Techmation Electric & Controls Ltd

Techmation Electric & Controls Ltd Employee Reviews

Showing all 32 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for!!
Foreman/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB24 May 2017
Techmation has been a great company to work for with great benefits and competitive wages. The people are awesome to work with and they work hard to keep the guys working.
Pros
Great People
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Nanton, AB20 April 2017
There's a reason why they are always looking for guys. High turn over.Anyone with half a brain moves on. Worst decision in my life to jump ship to techmation. Benefits are bad. My new coworkers hated it there. Keep looking.
Pros
None
Cons
Tons
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Low Pay
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 April 2017
Techmation currently has the lowest pay structure in Alberta for Industrial Electricians I was given a lot of opportunities to learn, and met a lot of great people.
Pros
Great people to work with and they are good teachers
Cons
Low pay and job security is not guaranteed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB15 March 2017
Highly skilled professionals. Great benefit package with excellent pay for the employees , Quality guaranteed very professional service for customers . Highly respected in our community.
Pros
Great wages, well-maintained equipment highly respected by the community
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and lots to learn
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB3 February 2017
Had a great time being employed out of the grande prairie office
Management was great to work with and so was the crew
Made life enjoyable and made living affordable
Pros
Very well paid
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Journeyman wiring up the plants main PLC (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB23 January 2017
Best thing about working here for me was the people. There wasn't many coworkers who I did not get along with. Also had very steady hours and I was always home around the same time every day
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Electrician Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Alberta16 January 2017
They seem to be able to keep one busy most times, their hourly rate is among the lowest in the industry. the communication between management and employees is weak to say the least .
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Setting the industry pay at an all time low!!
Electrical Jman (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB1 October 2016
What a joke this company is and the upper management!!! While they sit back making their posh wages we are the lowest paying electrical/Instrument company in all of Alberta. We didnt go to school for $36.00/HR For Jman wage!! We are the ones that build the plants and are in the front lines, pays us like we should be!!!
Pros
None
Cons
Horrible Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes30No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Apprentice Electrician (Current Employee) –  Acheson, AB1 August 2016
no comment on this particualar company. But i have definitely worked for better companies. Wages are not competitive at all. great co-workers!!
Was this review helpful?Yes20No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
HSE Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BC15 April 2016
Good work environment, but poor communication through out the company. Company Health and Safety Program needs to be overcalled.
Pros
use of company vehicle
Cons
poor system for tracking use of vehicles
Was this review helpful?Yes5No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowkegable employees and great work environment
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB8 March 2016
-Techmation is a company that strives to be a leader in the oilfield industries.
-They provide competitive wages and safe skilled work environments.
-Keep their experienced apprentices working through tough times.
Pros
lots of work
Cons
least paid for type of work
Was this review helpful?Yes9No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely safe work attitudes at work
Journeyman Red Seal electrician (Current Employee) –  Fort Saint John, BC17 February 2016
Good money and good managers, worked all over northern canada, in all types of climates. Large company with room for advacnement.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there. The guys I worked with were fantastic but unfortunately with the oil and gas industry in the rears work was limited
1st year apprentice (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB20 January 2016
Great place to work. The journeymen were very informative in my learning.Management try their hardest to find you work.
Pros
Guys were great teachers
Cons
Lack of work
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
First Year Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB20 January 2016
Very safe work environment. Focus on creating a safe, stable and efficient work environment. Daily routine started with toolbox meeting and stretching. Then leads assign job tasks.
Pros
Good work life balance.
Cons
No cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 stars at best
electrician (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB17 December 2015
Never seen a companies RSP so low before and only pay holiday pay on regular hours. New fireman's and GF. Still learning it seems with poor HR skills. Good guys to work around though.
Pros
Work. ....
Cons
Dishonest
Was this review helpful?Yes26No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work for apprentices
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB9 October 2015
Very large company with knowledgeable people to learn from. Sets high standards for the industry and gives employees the chance to advance
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
long hours and can be away from home for long periods
Was this review helpful?Yes9No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people and lots of fun
Second Year Electrician (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB16 August 2015
I got the ISO grabbed my heat trace, and tie wired the heat trace to the pipes. I did this all day moving mod to mod. I never did heat trace before this job so I was happy to learn something new and now feel very confident in heat tracing. Management was great! As well as the employees.
Pros
Short drive to work
Cons
very repetative
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
NE BC Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BC15 June 2015
Good place to work for. The company provided training for all course required for working in the CSO position. The most enjoyable part of the job was interaction with the other employees who are out in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer to work for.
Electrical Foreman (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB14 April 2015
Hard work is rewarded with opportunity for advancement within the company. Good group of people. Good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clueless and liars
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton10 February 2015
They say continuous work and peace of mind but it's a pipe dream they're selling. Laid me off saying they have no work and a few days later they're hiring again. No loyalty to hardworking guys. Unorganized, managements clueless and safety guy comes into work hung over.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything! False promises and no integrity with management and company.
Was this review helpful?Yes75No23Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Techmation Electric & Controls Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.4

Techmation Electric & Controls Ltd Reviews by Location