 2014
Im looking for more challenges and better rewards.

Learned to be more confident. Help others and works as a team.

Management is very Diplomatic. They are good if we are good.

Coworkers are always helpful and also needed to be helped.

Hardest part is the hard to get reward for the extra effort always shown.

Work Enjoyable though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General Assistant (Current Employee), Ely, ENGApril 8, 2014
Pros: easy to commute ( takes only 13 min by bicycle)
Cons: quite physical
Tesco game me an opportunity to work for them even though my English was not great 12 years ago. I am very grateful about it.
I check what needs to be done that day and I fill as many products as possible to improve availability. My colleagues are brilliant and managers are approachable, that makes my job easier. We become extremely busy on occasions – more... like Christmas and it can be difficult to meet the customers satisfaction. However, It is wonderful to see the customers smiling and thank me. Only reason I am seeking another job is that I would like to contribute more to my family financially. I have 2 children to look after so it would be ideal to have a job,which is flexible enough and gives me more independence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student job
Tesco Cashier (Former Employee), Pécs, BAApril 8, 2014
Hungary's Tesco is a bit different, I have never worked for Tesco in England.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store person
General Assistant (Former Employee), helsbyApril 8, 2014
This involved stocking the shelves at night over a busy xmas period
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work not the easy job that people would expect
DSS Clerk/Stock Control (Current Employee), Yate BristolApril 7, 2014
Pros: can work around family life, well paid
Cons: can be demanding at times, being multi-skilled can have its drawbacks
Time passes quickly, as you are always asked to multi-skill, sometimes not being able to sort your own job out before leaving.
Having a wide range of colleagues that you get to know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee), Kingston upon Hull, ENGApril 7, 2014
Pros: great workplace
Cons: non
I enjoyed my experience there and would love to do that again.The staff were friendly and very helpfull
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool
Car Park Attendant and General Store Assistant (Former Employee), chepstowApril 7, 2014
Pros: 99p thursdays
friendly staff
good to work for
free films when u want
it was after school job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier (Current Employee), wandsworthApril 7, 2014
Pros: able to interact with customers
Working as a cashier was good as i experienced many types of customers and was able to deal with them in different ways
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and team working
shop floor assistant (Former Employee), ebbw valeApril 7, 2014
i was in tesco on work experience from march 2012-may 2012. It was fun and a good enviroment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under paid
Night Stock Filler (Current Employee), Worcester, ENGApril 7, 2014
Pros: discount card
Cons: lots of injuries due to heavy work and non stop filling of shevles
Night stock filling is very hard work non stop and no thank you's, not worth the pay you get
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
team leader/ general assistant (Former Employee), Cheltenham, ENGApril 6, 2014
Pros: made freinds
Cons: poor management
a good place to work with good benefits good people to work with and the job was good lots of chances to get on
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Assistant Supervisor - (Marketing and Sales) (Former Employee), London, ENGApril 6, 2014
Tesco is the leading Financial, Mobile, Insurance and Retailer chain in Europe. It stands second among the world’s largest retailers in profits (after Wal-Mart) & third largest by revenues (after Walmart and Carrefour). Founded in 1919, the organization had a massive market capitalization of almost £24.4 b as of 15th Jan 2012.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier assistant
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee), Finchley Central Station, ENGApril 5, 2014
well my typical at work was when i was training and i had to learning customer service and how to look face to face with customer when severing them by asking if they have got a Tesco card or if they wanted cash back or help with their bags as i had a co worker who would help and assisted customers when needed the hardest part i would say was when a – more... customer came back asking for a refund because he don't want the product no more so i said to him that he has to go to the front area desk and go to the customer serves for they refund but the customer said to me that why cant i do it at my till i said i wouldn't be able to as i have a customer to serve the guy was still continuing to ask me to use my till so i called the manager to assisted the customer to the customer services area the most enjoyable part of the job was when i got through the whole day and learnt a lots of customer service and what to do when you've got awkward customers to call the manager and i will be fine so i went home happy of my days work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Customer Assistant (Former Employee), Hexham, ENGApril 4, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of preparing, cooking and selling dozens of cooked chickens, pasties, sausages and other goods. Then following strict food health and safety guidelines we had to ensure fresh products were rotated and older products were reduced in price or wasted. Then at the end of shift we had to clean our equipment and work space – more... so it was clean and ready to use for the next day.

Some of the managers were ok and easy to work for whereas some weren't.

There was quite a large number of people who worked there so it was hard to meet people. But I got on very well with the people I worked with.

The job was quite straight forward, but if people didn't pull their weight and worked as a team then it made it quite difficult, especially if the shop was busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Sidcup, ENGApril 4, 2014
Cons: longhour
A typical day in Tesco include: working in a teams, cashier and solving customer problems and working in a till.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and exciting place to work with new chalenges everyday
Customer assistant (Current Employee), Maidenhead, ENGApril 4, 2014
Pros: good cantine
Cons: not enough hours
To report to a team leader or a manger before work, replenish stock and assisting customers and giving good customer service. keeping the general presentation of the store and tidiness, give help at the checkouts when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fully commited to my job
TRAINEE MANAGER OPTIONS (Former Employee), Thornton HeathApril 3, 2014
Pros: ending my days work on a positive note
Cons: concerns abouts others having a nonchalant attitude towards work ethics.
Planning and organising
Checking my diary
Communicating and feedback with Management for options and opinions, checking absences, phoning staff to change their day off to another day to save cost. checking all aspects of the Store to prevent slips and falls. I avoid disagreements and turn negatives into positives, doing a good job each and every day – more... to the best of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Checkout Assistant (Current Employee), n/aApril 3, 2014
Pros: people i work with and staff benefits
Cons: working alot of weekends
I really enjoy my job and working for Tesco, I have great managers and work with a great team of people I have gained a lot working for them especially customer service skills and confidence. I don't particularly find any part of my job hard things can always be challenging but if you try hard enough then you wont find it very difficult. I love interacting – more... with the customers and learning any new skills that I can to help me move on further within my job. – less

About Tesco

Tesco, the world's fourth-largest grocery retailer and the UK's biggest retailer, runs over 5,000 stores in the UK. Its operations – Read more