Techmation Electric & Controls Ltd

Techmation Electric & Controls Ltd Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Setting the industry pay at an all time low!!
Electrical Jman (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB1 October 2016
What a joke this company is and the upper management!!! While they sit back making their posh wages we are the lowest paying electrical/Instrument company in all of Alberta. We didnt go to school for $36.00/HR For Jman wage!! We are the ones that build the plants and are in the front lines, pays us like we should be!!!
Pros
NONE
Cons
Horrible Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
HSE Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BC15 April 2016
Good work environment, but poor communication through out the company. Company Health and Safety Program needs to be overcalled.
Pros
use of company vehicle
Cons
poor system for tracking use of vehicles
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowkegable employees and great work environment
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB8 March 2016
-Techmation is a company that strives to be a leader in the oilfield industries.
-They provide competitive wages and safe skilled work environments.
-Keep their experienced apprentices working through tough times.
Pros
lots of work
Cons
least paid for type of work
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely safe work attitudes at work
Journeyman Red Seal electrician (Current Employee) –  Fort Saint John, BC17 February 2016
Good money and good managers, worked all over northern canada, in all types of climates. Large company with room for advacnement.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great lasting relationships with all staff. Mutual respect
Electrical Foreman (Current Employee) –  Hardisty, AB29 January 2016
My typical day at work consisted of; updateding a job progress tracker, fill out daily permit, write morning toolbox, conduct morning toolbox/safety meeting, allocate man power for the day, order material, job scope planning, communicate with other trades as well as communicate with man power via radios and walkarounds.
I learned how to manage my own stress levels and not be affected by others who haven't
Most of my management team was great and worked very well together. The focus on communication and safety was the key to our success.
I found the hardest part of the job was the shift. A10/4 shift does not give you adequate down time with family.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with people who enjoy to laugh as well as take pride in their work, I have found through all my work experience that makes all the difference of the job you wake up each morning to do
Pros
Safety prize incentives based on quality of assesments not quantity
Cons
10/4 shift. Not a desirable shift
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there. The guys I worked with were fantastic but unfortunately with the oil and gas industry in the rears work was limited
1st year apprentice (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB20 January 2016
Great place to work. The journeymen were very informative in my learning.Management try their hardest to find you work.
Pros
GUYS WERE GREAT TEACHERS
Cons
LACK OF WORK
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
First Year Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB20 January 2016
Very safe work environment. Focus on creating a safe, stable and efficient work environment. Daily routine started with toolbox meeting and stretching. Then leads assign job tasks.
Pros
Good work life balance.
Cons
No cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 stars at best
electrician (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB17 December 2015
Never seen a companies RSP so low before and only pay holiday pay on regular hours. New fireman's and GF. Still learning it seems with poor HR skills. Good guys to work around though.
Pros
Work. ....
Cons
Dishonest
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work for apprentices
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB9 October 2015
Very large company with knowledgeable people to learn from. Sets high standards for the industry and gives employees the chance to advance
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
long hours and can be away from home for long periods
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people and lots of fun
Second Year Electrician (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB16 August 2015
I got the ISO grabbed my heat trace, and tie wired the heat trace to the pipes. I did this all day moving mod to mod. I never did heat trace before this job so I was happy to learn something new and now feel very confident in heat tracing. Management was great! As well as the employees.
Pros
Short drive to work
Cons
very repetative
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
NE BC Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BC15 June 2015
Good place to work for. The company provided training for all course required for working in the CSO position. The most enjoyable part of the job was interaction with the other employees who are out in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer to work for.
Electrical Foreman (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB14 April 2015
Hard work is rewarded with opportunity for advancement within the company. Good group of people. Good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clueless and liars
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton10 February 2015
They say continuous work and peace of mind but it's a pipe dream they're selling. Laid me off saying they have no work and a few days later they're hiring again. No loyalty to hardworking guys. Unorganized, managements clueless and safety guy comes into work hung over.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything! False promises and no integrity with management and company.
Was this review helpful?Yes64No23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
electrician (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BC6 February 2015
Good company, lots of hours, lots of out of town work. Tons of work, always busy, long shifts if you like. Lots of offices to work out of, so never have to worry about there being no work.
Pros
lots of hours, work.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
labourer
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB30 January 2015
did electrical work and got my 1st year apprenticeship through this company and learnt how to do runs pull wire as well as put cable tray together
Was this review helpful?Yes9No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Electrical Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB10 November 2014
Management is approachable and easy to talk to. The hardest part of the job is the time away from home. The most enjoyable part was meeting people that i have formed friendships with outside of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB6 October 2014
its ok, long hours of continuous work which is good. Friendly people and staff
Pros
friendly people
Cons
wage
Was this review helpful?Yes11No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on what you want
Construction Electrician (Current Employee) –  FSJ8 February 2014
Kinda low on the salary scale when compared to other companies who do the same work, especially for the BC shops. Lots of moving from site to site and never know where your going to be next nor for how long. They do keep you busy which is a good thing.
Pros
LOA work
Cons
Local work
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of coworkers
Electrical Apprentice/ Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB15 January 2014
QA/QC documentation, testing equipment, ensure quality is achieved and presented to the clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and dedicated workplace.
Temporary Field Administrator (Current Employee) –  BC19 December 2013
I have learned how incredibly blessed I am to be making a great living with the oil and gas industry.
I have learned how to manage over 100 employees.
My co-workers are a lot of fun and serious about success.
The hardest part of my job is the long days of 12- 15 hour days for up to 24 days straight.
Pros
Paid Travel and Living out allowance.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.5