Teledyne Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fantastic family business, like a second home
Quality Assurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 October 2016
While under the previous ownership,THE place to work and be appreciated for a well done job with possibility to grow. Bought out and almost gone now. Work has gotten shipped to places with cheep labour, outside Canada.
Pros
Great growth possibilities, respect of quality work.
Cons
No longer active in Calgary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 May 2016
There are a lot of great people working here. I enjoyed interacting with them helping out with any concerns that they had. I made quite a few friends while I worked there.
Pros
Great people, free lunches
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team environeny
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 May 2016
good coworkers in all departments, great manager, nice clean environment. Very willing to help anyone achieve there best potential. fair pay and nice benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
R&D Technical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON31 January 2016
Organized structure is good but change in frequenrly in some period time. Working environment and culture are well and attract some senior technical people to work on it.
Pros
Good struct of R & D company
Cons
litter communicatioin issue during the project development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 January 2016
a real team envoronment, fast paced and always evolving environment, clean work areas, great diversification at staff at all levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a family oriented balanced work place
Field Service Technologist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 October 2015
Since the 2nd generation took over family owned Optech, Decline in R&D, decline in sales and the market share pushed the owners to sell the company to Teledyne. Since then the technology drain and the work place squeeze to save a dime spending the a dollar is continuing.

Amazing co-workers trying to do the best they can but brutally managed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with friendly people
Image Sensor Testing (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 October 2015
Teledyne Dalsa is a welcoming place with interesting projects to get involved with. It was liberating to be given the freedom to incorporate your own ideas and contributions to a project. The device testing positions have a good mix of hands-on work as well as computer programming and coding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Support Services Assistant A (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON3 October 2015
Fantastic learning opportunity for young professionals

Excellent development opportunities

Supportive management staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall experience
Mechanical Designer (Former Employee) –  Waterloo25 August 2015
Interesting and leading edge technology.
-Opportunity to learned different technology from Xray to Area cameras.
-Design multiple fixtures, tools, & camera systems.
-Project leader for camera system. Great management team.
-Co-workers are the best!
Pros
Friendly work, environment, flex hours
Cons
restructuring
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work struggling with the current competitive landscape
Product Support and Validation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Waterloo23 August 2015
I started at DALSA in 1991 as employee #25.

The corporation succeeded at every turn.

Advancement within the company was possible with expressing the desire and then executing on the plan.

In recent years the corporation has been facing headwinds of CMOS competition in their historical strong markets.

Coworkers are knowledgable and helpfull.

The hardest part of the job was having to part ways after 25 years on the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, friendly work environment.
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2015
it has a fast paced and physically demanding shipping-receiving and inventory area. Co-workers are all friendly, and mostly well mannered. overtime was usually always available. Management was very lackluster, more worried about the front lawn and board room couch then equipment and tools, the others did not understand the areas they controlled or were unbelievably lazy or uncommitted. that said though they were willing to work with you when it came down to personal life and needs, usually willing to negotiate hours and wage. The floor supervisors were mostly good, the one I worked under was well respected, often advising in other areas. It was an enjoyable place to work.
Pros
overtime was very available, and co-workers were fun to work with
Cons
management could use some improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pot luck, special games
Panel/Solderer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2015
All co workers were very nice to work with, pot lucks at least once a month. Each day was a new learning experience depending on the type of jobs that came in.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Directeur des opérations (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 April 2015
Enjoy having goals and excellent results
Customer importance is very high
Can be stressful
Enjoy making use of my IT background to help on automating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, Ab.24 August 2014
Days are very busy with many different responsibilities required of me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company
Soldering (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2014
When I first started at this company it was a ok place to work, but as the months went by it started to get over whelming. They do not treat there employees very well, They do not give you raises as promised. I was told when I started soldering I would get more money. But I'm still making the same amount, I have asked for a raise 2 times, and they just keep coming up with more excuses to not give. Don't get me wrong I did learn a lot of new things with this company, most of the co-workers are great people. The hardest part about this job, is trying to enjoy it and be happy. Management is not that great.
Thanks.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Production associate (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 October 2013
It was a temporary job through a temp agency. I was there for only 9 months and was laid off. There's no future with this company!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place environment.
Manufacturing Engineering Specialist (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 August 2013
I had a great time working at Teledyne DALSA. It is a very positive work environment, where each employee is treated with the same respect, no matter what their job is. They're very good at keeping up company morale by way of many company sponsored activities.
Pros
Wonderful co-workers; respectful environment; stimulating work
Cons
The only thing I can really complain about was that I tended to find the AC was always too high.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to many people for a small company
general employee (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2013
great place to learn a lot about cables and connectors, when i worked there i learned the basic process for shipping and receiving and potting plastic and silicone connectors.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 September 2012
Pretty goood place to work in. They hire too many people on temporary contracts, but they provide benefits with those.
Pros
free ice cream, christmas dinners
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Support Services (Current Employee) –  Teledyne DALSA - Waterloo25 September 2012
This is a great place to work. Busy and varied tasks, it is a very well managed company. But time for a change perhaps.
Pros
fast pace
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 275 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6