Find companies:
Teavana
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
138 reviews

Teavana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with tea access
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bellingham, WAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: tea tastings, discounts
Usually started with sampling to customers; when one would come in, you'd give them a guided sample 'tour' through the store, find out what teas they enjoyed, and show them the actual loose-leaf tea, as well as storage and brewing options. Learning about the (almost) 100 teas available within the store was fun- you got to taste every one of them, so – more... you could describe them to customers who inquired about them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and product
General Manager (Current Employee), Auburn Hills, MiAugust 2, 2014
Amazing product to sell! A starbucks company, great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful job
Sales Member (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 31, 2014
Pros: free tea to drink anytime, great healthcare and benefits from starbucks
Cons: high pressure to sell, some of the management can be demanding
You focus on sampling customers in and taking them through the sales process. There is high pressure to sell and make daily goals, and any advancement and hours are reliant on that. The people who work there are usually pretty fun and easy to get along with though, so the work environment in that sense can be enjoyable, but if if you're not prepared – more... to sell, sell, sell it can be exhausting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, Great people, Great Atmosphere
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 31, 2014
Pros: great commission pay, free tea to drink, lots of upward mobility opportunity
Cons: no healthcare options, low base pay
Great place to work if you have what it takes. Must be driven, must be ambitious and must be confident. Oh, and must love tea. Lol. Only worked at one location (Galleria) and it was before Starbucks bought the company. Great benefits (free tea to drink all the time) and you meet some of the coolest people! Doesn't even feel like selling when you enjoy – more... all the international music and teach clients about tea. Loved everything about it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool company , however bad pay
Visual and Operational Team Leader (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAJuly 27, 2014
I worked for them for four years, worked really hard for a promotion. and it never happened. the main concern is numbers. So be aware that this is not just a job where you get to make tea all day. If you can become a key holder and work over 20 hours a week the health insurance is great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teavana RUN NOW
Sales/Barista (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 22, 2014
THis place was the best job at first but then, they dont give you a raise after working there forever unless you become a manager.. the one I worked at she made an19 year old the AGM.. over other that had been working there 2-3 years. worst management.. Human resource complaints mean nothing to them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent work placing to get your foot in the door with costumer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FloridaJuly 20, 2014
Focused on costumer service and upselling. Days can be off and on when season is over, no benefits but good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and store, unprofessional management
Barista, Salesperson (Former Employee), NJJuly 11, 2014
Pros: flexible, free tea, sales expierence
Cons: management
I enjoyed helping customers with a product I believe in (until they added artificial flavors and changed the benefits of the product) It was a challenge to sell the products and that kept me motivated. Teavana offered great benefits for a part time job.

The downside was the management. From my store managers all the way to corporate I saw them as very – more... unprofessional. Nothing was done about any complaints, and there were multiple from employees. If the management is not up to par the store becomes chaos, and it did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with underlying problems
Secret (Current Employee), FresnoJuly 11, 2014
Pros: free drinks, discounts
Cons: hours always being cut, favoritism, unfair workload
Good benefits...partnered with starbucks. However problems with favoritism can get in the way of work . I've learned to keep to myself and not go out with any employees...keep conversation casual - never make it personal. DO NOT VENT. It will be used against you.

Best part is interacting with customers curious about product. Helps the day go by and – more... makes the job worthwhile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an interesting job to have
Sales associate of handling the sales floor (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAJuly 9, 2014
sell sell sell
i learned a lot about tea
management suck absolute horrible
some of my coworkers were absolute dolls others just shouldn't of been there not following rules doing thing they shouldn't be doing
hardest part being so pushy for a sell
being able to make my customer feel happy are ok and comfortable with there purchase and not feel bad and – more... they actually want the amount they had purchased – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Shift Manager/Team Visual Lead (Former Employee), Exton, PAJune 30, 2014
Pros: free tea on shifts, starbucks partner
Cons: a lot.
The staff at the store I was at is incredibly unprofessional, whether it's sitting on the tea counter and playing on their cell phones, or stealing sales. You name it, it has probably been done there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team moral
Sales (Former Employee), Roseville, caJune 20, 2014
I liked the particular store i worked at because of the team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Very Cultured Enviroment that offers Fast Growth
Team Member (Sales Associate) (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 19, 2014
Pros: free tea during shifts, 30% off products & tea, stock options, starbucks benefits
Cons: very sales-driven. if you do not meet goals, you will be scheduled less. your hours depend solely on your sales and preformance
I have learned so much about the culture embedded in Tea-Related Products (Japanese Cast Iron, Chinese Yixing Clay) and so much more about Tea itself. Every day at work I would try a new combination of Teas and enjoy telling people all about the history and functionality of different Teas and Products. Management is very fun and so long as you keep – more... up sales it's VERY easy to move up in the company VERY quickly! The hardest part is getting people to want to spend 400-600 dollars on Tea in low-volume stores in unsavory locations. Asides from that, every day was fun, you meet new people and get to work with some of the most fun, cultured, people around! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work as the sales associates learn the importance of maximizing the sale
Team Lead (Former Employee), Denver, COJune 16, 2014
Pros: health benefits, free cups of tea for employees, return guests
Cons: following sales process for every customer at times is difficult but helpful in the long run
Teavana taught me a lot about the consistency in following a sales process.

If the sales process is followed on a consistent and daily basis, sales not only for the individual as well as for the team goals could be met

Management Team is patient and eager to help with others personal development in being a strong sales person

Most challenging aspect – more... of Teavana was to not give up hope if sales were not closed with every customer

Most enjoyable part of Teavana was the fun any sales associate could have at work and the understanding how tea not only tastes good, but the education on how tea can benefit your life style with amazing health benefits – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic job!
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee), Pineville, NCJune 13, 2014
Pros: great discounts, good hours and benefits
Work was a blast! I would come in and start setting up our tea stands and sample. I loved to sample to guests. I learned a lot about the products we sold and how to sell to every kind of person. My co workers were all great and management wasn't bad, just strict. The hardest part of the job was selling more expensive sets and being on foot all day. – more... Everything else was enjoyable. The Camaraderie at this job and the product itself made me leave daily feeling fulfilled. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its alright...but not the best job.
Teavana Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hyannis, MAJune 4, 2014
Pros: free tea. free starbucks coffee. employee discounts.
Cons: general manager can cut your hours based on your sales.
When I first began working in Teavana things were pretty great. However I do not admire aggressive salesmen ship and persistence with the costumer just by standing there from the sample shouting "try some refreshing tea". It can really push some of the potential costumers away and not to mention, some of the co-workers there are amazing to work with – more... and they will teach you anything however, the general manager's expectation to learn the knowledge about how to sell tea and know the history about tea is way too demanding in my honest opinion. And also the worst part and I despise it is the fact that you have to meet your sales goal at the end of your shift and if you don't make your daily goal there is a potential threat that you might get fired, I do not like how the general manager put unrealistic goals to the co-workers and put pressure on them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmososphere
Team Member (Current Employee), Teaneck, NJMay 31, 2014
Learned a lot about tea and different area it comes from as well as the people from different countries who enjoy it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
creative and fun environment
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARMay 27, 2014
Pros: free tea, free to express yourself
Cons: sales, sales.
i loved working there. the sales aspect of it sucked, but as far as the job is concerned it was great. i loved being able to teach customers about something they would otherwise probably not find out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High end retail tea shop
Team Leader/Manager (Current Employee), King of Prussia, PAMay 22, 2014
Pros: free cups of tea
Cons: poor management
A usual day at teavana starts with me opeing the store. I have to make all of the tea samples. I have to update the sales log for that day. I also write the sales plan for me and my team. Once that's finished i would count the safe and drawer. Making sure that both register and the safe were accurately balanced. Then once that was finished i would open – more... the store. main part of my job was bringing in new customers. and informing about the exciting world of tea. Other than the sales expect i had to manage my team. keep them focused assign different task. Keep the store clean and insure that the team and store are making sales goal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management experience learned; Pros and Cons of Management
Retail Sales - Team Lead & Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAMay 14, 2014
Pros: decent pay; personal bonuses
Cons: limited opportunity; poor leadership; poor sales strategy; lack of concern for employees
I was the only employee during my time there that made my bonus every single month that I was employed there. Overworked. Underpaid. Poor corporate communication and advancement opportunities. I learned a great deal about corporate jobs that are positive and negative. I am thankful for the experience but look forward to taking what I have learned and – more... being a more effective communicator and better manager. – less

About Teavana

Teavana Holdings hopes its customers become steeped in its tea stores. Through some 250 company-owned retail stores, Teavana Holdings – Read more

Teavana Photos