Find companies:
Teavana
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
128 reviews

Teavana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with underlying problems
Secret (Current Employee), FresnoJuly 11, 2014
Pros: free drinks, discounts
Cons: hours always being cut, favoritism, unfair workload
Good benefits...partnered with starbucks. However problems with favoritism can get in the way of work . I've learned to keep to myself and not go out with any employees...keep conversation casual - never make it personal. DO NOT VENT. It will be used against you.

Best part is interacting with customers curious about product. Helps the day go by and – more... makes the job worthwhile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an interesting job to have
Sales associate of handling the sales floor (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAJuly 9, 2014
sell sell sell
i learned a lot about tea
management suck absolute horrible
some of my coworkers were absolute dolls others just shouldn't of been there not following rules doing thing they shouldn't be doing
hardest part being so pushy for a sell
being able to make my customer feel happy are ok and comfortable with there purchase and not feel bad and – more... they actually want the amount they had purchased – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Shift Manager/Team Visual Lead (Former Employee), Exton, PAJune 30, 2014
Pros: free tea on shifts, starbucks partner
Cons: a lot.
The staff at the store I was at is incredibly unprofessional, whether it's sitting on the tea counter and playing on their cell phones, or stealing sales. You name it, it has probably been done there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team moral
Sales (Former Employee), Roseville, caJune 20, 2014
I liked the particular store i worked at because of the team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Very Cultured Enviroment that offers Fast Growth
Team Member (Sales Associate) (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 19, 2014
Pros: free tea during shifts, 30% off products & tea, stock options, starbucks benefits
Cons: very sales-driven. if you do not meet goals, you will be scheduled less. your hours depend solely on your sales and preformance
I have learned so much about the culture embedded in Tea-Related Products (Japanese Cast Iron, Chinese Yixing Clay) and so much more about Tea itself. Every day at work I would try a new combination of Teas and enjoy telling people all about the history and functionality of different Teas and Products. Management is very fun and so long as you keep – more... up sales it's VERY easy to move up in the company VERY quickly! The hardest part is getting people to want to spend 400-600 dollars on Tea in low-volume stores in unsavory locations. Asides from that, every day was fun, you meet new people and get to work with some of the most fun, cultured, people around! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work as the sales associates learn the importance of maximizing the sale
Team Lead (Former Employee), Denver, COJune 16, 2014
Pros: health benefits, free cups of tea for employees, return guests
Cons: following sales process for every customer at times is difficult but helpful in the long run
Teavana taught me a lot about the consistency in following a sales process.

If the sales process is followed on a consistent and daily basis, sales not only for the individual as well as for the team goals could be met

Management Team is patient and eager to help with others personal development in being a strong sales person

Most challenging aspect – more... of Teavana was to not give up hope if sales were not closed with every customer

Most enjoyable part of Teavana was the fun any sales associate could have at work and the understanding how tea not only tastes good, but the education on how tea can benefit your life style with amazing health benefits – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic job!
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee), Pineville, NCJune 13, 2014
Pros: great discounts, good hours and benefits
Work was a blast! I would come in and start setting up our tea stands and sample. I loved to sample to guests. I learned a lot about the products we sold and how to sell to every kind of person. My co workers were all great and management wasn't bad, just strict. The hardest part of the job was selling more expensive sets and being on foot all day. – more... Everything else was enjoyable. The Camaraderie at this job and the product itself made me leave daily feeling fulfilled. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its alright...but not the best job.
Teavana Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hyannis, MAJune 4, 2014
Pros: free tea. free starbucks coffee. employee discounts.
Cons: general manager can cut your hours based on your sales.
When I first began working in Teavana things were pretty great. However I do not admire aggressive salesmen ship and persistence with the costumer just by standing there from the sample shouting "try some refreshing tea". It can really push some of the potential costumers away and not to mention, some of the co-workers there are amazing to work with – more... and they will teach you anything however, the general manager's expectation to learn the knowledge about how to sell tea and know the history about tea is way too demanding in my honest opinion. And also the worst part and I despise it is the fact that you have to meet your sales goal at the end of your shift and if you don't make your daily goal there is a potential threat that you might get fired, I do not like how the general manager put unrealistic goals to the co-workers and put pressure on them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmososphere
Team Member (Current Employee), Teaneck, NJMay 31, 2014
Learned a lot about tea and different area it comes from as well as the people from different countries who enjoy it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
creative and fun environment
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARMay 27, 2014
Pros: free tea, free to express yourself
Cons: sales, sales.
i loved working there. the sales aspect of it sucked, but as far as the job is concerned it was great. i loved being able to teach customers about something they would otherwise probably not find out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High end retail tea shop
Team Leader/Manager (Current Employee), King of Prussia, PAMay 22, 2014
Pros: free cups of tea
Cons: poor management
A usual day at teavana starts with me opeing the store. I have to make all of the tea samples. I have to update the sales log for that day. I also write the sales plan for me and my team. Once that's finished i would count the safe and drawer. Making sure that both register and the safe were accurately balanced. Then once that was finished i would open – more... the store. main part of my job was bringing in new customers. and informing about the exciting world of tea. Other than the sales expect i had to manage my team. keep them focused assign different task. Keep the store clean and insure that the team and store are making sales goal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management experience learned; Pros and Cons of Management
Retail Sales - Team Lead & Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAMay 14, 2014
Pros: decent pay; personal bonuses
Cons: limited opportunity; poor leadership; poor sales strategy; lack of concern for employees
I was the only employee during my time there that made my bonus every single month that I was employed there. Overworked. Underpaid. Poor corporate communication and advancement opportunities. I learned a great deal about corporate jobs that are positive and negative. I am thankful for the experience but look forward to taking what I have learned and – more... being a more effective communicator and better manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't knock it until you try it.
Barista (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 12, 2014
Pros: virtually free tea, fun work environment, easy to advance at first.
Cons: sometimes bad co-workers, customers (ugh), once you get to the gm position it is hard to go higher from there.
I was moved a few times in the stores in Dallas and what I noticed was that all of the customers are the same but what working at Teavana really comes down to is: How compatible are you with the co-workers.
In some places they are very aggressive and hungry to steal your sales and move up in the company. In most others they are laid back and very enjoyable – more... to be around. It really does change from store to store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company does not care about their employees. Just dont even apply. My manger is being allowed to target her employees
Team Lead (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 30, 2014
Cons: everything
I'd like to just take time and write about what happened to me in Teavana.
I was an employee for two years, got promoted to team lead and was consistant in making A-A+ every week in sales. I was a good employee. We were all friends with each other and all got a long. This past november my manager (who only got promoted because our manager for ten years – more... had to leave for medical reasons) started to have a relationship with a team member. At first no one minded. But the more it progressed the more hours he would get, even though he was making only B's. So we started to get annoyed but nothing serious. But then one day, my manager went on an unpaid break witht he team member and got drunk and came back to work.This made several of us mad. We sat down and one of us called our Area Manager and just let her know what was going on in the store. That area manager gave us her word about not telling anyone who called her. Because, you know, that would make the workplace very uncomfortable.
But. What does she do? Goes straight to our manager. Our manager got angry and sinc se knew who called, she took it out on me. For five months I dealt with that. With her calling me stupid, snapping at me for no reason.
Twoards the end of my employment, it got worse. two weeks before I left she targeted a coworker and created lies and rumors and gave the employee a choice to quit, or be fired. For no reason. She wouldnt tell the employee what her reason was at all. Just that she heard things. And after that employee left, it was my turn.
Ill point out now that in my two years of working there, and four years retail experience, I have never been written up or been given a warning.But two weeks before I left, my manager called me in the back and showed me a piece of paper that I wrote my time punch on because I wasnt able to clock in. She informed me I wrote the number. And I agreed. I did write the wrong number, but since I was running late, I rushed to open the store. Thats when she starts with her attitude trying to say that I was trying to Steal NINE dollars from the company. I was in shock. Why in the world would I want to steal nine dollars. If I wanted to look like I wasnt late and wanted more money would I put myself inside the grace period? But she WROTE me up anyways. My first one. And I signed it, stupidly. But I did leave a comment in it. Things went back to normal, (meaning she was visibly angry at work everyday making employees and customers uncomfortable). Just a week later, I woke up on a saturday I was supposed to open And I felt so sick I had to go to the hospital. I had my father call my manger to let her know where I was and why I wasnt at work. She didnt answer so he left her a voicemail. three hours later she called me but I had three meds in my system because I had strep throat and sinusitis. She called my mom and my mom let her know again, I was very sick.
The next day I got some energy and went to a managers meeting (against doctors orders sicne it hadnt been a full 24 hours with antibiotics) but I went and as soon as I did, my manager called me into the back. I handed her my doctors note and she told me "I do not accept this. You were drunk. I dont accept this and UMA(area manager) does not accept this. You will be written up" I was dumbfounded. What? for what? So i shut up and just went into the meeting trying not to get too mad. I went home, talked to my parents. My dad called my manager again to make sure he had the right number, and when she picked up he let her know, he did call.
That wednesday was my next scheduled day. My manager called in another team lead which is very odd, two managers closing in one night. So I knew, it was my turned to be given the choice to quit or be fired.
So I went into work, saw my name on no team sheet or anything(everyone working a particular day will have their goals on it) But the other team lead's name was on it. So I asked my manager why and she pulled me back again and presented me with my SECOND WRITE UP. In two weeks. But this one made me angry. IT was all a lie. She said my dad did not call, and i risked a fine for the store because they opened late. (EVEN THOUGH SHE HAS GONE IN AND OPENED THE STORE 4 HOURS LATE BECAUSE SHE WAS HUNG OVER) and that I was hungover. EVEN though I was almost assing out in front of her due to strep, and even though she knows I get severe sinusitis almost three times a year,

So thats when I got up and left. I could not let her treat me like that. Like I hadnt been faithful for two years. After I left, she targeted three more people. All the people she has targeted knew about her and the relationship she had. So she was trying to get rid of us.

I've contacted HR several times, and so has everyone else. Theyve done nothing. Absolutely nothing. Even though this has happened to five people and theyve gotten 6 reports on the manager.
Im now finding out my area manager has been lying about that entire situation. And of course, so is my former manager.

This company does not care about their employees.
Do not give them money
Also, the teas have preservatives and they bye the teas from farmers for like 90 cents an ounce.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Tea Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 28, 2014
everyday was fun
i learned how to brew tea
management needs a little improvement
hardest part of work was leaving because it was super great
i love tea.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
Brewer/ Stolk (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: free drinks
Cons: to fast to do your job and to un organized.
Not a fun environment if you want to keep your workspace clean and the stock organized. They give you Very little hours (4 hours a week)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fun but hectic
Barista (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: tea is amazing, learn more and more about the product your selling, happy enviroment
Cons: very crowded when packed, not enough training time, left with hands tied alot
Lots and lots of reading is done at this job...so if anything you got to know what your selling form the history to the taste to the look.
its hectic depending on what your doing but if you have a good relationship with your crew..its all fun!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eccentric work environment with an emphasis on education of products.
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee), Portage, MIMarch 22, 2014
POS functions and opening the store in the morning. Sales goals and sales accountability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place for tea lovers
Team Member (Current Employee), Oak Brook, ILMarch 22, 2014
Pros: free drinks all shift, 30% discounts. starbucks discounts
Cons: hour cuts. not a lot of sales.
Its a great job is the tea culture really interest you. There is so many neat products we offer and over 90 teas to choose from. only downfall is hours can go from 20-30 one week and 10-15 the nexts. also regional manager sets too high of goals and freaks and blames staff when goals arent met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was this stores manager
General Manager (Former Employee), Albany, NYMarch 6, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: life
This is a great company if you hate life outside of the company.
They boast of how they treat employees but what am act.
They will give you things. Like some free tea, a few paid days off *they dictate*.
Teavana gives you what will make them look good.
Don't ask cause you won't receive.
I was the manager here for over a year. I personally hired over – more... 85% of its staff.
Trust me... its tea hell
I loved this company until I saw is true colors..
good luck – less

About Teavana

Teavana Holdings hopes its customers become steeped in its tea stores. Through some 250 company-owned retail stores, Teavana Holdings – Read more

Teavana Photos