Find companies:
Target
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10,445 reviews

Target Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and friendly environment.
Flow Team Member/ Cashier/ Customer Service (Current Employee), Abbotsford, BCDecember 18, 2014
Cons: not much hours of work
Very friendly environment. Helpful management. Always ready to answer queries. Encouraging team members by recognizing their hard work and efforts during hurdles, which is a team meeting. Great motivation! I love the way they treat the employees and guests. Always encouraging the team members to contact and talk with the guests, aiding them in locating – more... products and making things convenient for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, not detailed enough training
Guest Service Team Leader (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCDecember 16, 2014
Pros: free lunch days, great team members, good benefits if you're eligible
Cons: not efficient training, a lot of management issues in multiple locations
Great atmosphere with a great team. The training is not very detailed though, the online modules are not very helpful and there is not really any hands on training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and laughing environment
Cashier/Guest Services/Backroom (Former Employee), Regina, SKDecember 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches from company every two to three week
Cons: short staff
Meet and greet customers and having good and funny conversations. Also helping out other team members who need help with either a product finding or explaining the policies of the company or resolving their issues towards the team members or the company, and sometimes being the only member of my section with good remarks from the store manager. Also – more... having a fun environment with team members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Mgr not professional. Negative (fake) environment/culture
ETL (Former Employee), ancasterDecember 8, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: fake culture, no work life balance, store mgr
As ETL (Executive Team Leader) witnessed first hand the culture and motivation of Target Canada. Its no surprise that the canadian locations are failing miserably as the American culture Target has driven into the staff is not "fitting." This starts within the store at the Store Manager position but is easily seen in the DM, the Resources (from out – more... of store) and the drone HR dept.
THE BIGGEST MISCONCEPTION is WORK/LIFE BALANCE. On the surface the company promotes work life balance but does not execute this theory into practice. In fact its quite the opposite that TARGET canada delivers the message. If you are not devoted to 60 hour work weeks then you are not going to be successful. The higher ups are not a resource. They bring in a passive aggressive style to make things even more cloudy for someone who is trying to do their best in this environment. If your manager's name is Hala better off to avoid this place unless you like be treated as an inferior. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but bad management
Cashier (Former Employee), Montreal, QCDecember 1, 2014
I loved working at Target because I started at the store before it opened. But slowly all the original staff left or was fired and got replaced with terrible people who gave us no support and was completely fake. It was disappointing because I really did love that job until everyone left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Flow Team Member (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONDecember 1, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: short shift
Good overall place, My location specifically was hard to reach & Gave bad hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have Enjoyed working there
Senior Flow Team leader - Logistics (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 24, 2014
Lead the biggest team in the store with 26 team members and while during my LOD shifts used to look after the whole store.
Amazing team culture and used to enjoy my role and working along with my team on the trailers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work, the hours are rough though
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee), Barrie, ONNovember 21, 2014
The team culture and people were amazing to work with. The job was easy, and at times fun. There was always food in the break room, and different little parties and events.
The managers were always supportive, worked hard and did whatever they could to get you where you need to be. Frequent job postings for advancements.

However, the hours fluctuate – more... a lot. Some slower weeks there was no work, others there wasn't a lot of time off! It was often hard to manage other aspects of life based on a fluctuating schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Flow team member (Former Employee), Orleans, ONNovember 21, 2014
Pros: great staff
- Unloading shipment and putting on the shelf

- How to work the Christmas rush

- The team was fantastic

- Long shift's

-Talking to the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team, with lots of fast paced work
Signing Team Member (Current Employee), Delta, BCNovember 18, 2014
start early mornings, or a possible overnight shift
fast paced work
great team culture, love working with my co-workers
all work together for one goal
keep open communication with everyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fast Growing Department Store Franchise in North America
Flow Merchandiser/Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 12, 2014
Pros: occassional free lunch, always recognizing team effort, great work benefits
Cons: not as large compared to its competitiors in canada, but is growing fast.
A company filled with great team culture, respect for environment, and humane management that constantly drives its workers to work up to their highest potential, to provide excellent customer service experience to guests.

Each day the company holds a short quick meeting, which starts by giving recognition to some of the members who revealed great – more... guest service moments, and goes on to praise about team achievements with sales.

The company stands out among its competitors in a way that it encourages its employees to achieve the attainable goals set by managers, rather than expressing disappointments for not meeting up the expectations. This was a great learning experience for me, as now I know that people want to be encouraged rather than blamed, and want to be led than managed.

The customers are referred to as "guests", which is the greatest value of the company, and thus their priorities always come first. Depending on situations, the company offers a variety of feasible deals for guests who have reasonable complaints or feedback on products or services provided.

The company also values its employees as the greatest asset, in which unsafe practices in work environments are discouraged if they can physically harm the employeees, even if it can be unbenefitcial to the company. The company also strictly complies with its safety rules for its employees, giving immediate attention to any impolitical offence among the team members, to ensure the respectful work environment is maintained for everyone.

The hardest challenge is neither more, nor less than leaving the guests satisfied and ensuring them to come back to the store, which contributes to increase in sales, eventually causing more benefits to employees and the company. It is also the most enjoyable part of the job, as there is nothing more pleasant about seeing the guests smiling when they leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having fun with my team!!
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 12, 2014
Pros: employee discount!!
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at work would be supervisor cashiers. Check guests out of the till and work in guest service.
I learned how to be a supervisor , treat people with respect in the work place. I also learned how to be the best i can always be for my team.
I have worked with amazing people that i learned how to work in a place professionally.
The hardest – more... part of the job was juggling be a cashier and also being a supervisor.
The most memorable moment of the job was the team i had they were nice and understanding people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good benefits
Guest Services Team Leader (Current Employee), Orillia, ONNovember 11, 2014
Good team culture vibe. I enjoy working there for the most part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good benefits
Guest Services Team Leader (Current Employee), Orillia, ONNovember 11, 2014
Good team culture vibe. I enjoy working there for the most part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first time job
Sales Floor Team Member (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONNovember 8, 2014
Pros: events such as free food.
Cons: everything else
Though I did receive a basic training for future jobs at Target Canada, it is not the most desirable place to be. I gave each aspect 1 star because it was mandatory to do so, there is no opportunity for advancement inside the store, they almost always hire from outside of the store. Almost everyone in management have never been a team member before, – more... so they have no idea the amount of work they give you, they give you an unreasonable amount of work in an unreasonable amount of time and their tactic in dealing with the matter is flawed. Co-workers are usually grumpy and moody because they've been worked too hard too long for not enough money, and pulled in every other direction a million times. But sometimes they have cake in the break room so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad atmosphere
price accuracy (Former Employee), Nanaimo, B.CNovember 6, 2014
Pros: free food
Worst management ever. If sara didn't like you, forget it. You are out. Early hours. supervisors cant make a schedule properly...very clique like work environment...worst place Ive ever worked at. never got a thank you
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open door policy is not for everyone
tm (Former Employee), ontarioNovember 5, 2014
Pros: free food, decent wage
Cons: nothing is worth the headache that this store's culture encourages.
The Target I worked at really promoted an "open-door culture" for their HR and TLs. This all sounds good on paper but what it really translates to is adults acting like children if an issue arises. A few coworkers and I always said that "anything you say can and will be taken the wrong way and used against you" which usually resulted in multiple talks – more... for most of the staff. Someone minorly inconvenienced by something you said or done? Better be prepared to be dragged off and be spoken to about it for 30 minutes and have more of your time wasted. I spent a year there and was consistently a high performer. I showed up to all my shifts and worked extra when I could. I volunteered for midnights for months at a time when it was available. If you enjoy working in a place that breeds passive-aggressiveness then don't waste any more time and apply now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Welland, ONOctober 24, 2014
Cons: schedules are not always done according to your availability
a typical day at work is standing at the cashlane wishing there was something to do, as cashiers are not allowed to leave their cashlane for long periods of time their is only a limited amount we can do to keep ourselves busy. Depending on the amount of cashiers working we are usually looking for things to do whether it is going through isles to make – more... sure they are tidy or putting the re-shop away a days work as a cashier at target can feel like a life time of doing nothing. many of my co-workers are great to work with they make the days work entertaining. the hardest part of the job for me is to promote the red card this is a "required" job cashiers are forced to do, it is a difficult job because after asking over a dozen people if they would like to apply for the card you end up feeling as though you are harassing them into applying for something they dont actually want. the most enjoyable part of my job is my co-workers they are fun to talk to and work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work life balance
Executive Team Leader (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONOctober 22, 2014
If you are looking to join Target as an Executive Team Leader, be sure you are ready to devote 55-60 hours a week minimum,which is the requirement. Although, during the recruiting process they preach work life balance which is none existent.The turnover in this position as unreal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target is a Fun, Freindly organization with lot of support of managment.
Sales Floor Team Member (Current Employee), MississaugaOctober 22, 2014
Target is a friendly environment to work. All the team leaders are helpful and knowledgeable on their job duties. I learned lots of new things at my position as a sales floor team members, customer service, telephone skills, time management. My co workers are very friendly and understandable. As a team player there was no hard part. we are able to ask – more... questions about any thing to solve our problems. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Target

Target Corporation operates Target general merchandise stores with an assortment of general merchandise and food items, as well – Read more