Find companies:
Talbots
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
142 reviews

Talbots Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sell nice clothes to nice ladies and get a nice discount
Part-time Sales Associate/Interim Key Holder (Current Employee), Ottawa, OntarioJuly 1, 2014
Management issues in general not just within the store Really like the product

Flexible hours are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love all the beautifull fashion clothing
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), etobicokeNovember 18, 2013
Pros: great discount
Cons: long hours
sales, merchandising, inventory, customer service, managing staff and meeting sale quota's .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Few Perks To Keep Me Around
part time sales associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaSeptember 24, 2012
Working at Talbots is like working at any overpriced clothing store, I guess. A typical day includes an intense amount of sucking up to clients, attempting to boost egos in order for a sale and acting as a human shopping cart because they can't possibly hold their own clothes. Heaven forbid. Although as sales associates we need to be almost overbearing – more... and overly involved in every aspect of a customer's experience, the pay definitely does not reflect those added duties. Management switched a few times, going from good to bad over the time I was there all for the sake of a dollar. The most enjoyable part was probably the other sales associates; I've definitely made good friends with a few good girls. Other than that, all the brown nosing, minimal benefits and unrealistic sales expectations were just not for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Davenport, IAAugust 29, 2014
Love working here with all these great people. Never feel like you did nothing that day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lewisville TXAugust 29, 2014
Pros: co-workers, and management
Cons: pay
My co-workers were great, the customers coming in were amazing and it was always a high beat positive atmosphere to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Associate (Former Employee), Worthington, OHAugust 20, 2014
I loved working for Talbots, I had to resign when I graduated from grad school and relocated back home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work where you will always feel important and valued!
Manager (Current Employee), texasAugust 19, 2014
I have been with the company for 7 years and have seen the company go through many changes, one thing that remained the same was the work culture. The people in the company are the reason anyone would want to work for this company!
Every day is a new adventure, you are constantly on your toes and learning new things. I would highly recommend anyone – more... to join this team! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work if you dont need to support yourself. Only very part time work.
Shopping Advisor/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bridgeport Village,Tualatin, ORAugust 18, 2014
Pros: good clothing discounts, weekly pay period, easy to pencil time off when ever you want for as long as you want
Cons: management is forced to hire continuesly, so there is rarely anyone except management that gets more then 16 hours of work a week, ; every week is a differant schedule, too many new hires makes it stressful for the long term employee.
This was a great comoany to work for if you just want spending money, Its only by the hour wage, and very few hours ever available, per employee, no commission. However you work like you are on commission. . I enjoyed working with customers to help them fiind their wants and needs. It was rewarding that way.Also the clothing discounts are huge for employees, – more... your exspected to wear their current fashion trends meaning what will be worn say in a month or two, or just recieved fashion statements as they hit the rack. But there are incentives and style dollar awards each time a catolog comes out. The management varies. Where I worked there were a couple good ones and a couple asked to leave. Over all I had a very rewarding job I loved until my financial needs changed. Then it just wouldnt support me. Most employees had 2 jobs iff they were self supporting. Sp I will give the store in Bridgeport a rating of 7 out of 10. Drawbacks. they never stop hireing so there is never enough hours to go around,. other then that a great job to have, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is a main focus which is great because you don't get to see or give that now a days.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Lee, MAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: the older customers that have been shopping at talbots for year, the stories that they tell and the relationship that you can have with these women is great!
Cons: no holiday weekends off and shipment processes and deliveries are stressful.
The company is having some "growing pains" since it has been bought out. The changes are going to be for the good when it comes to product and processes for the stores. However the work/life balance is not the best. The company has many blackout dates of when you can take vacation and forget about taking a holiday weekend off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Multi-Unit Manager (Former Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 1, 2014
No information to share. Non disclosure policy. Enjoyable customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Greenville, SCJuly 21, 2014
job was fun because of customers the stress got to be too much for me personally
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job
Sales Associate/ Data Entry (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GAJuly 15, 2014
This is a job, managment is fair and they try to work with you; but because the goals of the company are so important, it can sometimes be more difficult to maintain calmness while at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful People
Sales Support (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAJuly 3, 2014
Working here has felt like having a second family. Good positive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team
Sales Associates (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 22, 2014
Pros: the benefits
Cons: advancement in the company
Managers are helpful and motivate the team. however working in store can be a repetitive job and therefore not suited for people looking for challenging position. The clientele is nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and had great management/costumers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLJune 22, 2014
Talbots is a great place to work but right now (summer time) we are slow and not in season. A typical day at work is always helping the costumer first with anything they need, always satisfy the costumer. If we weren't as busy, we would get to work one on one with the costumer and really help them in anyway. We try to do that anyways, but it gets hard – more... to when we are real busy. The hardest part of the job was probably when we are swamped and you can't help everyone. The most enjoyable part of it for me, is when I would build a relationship with the costumers, to this day, when I see our regulars come in they remember me and I remember them; they are such good people, and that was the best part of it for me. Everyone I worked with was great, we all got along and worked well as a team! I learned a great deal from Talbots, how to work well with all types of age groups, great costumer service skills and improvement on communication skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Nashua, NHJune 20, 2014
Pros: discount, coworkers, customers
Cons: benefits are expensive, pay is low, they expect you to be a party planner
This is an ok company to work however the workload is very demanding. They also do not like to hire within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized Management, yet Satisfactory
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Charleston, SCJune 1, 2014
Pros: people, location, co-workers
Cons: organization
The pros and cons of basic retail apply, but managing seems to be improvised. The co-workers are extremely affable, which is always a plus. There is alot of work when adjusting the display of the store (as expected) the rest is menial.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my favorite place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), The Woodlands, TXMay 25, 2014
Pros: clothing discounts, and great customers
Cons: short breaks, manager at this store, quotas
They are just like any other retailer. They are looking at the bottom line. You have daily goals, daily charge accounts signed up, daily loyalty customers signed up, etc. The first manager I had was amazing. She left and we got a replacement. She was not helpful with my school schedule and my limitation due to a chronic illness. Hardest part of the – more... job is standing for 6 to 7.5 hours a day, only 15 min breaks, and having to wait to go to the bathroom because the staffing is minimal. Pay is not worth the pain. This is one of the reasons I left. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Peabody, MAMay 12, 2014
There was never a day that was the same at Talbots. We had a great team of sales associates that were the life blood of our weekend sales goal. Our manager was a team leader who always had a smile on her face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Asst. Store Mgr (Former Employee), Novi, MIMay 12, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: long hours on the feet
Retail

Standing for long periods of time

Loved the customers contact

1 2 3 4 5

About Talbots

In the trend-driven world of women's fashion, The Talbots is a 'head-to-toe' constant.¬†Although it flirted with hipper styles, – Read more