Find companies:
Tenneco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

Tenneco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lame
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 19, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: work hours work days conditions suck bad management
this job sucks they over work you and treat you horribly they work you every day and expect you to perform as if you have not been pushing your body to the max i hated this job only stayed to finish paying college
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Quality Inspector (Current Employee), Hartwell, GAJune 13, 2014
the job is very productive but it also can be a fun place to work.my co workers are outstanding.you have to learn different aspects of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work
Production Welder (Former Employee), Marshall, MIMay 14, 2014
Pros: easy work, fast paced
Cons: poor managment personnel they hold grudges and harrass the staff
work was easy straight 8 6-2 most of my co-workers where ok a lot of them were older easy to make friends but. I learned if management ask for your honest opinion don't give it! hardest part of job was being watched like a zoo animal. most enjoyable part was how easy and fast paced work was
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but rewarding
Material Handler (Current Employee), Litchfield, MIMay 12, 2014
Pros: good pay, overtime
Cons: shift availability, workload demands
Many opportunities for overtime. I worked over 900 hours in the first four and a half months of this year. Shift preference is dictated by employee status and seniority. All employees must enroll in a temp service before being officially hired. "Temp" status can be expected to last between nine months to a year. The pay is good. After 8 months on the – more... job I make over $14/hour. I currently work third shift and i find it difficult to find time for much else besides work. Desire for personal financial security is what keeps me going back to work each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production/Assembley
Sorter/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Hartwell, GAMarch 7, 2014
Working on a tool related assembly line Sorting/ Inspecting parts Quality Assurance /Production operator Process and interrupt work orders to produce jobs correctly Maintain an organized and clean work environment Able to multi-task effectively and prioritize demanding workflow Effectively communicate with supervisors and employees Manage a fast paced, – more... ever changing work environment daily Follow established procedures for achieving customer documents Was required to wear safety equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a great place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee), Ligioner, INFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: caring people in every aspect of the company, they make sure you succeed in your job
Cons: they have a tendency to lay off and not always call back since they are non-union, but treat people who do their job right.
This is a company that truly cares about their employees. They treat their employees with respect and were always understanding when a family issue or illness came up. Great people in management and on hourly side. Some of the jobs are a little tough and dirty, but nothing a shower won't fix. They took the time to see that all employees knew and understood – more... the safety features on the machines, how to read the gages to ensure all the components were within customer specifications. Great place to hone skills and make a good income. Company was very generous at holidays also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and well managed business
Assember, CO2 welder, bender operator (Former Employee), Smithville, TNFebruary 10, 2014
A typical day a work was productive. My co-workers were very professional and cared about their job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real world experience in my undergraduate field of study
Student Intern (Former Employee), Grass Lake, MIFebruary 5, 2014
This job is where I gained approximately two and a half years experience in the automotive industry, more specifically, with prototype emission control components. I also completed a thesis project with Tenneco my senior year of undergrad. I worked well within the various teams I was assigned and developed the characteristics of an employer in the workplace. – more... Overall this was a great experience and has set me ahead of my peers who graduated from other universities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as Previous
Welder (Former Employee), Marshall, MIJanuary 28, 2014
Long hours, little support. Wishy/washy upper management.
Could not effectively perform job due to lack of good supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Robot Welder and Pipe Bender (Former Employee), Smithville, TNDecember 17, 2013
This is a great place to work and everyone is helpful. The supervisor are amazing to work for and everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Sr. Measurement Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 17, 2013
Pros: salary, benefit, employees, management
A typical day was very busy but enjoying every minute.
I learned about Natural Gas and about the pipelines.
All levels of management were great. They showed their employees that they were proud of them and they reward the employees when it was deserved.
My co-workers were so fun to work with every minute of the day we were a family.
The hardest part – more... of my job was to assure that I completed my responsibilities and assuring that it was done right the first time. I loved my job.
The most enjoyable part of the job was having the opportunity in being a part of the Tenneco Running Team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized Work Place
Quality Inspector (Current Employee), Hartwell.GADecember 2, 2013
Pros: it had hot food served
Cons: its extremely hot there, had atleast one fatality due to the heat
Poor management and poor supervision, It was extremely hot there, they would change your hours without any notice and you just had to go with it. The team leader was a pervert that stalked us as we were working and showed us inappropriate pictures of himself on his phone and nothing was done about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun place to work and the production flows because if that.
Repair Welder Operator (Former Employee), Port Elizabeth, ECNovember 25, 2013
Pros: no free lunches
Cons: no long hours unless its overtime, normally its 40 hours a week.
Everyday is the same, I've learned many things especially operating welding robots. The management is well organised and they are always there to make sure everything is up to the required standard. I have great co workers who are able to assist one another. The hardest part is to keep with the pace to meet the required production target. I enjoy welding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging position
Master Scheduler (Current Employee), Kettering, OHNovember 25, 2013
The days go by fast. There is more than enough work to do. I am involved in a new start up plant involved in emissions control. I do everything from
shipping/receiving,
to processing all customer orders
order all components from suppliers
enter all manufacturing parts, routings and BOMS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Top Automotive Supplier of Air Cleaning Equipment
Process Engineer (Former Employee), Seward, NENovember 11, 2013
A fine company that is heavily engaged in their market and working with keeping their customers on the cutting edge of clean air technology.

The management is generally fair and reasonable although labor is generally seen as a commodity that is slowly hired, but quickly released as orders fluctuate.

I have no substantial concerns with Tenneco as an – more... organization and would feel comfortable recommending them to someone in my line of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fairly good place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Seward, NEOctober 5, 2013
8 hour day with one twenty minute break. sized notched, and spot welded clamp onto pipe for the line to attach to muffler. All managers have different opions on how things should be done, you make all suggestions work together. Everyone works differently but if you work well with others you can get a good system going which helps keeping anyone happy – more... and making the night go faster and smoother.
Hardest part of job is when they decided to make to have us work overtime 12 hour and 7 days for 2 - 3 months sometimes more. yes paycheck is great but family life is not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new skills and working independantly.
Line Operator (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ILAugust 29, 2013
Pros: decent pay and good benefits
Cons: swing shift with children at home
I was a machine operator, trouble shooting, repairs, filling orders and product accountability. Learned how to trouble shoot problems with machines and fill orders in timely manner. Worked well with others and willing to lend a hand when needed. The hardest part of the job was working swing shifts and the best of job was the benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, time went quick.
Production Welder (Former Employee), Marshall, MIAugust 19, 2013
Pros: catered lunchs for the coming holidays
Start the night off with stretching exercises, be informed of quota for the night, unless someone was being trained rotation stayed the same, change tips on welder, fill out station control sheets, then commence to welding.

Learned quality control, operation setup, setup for different jobs.

Management took part in everyday activities.

Knowledgeable – more... and helpful.

Both working and attending college.

The teamwork. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Operator
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Evansville, INAugust 5, 2013
Pros: competitive
Cons: job security
clean environment, friendly staff,very competitive job,nice place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was contract employee for 3.5 years
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJune 19, 2013
Loved working for them. Very nice people to work for and with. If I didn't have to move I'd still be with them.

1 2 3

About Tenneco

Tenneco Inc. designs, engineers, manufactures, markets and sells automotive emission control and ride control systems and products. – Read more

Tenneco Photos