Find companies:
Tervita
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Tervita Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Manager Talent Management/Technical Training (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 24, 2014
Fast paced, energetic, and structured. Lots of personal agendas, make life both challenging and interesting because you need to build skills to navigate the different areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Rig Manager (Former Employee), Cold Lake, ABMarch 22, 2014
Learned lots
Home every night
co-workers ok
same thing every day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, open communication, great people to work with
Regional Safety Advisor of Southern Alberta (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, full benifits
Cons: work/ life balance/passion for the job
Tasks involved:
 Promote and coach compliance with Tervia’s Corporate Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) program “Safety matters in all that we do” at the field level
 Ensure operational compliance with client requirements and provincial OH&S regulations
 Be cognizant of and adhere to any site specific safety requirements
 Partake in all safety – more... related meetings including: daily tail gates, weekly safety meetings, site specific safety plans (SSSP), per-work hazard assessments, job hazard assessments (JHA)
Support:
 Spend time in the field working with supervisors and employees – coach them on safety related activities
 Provide support during the investigations (Tap Root) incidents and near misses while ensuring proper follow up and implementation of corrective actions
 Provide support and steward to Project Managers and Senior Management on Health and Safety related activities
 WCB information for project managers, supervisors and customers, as requested
 Assist the project management team with the safety advise when bidding on projects

Managing Health and Safety:
 Administer Tervita’s Disability Management Program and coordinate WCB activities, as required
 Assist in maintaining safety equipment, documents and manuals
 Conduct internal and external safety audits
 Assist in maintaining OH&S record keeping system, including tracking of incidents / accidents, training, trending and statistics
 Provide assistance in creating, maintaining and update Job Hazard Analysis (JHA)
 Where required, coordination of PPE supplies by working with local suppliers

Reporting:
 Complete initial Workers’ Compensation Board (WCB) claims reports
 Report and investigate incidents and near misses while ensuring proper follow up and implementation of corrective actions – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Lead Operator (Interim TRD Manager) (Current Employee), Central AlbertaMarch 18, 2014
Typical day is always busy, need to make management decisions all the time and to make sure one is doing the right thing.

Change happens daily, suck it up and deal with it.

I belive i have had good managemtn people above me and i like to belive i am a good manager also.

Co-workers are usually fun to be around, if not make a atmosphere that is.

Hardest – more... part of the job is dealing with change, and adapting to dealing with everyone's problems.

Move enjoyable part of the job is when co-workers or my direct reports remind myself of how good of a job we/I have been doing. Makes you know that you/we are doing the right thing and making the busniess successful and other progression other people to be successful to reach there goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Corporate Accountant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 18, 2014
Great experience, would highly recommend to anyone.

People are friendly and easy going, work was enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Equipment operator (Former Employee), FortMcMurray.ABMarch 1, 2014
Pros: company truck, always something new, good staff
Cons: poor management
I enjoyed my job with Tervita but I agree with some other postings that the management was not the best. No communication with employees and I found supervisors had no real ambition to help equipment operator to advance.
I left for personal reasons a few years back but I did gain lots of experience and got to work all over Alberta.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
North American Leader in Energy and Environmental Services
Manager, Support Services (Former Employee), CalgaryFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: high potential and high-energy company with rewarding projects and satisfaction
Cons: diverse company continually streamlning causes instability in workforce
The company is evolving in bringing together many businesses into one entity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run Away
Driver/Operator (Current Employee), Victoria, BCFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: lots of ot
Cons: bad pay
Management is beyond incompetent no white hats have repercussions for bad decisions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Of The Best
Labouer (Former Employee), SaskatchewanJanuary 22, 2014
I Loved Tervita for the constant work hours the people the job at hand. Overall I enjoyed everyday worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible organization on upcoming work
Crew Leader (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 20, 2013
hardest part was trying to find out what project was next, information from higher ups not communicated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun - low job security
Manager of Facilities, North America Projects (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 18, 2013
Pros: productive and fun
Cons: low job security
great place to work in general.
Lots to do not enough people to get things done correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice supervisor and team member
Reservoir Engineer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 7, 2013
Pros: nice team members
Cons: work security
geomodeling and smulation
pressure and reservoir size calculation
well test interpretation
support team member
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy people to work with
Facility Administrator (Former Employee), Peace River, ABJuly 9, 2013
My daily activities were the daily office tasks that needed to be done. Collection of paperwork, data entry, etc. The people here all got along really great and really made you feel like family. I miss this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely Unorganized!
Field Technician (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 15, 2013
Pros: it's a job.
Cons: it's not a career.
Very high expectations for below average pay.
Certain management have no respect for employees.
They will lie to you during interview of your role.
Organization was horrific.
Sludge pad employees are underpaid.
Promises of lots of work at the beginning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, productive work environment
Receptionist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 25, 2013
Mon to Fri 8-4:30
30 min lunch
I learned to input payroll hours and data.
Co workers were friendly and helpful.
Hardest part was trying to get on staff full time as I was currently with a Temp Agency.
Most enjoyable part was working with a great company and friendly staff. They showed they were there to help you if you needed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging projects surrounded by great employees.
Project Coordinator- 2nd Work Term (Former Employee), Sydney, NSJanuary 9, 2013
My position of Project Coordinator required extensive team work at the job site for the completion of various tasks. As a result, communication skills were also improved upon as I reported to the Project Manager while communicating with fellow employees to gain information to complete tasks well before deadlines. I was surrounded by co-workers that – more... wanted to complete the work at hand in an ethical manner. Both sides would offer each other help when required making for a friendly and enjoyable working atmosphere. Ultimately, the knowledge and experience I had gained was invaluable and I am looking forward to bigger roles in my engineering future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
frequent staff functions
Field Technician (Former Employee), EdmDecember 10, 2012
Pros: overtime
Cons: no balance
poor training with no real structure
empty promises
co-workers were great for the most part
management well hmmmm...
enjoyed the country drives
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building a strong safety culture
Health and Safety Coordinator (Current Employee), Standard, ABSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: incentive plan
Cons: planning and communication
Review theprevious days paper work review any hazard ID's and Near Misses, Review training reqiured for all workers. Investigate any incidents and ensure all paper work is completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tervita is a vibrant and fast growing company
Heavy Equipment Technician (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 10, 2012
I have gained alot of knowledge while with Hazco/Tervita.
I have enjoyed spending my time with our aprentices, mentoring and training them.
I have had the oportunity to grow with the company and learn the dynamics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Lead IT Analyst (Current Employee), HOUSTON, TXMarch 19, 2014
Overall, it is a great place to work. Excellent leadership and management.