Find companies:
TCF Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
261 reviews

TCF Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for operation department
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Willowbrook, ILOctober 24, 2013
Pros: i like working with numbers and solving problems
Cons: healthcare
I've learned a lot in working in the banking business, for starters to encoding checks and processing checks through a sorter machine to balancing batch work. Also being a back up coordinator assitant helped me a lot of understanding my job that I was able to take my knowledge to a upper department and move to a higher level in the company. Management – more... in my department trusted me and gave me the opportunity to make decision upon my knowledge that I learned from my previous job. I work very well with my co-workers and trained them as well and also learned from them,being a team player is very important in a company, I feel like the hardest part of the job is being challenge but if you prove yourself that you're able to do your job well then everything can fall into place. I have been through lots of challenges in my banking business,but I feel the most enjoyable part of a job is learning about your job and doing the job well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work made a lot of good friends.
Process II (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 24, 2013
Pros: great health care
Cons: short breaks
I learned to work indepentaly and was able to increase my accuracy in typing and calulating modifications. I seemed to learn something new every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough pay for as long as I worked for the company and hard to advance
Legal Processor/Compliance Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Willowbrook, ILOctober 22, 2013
Pros: worked with great people and like my vp
Cons: pay, not enough advancement, my job was moved out of state
I enjoyed working for TCF in the aspect of the people that I worked with and the hours I worked were great. I worked 7:30 - 4:00. But I was at TCF for almost 10 years and don't feel that I was being paid enough. It wasn't very easy to advance either. Then my department along with many others was moved to South Dakota.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 18, 2013
good experience for a first office job. Learned office etiquette, basic computer skills and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 17, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: low incentives, low salary
The salary is not balanced with the work load. Things change so often that confuses employees and the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and aprehensive work environment
Teller (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2013
Go in aisle and promotely and actively sell accounts,as well as the teller line, and outside sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co workers,
Assistant Operations Manager (Former Employee), Lake Orion, MIOctober 10, 2013
Pros: hours and money, customer service ins
busy, filing , helping customers, love the co workers, auditing,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Teller (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 9, 2013
A company that invests in its employees, properly trains them and cares about their growth with the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I've EVER had
Operations Loss Prevention (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 4, 2013
Pros: if you have a college degree you will probably be a genius compared to everyone else
Cons: everything...run for the hills
I unfortunately worked at TCF for a total of two years. Let me tell you first hand that management is lacking brains, compensation is a joke, employees are lacking social and intelligent skills, and not to mention they rip you off when you quit by not giving you your full paycheck. Worst job I've ever had and that's saying a lot. I've worked retail, – more... restaurants, etc. There is no room for advancement, you are not awarded for going "above and beyond", the raises are 1% every year.... YES I typed it right ONE PERCENT. I am embarrassed to say I've worked for such a company and will never recommend their services/or working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pretty decent job to have.
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Round Lake Beach, ILOctober 2, 2013
Pros: very cool job.
Cons: low pay, slight stress: pressure to sell checking accounts monthly.
I liked working at TCF bank. (It was also a short term job because I found a job that had a great reputation for health benefits and a little higher pay). In the morning before opening- I assisted the manager or supervisor on duty with removing deposits from the ATM, then we would audit the money in the safe, and set up our drawers of money for the – more... day. I was a Teller and I am very proud to say that my drawer count was always perfect at the end of all of my shifts. My manager commented on my technique once- I would count my money, then let him count it before I'd tell him how much was there. The only thing that stressed me out a little was the "quota" to sell so many checking accounts each month, customers would walk in & open accounts on their own 98% of the time, other than that I enjoyed the feeling of working in a professional atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not available
Director of Retail Products and Revenue Growth (Former Employee), Wayzata, MNSeptember 30, 2013
I worked for thirteen years at TCF Bank and report no issues. I enjoyed the ability to work across multiple groups and within multiple disciplines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Bank Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 23, 2013
Working for this company was great. Provided customers with exceptional customer service Ensured availability of products and services while also maintaining an accurate cash drawer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18yrs at TCF
Western Support Manager, Officer (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 18, 2013
Typical day was going into work, looking at the tickets assigned to my group and assigning them to my techs.

What I learned, is that TCF is a company and treats employees like the rest of the companies.

Co-workers were great. Everyone wants to help out.

Hardest part of job was the demand with little staff.

Most enjoyable - Working with some great – more... staff and co-workers. Some of the projects we were on were demanding but when we finished you felt accomplishment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Customers First
Teller (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: coworkers
Cons: they took advantage of customers i think
it was an experience. i gained more knowledge in the money handling and check cashing field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Teller/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: advancement opportunity
Cons: sales
Typical day consisted of teller transactions and reaching monthly sales quotas. You must be able to get people to open bank checking accounts. Each month you will have a certain amount that you have to reach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Family Frienldy
Bankruptcy Coordinator (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 10, 2013
It's a very boring place to work, The management is ok. My co workers are ok, but clicky.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incoming Wire Representative
Electronic Fund Transfer Representative (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: i loved processing large dollar returns.
Cons: i disliked being stuck inside a glass room for 8 hrs
A typical day for me in wire transfers were: Writing up incoming tickets for various states.
Processing large dollar check returns into the system for other financial institutions.
Balancing & Logging wire status for different states
Helping out with employees if needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good growth
Assistant Manager of Operations (Former Employee), Minneapolis MNSeptember 10, 2013
was able to teach me the ropes of management and grow as an individual to a team leader
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my co-workers but management was very lazy
Teller level 3 (Former Employee), Shorewood, ILSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: great hours and worked around my schedual well
Cons: managment was very lazy and promised me that i could move up but never did anything about it
I enjoyed my time working at TCF. I learned a lot about baking and opening accounts. The management was very lazy. the reason why I say this is because they always came in late and left early. I felt like our branch manager was in the branch about 25 hours a week and worked maybe about 10 of those hours. He would sit in his office shopping online and – more... messing around on his phone. He would also take 2 hour lunch breaks and go run errands during his shift. That was the most frustrating part about working at TCF. I got along with all of my co-workers and still keep in touch with most of them. I enjoyed conversing with my usual customers who would come in everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Personal Banker (Former Employee), Mesa, AZSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: fun employees
Cons: drive a lot to get business in the doors with your own car/gas
outbound efforts to bring in business since its a small bank.

About TCF Bank

TCF Financial is the holding company for TCF National Bank, which offers retail and small-business services through more than – Read more