Tervita Employee Reviews

Found 92 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Paying job, Employee culture is lacking
Operator (Current Employee) –  Kindersley, SK26 June 2017
I will preface this by saying I was only there a month before I was unceremoniously let go. The cooperation as a whole is a great place to work, pay is some of the best in the industry and the benefits are unbeatable. The management isn't in tough with the operators and the day- to -day goings on in the plant as they should be. Employees are often feeling threatened by job loss for the smallest reasons and they tent to undercut and talk about each other behind backs more than other places I've worked. All this being said I recommend the company and would go back to work for them if given the chance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work
Equipment Operator/Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB2 May 2017
good work atmosphere i liked all of working with all of my fellow employees fast paced at times it was difficult to reach timelines it was fun interacting with the boys at break time
Pros
good co workers
Cons
not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmental Service company based in Calgary
Desktop Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary20 April 2017
Good corporate culture and going through change currently.

Overall it was a good place to work with good benefits

I was able to learn a lot of new skills as a result of the numerous deployment projects I was involved with.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big company
Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 March 2017
big company, not too well managed from the office side, field worker to office communication not there across different offices, too much overhead. hehe
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employees
TRANSPORTATION / OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 March 2017
employees were great but upper management lack experience in business and people skills, they keep doing cut backs until they were unable to sustain their current clientell
Pros
good workers
Cons
upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advantageous, fun loving environment.
Billing and EDI Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 February 2017
Excellent work environment.
A place i cant wait to go to every morning.
Good management, working hard to keep all staff united and committed
The hardest part of the job is when we have to meet clients' need
The most enjoyable part of the job is having lunch, pot luck, playing games and volunteering outside the company.
Pros
lots of training and lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes2No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 January 2017
It's a good environment with management that communicates with its subordinates. The environment could be more social but we are there to work so that is not a big deal.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After 6 months of new owners, started downhill slide.
Supervisor, Truck Driver, Plant operator (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC10 January 2017
Was great company until it went corporate.
New management interfering, not really knowing the business.
Not a friendly place to work in any more though co-workers still great.
Hardest part was watching your back when management (new supervisor and up) were around.
Best part was working with team mates.
Pros
pay good. earned before going corporate.
Cons
management and very long summer hours. no family time.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Facility technician (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC2 January 2017
Great hours and growth opportunities.
Drum and Bulk waste management.
Operating a fork lift.
Work with PPE.
Mostly outside.
Must be able to lift 50lb.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work with good people.
Landfill Operator, Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Hinton, AB29 December 2016
The people and the shift is what I have come to enjoy the most. The job it self is great, but with the recent down turn in oil/gas the company doesn't seem to be stable. The many cuts to benefits and hours has made moral low.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work, Great team
Shop Laborer in July (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 November 2016
Working for Tervita as a shop labourer allowed me to work with different trades, and complete different tasks on a daily basis. Job shadowing Heavy-Duty Mechanics being a welder helper, as well as operating equipment in the yard kept the job interesting. Not having the choice to work overtime was unfortunate because of the salary, but all in all a good working environment.
Pros
Great team, new challenges
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible job
Hazardous Waste Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 October 2016
Management at this company are some of the most clueless individuals you will ever meet. Toxic management everyday, ranging from them saying that overtime is non optional, to badmouthing employees in group emails, then claiming they did nothing wrong.
Everyone is on one big power trip.

zero work life balance, inconsistent hours and no appreciation.
Pros
nice co workers, paid ok, good benefits
Cons
rude and power-abusive managers, non optional overtime, no promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes31No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great company
West Regional Administrator (Current Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB28 October 2016
Overall a great company to work for that has great benefits program with vacation allowances. Management is awesome and super accommodating, you are not micro managed which is nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized Corporation
Corporate Health and Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Richmond27 October 2016
Tervita was company that really wanted their people to succeed and tried to ensure the progression of the employee was continually advancing.
Pros
Competitive wages
Cons
Continual layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team but really insecure
IT (Former Employee) –  Headquarters, ab20 October 2016
pros: very good benefits, work with current technology, highly safety conscious
cons:company has been on the decline for years and is running with mostly a skeleton crew of where it used to be. high stress never knowing if a pink slip is going to be in the mail.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 October 2016
Very unstable place to work. Never know when the next time you were going to get the call to fly out or a pink slip in the mail. Was a very good company when the work was there but could not give you answers when shortages were coming.
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Implementation of customer facing portal
Senior Project Manager/Agile Scrum Master (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 September 2016
Managed & executed delivery of customized portal solution for Tervita's clients. Project was delivered under the $2.9M budget with two releases to production. Team size was 22 people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety first
Fuel Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  High River, AB23 September 2016
Very safety conscious. Steady working pace. Some good people. Some low quality, worn equipment. Over zealous with very minor safety issues.
Pros
Good pay.
Cons
Some equipment was below par.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not long enough to know
Regional IT Field Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB21 September 2016
I worked there for about 6 months and then the company had to lay off numerous people. I was the newest so I was definitely the first to go. While I was there I had some very good dealings with internal staff. I just wasn't there long enough to make an informed decision on the entire company.
Pros
decent money
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, unstable working environment
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 September 2016
Very poor leadership. Senior Management not in touch with their customers needs. Toxic environment. People in jobs that they are not qualified for. No direction or vision from Senior leaders. This company is a total mess.
Pros
Vacation and Benefits
Cons
Senior Management and Toxic Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes21NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tervita. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 126 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.6
Culture
2.9