Teck Mining Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 47 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and efficient workplace
Accredited Payables Specialist (Current Employee) –  Sparwood, BCAugust 27, 2012
There is a heavy and fairly challenging workload day to day. There is a lot of interracxting with vendors and co workers. I have leared a variety of communcation, organization and administrative tasks such as: effective communication, people skills, the importance of meeting deadlines, attention to detail and multi tasking. I work with a great group of people who make my current job a wonderful place to be and for a great company as well. The hardest part of the job is meeting deadlines in timely manner and managing multiple tasks. The most enjoyable part of the job is completeing these tasks and being able to take pride in a job well done.
Pros
great people, great benefits :)
Was this review helpful?Yes12No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and exciting work environment
Process Plant Laborer (Summer Student) (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BCAugust 20, 2013
I only worked for Teck for a short time during the summer but it was a great experience and co-workers were all good.
I would like to work there again one day if the right career opportunity presented itself.
Pros
friendly environment, safety first, formidable managment communication
Cons
no overtime for summer students
Was this review helpful?Yes12No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BCDecember 3, 2013
my typical work day starts at our tailgate meeting where I get assigned my 830 haul truck ,and put on all my PPE, then I proceed up the hill to my haul truck to start my pre check on my haul truck. checking all the fluids , parts and for any damage. from there I fill out my FLRA. after all my checks and paperwork is done I am on my way to the shovel to get my first load. after loaded I then proceed to the dump location. where I follow all the proper procedures while at the dump site.
-I learned so much working at tech, just driving an 830 haul truck in a safe productive manner. and being trained on the simulator what do in case of a fire or if you lose your brakes etc.
-the best part of the job was by far my co-workers and all my foreman
-hardest part of the job was driving in the winters down steep roads
-the most enjoyable part of the job was working with my crew
Pros
great foremans
Cons
not enough pay, not stable
Was this review helpful?Yes44No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunities with emphasis on balance life
field process engineer co op (Former Employee) –  Elkford, BCFebruary 13, 2014
Working for this company has been extremely rewarding. The people I work with are extremely friendly and willing to go and explore not only new ideas but also new places. There are a lot of things to learn and they provide that environment for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ever encountered
H D Mechanic/ Field Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BCApril 30, 2013
The work was good and my fellow mechanics were all good people but the allmighty $ comes first with this company and probably the worst management I have ever been involved with
Pros
good fellow employees
Cons
they need to look after their employees a lot better than they do
Was this review helpful?Yes44No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for.
Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tumbler Ridge, BCMay 19, 2014
Cover the theory, simulator training and field training.
Learned Courage's Leadership.
Management was very open to idea's.
Co-workers excellent people to work with, very open to suggestions.
Their were hard parts to the job.
Working with everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Courses, First aid, Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Sparwood BCJanuary 31, 2015
Working for teck is fun, lots of good people, good morals, safety minded, and most of all the lifestyle Teck has given me.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money, great work-life balance but unimaginative bosses
Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Vancouver BCMay 15, 2012
Great money, great work-life balance but unimaginative bosses

Pros:Money. Work-Life

Cons: Poor management, lack of clear career advancement
Pros
money. work-life
Cons
poor management, lack of clear career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company all around
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BCSeptember 9, 2014
The work was interesting and challenging. Management was fair. Salary/Benefits were above average. EDO schedule allows for long weekends and Teck supports the work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes14No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Test Lead
Test Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 8, 2014
Participated in projects planning by reviewing, analyzing and clarifying the business requirements and prototype creation in an agile environment
• Identified opportunities for process improvement, developing and suggesting solutions
• Recommended value-added changes in the various phases of the tender process that enhanced the overall efficiency of the process
• Managed requirements traceability
• Performed risk analysis, defined assumptions and constraints for monthly release
• Performed analysis for proposed solutions
• Reviewed functional requirements and assessed test cases
• Standardized QA standards and practices across teams
• Defined testing scope, goals, risks, entrance/Exit criteria for monthly release
• Facilitated lesson-learned meetings
• Configured and managed Quality Center usage for test asset management, reporting and usability
• Managed and supported Smoke, SNIFF, FIT , SIT and UAT test phases
• Mentored testing resources and resolved any issues faced by team
Was this review helpful?Yes10No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily learning and fun workplace
Access Control Officer/Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Tumbler Ridge, BCJanuary 5, 2014
A typical day at work consist of signing in and out contractors, checking up to date orientations and safety tickets, doing orientations, daily and weekly safety equipment checks, answer the radio, telephone and direct the access gates. Enter data lodge, escorting contractors on site. Vehicle inspections, vehicle searches.
First aid administered when needed. Mine rescue training.

What I have learned would be leadership within my team mates.
Enhanced my work skills, computer skills and social skills.

Management was a group of co-workers that are open to any suggestions or any questions.

My co-workers were the best team members anyone could ask for.
We had amazing communication between all of us, trust and respect between all co-workers.

The hardest part of my job would be leaving my position within the company.

The most enjoyable part of my job would be the schedule and my co-workers.
Pros
working in a very good work enviroment
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporate culture
Sr. Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver (British ColumbiaMay 7, 2014
they had great corporate culture, inclusive interaction with principals, transparent with decision and friendly
Pros
great opportunity
Cons
corporation needs to build up their project team resources
Was this review helpful?Yes9No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General good outlook and positive
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee) –  Tumbler Ridge, BCApril 25, 2014
Was a great place to work. Lots of in house training and support. Good people to work with. Positive atmosphere.
Pros
good work schedule
Cons
volitile with the price of coal
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coal Mining
OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BCSeptember 26, 2012
The one thing I truely miss about Teck Elkview Operations is my co-workers. There was great comradery amonst everyone and I felt my operating was appreciated.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
poor managment team
Was this review helpful?Yes32No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace! Hands-on experience
Maintenance/Mechanical Engineer - Intern (Former Employee) –  Elkford, BCMarch 25, 2013
-Awesome place to work at!
-Everyone was very kind and helpful
-Hands-on experience
-Experienced different stages of projects
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Engineer's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BCSeptember 29, 2014
Great. love working there. Love working for Teck Coal LTD. would get back if I got the opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes8No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work not enough pay
Instrument Tech. (Current Employee) –  TrailJune 2, 2013
I love working hear but am finding it tough to do financially.
Pros
great co workers, lots of experinced people, good moral
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes33No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assuming roles
Accountant, Finance (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 29, 2013
Trained with the independency to tackle issues and analysis, and bring it to the team for disucssion and problem-solving.
Pros
autonomy
Cons
workload
Was this review helpful?Yes11No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I recieved training that I think will benefit me in the future.
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Sparwood, BCMarch 13, 2012
Preach "home safe and healthy everyday", however i don't think they follow it!
Was this review helpful?Yes28No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/Life Balance
contractor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 7, 2013
Good people to work with. Safety is their number one priority. Never really had to work overtime with them.
Pros
edo's
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 64 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture