Talisman Energy Inc Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 15 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Infrastructure support for operations division
Operations Systems Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta, CanadaDecember 15, 2015
Difficult to manage user expectation when senior management not supportive of new technology requirements. Philosphy was to never give management bad news.
Pros
Good user community
Cons
Anti-technology management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deskside Anyalst
IT Deskside Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 20, 2015
Working at Talisman Energy was priceless. The team and people I worked with were positive and supportive. The hardest part of the job was that due to current situation with the price of oil. The company had to do a workforce reduction. The hardest part was having to leave a great environment. I could not not put it to one most enjoyable part of the job because there were many. There was never a typical day at work. That is what it made such a great place to work in.
Pros
Working with a great team that was supportive
Cons
Not always finding a solution right away.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talisman Energy - Long ago ...
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 13, 2014
It was BP Canada when I started, David Clayton as President, then James Buckee. Talisman was an exciting fast moving company full of opportunity for a young woman with lots of enthusiasm and energy. I did very well with Talisman and worked with some of the nicest people in the industry. It was a wonderful opportunity - beginning at reception as entry level and working up to Geology and Engineering departments supporting management and professionals. Such a pleasure to work with many exciting projects and good people.
Pros
great management teams, wonderful corporate culture, growing company
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
IT Deskside Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 7, 2015
It was wonderful experience and I have learnt a lot. I have done many project as an project coordinator. It was really fun to work with this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Supplier Coordinator and Contracts Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AlbertaDecember 9, 2013
Talisman gave me the chance to work for them when I was a new comer in Canada, therefore I am grateful. I learned to use SAP and other tools. Talisman is great in training the workforce.
My co-workers were wonderful as people, however it was hard to work as a real team given that better directives were required from top management. The company needs to build a stronger SCM team and focus more on how contract processes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, clean, quiet, friendly work environment.
Data Entry Clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 22, 2014
A typical day at work is an 8 hour work period in a confortable, welcoming and friendly environment where staff in extremely helpful in answering any questions, concerns or explanations that I have had/needed.

Management is also extremely helpful as they keep their doors open and encourage any questions that I may have to be brought to their attention.
Pros
free refreshments
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support employees' development
Global Economic Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 3, 2015
The Company sponsored me to obtain an MBA which I was very grateful for. The people that work there are friendly and professional
Pros
Support employees' development
Cons
Open communication is lacking
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 15, 2015
This is a great company with a really good work environment. Changes are taking place due to impending sale of company but still a great company.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Changes taking place
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta, CanadaAugust 15, 2012
Talisman Energy is a great place to work, full of committed people who enjoy working within a team environment.
Pros
team spirit
Cons
not the best for salary and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talisman is a large multinational oil company based in Calgary.
Senior Regional Geologist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 28, 2015
I worked for Talisman in Sudan after they bought out State Petroleum Corporation. The project in Sudan was a JV between CNODC, Petronas, SUDAPET and Talisman and each company contributed personnel to the project.

Talisman is no longer a JV parter in this project; their WI was bought out by an Indian oil company several years ago.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn a lot about Supply Chain
CO-OP Student (Former Employee) –  Edson ABDecember 22, 2013
Great place to learn;
location was desirable;
good work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Desktop Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 22, 2012
Overall good experience. Good friendly team of dedicated professionals.
Pros
good friendly environment to work.
Cons
all the cons of contract employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome comapny
Geology Intern, Subsurface Innovations (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AlbertaFebruary 20, 2013
Great company and awesome office in Calgary, really enjoyed my summer there!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of advancement
Senior Tradesman (Former Employee) –  Chauvin, ABFebruary 24, 2013
my time in the area was great. lots of great people to work with..
Was this review helpful?YesNo

See more Talisman Energy Inc reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7

Talisman Energy Inc Reviews by Location