Tata Consultancy Services (TCS)

Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) Employee Reviews

Found 89 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning path way
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 August 2014
Being one of the top IT and Financial outsourcing company Tata Consultancy has tie up with many clients in different fields which allow employees to choose various levels and work it will give both work life balance and career enhancement to an individual.

At the same time, having multiple branches or locations is great advantage for employees if they choose to move to a different location.

Management is friendly and cooperative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
PMO Manager (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON20 July 2014
involves trying to meet client demands and molding our day accordingly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Technical Architect (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 June 2014
- Coordinate offshore team of developers
- Project planning and implementation
- Working with people in different time zones
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture is good. Kind of pressure job but still work and life is balanced.
IT Analyst (Linux & Middleware Administrator) (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 May 2014
My role is basically that of a System Administrator. I am part of Blackberry Service Engineering Specialist team responsible for deploying and monitoring of servers, automating tasks and maintaining the uptime of the Global relay network.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Information Technology Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 March 2014
TCS is a big brand name in IT. Nice and easy work culture, however, it may demand long hours especially during project delivery deadlines. Industry standard compensation
Pros
job security and onsite compensations
Cons
Bureaucratic culture
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TCS is good but garbage and dirty politics on Client site!!!
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2014
The Company is good now after new HR Management. But still there are some cheap mentality people working ONSITE... Dirty politics playing for prove themselves a best...Indian people especially South Indian never helps other in project...They don't have team skills.... If you are Canadian PR or Citizen I recommended don't work for any Indian consulting company...
Pros
Free Overtime
Cons
Long Hours, Treat like slave by Indian lead ONSITE with cheap and dirty politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company with most support work
Subject Matter Expert (Former Employee) –  Travel17 February 2014
The projects are generally more support projects.

The work is ok but no very challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON9 February 2014
* Job security
* Good opportunity for growth
* Large number of clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Secured Company, filled with oppotunities
AS/400 Tower Lead (Current Employee) –  Enterprise, NB3 February 2014
I have learned loads of things in TCS.

Communication Skills verbal or mail.
Management Skill.
Client relationship.
Technical growth.
Pros
Job is secured, loads of onsite work, Management Trust.
Cons
No Free Lunch, no Free travel, too much of travelling, night shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very secured place for job
Assistant Consultant (Current Employee) –  London, UK1 February 2014
Providing Service to the client
Handling issues
Management looks forward to satisfy client
Coworkers are always supportive and friendly
Hardest part of the job would be often asked to work long hours and during weekends, without break.
Learning opportunities is the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Work from home
Cons
Long hours is the major Cons
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 January 2014
Most of the Days enjoyed while meeting customers at various locations.
Got an opportunity to meet Different People as part of Work.
Pros
Connecting People
Cons
Low Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work with TCS for 2 years as IT consultant
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Oman13 January 2014
I joined TCS for the work at Ministry of Commerce and Industry for BPR and Oman EGevement project implementation
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor India based management.
Canadain Director GCP ITAC (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario20 October 2013
Overall rating: 1 stars out of 5. Would be zero, but new Canadian HR management is improving situation.

Salary/benefits: 1 star out of 5. Reclaimed all employees two week salary, which they didn't repay. Salary range was okay but not great.

Management: 0 stars out of 5. India management very bad, treat employees like slaves. Former manager died of heart attack because of over work. Never met manager face to face, in my 2 year tenure. As he was always in an airport.

Culture/Values: 4 stars out of 5.

Job Security/Advancement: 2 stars out of 5. Former HR Canadian training consisted of three new employees standing around an HR rep, answering questions for 15 minutes. US training was more extensive. New HR is improving situation. Poor rating is based on US HR and old Canadian HR.

Work/Life Balance: Poor (0 star out of 5). Engagement expectation was that you lived on the job. All your time was their time.

Canadian co-workers were friendly. Newer Canadian HR was helpful. US HR was a disaster.
Pros
New Canadian HR
Cons
US HR, India management, former Canadian HR
Was this review helpful?Yes21No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was proud to start the Develpoment Centre
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga/Toronto, ON29 August 2013
I was the first employee to start this organization in Mississauga with my Manager.

I had to work with our financial clients, and meet their daily requirements in getting them the right resources with our overseas deputation.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company Practices
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB, Canada21 May 2013
This organization is currently under investigation by the CBC.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and Individual Development
Business Development Manager, Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Delhi15 May 2013
Tata Code of Conduct, best practices in every process, enabled learning on work, through interactions with Domain Experts in projects. The Group ensures every individual is able to hone up the skill set
Pros
Excellent team work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company to work for
ITA (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, Canada4 May 2013
I joined this company in 2006 as a fresher. It was my dream company then and was really happy to be a part of TCS. As years passed by, I noticed that, the company has no ethics or work culture. Most of the managers are pathetic. Have no managerial skills. They just cannot stand the sight of an associate going home after 8 or 9 hours of work. If an associate goes home early, then that would be reason for poor rating. I came to Canada last year. Had a very bad experience with managers asking us to work in the evenings and night and all weekends. They over commit to clients and make us work like donkeys. ‘Overtime pay’ is a big No No for this company. You work 8 hours or 20 hours, you will be paid the same. I decided to quit the job due to the intolerable working conditions. There they come up with a rule. If you want to quit job at onsite, you have to serve 3 months notice. After serving 3 months, I got out of that hell and I feel so relieved now. They cheat a lot with settlements as well. Don’t pay for your Onsite Vacation Leaves. If asked, they give some stupid answers. My suggestions to all those looking for a job change is ’Think twice before joining this company. Don’t make your life hell’.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Absolutely no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going workplace, flexible hours, team culture
Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 April 2013
Great company to work for. Easy to approach managers. Flexible hours and a great team atmosphere.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
non competitive salaries
Was this review helpful?YesNo7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 April 2013
TCS is a very large organization with many employees globally.
Pros
flexible work hours
Cons
extensive overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secured Job.
Associate Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 March 2013
Learned Managing skills, how to handle crisis movements and deal with variety of people offshore and onshore.
Pros
wide range of opportunities across world
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 7,283 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) Reviews by Location