Teavana Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun outgoing work environment
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 October 2017
-Making samples
-Open tills check paperwork from previous day
-Check emails for any upcoming events or changes
-Check all stock levels and fill product
-Make sales goals and set KPIs for the day

Working with the public making long lasting connections with customers

Making a Fun environment for the staff and all customers who came in daily
Pros
Free beverages
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Active
Salesperson & Barista (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 October 2017
Very fun working as a barista, but was pushed very hard for merchandise sales

tea booklet was very helpful and informational

really enjoyed barista work
Pros
free tea
Cons
pushed for merch sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I got fired cause they didn't Like me
Sales Associate / Barista (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON10 October 2017
They Fired me because they didn't like me a few days before my probation was up. My sales numbers were great and I was good with the customers. They fired me for simply because I didn't fit their social circle.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good seasonal job
Store Front - Customer Care (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON2 October 2017
Teavana is a good place to earn a bit of extra cash over the holidays. It's easy and pretty low on stress levels, but not something I could personally see as a permanent setting.
Pros
Free tea drinks!
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Barista/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 September 2017
Loved talking to the regulars and it was an overall positive space. Would return as the environment was creative and supportive. The hours were here and there but the customers is what made the job so fulfilling.
Pros
Free tea
Cons
Not guaranteed hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good back in my day
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC14 September 2017
Unsure how Teavana has changed, as I worked there before and during the Starbucks takeover. The store I worked at had great management and my coworkers were like my family. I thoroughly enjoyed this job and grew the most here.
Pros
Free tea!, learn to be a barista
Cons
Cleaning duties can sometimes take awhile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work at
Sales representative/ Barista (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2017
Best place to work at. The bonuses are pretty good if you make good sales, the co-workers are very enthusiastic. You are allowed to drink all the tea you want. The hours are good depending in the location you work at.
Pros
Free drinks while you work
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Tea
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON1 September 2017
Great place to work, unfortunately closing all Teavana stores in Canada and US. Most enjoyable part having tea all day, hardest part with be closing the store in 25 days time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick paced, lots of inventory
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 August 2017
I enjoyed working here but i was not fond of the management, to strict and unforgiving. Love the product sold, loved my co-workers. Wasn't fond of the hours.
Pros
2 free cups of tea per day
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a nice place to work. Going to miss the people.
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 August 2017
I really enjoyed working here and some of the people I worked with will probably be my friends for the rest of my life. It's really unfortunate that Starbucks decided to shut down the company as it provided costumers with a nice place to find all natural teas with baristas that knew how to brew them properly.
Pros
Free Tea
Cons
Almost no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON26 July 2017
Great Place to work. A fun and calm atmosphere makes for an enjoyable and fun place to work. Product is minimal making it easy to learn and easy to sell. Very relaxed sales environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2017
Unfortunately the store in Cross Iron Mills at the time was run by two men who had very poor management skills, but the company itself is wonderful! One thing that sucks in every store is all the dishes!
Pros
Free tea
Cons
sample cart
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A tea infused atmosphere, rich in tea culture.
Customer Service / Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB12 July 2017
Although this job is a little more laid back physically, mentally you must be prepared. There is much to tea that many are unaware of, such as the benefits properties and temperatures of different teas.I would say that 80 percent of your training will be involved in tea specifically then 20 percent will be on salesmanship and your knowledge of various items in the store.
Pros
Free tea when your on shift, meeting goals you could win tea.
Cons
Being prepared for the ultra slow days, like Sunday or Monday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY fast paced, goal oriented, teamwork
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 July 2017
Working at teavana was great because it was very fast paced, and you are obligated to work as a team. You are constantly on your feet, and each employee has a sales goal. It gets a little bit competitive, which can be healthy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work place with a lot of standing and attention to customers.
Barista/Customer Care (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON3 July 2017
Teavana is a Starbucks company and they have been great to work for. I have worked at Starbucks and Teavana. I love coffee and tea and the sales experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, especially if you like tea
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 June 2017
Teavana is a great place to work if you are passionate about tea and want to share that passion with others. Unlike some employers, you are encouraged to take time with your customers, making sure that their needs are fully met, regardless of whether it takes 5 minutes or 25 minutes.
Pros
Good people, great tea
Cons
Not a lot of hours or locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best retail job!
Assistant Manager/Acting Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON9 May 2017
Truly the best retail job I have ever had. Very upbeat and positive workplace, with plenty of advancement opportunities and support through upper management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, poor experience
Sales Associate Teavana (Former Employee) –  Rocky View, AB19 April 2017
learned lots about tea and their products. they chose mangers who only micro-manage. I've heard management say nasty comments about fellow co-works, they force you to sample for 4 hours straight in a dead mall. All they care about is sales but realize the economy is slow and hard right now. The dress code is stupid and always worried about the girls back ends are covered. They work you really hard while team leads and managers don't do much of anything. you don't get appreciated for the hard work you do. There have been many health code violations and no to mention stock/inventory system sucks a lot even more so at Christmas time
Pros
free drinks
Cons
horrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun place to be
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 March 2017
Lots of amazing and fun people come work here. Lots of amazing possibilities for future. Easy and enjoyable place to work. Great quality of the products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very sales driven
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 February 2017
Not much room for advancement. You have to work hard for very little reward and even though they emphasize learning about tea, they don't give you time to learn your job properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Teavana. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 587 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7