Find companies:
Tesco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,069 reviews

Tesco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, fun and always learning
Multi-Skilled Customer Assistant (Current Employee), ENGSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Friendly place of work with great colleagues and new, exciting tasks everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and diverse
Customer Services Assistant (Former Employee), Forres, SCTSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: staff discounts
Cons: slow management progression
good career based company with lots of training and gateway to management courses.

Fun and diverse working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & flexible place of work
Warehouse / General Assistant (Current Employee), Norwich, ENGSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: good team of colleagues
I have enjoyed the 17 years I have been employed here. I have many roles and I like undertaking various challenges.
Some of my main duties include:

- Maintaining and organising warehouse / Merchandising stock
- Receipting deliveries / Reloading empty equipment
- Operating Jungheinrich Master-mover & pallet trucks
- Multi-skilled across 7+ store departments

In – more... addition:
I have had 100% attendance over 17 years - I am very proud of this record!

I have also been a temporary Team Leader (Feb - July 2011).

- One of my many additional duties was to organise the staff shift rota.

I have always been a flexible, very dedicated / committed employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
made lots o f friends
General Assistant (Current Employee), Pembroke Dock, WLSSeptember 12, 2014
i have worked for Tesco for several years but i now feel it is time to look for pastures new in the current working climate i feel it is time for me to make new friends and possibly find new opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Checkout and Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), Enfield, ENGSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: manager not being polite
I would normally work on a checkout for 7 hours and help customers.

I learned how to meet needs of certain individuals, communication and how to be organised.

Most co-workers were nice and helpful some were rude especially the manager.

Hardest part was sitting down on a checkout for a long time.

Enjoyable part was communicating with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, challenging
Customer Assistant (Former Employee), Ballymena, NIRSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: days out
Cons: long weeks for very little money
i loved working at the hope centre. i never thought i would like a job like that in their but i loved every minute of it. lovely bunch of staff and friendly volunteers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paid and a great learning experience
Customer Assistant/Self Scan Operator (Current Employee), BristolSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: staff discount.
Cons: can be inflexible.
I have gained many skills working for Tesco. I have been trained in customer service to deliver professional, outstanding service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the doorstep
General Assistant (Former Employee), NorthamptonSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: pleasing the customers
Cons: being on my feet for long hours
A great little part-time evening job for a little income when the children were tiny.

It taught me good customer service skills and the management team were very supportive. My co-workers on the department were a good team to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Replenish Stock
Shelf Replenisher (Current Employee), Great Dunmow, ENGSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: employee discount, pension
Cons: not great on my body due to heavy duty work such as lifting and pulling
• Replenish stock and maintain my aisle.
• Carry out regular stock checks.
• Provided customer service support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Customer Assistant (Former Employee), FaringdonSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: discount card
Although I have worked for Tesco only 6 months, I enjoyed my time there.My colleagues were always happy to help if necessary and to show me how to do my job easy and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyble worplace
General Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: very nice canteen with pool tables and other activities made it very enjoyable
Cons: not enough hours
A very fast paced enviroment. I learned great customer service skills as well a dealing with responsiblities under prerasure. I have also learned how to work well im a team. The hardest part of my job was maintaning doing night shifts and then having to cme back the next day very tired but i manged it and after a while i did get used to it. The most – more... enjoyable part of my job was socialising with collagues because there was alot of youn members of staff it was a very enjoyble enviroment to be around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues are great
Resource Manager (Former Employee), LondonSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: great colleagues
Cons: long hours
Very hectic, but great colleagues making the day go faster.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Admin Assistant / Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Worcester, ENGSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: we are given access to some drinks like tea and juice to use during breaks
Cons: no seats allowed behind the checkouts, which means we have to stand during the whole shift.
I enjoy working at Tesco. The Managers are very helpful at all times. I love being with people so this place gives me the opportunities to talk and help old and young and make friends at the same time. The gratitude I get from helping the customers is worth the job I am doing. I love being at the checkouts where I can accomplish all this.

The hardest – more... part of the job for me is when I need to take time off for taking my children to important places and can't find anyone to take my shift. Normally if this occurs I have to take a day off without pay and the Management gives the day out as an overtime to whoever wants it. Also during the School holidays it's difficult to get enough time with my children. For example, when the kids are off for 6 weeks it gets harder as I can't get all that time and I can't afford baby sitters. Most of the time I only get a few days where we can't really afford to do anything.
Also as my family is not near here, if I want to book a whole month holiday to go where they are I have to officially apply and book my holidays a year before when I don't even know the dates or what transport I will be able to afford in a year's time. This being the reason why I am looking to work at Schools where I can have days off when my kids are off.
Another difficult part is that I need more hours but I can't seem to be able to get more permanent hours to work in order to get more money so I can give more help to my family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job safety
Team Leader (Former Employee), Littlehampton, ENGSeptember 8, 2014
very good job safety, strong customer service is needed as your working with customers on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people, under bad management
General Assistant (Former Employee), bristolSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: not far from where i lived
Cons: long hours
tills, replenishing stock, unloading delivery, dealing with the takings
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee), cumbernauldSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: good company benifits.
Cons: no thanks for doing your best
A typical day in Tesco would involve serving customers, helping and solving problems, be available to help at all times or find the proper help. good and enjoyable place to work, great people to work with at all ages. hardest part of the job would be dealing with the few difficult customers but the most enjoyable part would be working with great people – more... and talking to and hearing loads of different stories because everybody has one to tell :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reasonable
Team Leader/ Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Pitsea, ENGSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: good money, employee benefits
Cons: ridiculous hours, not enough staff in the sections
colleagues are helpful and friendly, others keep to themselves. some managers are helpful and others are useless.

a typical day of work is too much to do and not enough hours or staff to complete everything,

hardest part of the job is turning up and the most enjoyable is leaving at the end of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
Stock Control Manager (Former Employee), north eastSeptember 6, 2014
best company to work for and management structure always going that extra mille for customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tesco
Personal Shopper (Current Employee), Sandhurst, ENGSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: the customers are great, pay is good, collegues are nice.
Cons: managers expect everything from you with no questions asked.
This job has me used to early morning starts. The management doesn't really care what the worker wants. They expect you to work whenever they say and if you say no once then they complain about you! It is a nice job to do and the pay is good but it is not worth it when the management treat you how they do. When you are out in the super market it is – more... nice to just have time to talk to customers and the other colleagues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Dept.
Group Security Manager (Current Employee), Middlesex/West LondonSeptember 5, 2014
Constant improving of general security routines. Training and coaching of both inhouse and agency guards. Reduction of loss to the company.

About Tesco

Tesco, the world's fourth-largest grocery retailer and the UK's biggest retailer, runs over 5,000 stores in the UK. Its operations – Read more