Find companies:
Teavana
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
143 reviews

Teavana Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is so much fun!
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chandler, AZSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: co-workers, free tea during shift, discounts at all stabucks owned store, free online asu education and a fun atmosphere.
Cons: making sales to obtain hours.
Well, where I work, the people are fun an bubbly. I adore my coworkers. The training is a bit extensive and I don't like "making sales." They do have awesome job advancements though! So if you stick around you are bound to be promoted. But, in order to get hours you must make your sales quota. I don't like the idea of depending on people to buy stuff – more... for my hours. If you're wanting stability this ins't the place. The sales process has changed and you no longer need to bother customers constantly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new fun company to work for
Sales Associate (Former Employee), McAllen, TXSeptember 9, 2014
learning about some of the best teas in the world, where they come from, and what they do for you. achieving goals, and meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, unique, exciting, growth inducing environment.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Rockford, ILSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: 30 min breaks, health care, clean environment
Cons: past inexperienced managers, inconsistent weekly hours.
Teavana was my favorite job, with only hours being a problem.

The atmosphere was great. The customers were awesome.
My co-workers and me are still good friends.

A typical day would be sampling at the tea cart, inviting potential customers inside, and showing them teas and tea-ware.

The hardest part was selling expensive tea pots, and our most expensive – more... teas. The easiest part was having them buy a lot of tea of a variety of teas I thought they would enjoy based on their taste palate.

However, I am looking for a different kind of job these days to be more stable financially, and gain more skills for life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
sales associate (Former Employee), Dedham, MAAugust 22, 2014
I personally had a horrible experience with this company. None of the managers really knew what they were doing which was very confusing to me. The store itself isn't doing so well as it is and its brand new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay for beginners
Sales Associate (Current Employee), new york, nyAugust 12, 2014
Pros: free drinks
Cons: bad scheduling
i learned how to make drinks
management is okay
the learning
the selling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with tea access
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bellingham, WAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: tea tastings, discounts
Usually started with sampling to customers; when one would come in, you'd give them a guided sample 'tour' through the store, find out what teas they enjoyed, and show them the actual loose-leaf tea, as well as storage and brewing options. Learning about the (almost) 100 teas available within the store was fun- you got to taste every one of them, so – more... you could describe them to customers who inquired about them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and product
General Manager (Current Employee), Auburn Hills, MiAugust 2, 2014
Amazing product to sell! A starbucks company, great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful job
Sales Member (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 31, 2014
Pros: free tea to drink anytime, great healthcare and benefits from starbucks
Cons: high pressure to sell, some of the management can be demanding
You focus on sampling customers in and taking them through the sales process. There is high pressure to sell and make daily goals, and any advancement and hours are reliant on that. The people who work there are usually pretty fun and easy to get along with though, so the work environment in that sense can be enjoyable, but if if you're not prepared – more... to sell, sell, sell it can be exhausting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, Great people, Great Atmosphere
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 31, 2014
Pros: great commission pay, free tea to drink, lots of upward mobility opportunity
Cons: no healthcare options, low base pay
Great place to work if you have what it takes. Must be driven, must be ambitious and must be confident. Oh, and must love tea. Lol. Only worked at one location (Galleria) and it was before Starbucks bought the company. Great benefits (free tea to drink all the time) and you meet some of the coolest people! Doesn't even feel like selling when you enjoy – more... all the international music and teach clients about tea. Loved everything about it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool company , however bad pay
Visual and Operational Team Leader (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAJuly 27, 2014
I worked for them for four years, worked really hard for a promotion. and it never happened. the main concern is numbers. So be aware that this is not just a job where you get to make tea all day. If you can become a key holder and work over 20 hours a week the health insurance is great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teavana RUN NOW
Sales/Barista (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 22, 2014
THis place was the best job at first but then, they dont give you a raise after working there forever unless you become a manager.. the one I worked at she made an19 year old the AGM.. over other that had been working there 2-3 years. worst management.. Human resource complaints mean nothing to them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent work placing to get your foot in the door with costumer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FloridaJuly 20, 2014
Focused on costumer service and upselling. Days can be off and on when season is over, no benefits but good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and store, unprofessional management
Barista, Salesperson (Former Employee), NJJuly 11, 2014
Pros: flexible, free tea, sales expierence
Cons: management
I enjoyed helping customers with a product I believe in (until they added artificial flavors and changed the benefits of the product) It was a challenge to sell the products and that kept me motivated. Teavana offered great benefits for a part time job.

The downside was the management. From my store managers all the way to corporate I saw them as very – more... unprofessional. Nothing was done about any complaints, and there were multiple from employees. If the management is not up to par the store becomes chaos, and it did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with underlying problems
Secret (Current Employee), FresnoJuly 11, 2014
Pros: free drinks, discounts
Cons: hours always being cut, favoritism, unfair workload
Good benefits...partnered with starbucks. However problems with favoritism can get in the way of work . I've learned to keep to myself and not go out with any employees...keep conversation casual - never make it personal. DO NOT VENT. It will be used against you.

Best part is interacting with customers curious about product. Helps the day go by and – more... makes the job worthwhile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an interesting job to have
Sales associate of handling the sales floor (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAJuly 9, 2014
sell sell sell
i learned a lot about tea
management suck absolute horrible
some of my coworkers were absolute dolls others just shouldn't of been there not following rules doing thing they shouldn't be doing
hardest part being so pushy for a sell
being able to make my customer feel happy are ok and comfortable with there purchase and not feel bad and – more... they actually want the amount they had purchased – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Shift Manager/Team Visual Lead (Former Employee), Exton, PAJune 30, 2014
Pros: free tea on shifts, starbucks partner
Cons: a lot.
The staff at the store I was at is incredibly unprofessional, whether it's sitting on the tea counter and playing on their cell phones, or stealing sales. You name it, it has probably been done there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team moral
Sales (Former Employee), Roseville, caJune 20, 2014
I liked the particular store i worked at because of the team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Very Cultured Enviroment that offers Fast Growth
Team Member (Sales Associate) (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 19, 2014
Pros: free tea during shifts, 30% off products & tea, stock options, starbucks benefits
Cons: very sales-driven. if you do not meet goals, you will be scheduled less. your hours depend solely on your sales and preformance
I have learned so much about the culture embedded in Tea-Related Products (Japanese Cast Iron, Chinese Yixing Clay) and so much more about Tea itself. Every day at work I would try a new combination of Teas and enjoy telling people all about the history and functionality of different Teas and Products. Management is very fun and so long as you keep – more... up sales it's VERY easy to move up in the company VERY quickly! The hardest part is getting people to want to spend 400-600 dollars on Tea in low-volume stores in unsavory locations. Asides from that, every day was fun, you meet new people and get to work with some of the most fun, cultured, people around! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work as the sales associates learn the importance of maximizing the sale
Team Lead (Former Employee), Denver, COJune 16, 2014
Pros: health benefits, free cups of tea for employees, return guests
Cons: following sales process for every customer at times is difficult but helpful in the long run
Teavana taught me a lot about the consistency in following a sales process.

If the sales process is followed on a consistent and daily basis, sales not only for the individual as well as for the team goals could be met

Management Team is patient and eager to help with others personal development in being a strong sales person

Most challenging aspect – more... of Teavana was to not give up hope if sales were not closed with every customer

Most enjoyable part of Teavana was the fun any sales associate could have at work and the understanding how tea not only tastes good, but the education on how tea can benefit your life style with amazing health benefits – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic job!
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee), Pineville, NCJune 13, 2014
Pros: great discounts, good hours and benefits
Work was a blast! I would come in and start setting up our tea stands and sample. I loved to sample to guests. I learned a lot about the products we sold and how to sell to every kind of person. My co workers were all great and management wasn't bad, just strict. The hardest part of the job was selling more expensive sets and being on foot all day. – more... Everything else was enjoyable. The Camaraderie at this job and the product itself made me leave daily feeling fulfilled. – less

About Teavana

Great tea works wonders. The delicious tastes and health benefits make tea a wonderful beverage - much better than the unhealthy – Read more

Teavana Photos