Find companies:
TCF Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
289 reviews

TCF Bank Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Teller II (Former Employee), Royal Oak, MIJanuary 23, 2014
Cons: everything
Terrible place. Management is non existing. My manager would eat all day and sleep in her car then yell at us for not working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly cusomers
Teller (Former Employee), Southgate, MIJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: short lunches, open seven days and open most government holidays
TCF takes the time to train their employees along the way of their career with the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goal based, interactive career
Teller/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Spring Grove, ILJanuary 16, 2014
in a typical day i interact with a variety of different people processing their transactions and answer questions as well as resolving any problems that arrive. on top of the daily activities their were monthly sales goal we had to reach on bringing in and retaining new accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TCF-Not a bad place to work
Ops Spec (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 16, 2014
Cons: compensation
TCF is an Ok place to work. Could be better, could be a lot worse
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things change fast, but it is about how well you catch on.
Branch Manager II / Officer (Current Employee), Homewood, IL, 60430January 13, 2014
Pros: oportunity to grow quickly
Cons: healthcare
Working for the company has made me into the person I am today. I have gained drive and confidence while employed. I have learned that not one person is alike. While working with the company I have met many different people that always brought something new to the table.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The mananger was not organized which made employees be lost.
Customer Service Rep. Responsibilities (Former Employee), Schiller Park, ILJanuary 13, 2014
I use to talk to TCF customers about account balances, overdraft fees, and unauthorized charges with their bank account.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more then 40 hours
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee), downwers groveJanuary 12, 2014
hard part is getting new business, you will work more then 40 hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was enjoyable because of the banking customers, friendly.
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: beautiful scenary looking toward the mountains behind the driveup.
Cons: pressure always to open new accounts if possible.
Enjoyed the variety of teller duties, balancing the ATM, working the driveup windows, opening new accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding Company
Inbound Call Center Agent (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 7, 2014
TCF Bank was my very first Inbound Call Center working experience after graduating, high school. I learned a lot about communication and listening skills. Financial, fit company is what I rate TCF Bank because the company is well put together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TCF Employee Summary
High Risk Analyst (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: the type of work and being able to prove my successes through my day to day responsibilities.
Cons: managements hesitance to help with situations that left employees dissatisfied.
I began my career at TCF as a document retrievals coordinator. I led a team to help with cases and reviews processed by the Financial Intelligence Unit(FIU). I personally worked with management and multiple investigators from all departments of FIU. My responsibility was to provide requested documentation for cases, such as, deposit slips, check images, – more... account agreements, and many more bank related documents. At the same time I also took on a side job through FIU in the IT department to help maintain and run multiple programs the department used on a daily basis. This included weekly maintenance and reports for multiple programs. I then was promoted shortly to a High Risk Analyst, which is where I reviewed and processed multiple accounts that were alerted to be high risk clients. My responsibility was to determine through research and reports if the client should continue to be monitored as high risk or downgraded to commercial client. I reached and exceeded the goals of this position. The work environment was difficult from day one. Many co-workers were not happy with the company and the work ethics presented and reflected by the company. It made for an uncomfortable work environment. The most enjoyable part of the job is it gave me an opportunity to prove my worth and dedication to my work. I was able to show I could handle multiple job responsibilities successfully. I also enjoyed the type of work I was part of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement/ low pay
Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Burr Ridge, IllinoisJanuary 6, 2014
It's hard to say that I have consistently enjoyed working for this institution because I haven't. For one thing, the lay offs are a daily scare. When I first started in my department, there was a mass lay-off in progress that eliminated several other departments entirely. If you aren't working within a branch, good luck advancing. People hold on to – more... their positions in corporate offices and it is hard to compete with 50 other people when there is an opening. My manager makes .50 cents more than my supervisor, who makes .50 cents more than me. The pay is bad. The atmosphere is bad as well because no one wants to be here. We aren't allowed to celebrate employee birthdays, baby showers, ect. Other departments are allowed to. We don't have group outings. To be honest, I don't even know half of people's names in my department. There are only 20 people in my department. That's how distant this department is. I can go a whole day without talking to anyone and we are sitting close to each other. The one thing that I enjoy is that I have sick days and vacation days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement Opportunity
Supervisor (Current Employee), Sycamore, IllinoisJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: management experience
Cons: slower work environment
TCF Bank is heavy sales oriented. Working here I increased my sales abilities as well as my customer service. Once I was promoted to manager I not only learned management but I continued to improve on my customer service. Every day I handle customer issues while managing a team. Working here while attending school full time taught me incredible time – more... management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was decent place to work.
ORACLE DBA (Former Employee), Wayzata, MNDecember 27, 2013
It was decent place to work because management was outstanding and I am a people person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to grow and development your skills
Branch Supervisor (Current Employee), Lake Zurich, ILDecember 18, 2013
I've learned in this company to work in teamwork as well to development new work techniques to improves everyday. Moreover the relationship with co-workers it is very good, however it is terrible the motivation to become better. The hardest of the job it is that can not help customers without Branch Managers approval. The most enjoyable part of the – more... job it is been able to create relationships with customers and let them know that our company it is happy to have them with them, that motivate me to work harder, because they remember an above and beyond attitude, attention, follow-up, and quick resolution in their problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Corporate Job
Loan Processor (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNDecember 5, 2013
Company treated you like just another employee. There wasn't much involvement in our personal lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had worked and learn from some of the best Managers at TCF Bank
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Shorewood, IL Joliet, IL Willowbrook, ILDecember 2, 2013
Pros: fun, rewards, trips, incentive
Cons: change of employees and locations
As a Branch manager for TCF Bank every day was a challenge for me. Which I had overcome to become the best of the best. It was all about Sales, Sales, and Sales. I worked with an amazing team of Managers and Tellers to show that I was "That Team Leader and Team Player". I had Operations and Sales to do on a daily base,and assure all security for the – more... bank. I hire, trained, did one-on-ones with staff, role played, scheduling, and worked with others at different locations to build relationships with employees and Customers. I don't think there was any hard part about my job, I have been trained well and worked hard to know what all other delegations were to be completed The best Part about my job was passing Bank Audits, internal Audits, hitting every Monthly goals and rewarding my Staff for wanting to work for me and Be the Best that We could be as a Team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture and entry level opportunities
Bank Supervisor (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WINovember 27, 2013
Pros: bonuses, great coworkers
Cons: low compensation
Sometimes the day is slow but allows occasional opportunity to learn about business accounts and requirements and different account types.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Fraud and Forgery Investigator (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MINovember 25, 2013
being at TCF Bank taught me the true meaning of valuing customers and being able to provide customer service at the highest level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great step into the Banking Industry
Bank Sales Representative (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, ColoradoNovember 25, 2013
Pros: learned many skills i use daily.
Cons: wanted to move up, but was limited with the opportunities available.
When I would come into work I would start the day as a Bank Teller, handling regular transactions, doing the morning audit, reviewing any changes and updates. As lunch-time came around I would change titles and become a Bank Sales Representative and I would gather Account Opening Forms, business cards, and coupons for specials and discounts and either – more... go to a venue at a business I had previously arranged, or go around the city to talk to the community and offer bank accounts. This job taught me to work outside of my comfort level in order to grow and be a better all-around employee, and I have been thankful for that training everyday since. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The TCF Bank call center was a fast paced workplace!!!!
Customer Service Team Leader (Former Employee), Schiller Park, ILNovember 23, 2013
Pros: incentives!
First of all I would like to start by saying is that I loved working with all my co-workers. We worked as a team. My typical day at work was handling phone calls from the customers of TCF Bank and other customer service representatives who needed assistance to help their customer. Customers that wanted to speak with a supervisor had been escalated to – more... me for further assistance. I loved helping the customers and representatives The hardest part of the job was assisting the irate customers and trying to calm them and making them happy! But we learned what we needed to do in order to make our customers happy and satisfied! – less

About TCF Bank

TCF Financial is the holding company for TCF National Bank, which offers retail and small-business services through more than – Read more