Telecon Canada Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short term contract
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON8 September 2017
This was a term contract for 30 hours a week at $18 hr
The hardest part of the job was driving the 401 from Kingston to Port hope /Peterborough and back.
Pros
Part of a team
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Field Foreman/Field Coordinator/ Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 September 2017
Worked at Telecon for 4 years there were plenty of ups and downs as there allways are. overall experience was good and would work for them again in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not applicable
Rigger (Current Employee) –  not applicable26 July 2017
Telcon is a great company to work for. It does take a long time to get a raise. though, they have no problem promoting you if you show your dedication and ability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ancien employé
Estimator/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC1 June 2017
La situation chez Telecon est toujours precaire, il n'y a aucune perspective d'avenir c'est donc un environnement stressant malheureusement. Il ne faut jamais voir à long terme dans cette entreprise qui est continuellement en mutation (congédiements/embauches) sur une base régulière. Les départements changent au gré des saisons. Certains employés ont occupés plus de 5 postes en 3 ans... toujours des nouveaux visages dans les bureaux.
Mais les bureaux de Montréal sont d'une beauté incroyable!
Pros
De très beaux bureaux
Cons
Aucune perspective à long terme
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Cabling Labourer (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON8 May 2017
Telecon is a good company to work for but I'm looking for an apprenticeship program in Electrical which this company doesn't provide. I work with a crew doing various jobs. From digging holes to installing cables to filling in holes. The hardest part of the job is long hours but it's not so bad in the summer with daylight savings time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Health & Safety Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Gormley, ON22 March 2017
good company
good people
committed to health and safety
multiple locations across Canada
flexible work schedules
offers benefits which are flexible between 3 different packages
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement bien
manouevre (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 March 2017
environnement correct personnel compètent manque personnel pour exécuté travaux
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Technicien télécom (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 February 2017
- When i used to work there, my typical work day started by opening my pc and seeing the jobs lined up for me. Going from job to job with my company truck to install internet service in residential area's.
- Our dispatcher was always helpful i
Pros
great benefits
Cons
working in bad weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail permettant un développement intégral de carrière.
Concepteur FTTH et réseau fibre optique (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC10 November 2016
Environnement de travail permettant un développement intégral de carrière.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Métier de tireur de cables
Tireur de cables (Former Employee) –  Grande region de Montréal23 September 2016
Travail en espace clos en équipe pour enfiler et poser du cable de fibre optique ou de cuivre dans les conduits souterrain des réseaux de bell, de la commission des services électriques de Montréal ou dans des réseaux privés.
Pros
Diversité des lieux de travail
Cons
Manque de travail
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay if you like a idle, laid-back work environments
CAD Designer & Technician (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON21 July 2016
Its a okay work environment with good people to work around. We work from network to network, the same thing over and over, its a very idle environment with not much change to look forward to.

Management is sub-par, good for not always over your shoulder; they just ask you get your task done timely. From a professional perspective they have many areas that need improvement because I have been here for a while and standards still aren't clearly outlined. Our standards are changing constantly but there is no way of knowing which we use or don't- its all verbal.

The work is pretty laid back and there seems to be no career foresight for you as a employee, semi-annual reviews aren't done on time, and people who have worked here for years get very, very little raise. The last time I was engaged about how I can grow within the company was during the interview, tbt.
Pros
Okay work environment
Cons
Not engaing, sitting for eight hours daily, and zero career foresight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absence de culture
Gestion projet (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC12 July 2016
Absence de gestion des carierres
relations employé employeur dificils
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Il y a eu achat de cie Agir et Telecon ne reconnait pas les employés De la cie Agir
Releveur / Inspecteur (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC13 June 2016
Je suis très déçu de cette attitude des gestionnaire de Telecon
Pros
une cie solide et respectueuse de certain de ces engagements.
Cons
Manque de leadership et voit beaucoup trop profit seulement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
En grande expansion
Chargé de projet (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC30 March 2016
Un géant de l'industrie, Telecon est toujours en expansion. Très bonnes conditions de travail. En transition, ça peut-être positif et négatif selon le cas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stimulant et agreable
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON17 February 2016
Longue journée.
peut etre appeler a travailler les weekend
co travailleurs aidant
Pros
Perdiem
Cons
Sur la route
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Stepping Stone
Project Coordinator and Aerial Design Technician (Current Employee) –  Ontario31 January 2016
Great company to work for right after school. Upper management promotes self starting and efficient individuals and will promote as such. Company is building rapidly and needs a little more cohesion to take the next step.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner
Owner/Consultant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 January 2016
Telecon was my privately owned start-up company with primary specializing in Telecommunications consulting and project management. Was a local SMB with a compliment of ten employees at peak.
Pros
owner/operator
Cons
owner/operator
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management are not trustworthy.
Project coordinator (Current Employee) –  Oakville ON22 August 2015
Two and a half years with this company is all I could take. Management was not trustworthy or helpful. Getting answers to questions was difficult, emails would not be answered, help from management was near impossible to get. Several of us were hired for a design position and then shoved into a totally different job. Don't ask questions and don't complain or you will be fired. Avoid this company if at all possible.
Pros
friendly workers
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 10Report

Comment – 3 November 2015

This X employee has found the very same thing! Thankfully I found a job that was ten times better that I could move to and then leave Telecon.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
belle experience
Concepteur réseaux- fibre optique (Former Employee) –  saguenay et Halifax26 August 2014
en général, tout etait beau pour ce travail. je n'aurais pas changer de job s'il était permanent. c,était un contrat à durée déterminée.c,etait un travail qui n'est pas du tout stressant sauf en hiver avec la temperature extreme.
Pros
prime de déplacement
Cons
température extrême
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recognition...Nonexistent
Engineering Design Technician (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON6 August 2014
You can't move up in this company. Once you're in and doing what you've been assigned, you'll be doing that for the rest of your life with little or no recognition. 2% raise once a year if you're lucky.
Pros
None
Cons
Long Hours, half hour unpaid lunch, horrible recognition and review process, poor wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 10Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Telecon Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.3