Teavana Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pure intentions, pure hearts
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 February 2018
The staff was like family. Going into work everyday was enjoyable for me, which is not someone one who works in the mall will say often. I miss them dearly.
Pros
People
Cons
The wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace for tea-lovers
Health & Safety Representative (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON3 January 2018
My typical duties would include: making and serving customers samples of tea, explaining and up-selling tea and tea-related products to customers, using a cash-register to ring through customer purchases, and general restocking and cleaning duties throughout the store. I learned all about the growing, preparation, and selling of tea from around the world. This was a very enjoyable place to work, as we were awarded with unlimited tea beverages while on the clock.
Pros
free tea, safe location
Cons
low hourly wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON2 January 2018
Lots of opportunity to move up. There was a great level of job security and the job culture was A+. I recommend for a new grad or a student for extra spending money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for someone who loves tea
Manager on Duty, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON27 December 2017
If you're someone who loves tea, Teavana was the perfect place for it. I was surrounded with kind people, and we worked well as a team. Natural tea without any artificial flavours or sugars, and many health benefits were in those teas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun workplace, but get old fast.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 November 2017
Very repetitive work with very little down time. There is lots of opportunity to earn commission type pay, yet the goals are high and hard to achieve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun outgoing work environment
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 October 2017
-Making samples
-Open tills check paperwork from previous day
-Check emails for any upcoming events or changes
-Check all stock levels and fill product
-Make sales goals and set KPIs for the day

Working with the public making long lasting connections with customers

Making a Fun environment for the staff and all customers who came in daily
Pros
Free beverages
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Active
Salesperson & Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 October 2017
Very fun working as a barista, but was pushed very hard for merchandise sales

tea booklet was very helpful and informational

really enjoyed barista work
Pros
free tea
Cons
pushed for merch sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I got fired cause they didn't Like me
Sales Associate / Barista (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON10 October 2017
They Fired me because they didn't like me a few days before my probation was up. My sales numbers were great and I was good with the customers. They fired me for simply because I didn't fit their social circle.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good seasonal job
Store Front - Customer Care (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON2 October 2017
Teavana is a good place to earn a bit of extra cash over the holidays. It's easy and pretty low on stress levels, but not something I could personally see as a permanent setting.
Pros
Free tea drinks!
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Barista/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 September 2017
Loved talking to the regulars and it was an overall positive space. Would return as the environment was creative and supportive. The hours were here and there but the customers is what made the job so fulfilling.
Pros
Free tea
Cons
Not guaranteed hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good back in my day
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC14 September 2017
Unsure how Teavana has changed, as I worked there before and during the Starbucks takeover. The store I worked at had great management and my coworkers were like my family. I thoroughly enjoyed this job and grew the most here.
Pros
Free tea!, learn to be a barista
Cons
Cleaning duties can sometimes take awhile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work at
Sales representative/ Barista (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2017
Best place to work at. The bonuses are pretty good if you make good sales, the co-workers are very enthusiastic. You are allowed to drink all the tea you want. The hours are good depending in the location you work at.
Pros
Free drinks while you work
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Tea
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON1 September 2017
Great place to work, unfortunately closing all Teavana stores in Canada and US. Most enjoyable part having tea all day, hardest part with be closing the store in 25 days time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick paced, lots of inventory
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 August 2017
I enjoyed working here but i was not fond of the management, to strict and unforgiving. Love the product sold, loved my co-workers. Wasn't fond of the hours.
Pros
2 free cups of tea per day
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a nice place to work. Going to miss the people.
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 August 2017
I really enjoyed working here and some of the people I worked with will probably be my friends for the rest of my life. It's really unfortunate that Starbucks decided to shut down the company as it provided costumers with a nice place to find all natural teas with baristas that knew how to brew them properly.
Pros
Free Tea
Cons
Almost no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON26 July 2017
Great Place to work. A fun and calm atmosphere makes for an enjoyable and fun place to work. Product is minimal making it easy to learn and easy to sell. Very relaxed sales environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2017
Unfortunately the store in Cross Iron Mills at the time was run by two men who had very poor management skills, but the company itself is wonderful! One thing that sucks in every store is all the dishes!
Pros
Free tea
Cons
sample cart
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A tea infused atmosphere, rich in tea culture.
Customer Service / Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB12 July 2017
Although this job is a little more laid back physically, mentally you must be prepared. There is much to tea that many are unaware of, such as the benefits properties and temperatures of different teas.I would say that 80 percent of your training will be involved in tea specifically then 20 percent will be on salesmanship and your knowledge of various items in the store.
Pros
Free tea when your on shift, meeting goals you could win tea.
Cons
Being prepared for the ultra slow days, like Sunday or Monday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY fast paced, goal oriented, teamwork
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 July 2017
Working at teavana was great because it was very fast paced, and you are obligated to work as a team. You are constantly on your feet, and each employee has a sales goal. It gets a little bit competitive, which can be healthy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work place with a lot of standing and attention to customers.
Barista/Customer Care (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON3 July 2017
Teavana is a Starbucks company and they have been great to work for. I have worked at Starbucks and Teavana. I love coffee and tea and the sales experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Teavana. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 623 reviews
5168
4207
3147
258
143

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.7Culture