Find companies:
Tesco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,101 reviews

Tesco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work balance and flexible hours
Service team leader (Former Employee), London UKMay 25, 2014
Pros: good training, career development and free food
Cons: long hours
Managing co-workers at the front end of the store environment and making it a pleasant experience for customers.

Team work , problem solving skills, customer relationship management and communication skills.

Management were approachable

My co- workers support each other.

The hardest part of the job was working long hours

The most enjoyable part – more... of the job was putting a smile on customer's face and achieving sales target. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sold out to the Americans and then sold off potential future money making key assets.... Sad!
Technician (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 15, 2014
Pros: given creative freedom to achieve the required work result.
Cons: peers trying to take over your projects because of their lack of capabilities and competence
I was given the creative freedom to achieve what was required while working Top Drives, Casing Running and Casing Drilling Downhole Tools. Travelling abroad with Tesco was great and well organized. The sad part is having peers who their only mission is to get a bonus at the end of the year at all costs. When you are the one working for it and they do – more... nothing then openly tell you that several times to your face... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull day at work
General Accountant (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaMay 7, 2014
Work at the office was never dull. The work was entertaining although the work environment was somewhat dull.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company, hard to keep managment, and office staff, everyone always changing position, quitting or getting fired.
Tonghand (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABApril 12, 2014
Lackinging certain characteristics as a company, to big of a corporation attitude for what should be looked after as a small bussiness attitude, wheres as the employees are treatded more important, after all it really is the hands that make a Tong company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Document Controller (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 15, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
• Skilled in all aspects of recording transactions, posting cash receipts, reconciling accounts, and ensuring accuracy and completeness of data.
• Managed Accounts Receivable, monthly statements for clients, monthly reconciliation of sub ledger / general ledger, prepared bank deposits and cash receipts, monthly reporting to finance manager.
• Reconciled – more... various G/L accounts, G/L entries, month end process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Checkout Assistant (Part-Time) (Former Employee), Aberdeen, SCTMay 30, 2013
Pros: salary which more compare to other supermarket in uk
Cons: no
Tesco was great place to work and it was very fun work place. But same time tesco provide best customer service and for it always keep their employees happy with competitive salary and other benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, learned new challenges
Technical Writer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 27, 2013
Cons: long hours
At Tesco for 6 years, working for 4 years in Accounts Payable and then was given an opportunity to move to another position as a Technical Writer. I learned to use Framemaker, Illustrator, Photoshop, as well as learning Sharepoint 2010, on my own.
The hardest part of my job as a Technical Writer was the self learning I had to do, however I enjoyed that – more... at the same time because I love to learn and research, given the time.
I was the volunteer coordinator for Meals on Wheels with Tesco, handling the scheduling and paperwork for Tesco's corporate responsibility of volunteering. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive friendly atmosphere
teamleader (Current Employee), pembroke dock south walesFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: shares in company
Cons: no overtime
2 a.m. start review what is on production planner for that day.begin production approx 3hours.we all work as part of a team,there are 9 of us all together .the hardest part of the job is long hours and the early starts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and great team to work with as well as great benefits
Inventory Associate (Current Employee), Calgary ABJanuary 9, 2013
Excellent and great team to work with as well as great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work
OOH - Grocery Manager (Current Employee), Essex ENGJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: wage rate
Cons: long break waste of time
Wage rate is good. unpaid long break is negative point.
challenging work place. You have got to work hard to achieve your targets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Aberdeen, SKDecember 2, 2012
Cons: can be bit repetitive at times
It is a good place to work as it allows for flexible working hours for students and encourages interaction with other co - workers aswell as customers where you learn about all new different cultures and personalities that can be put together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Cost Analyst (Former Employee), CalgaryNovember 19, 2012
Busy typical day at work. Learnt about manufacturing and Great Plains software. Good management and fun place with co-workers. The hardest part of the job was year end inventory, staying long hours but at the same time the most enjoyable part of the job and created more sense of team spirit within co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great equipment
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABJuly 28, 2012
Great Equipment
Long hours
Great People but trying to grow too fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning operative
Cleaner (Former Employee), morecambeSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: shop discounts
Cons: local
i would arive sweep isles mop under isles empty bins buff shop floof sweep warehouse ready for mopping emptying of bins canteen i would sweep under table clean table sink wash out clean any glass ware and mop floor toilets sweep floor empty bins wash sinks and siramics change paper towells,hand creams and toilet rolls then mop floors.I learned how to – more... organize the hordest part of the job is getting it ready to cleen.the most enjoyable part of the job was useing the buffing machine and mopping. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as before
Team member in clothes department (Former Employee), Neath abbeySeptember 28, 2014
i thoroughly enjoyed my placement at Tesco. I really enjoyed the staff were all friendly and worked as a team. I would love the chance to work for Tesco.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am looking for a job as a team something that keeps me busy
SHOP ASSISTANT (Former Employee), ferndownSeptember 28, 2014
i am a very hard working and reliable person and trustworthy i do hold a full uk driving liecnce i am very keen on face to face interaction with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Oracle DBA (Former Employee), UKSeptember 26, 2014
typical day work are as follows;
- Install, patch and maintain all Oracle software
- Tune all Oracle instance components including SQL and PL/SQL
- Involved all production schema changes
- Involved in changes to database design
- Control all migrations of Oracle schema objects
- Implement a backup & recovery system
- Exports/Imports
- User Management
- – more... Monitoring Tablespace Segments
- Monitoring Production Database Performance
- Solving the ORA errors.
-Take a COLD/RMAN backups at night time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Shift Customer Service Job
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), Aldershot, ENGSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: night shift
It was nice and pleasant job. It was temporary and night shift during Christmas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
cashier (Former Employee), West Molesey, ENGSeptember 26, 2014
I did like to work there, at the time i found the management a bit on the poor site.
I found that particularly at that store they kinder chose who they wanted to grow up professionally on that company.
I did not appreciated that.
On my point of view the opportunity must be the same to all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited progression opportunities
Customer Delivery Assistant (Current Employee), ChaddertonSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: reasonably flexible working hours
The job is not challenging and offers minimal opportunities to progress. There is a scheme to develop but it is a very long winded process.

1 2 3 4 5

About Tesco

Tesco, the world's fourth-largest grocery retailer and the UK's biggest retailer, runs over 5,000 stores in the UK. Its operations – Read more