Find companies:
TCF Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
280 reviews

TCF Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TCF Employee Summary
High Risk Analyst (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: the type of work and being able to prove my successes through my day to day responsibilities.
Cons: managements hesitance to help with situations that left employees dissatisfied.
I began my career at TCF as a document retrievals coordinator. I led a team to help with cases and reviews processed by the Financial Intelligence Unit(FIU). I personally worked with management and multiple investigators from all departments of FIU. My responsibility was to provide requested documentation for cases, such as, deposit slips, check images, – more... account agreements, and many more bank related documents. At the same time I also took on a side job through FIU in the IT department to help maintain and run multiple programs the department used on a daily basis. This included weekly maintenance and reports for multiple programs. I then was promoted shortly to a High Risk Analyst, which is where I reviewed and processed multiple accounts that were alerted to be high risk clients. My responsibility was to determine through research and reports if the client should continue to be monitored as high risk or downgraded to commercial client. I reached and exceeded the goals of this position. The work environment was difficult from day one. Many co-workers were not happy with the company and the work ethics presented and reflected by the company. It made for an uncomfortable work environment. The most enjoyable part of the job is it gave me an opportunity to prove my worth and dedication to my work. I was able to show I could handle multiple job responsibilities successfully. I also enjoyed the type of work I was part of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement/ low pay
Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Burr Ridge, IllinoisJanuary 6, 2014
It's hard to say that I have consistently enjoyed working for this institution because I haven't. For one thing, the lay offs are a daily scare. When I first started in my department, there was a mass lay-off in progress that eliminated several other departments entirely. If you aren't working within a branch, good luck advancing. People hold on to – more... their positions in corporate offices and it is hard to compete with 50 other people when there is an opening. My manager makes .50 cents more than my supervisor, who makes .50 cents more than me. The pay is bad. The atmosphere is bad as well because no one wants to be here. We aren't allowed to celebrate employee birthdays, baby showers, ect. Other departments are allowed to. We don't have group outings. To be honest, I don't even know half of people's names in my department. There are only 20 people in my department. That's how distant this department is. I can go a whole day without talking to anyone and we are sitting close to each other. The one thing that I enjoy is that I have sick days and vacation days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement Opportunity
Supervisor (Current Employee), Sycamore, IllinoisJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: management experience
Cons: slower work environment
TCF Bank is heavy sales oriented. Working here I increased my sales abilities as well as my customer service. Once I was promoted to manager I not only learned management but I continued to improve on my customer service. Every day I handle customer issues while managing a team. Working here while attending school full time taught me incredible time – more... management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was decent place to work.
ORACLE DBA (Former Employee), Wayzata, MNDecember 27, 2013
It was decent place to work because management was outstanding and I am a people person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to grow and development your skills
Branch Supervisor (Current Employee), Lake Zurich, ILDecember 18, 2013
I've learned in this company to work in teamwork as well to development new work techniques to improves everyday. Moreover the relationship with co-workers it is very good, however it is terrible the motivation to become better. The hardest of the job it is that can not help customers without Branch Managers approval. The most enjoyable part of the – more... job it is been able to create relationships with customers and let them know that our company it is happy to have them with them, that motivate me to work harder, because they remember an above and beyond attitude, attention, follow-up, and quick resolution in their problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Corporate Job
Loan Processor (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNDecember 5, 2013
Company treated you like just another employee. There wasn't much involvement in our personal lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had worked and learn from some of the best Managers at TCF Bank
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Shorewood, IL Joliet, IL Willowbrook, ILDecember 2, 2013
Pros: fun, rewards, trips, incentive
Cons: change of employees and locations
As a Branch manager for TCF Bank every day was a challenge for me. Which I had overcome to become the best of the best. It was all about Sales, Sales, and Sales. I worked with an amazing team of Managers and Tellers to show that I was "That Team Leader and Team Player". I had Operations and Sales to do on a daily base,and assure all security for the – more... bank. I hire, trained, did one-on-ones with staff, role played, scheduling, and worked with others at different locations to build relationships with employees and Customers. I don't think there was any hard part about my job, I have been trained well and worked hard to know what all other delegations were to be completed The best Part about my job was passing Bank Audits, internal Audits, hitting every Monthly goals and rewarding my Staff for wanting to work for me and Be the Best that We could be as a Team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture and entry level opportunities
Bank Supervisor (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WINovember 27, 2013
Pros: bonuses, great coworkers
Cons: low compensation
Sometimes the day is slow but allows occasional opportunity to learn about business accounts and requirements and different account types.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Fraud and Forgery Investigator (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MINovember 25, 2013
being at TCF Bank taught me the true meaning of valuing customers and being able to provide customer service at the highest level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great step into the Banking Industry
Bank Sales Representative (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, ColoradoNovember 25, 2013
Pros: learned many skills i use daily.
Cons: wanted to move up, but was limited with the opportunities available.
When I would come into work I would start the day as a Bank Teller, handling regular transactions, doing the morning audit, reviewing any changes and updates. As lunch-time came around I would change titles and become a Bank Sales Representative and I would gather Account Opening Forms, business cards, and coupons for specials and discounts and either – more... go to a venue at a business I had previously arranged, or go around the city to talk to the community and offer bank accounts. This job taught me to work outside of my comfort level in order to grow and be a better all-around employee, and I have been thankful for that training everyday since. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The TCF Bank call center was a fast paced workplace!!!!
Customer Service Team Leader (Former Employee), Schiller Park, ILNovember 23, 2013
Pros: incentives!
First of all I would like to start by saying is that I loved working with all my co-workers. We worked as a team. My typical day at work was handling phone calls from the customers of TCF Bank and other customer service representatives who needed assistance to help their customer. Customers that wanted to speak with a supervisor had been escalated to – more... me for further assistance. I loved helping the customers and representatives The hardest part of the job was assisting the irate customers and trying to calm them and making them happy! But we learned what we needed to do in order to make our customers happy and satisfied! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
BRANCH MANAGER (Current Employee), Peoria, ArizonaNovember 20, 2013
TCF Bank gives you the opportunity to gain banking/management experience as they always promote from within. This has been a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
things change fast
OPERATION MANAGER (Former Employee), Lakewood coloradoNovember 18, 2013
"Things Change Fast" is correct... Standards and work detail are always changing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Bank Teller (Current Employee), DeKalb, ILNovember 15, 2013
A typical day at TCF Bank includes handling deposits, withdrawals, and preparing money orders, cashier and travelers’ checks and credit card advances. I also take the opportunity to cross-sell our products and services to our daily customers. Balancing my teller draw to assure that there is no differences is also very important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional environment
Emoloyee Development Specialist (Former Employee), Burr Ridge, ILNovember 5, 2013
Received many promotions within TCF Bank, developed skills that I utilized today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
New Relationship Specialists (Former Employee), Peoria, AZNovember 4, 2013
nice co-workers that made job fun. easy going. nice customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexiable, enjoyable job
Branch Banking Support (Former Employee), Maplewood, MNOctober 30, 2013
Pros: working in a diversified, open minded environment
Cons: not having the proper technology to simplify procedures
A typical day would consist of coming into work printing your branches GL's and prioritize who needs the most help from reviewing how many discrepancy entries they have, responding to morning emails, then heading out to those branches where ever they are located and assist. I could be traveling from 2 to 3 times a day is needed, and what I have learned – more... is what really goes on behind scenes as well as how much training is needed at the locations I visit. My manager was great she's very supportive, helpful, intuitive, and offers advice when needed.
The hardest part of the job I would say is having to split the metro MN for three people, and getting to everyone's needs as soon as possible but it was a good challenge.
The most enjoyable part of the job is you are able to make your own schedule of who you want to visit, and also the team members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tcf bank
Bank Sales Representative (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 29, 2013
Pros: learning experience
Cons: bad company policies and management
Very hectic job something you'd really have to have paience to do. Overall it's a very good job and I learned a lot working with this company. One of my favorite jobs just wish sales was no involved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biased upper management
Branch Supervisor(AIT)/Teller (Former Employee), Shorewood, ILOctober 29, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: quotas, hr, management, everything else!
You can get fired over not getting a certain amount of new accounts. Find upper management to be very poor due to lack of responsibility, and not working their scheduled/proper hours. You will also take the downfall if your Branch Manager makes a mistake, cause its never their fault! And their HR is a joke! Don't bother reporting any violations or concerns – more... because they're not going to do anything about it! It's who you know, and who you blow with this company, absolutely TERRIBLE! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for operation department
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Willowbrook, ILOctober 24, 2013
Pros: i like working with numbers and solving problems
Cons: healthcare
I've learned a lot in working in the banking business, for starters to encoding checks and processing checks through a sorter machine to balancing batch work. Also being a back up coordinator assitant helped me a lot of understanding my job that I was able to take my knowledge to a upper department and move to a higher level in the company. Management – more... in my department trusted me and gave me the opportunity to make decision upon my knowledge that I learned from my previous job. I work very well with my co-workers and trained them as well and also learned from them,being a team player is very important in a company, I feel like the hardest part of the job is being challenge but if you prove yourself that you're able to do your job well then everything can fall into place. I have been through lots of challenges in my banking business,but I feel the most enjoyable part of a job is learning about your job and doing the job well. – less

About TCF Bank

TCF Financial is the holding company for TCF National Bank, which offers retail and small-business services through more than – Read more