Find companies:
TCF Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
270 reviews

TCF Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
Assistant Branch Manager/Sales Manager (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COApril 7, 2014
Pros: stability
Cons: not flexible
A typical day at work would just depend on the shift that was scheduled. We had many duties to fulfill as a workplace, but always came through because of the team of co-workers I was able to work with. Goals were always implemented and contest were held to boost moral. Hardest part of the job, was employee turnaround. Once the employees and the managers – more... were all at the same level, working with the team we had became fun, and very helpful. Upper management was not as successful as they should be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement opportunities
Banking Sales Representative-Branch Supervisor (Current Employee), Parker, COMarch 30, 2014
Pros: quick advancement in the company, fun sales events, great training
Cons: short or no breaks throughout the day(including lunch), low pay for amount of work required, very high stress environment
This is a great bank to get a foothold in within a year I was promoted to Shift Supervisor.

Great people and wonderful sales/retail banking opportunities.

If you are better at sales they will utilize that strength as well as if you are great at operations/teller.

A typical day for me begins with me arriving at or around 10am and making up to 30 sales – more... calls in order to promote account acquisition growth. At the middle of the day I switch over to the teller line and close the bank at 6:30pm. Throughout the day we may have a sales event between 11:00am-2:00pm which typically takes place at a business with 50+ employee's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love building customer relationships
Banking Sales Representative II (Current Employee), Denver, COMarch 27, 2014
Pros: exposer to many sides of banking
Cons: compensation
Typical day will include working on the teller line 2 times a week. The rest of the week I am responsible for setting up 10 Outside sales, HVAP relationship calendar events a months for Green Valley Branch and 7 for Quebec Square Branch. Making sales prospector calls. Building HVAP Leads, going on outside sales events. Maintaing AQI calls. Opening personal – more... and business accounts.

Being at TCF Bank I have enhanced my customer service and sales skills. I have developed my event planning skill level.

Sometimes balancing all that I do can be challenging. I enjoy be actively involved with customers on a one on one level. I also enjoy planning events setting up HVAP and outside sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service and sales oriented
Supervisor (Former Employee), Sugar Grove, ILMarch 21, 2014
Dealt with escalated customer issues daily. Mostly sales focused job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not have work life balance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Buffalo Grove, ILMarch 19, 2014
Does not have work like balance. Health benefits are not good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly organized and diverse work environment
Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 18, 2014
Pros: benefits, vacations
Each day consisted of constant cash handling an direct customer interaction. I learn how to deal with and communicate with people of various ethnic backgrounds. Co-workers were very diverse. Company was very well management. The most enjoyable part of the job was aggressively competitive yet friendly work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always learning
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), AuroraMarch 18, 2014
Pros: training, coworkers
Cons: wage, working sundays
First of all, training is the best. Tcf has the best training from any other job I have ever worked for. My manager was so knowledgeable and always helped those individuals who needed it. This job is sales galore. If you can sell you will succeed, if you do not, you will learn! Hardest part was meetings your sales goal if you didn't start the month – more... strong but we got compensated well when we did awesome. Wage is a joke compared to other banks but commission and outings with our coworkers kind of even it out. Oh, I didn't enjoy working Sundays but it wasn't too bad. I only left because my location closed because the Jewel we were in closed and relocating was too far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Challenging, Yet fun and entertaining daily
Peak time Teller (Former Employee), Redford Township, MIMarch 17, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: robbery
My typical daily work at TCF Bank was normally going to the vault to get my drawer, balance my drawer, and begin process working in the Drive-thru as a Peak time Teller. Whenever; it was slow, I also assisted with the ATM balancing, open/closed accounts, assisted customer at the front desk cashier, certified check, money orders, Gift cards, greeter,etc. – more... I worked only 19 hours per week. I enjoyed balancing and counting, balancing the vaults and ATM. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Banker
Personal Banker (Former Employee), Westminster, COMarch 17, 2014
This position consisted of sales, banking and teller line duties. Most days I was scheduled for outside sales in which I would go speak to employees of local businesses in order to open bank accounts and loans with TCF bank, as well as seek out new leads and set up meetings with businesses. Everyday responsibilities would also consist of helping customers – more... with any banking issues or concerns they might have. As well as run transactions, count down the vault and scan teller work down to the processing department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Irritating
Sales Associate/Teller (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIMarch 12, 2014
I was employed for almost a year and was terminated because TCF didn't want to assume responsibility for a computer error. Overall, one of the best places I was employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Sales
Bank Teller (Former Employee), South Chicago Heights, ILMarch 4, 2014
TCF is very heavy sales. The hours are flexible. Bonuses are for management. If you don't hit your goal they will let you go. the goals are reasonable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee), MIMarch 3, 2014
Pros: great training
The company is merit based and promotes from within. I was promoted twice within a year. The company offers a wide selection of training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More work for little pay
Sales Banker (Former Employee), COLORADOFebruary 19, 2014
Cons: high turn over rate little pay
Expected to do high sales and not be compensated for it. Constantly changed the commission rates. Expected to do outsides sales without mileage reimbursement. I enjoyed most of my co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team
Bank Teller/ Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: mulitple locations
Cons: low pay
Great place to work for college students, pay is poor for teller employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unwelcoming enviornment
Teller (Former Employee), macomb, miFebruary 14, 2014
They "released me from my postion" two days before my birthday and didn't let me explain or work through the situation. Just a bad experience in my opinion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Handled customer complaints.
Branch Manager (Former Employee), MinneapolisFebruary 10, 2014
Responsible for managing the vault cash, and approval of all necessary transactions. Handled customer complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Area Sales Manager (Former Employee), Alpharetta GAFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: fun get togethers twice a year
Cons: finds a reason not to pay their employees, and management is lacking in ability to manage on a professional level
This company lacks support from upper management. You work as a team with your buyer and have to depend on someone else to reach your goal and you split the commissions with your partner. Seriously not competitive in the marketplace and are very slow with approval time. Working nights and weekends and holidays( do get Christmas and Thanksgiving off). – more... Overall experience was unprofessional and not a place for advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job but not the lack in management
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Kenosha, WIFebruary 3, 2014
I was a Teller and loved the relationships built with the customers. Also, I loved the cash handling!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Supervisor/ Teller (Current Employee), Ypsilanti, MIFebruary 1, 2014
We are a very busy branch, I have learned so much working at TCF as far as basic banking and supervisor decision making.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Teller (Former Employee), Southfield, MIJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: interacting with the custoomers
Cons: there are non
always putting the customer first is always important. at this company I process customer deposits on a daily basis

About TCF Bank

TCF Financial is the holding company for TCF National Bank, which offers retail and small-business services through more than – Read more