Teck Mining Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 47 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Wages- Keep workers casual for a long time
Haul Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BCMarch 14, 2016
Was a haul truck operator at Teck, wages and work schedule are good. living in the valley was great.
Was kept on casual for 9 months without benefits or access to bonus's etc.
Pros
Good wages, 4x4 schedule
Cons
Long hours, not paid for travel
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor morale. Depressing environment.
Mine ops (Former Employee) –  SparwoodAugust 22, 2015
Extremely poor morale.

Pay is descent: 80-100,000 to start. Good benefits after 1 year. Stay as casual employee until they decide to give you full time. As casual you can be laid off at any time, and no benefits.

Foreman are inexperienced, lazy, and entitled.

Favouritism is a major problem.

You won't get anywhere unless your drinking buddies with the foreman.

Your rarely thanked for you're work, and the minute you make a small mistake you're treated like a criminal.

Most foreman don't set a good example of work ethic and take advantage of there positions.

No camp

If you don't live in Elkford or Starwood expect to pay $750 for mediocre 1 bed apartment.

No travel pay

14 hr days(paid for 12) 4 on 4 off, 2 night shifts.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Too many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Comapny
Materials Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BCOctober 26, 2015
At this time Teck is going through some instability , hence my 4 star review regarding; job security etc. In better times this company should be a standard for how others treat their employees.
Pros
Every second Friday off, excellent benefits package. Safety is #1.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equitable Employer
Occupational Health Nurse (Temp.) (Current Employee) –  Hinton, ABJuly 27, 2015
Unionized/ Non-unionized, competitive pension and benefits. Travel and shiftwork requirements relative to worksite. Supportive leadership team, safety personnel, department and management. Teck aims to be a leader in health, safety and environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work just not for everyone
Haul Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Sparwood, BCJune 3, 2015
they can keep you as a temp for as long as they want which means no benefits and only temp wage which seems like a scam to me.

also no matter how much experience you have you start on haul truck which again isn't bad but to progress you have to bid on jobs and people with more seniority will get preference over you so your usually stuck to haul truck for along time
Pros
good retirerment package
Cons
long temp period
Was this review helpful?Yes22No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dirty job
Welder (Former Employee) –  Elkford, BCMarch 9, 2016
this job was good, it tot you about the heavy equipment,managements is ok i enjoy work with coworkers the comradaire,biggest task was the size and weight of everything,the complication was that gave you pride
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teck Resources is a great company to work for...
Mine Geologist (Current Employee) –  Duck Pond Mine Millertown, NewfoundlandApril 30, 2015
Been working for Teck for approximately 7 1/2 years now and would stay with the company if the Duck Pond Mine was not shutting down this summer. It has been a great place to work and the people here are just great. Great benefits and the companies commitment to safety is just unreal....
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TECK provides an excellent work enviroment
Maintenance Group Leader (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BCApril 12, 2016
TECK has provided me with an exceptional work environment which has provided me with growth and job satisfaction. While working at their R&D facility it has provided me with a broader skill set.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Great place to Work
Heavy Haul Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Sparwood, BCApril 24, 2015
Love the job but nowhere to live for my family, the company is great, excellent wage and benefits but housing is a HUGE problem if your not single.
Pros
excellent wage and benefits
Cons
No housing
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily learning and fun workplace
Access Control Officer/Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Tumbler Ridge, BCJanuary 5, 2014
A typical day at work consist of signing in and out contractors, checking up to date orientations and safety tickets, doing orientations, daily and weekly safety equipment checks, answer the radio, telephone and direct the access gates. Enter data lodge, escorting contractors on site. Vehicle inspections, vehicle searches.
First aid administered when needed. Mine rescue training.

What I have learned would be leadership within my team mates.
Enhanced my work skills, computer skills and social skills.

Management was a group of co-workers that are open to any suggestions or any questions.

My co-workers were the best team members anyone could ask for.
We had amazing communication between all of us, trust and respect between all co-workers.

The hardest part of my job would be leaving my position within the company.

The most enjoyable part of my job would be the schedule and my co-workers.
Pros
working in a very good work enviroment
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good experience for me
Process Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  Logan Lake, BCJanuary 29, 2015
not going back....poor boss, very clicky, lied to. did not find the management staff to be good leaders. was mislead, and misrepresented,
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
poor managment, old thinking.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and efficient workplace
Accredited Payables Specialist (Current Employee) –  Sparwood, BCAugust 27, 2012
There is a heavy and fairly challenging workload day to day. There is a lot of interracxting with vendors and co workers. I have leared a variety of communcation, organization and administrative tasks such as: effective communication, people skills, the importance of meeting deadlines, attention to detail and multi tasking. I work with a great group of people who make my current job a wonderful place to be and for a great company as well. The hardest part of the job is meeting deadlines in timely manner and managing multiple tasks. The most enjoyable part of the job is completeing these tasks and being able to take pride in a job well done.
Pros
great people, great benefits :)
Was this review helpful?Yes12No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best practices implementation, safety and optimal resources use.
Information Systems Engineering Co-op (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BCAugust 22, 2015
Excellent work environment.
Team work always quick, reasonable and effective.
Promotion of health and safety in all activities in work conditions and off work.
Great office resources, equipment and technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor morale due to poor leadership
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Elkford, BCAugust 15, 2015
hard to complete jobs when company wont order parts and when they do they are usually wrong or get lost in the system most enjoyable is the co workers hardest is dealing with not having enough to do management suggest unsafe practises i have learned alot about rigging and that there are better places to work than here
Was this review helpful?Yes20No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Elkford, BCFebruary 13, 2014
Teck/Fording River operations is a great place too work.I like my job there. I enjoy the type of work I do and I work with a great bunch of people.They pay me well and have great benefits.I personally don't like the type of shift they work.It is four days on and four days off and you have to switch from two day shifts to two night shifts every set.I would rather work seven and seven, seven days or seven nights.I would also prefer seven days off in a row as apposed to four.
Was this review helpful?Yes41No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company all around
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BCSeptember 9, 2014
The work was interesting and challenging. Management was fair. Salary/Benefits were above average. EDO schedule allows for long weekends and Teck supports the work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes14No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate and stressed envirornment
Service Desk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCAugust 25, 2015
1st and 2nd line support-troubleshooting of IT related problems from in-house software to hardware, such as Blackberry’s, iPhones, Laptops, PCs and Printers.
Receiving, logging and managing calls from internal staff via telephone and email.
Escalate unresolved calls to the infrastructure support team
Cons
Shift Rotation, Unbalanced workload
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love to drive
Haul Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Elkford, BCApril 29, 2015
I had run the rejects from the plant for last 3 yrs. u pull under this big bin and pull a chain.the truck fills up with roughly 240 tonnes of waste rock.then I drove to spoil or grader occasionaly. from plant to spoil and back to plant was roughly 35 minutes.I learned to drive all the trucks at mine 930 katmatsu,s 830 katmatsu,s the new CAT trucks the old CAT trucks and the small wiggle wagons.I enjoyed my fellow workers.Hardest part of job was comeing down the mountain in winter on the nyt shift.you really had to stay focused on the changing road condition.Enjoyable part was the driving I love driving :)
Pros
driveing
Cons
cant think of any cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Business Experience
Corporate Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMay 12, 2015
I was promoted from an administrative role into my position as a Corporate Accounting Clerk. This role provided me with a great opportunity to develop my business skills, and I was encouraged to further my education by taking courses in accounting and Microsoft applications. My coworkers were helpful and supportive, however there was often a scarcity of support during busy times.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Equipment operator (Current Employee) –  Sparwood, BC.October 26, 2013
I have enjoyed my time at Teck very much. we work 4 and 4, 12 hour shifts.
Pros
safety
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes17No20

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 64 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture