Find companies:
TCF Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
280 reviews

TCF Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad establishment
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee), Northville, MISeptember 8, 2014
Pros: career advancement opportunities.
Manager staff doesn't work.
Pay is terrible.
They didn't have the necessary tools and marketing strategies to compete with other banks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a quite place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee), Algonquin, ILSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: the hours
Cons: the managment didn't like suggestions
 Daily teller transactions, answering the phone, making sure the customers’ accounts suited needs
 Opening and closing the bank
 Balancing the vault and teller drawer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Branch Superrvisor
Branch Supervisor (Current Employee), DeKalb, ILSeptember 2, 2014
• Monthly checking account sales goals exceeded on a routine basis
• Monthly savings account sales exceeded on a routine basis
• Performed onsite visits with surrounding companies to gain new checking, savings and CD’s.
• Cross-selling accounts to customers during their banking visits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement was available
Teller III (Former Employee), Livonia, MISeptember 1, 2014
TCF was a very pleasant company to work for. The ability to grow was very possible. Meeting new people was also a joy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and great benefits
Bank teller (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIAugust 30, 2014
Pros: great pay and great benefits
Cons: worked weekends until 6pm
Great pay and great benefits, work lifte and balance was ok but didnt like the saturdays and sundays
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive day
Assistant Lending Manager (Former Employee), Lombard, ILAugust 26, 2014
Pros: working with commission
Cons: meeting your goal
make cold calls (50) per day,everyone was very helpful with questions or concerns,hardest part was not being able to help a customer to refiance their home or payoff debt,being able to lower their rate on their home to save money
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy number and statistics, organizing data may seem dorky but I love it
Bank Teller, Loan Officer, Account Specialist (Former Employee), Monticello, MNAugust 24, 2014
Pros: being a nerd, working with numbers and data and organization
Cons: small working environment, long hours, if there was an error sometimes you would spend all night trying to find it and fix it
I would help customers by processing their banking needs, set up new accounts, keep strict documentation of data and numbers, any special problems a customer was having I would take the extra time and effort that my co-workers wouldn't necessarily take to do all that I could to fix the situation. I learned a lot about organization, sales because it – more... was a retail bank and the more accounts we opened the more compensation we got, and how to block out the enraged customer, they're not personally angry at me, they're just taking it out on me, so I would say I learned how to repress. Management was always pushing our sales and it's very difficult to convince a new client to trust you with their money, but we did the best we could. I loved my coworkers, we always worked together but we had to get along, we worked in a very small area together. The hardest part of the job was how disappointed and angry customers would become when they realized they had made a calculating error on their bank account and we weren't going to be able to refund their fees. The best part of the job was taking care of those clients with specific needs and sometimes it was as simple as pushing a check through early, they were always so grateful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Teller (Current Employee), Saline, MIAugust 23, 2014
I've found that it's really about hitting goals as a teller at TCF. We really strive to bring in new account holders, but that's not where it ends. TCF prides itself on being a small bank, in that we really take the time to get to know our customers on a first name basis. We know what's happening in our customer's lives, and they know they are important – more... to us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teller work
Bank Supervisor (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIAugust 21, 2014
Teller work with opportunity to advance
Management staff sometimes hard to deal with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Branch
supervisor then to manager within the year (Former Employee), Greenwood Village, COAugust 18, 2014
When I started it was a new company moving to Colorado. Assisted customers with banking transactions, opened new accounts. Promoted to management. Hardest part was the hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and very organized,Friendly people
Sales Associate,Cashier,Assistant (Former Employee), Franklin Park, ILAugust 15, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, interacting with the costumers
Cons: short breaks, not enough hours
A typical day at work its very interesting day at work we get to meet new people everyday how they react and sometimes you just get to know them for those two minutes just being a good listener and interacting with the customers.What I've learned at my job is learning how to deal with money,learning how to transfer money into accounts also mainting – more... checks making sure they are transferred and clear into accounts.The hardest thing about my job is sometimes having to change address for customers every time they move or just wanted to close their account because they feel like we failed them but that's not how i want my customers to see this company as.The most enjoyable part of my job is just feeling like safe and feeling like your co-workers like family,knowing that they always have your back always there for the connections you have with them just building new friendships.But also learning how to use money,learning how to open accounts.Also,just making my customers happy and having them feel comfortable around me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major experience in moving data centers without an outage
SVP- Computer/Network Operations/PC Support (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great benefits, professional management staff, growing bank
Cons: n/a
Strong well organized bank Holding Company. Responsible for managment of every aspect of providing computing services for 450 Bank Branches in 5 States including the Help Desk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job review
account management help desk repre (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIAugust 9, 2014
Pros: great team member
Cons: pay sucks
the current position ok the mangement is ok . the hardest part is there is no room for personal or job advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productiveq
Teller/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 9, 2014
Pros: weekly pay
Cons: weekly pay
A typical day at work required helping customers with their accounts doing daily deposits, the hardest part of the job is trying to meet the quota for selling checking and savings accounts. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the ATM
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Teller/RSS (Sales)/Branch Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 7, 2014
Good working environment, constant training, and lots of incentives. You are constantly in meetings. These meetings help you with new information withing the company. The communication from the company to the employees is outstanding. However this company does downsize and alleviates department with costs on the rise, cutting its employee like most – more... big corporations. Just always be prepared because its focus is on sales and if a department as a whole does not meet they have terminated the department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first Job
Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 6, 2014
Lots of room for growth as long as you are good at selling. Doesn't pay very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good/average
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Rochester, MNAugust 3, 2014
It was a good company to work for.

Learnt how to handle conflicts/ resolution
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Inkster, MIJuly 24, 2014
Pros: weekly pay, customer relationships
Cons: minimum advancement
Very good job for someone looking for experience in the banking industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used JavaScript and .NET Validation Controls for performing client-side validations.
Net Developer (Former Employee), MNJuly 23, 2014
Developed a 3- tier web application following Agile development methodology.
Involved in Design, Development and Testing of Web Forms and Web Services using IIS 6.0, ASP.NET, XML, and ADO.NET.
C#.NET is used to program business logic including Code-behind files and Classes in the middle tier.
Developed Admin Module web pages to enter new policies, edit – more... privileges, and to edit improper user approvals. Developed Customers Moduleweb forms to access PBS services.
GUI of both modules is developed using HTML, .NET Controls and C#.
Created the SSRS Reports which can be used in the reports module using report viewer
Created SSIS Packages for Integrating data from one system to Main System
Used JavaScript and .NET Validation Controls for performing client-side validations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, fun coworkers
Teller (Current Employee), Shelby Twp, MIJuly 22, 2014
Some days are really slow, others you never know what to expect or what kind of customers you will have that day. The coworkers are fun and friendly to work with.

1 2 3 4 5

About TCF Bank

TCF Financial is the holding company for TCF National Bank, which offers retail and small-business services through more than – Read more