Find companies:
TCF Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
274 reviews

TCF Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had worked and learn from some of the best Managers at TCF Bank
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Shorewood, IL Joliet, IL Willowbrook, ILDecember 2, 2013
Pros: fun, rewards, trips, incentive
Cons: change of employees and locations
As a Branch manager for TCF Bank every day was a challenge for me. Which I had overcome to become the best of the best. It was all about Sales, Sales, and Sales. I worked with an amazing team of Managers and Tellers to show that I was "That Team Leader and Team Player". I had Operations and Sales to do on a daily base,and assure all security for the – more... bank. I hire, trained, did one-on-ones with staff, role played, scheduling, and worked with others at different locations to build relationships with employees and Customers. I don't think there was any hard part about my job, I have been trained well and worked hard to know what all other delegations were to be completed The best Part about my job was passing Bank Audits, internal Audits, hitting every Monthly goals and rewarding my Staff for wanting to work for me and Be the Best that We could be as a Team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture and entry level opportunities
Bank Supervisor (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WINovember 27, 2013
Pros: bonuses, great coworkers
Cons: low compensation
Sometimes the day is slow but allows occasional opportunity to learn about business accounts and requirements and different account types.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Fraud and Forgery Investigator (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MINovember 25, 2013
being at TCF Bank taught me the true meaning of valuing customers and being able to provide customer service at the highest level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great step into the Banking Industry
Bank Sales Representative (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, ColoradoNovember 25, 2013
Pros: learned many skills i use daily.
Cons: wanted to move up, but was limited with the opportunities available.
When I would come into work I would start the day as a Bank Teller, handling regular transactions, doing the morning audit, reviewing any changes and updates. As lunch-time came around I would change titles and become a Bank Sales Representative and I would gather Account Opening Forms, business cards, and coupons for specials and discounts and either – more... go to a venue at a business I had previously arranged, or go around the city to talk to the community and offer bank accounts. This job taught me to work outside of my comfort level in order to grow and be a better all-around employee, and I have been thankful for that training everyday since. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The TCF Bank call center was a fast paced workplace!!!!
Customer Service Team Leader (Former Employee), Schiller Park, ILNovember 23, 2013
Pros: incentives!
First of all I would like to start by saying is that I loved working with all my co-workers. We worked as a team. My typical day at work was handling phone calls from the customers of TCF Bank and other customer service representatives who needed assistance to help their customer. Customers that wanted to speak with a supervisor had been escalated to – more... me for further assistance. I loved helping the customers and representatives The hardest part of the job was assisting the irate customers and trying to calm them and making them happy! But we learned what we needed to do in order to make our customers happy and satisfied! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
BRANCH MANAGER (Current Employee), Peoria, ArizonaNovember 20, 2013
TCF Bank gives you the opportunity to gain banking/management experience as they always promote from within. This has been a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
things change fast
OPERATION MANAGER (Former Employee), Lakewood coloradoNovember 18, 2013
"Things Change Fast" is correct... Standards and work detail are always changing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Bank Teller (Current Employee), DeKalb, ILNovember 15, 2013
A typical day at TCF Bank includes handling deposits, withdrawals, and preparing money orders, cashier and travelers’ checks and credit card advances. I also take the opportunity to cross-sell our products and services to our daily customers. Balancing my teller draw to assure that there is no differences is also very important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional environment
Emoloyee Development Specialist (Former Employee), Burr Ridge, ILNovember 5, 2013
Received many promotions within TCF Bank, developed skills that I utilized today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
New Relationship Specialists (Former Employee), Peoria, AZNovember 4, 2013
nice co-workers that made job fun. easy going. nice customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexiable, enjoyable job
Branch Banking Support (Former Employee), Maplewood, MNOctober 30, 2013
Pros: working in a diversified, open minded environment
Cons: not having the proper technology to simplify procedures
A typical day would consist of coming into work printing your branches GL's and prioritize who needs the most help from reviewing how many discrepancy entries they have, responding to morning emails, then heading out to those branches where ever they are located and assist. I could be traveling from 2 to 3 times a day is needed, and what I have learned – more... is what really goes on behind scenes as well as how much training is needed at the locations I visit. My manager was great she's very supportive, helpful, intuitive, and offers advice when needed.
The hardest part of the job I would say is having to split the metro MN for three people, and getting to everyone's needs as soon as possible but it was a good challenge.
The most enjoyable part of the job is you are able to make your own schedule of who you want to visit, and also the team members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tcf bank
Bank Sales Representative (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 29, 2013
Pros: learning experience
Cons: bad company policies and management
Very hectic job something you'd really have to have paience to do. Overall it's a very good job and I learned a lot working with this company. One of my favorite jobs just wish sales was no involved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biased upper management
Branch Supervisor(AIT)/Teller (Former Employee), Shorewood, ILOctober 29, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: quotas, hr, management, everything else!
You can get fired over not getting a certain amount of new accounts. Find upper management to be very poor due to lack of responsibility, and not working their scheduled/proper hours. You will also take the downfall if your Branch Manager makes a mistake, cause its never their fault! And their HR is a joke! Don't bother reporting any violations or concerns – more... because they're not going to do anything about it! It's who you know, and who you blow with this company, absolutely TERRIBLE! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for operation department
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Willowbrook, ILOctober 24, 2013
Pros: i like working with numbers and solving problems
Cons: healthcare
I've learned a lot in working in the banking business, for starters to encoding checks and processing checks through a sorter machine to balancing batch work. Also being a back up coordinator assitant helped me a lot of understanding my job that I was able to take my knowledge to a upper department and move to a higher level in the company. Management – more... in my department trusted me and gave me the opportunity to make decision upon my knowledge that I learned from my previous job. I work very well with my co-workers and trained them as well and also learned from them,being a team player is very important in a company, I feel like the hardest part of the job is being challenge but if you prove yourself that you're able to do your job well then everything can fall into place. I have been through lots of challenges in my banking business,but I feel the most enjoyable part of a job is learning about your job and doing the job well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work made a lot of good friends.
Process II (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 24, 2013
Pros: great health care
Cons: short breaks
I learned to work indepentaly and was able to increase my accuracy in typing and calulating modifications. I seemed to learn something new every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough pay for as long as I worked for the company and hard to advance
Legal Processor/Compliance Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Willowbrook, ILOctober 22, 2013
Pros: worked with great people and like my vp
Cons: pay, not enough advancement, my job was moved out of state
I enjoyed working for TCF in the aspect of the people that I worked with and the hours I worked were great. I worked 7:30 - 4:00. But I was at TCF for almost 10 years and don't feel that I was being paid enough. It wasn't very easy to advance either. Then my department along with many others was moved to South Dakota.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 18, 2013
good experience for a first office job. Learned office etiquette, basic computer skills and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 17, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: low incentives, low salary
The salary is not balanced with the work load. Things change so often that confuses employees and the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and aprehensive work environment
Teller (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2013
Go in aisle and promotely and actively sell accounts,as well as the teller line, and outside sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co workers,
Assistant Operations Manager (Former Employee), Lake Orion, MIOctober 10, 2013
Pros: hours and money, customer service ins
busy, filing , helping customers, love the co workers, auditing,

About TCF Bank

TCF Financial is the holding company for TCF National Bank, which offers retail and small-business services through more than – Read more