tc media Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiance agréable
Strappeur (Current Employee) –  Saguenay, QC29 May 2017
Ambiance agréable et paisible
Mais peu d'heure de travaille selon mes besoin.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
VP, Retail Digital Strategy (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2017
Great culture, people. Overall the digital arm of TC was integrated into the holistic business which allowed for access to a broad customer set and learnings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family day, Christmas events, curling
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE3 March 2017
1. fast pace
2. you learned something each day
3. I was part of the management team which i took great pride.
4.Being on deadline each day
5. The team of people if worked with
Pros
being able to put family first
Cons
Deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay long hours
art director/designer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 January 2017
great team mates to work with, but unfortunately the management style was a form of bullying

very little work from the management team to secure new work or clients for the future of the studio
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff
Promotion Officer (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC6 January 2017
working at TC is great!
The staff is super friendly. You get to meet great people at events and create awesome connections. There are some cool perks too!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start your career
Graphic Layout Artist (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 August 2016
Overall TC Media is a decent company to work for. It's a great place to start your career fresh out of school. Don't expect to climb the corporate ladder though. This company tends to reward people for who they know rather than what they know and how well they do their job.
Pros
Stable Income, Great Co-Workers
Cons
Very little room to grow and advance, most jobs are either entry level or upper management. There is nothing in between.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job at TC media
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 August 2016
I enjoyed working at TC media, it is a great environment with professional and friendly co-workers, and i felt right at place. But unfortunately, it was only temporary for I was replacing someone that was on vacation. I always do small mandates and I am ready to take on a full time/permanent job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people but constantly changing
Studio Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 June 2016
Great work environment and people but challenging to work since they are always shifting priorities from digital to print or the other way around.
Pros
Beautiful office, good work environment
Cons
Siloed departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail stimulant
Directrice de recherche média, Groupe marketing (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 May 2016
Plusieurs projets de front, des projets exigeant de la souplesse et de la créativité. Vraiment extraordinaire, car il n'y a pas une journée qui se ressemble.
Pros
Outils de recherche performants et adéquat, personnel dévoué et compétent
Cons
Plusieurs relocalisations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement et collègue de travail agréable
Infographie (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 March 2016
J'ai vraiment apprécié travailler à cet endroit. Donc je n'ai que du positif a dire.
Pros
Tous, les heures de travail, l'endroit, l'ambiance, le personnel.
Cons
absolument rien
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Merchandising Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 November 2015
Great atmosphere, great staff. Low salary and studio management doesn't really care for their employees. If not for the fellow coworkers, location and atmosphere, I would have left TC Media a long time ago.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Terrible studio management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work is making sure that the environment is safe, accepting and packing away deliveries. Organizing equiptments
facility coordinator (Former Employee) –  facility coordinator3 November 2015
This was a very fun place to work, too bad my contract ended.
I enjoyed enforcing work place safety and preparing meeting rooms and making sure everything was availble.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Adjointe de direction (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC1 June 2015
Belle entreprise qui requiert des employés toujours actifs et qui veulent se dépasser.
Journée de travail bien remplie, opportunités de développement selon le poste occupé.
Belle complicité avec les collaborateurs, beaucoup d'enthousiasme
au travail.
Le plus difficile dans mon poste a été lors de congédiement d'employés.
Le plus agréable dans mon poste était l'interaction avec plusieurs employés de différentes région de la province.
Pros
Beau lieu de travail
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive politics, lack of leadership and strategic vision
Confidential (Former Employee) –  Montreal, QC26 April 2015
This company is broken in so many ways. Every group/department acts as its own sub-company (each VP has its own P&L) and there is absolutely no synnergy between locations and groups, on the contrary. Group executives fight each other, there is a whole culture of distrust and politics which go from the SVP all the way down to VP, directors and managers. Even developers get to experience the fun of that.

In terms of vision, this company has an unclear vision and long-term objectives, and every project is rated on the short-term, with no regards to longer term strategies. A huge lack in communication, on every level, amplifies the long term vision problems and creates tactical and short term mishaps. The most used word at TC is "alignment" and it's a clear reflexion of that lack of vision and communication.

In terms of group leaderships, there are huge differences between a VP and another, between a P&L and another, and between the group's employees' strenghts and weaknesses, so your mileage will vary.

There is aboslutely no job security in this company, and it seems to go against all the latest digital trends, opportunities and threats. Right now, momentum seems to be in the Toronto offices, and Montreal's losing staff like the Titanic (both from voluntary departures and restructurations).
Pros
Good colleagues and social events, good location for Montreal downtown office
Cons
Lack of vision & leadership, lack of communications
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace
Mail Room Assistant (Former Employee) –  North York, ON16 January 2015
Busy workplace, days usually go by fast.
Friendly, helpful coworkers
Open door policy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastest moving company I ever worked for.
Management (Former Employee) –  Toronto28 November 2014
Fastest moving company I ever worked for.... good and bad. The industry is changing, this company is knee deep transforming itself, adjusting to the market and many are affected or given opportunities by the change management activities.

Only the strong will survive and a great learning experience for those who can keep up with the pace. No shortage of great ideas from passionate people with forward thinking, support from the business for new ventures but at the end of the day expectations are high to succeed and follow through & ROI are key as it is a business with fiscal responsibilities.

For those who are complaining, welcome to the reality check that was long over due. The days of a sleeping giant, that could coast and sit back are over. Employees must be solution oriented and not just good at meeting over committed deadlines.

This is the place if you like solving true business challenges, transforming legacy environments, delicately balancing cultural differences and delivering new offerings all at the same time. Its not for everyone, but if there was a place for learned lessons from the "school of hard knocks" this would be it.
Pros
Great learning experience for change management!
Cons
Short lived leadership, management and functional roles with so many changes to transform the business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très agréable
Concepteur graphique (Current Employee) –  Rivière-des-Prairies, QC9 October 2014
La relation de travail entre une organisation et ses employés se traduit par donner et recevoir.

Un employeur de choix où l'environnement de travail est agréable, caractérisé par un horaire flexible, des espaces de travail modernes à aire ouverte.

TC favorise la qualité de vie des employés ce qui est profitable pour l'organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 September 2014
I had a good work/life balance working there, and enjoyed working with the majority of my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at TC Media and co-workers was fantastic to work with
Client Service Rep (Former Employee) –  6688 Kitimat Road, Mississauga ON20 August 2014
I coordinated the Retail and PartSource Flyer making sure all change s were done correctly from a product list until final is approved and shipped to the printer.
Communicate with client to garther any missing information and resolve any issues as they occur on project.
Proof all finals before shipped to the Client and printer making sure all changes we done as requested.
Order and follow up with client on missing merchandise giving direction on how product should be shot
Assist on creative for the GrandOpening and PartSource flyers if needed.
Attend meetings with Client on projects.
Invoice client and bill GrandOpening and PartSource flyers as per written contract
Upload final files to the Printer and resolve any queries from the Printer.
Worked overtime and on weekends if necessary to make sure the job get done
Assist co-workers if there are any slow period.
Pros
Just love working especially when I am busy
Cons
Stayed in until 4:00 am the to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fun
Media Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint Leonard, Quebec2 May 2014
A typical day at work would be to retain portfolio of accounts to ensure target objectives, are met on a well balance 4 day process. While developing a close relationships with multiple customers within accounts, and create new leads to maintain active release of newspaper, for the following week. The knowledge I gained there was being proactive, with my co-workers and customers. Most of my customers after I left they took there business elsewhere.

The hardest part was leaving my customers and co-works, and management, I had no chose on the matter because the company was going for a restructure, and since I was the last one in, that forced me to be the 1st one out, within my group.

The most enjoyable part of my job was working with a multi-pule amount of customers, and traveling time.
Pros
Salary + working with people
Cons
taking large commission by some else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at tc media. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7