Find companies:
Talbots
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
147 reviews

Talbots Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sell nice clothes to nice ladies and get a nice discount
Part-time Sales Associate/Interim Key Holder (Current Employee), Ottawa, OntarioJuly 1, 2014
Management issues in general not just within the store Really like the product

Flexible hours are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love all the beautifull fashion clothing
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), etobicokeNovember 18, 2013
Pros: great discount
Cons: long hours
sales, merchandising, inventory, customer service, managing staff and meeting sale quota's .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Few Perks To Keep Me Around
part time sales associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaSeptember 24, 2012
Working at Talbots is like working at any overpriced clothing store, I guess. A typical day includes an intense amount of sucking up to clients, attempting to boost egos in order for a sale and acting as a human shopping cart because they can't possibly hold their own clothes. Heaven forbid. Although as sales associates we need to be almost overbearing – more... and overly involved in every aspect of a customer's experience, the pay definitely does not reflect those added duties. Management switched a few times, going from good to bad over the time I was there all for the sake of a dollar. The most enjoyable part was probably the other sales associates; I've definitely made good friends with a few good girls. Other than that, all the brown nosing, minimal benefits and unrealistic sales expectations were just not for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Selling Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbia, MOOctober 7, 2014
Great company to work for. They truly care about their employee.s
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talbots
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Garland, TXOctober 7, 2014
I would normally do the cash register and I learned a lot about making higher sales and the managers were very helpful and very nice. There was no hardest part of the job and the most enjoyable part was working with other people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Short Hills, NJOctober 1, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, employee appreciation
Cons: it's retail so don't expect a whole lot of money
Here, you'll have the typical sales associate duties. Greeting customers, selling, adding on, etc. I learned a lot about marketing and the behind-the-scenes of the retail industry. I also learned how to deal with demanding clients. Additionally, my multi-tasking skills have become sharper. Management is great. They are very nice people and do not abuse – more... their authority. Co-workers are great but, of course, wherever there are people, there will be a conflict or two. The hardest part of the job is meeting sales goals on a slow day. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers and seeing how appreciative they are of your help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at my location....
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Oak Brook, ILSeptember 27, 2014
I work with great co-workers and a management team that wants only to see me succeed in everything
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice location with wonderful hours and fun to palce to work
Associate Store Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: red rose program, hours on the weekends, close for several holidays
Cons: costomers were noticing a change in our product, company not stable
I open or close the store. Our priority was to make sure we assisted our clients as soon as they walked in through our red doors. Engage with them, choose product for our female clients, assist them with sizes, style, colors and mainly the fit of the garment. Always making the sales floor more appealing re-working the sales floors with new product and – more... existing product. I learned to do floors sets in just a couple of hours so our customers can purchase. My co-workers we more matured and we had lots of respect for each other. The hardest part of my job was not having enough tools to train our associates. The most enjoyable part of the job were the hours on the weekends. Also our loyal customers that loved Talbots – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Davenport, IAAugust 29, 2014
Love working here with all these great people. Never feel like you did nothing that day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lewisville TXAugust 29, 2014
Pros: co-workers, and management
Cons: pay
My co-workers were great, the customers coming in were amazing and it was always a high beat positive atmosphere to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Associate (Former Employee), Worthington, OHAugust 20, 2014
I loved working for Talbots, I had to resign when I graduated from grad school and relocated back home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work where you will always feel important and valued!
Manager (Current Employee), texasAugust 19, 2014
I have been with the company for 7 years and have seen the company go through many changes, one thing that remained the same was the work culture. The people in the company are the reason anyone would want to work for this company!
Every day is a new adventure, you are constantly on your toes and learning new things. I would highly recommend anyone – more... to join this team! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work if you dont need to support yourself. Only very part time work.
Shopping Advisor/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bridgeport Village,Tualatin, ORAugust 18, 2014
Pros: good clothing discounts, weekly pay period, easy to pencil time off when ever you want for as long as you want
Cons: management is forced to hire continuesly, so there is rarely anyone except management that gets more then 16 hours of work a week, ; every week is a differant schedule, too many new hires makes it stressful for the long term employee.
This was a great comoany to work for if you just want spending money, Its only by the hour wage, and very few hours ever available, per employee, no commission. However you work like you are on commission. . I enjoyed working with customers to help them fiind their wants and needs. It was rewarding that way.Also the clothing discounts are huge for employees, – more... your exspected to wear their current fashion trends meaning what will be worn say in a month or two, or just recieved fashion statements as they hit the rack. But there are incentives and style dollar awards each time a catolog comes out. The management varies. Where I worked there were a couple good ones and a couple asked to leave. Over all I had a very rewarding job I loved until my financial needs changed. Then it just wouldnt support me. Most employees had 2 jobs iff they were self supporting. Sp I will give the store in Bridgeport a rating of 7 out of 10. Drawbacks. they never stop hireing so there is never enough hours to go around,. other then that a great job to have, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is a main focus which is great because you don't get to see or give that now a days.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Lee, MAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: the older customers that have been shopping at talbots for year, the stories that they tell and the relationship that you can have with these women is great!
Cons: no holiday weekends off and shipment processes and deliveries are stressful.
The company is having some "growing pains" since it has been bought out. The changes are going to be for the good when it comes to product and processes for the stores. However the work/life balance is not the best. The company has many blackout dates of when you can take vacation and forget about taking a holiday weekend off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Multi-Unit Manager (Former Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 1, 2014
No information to share. Non disclosure policy. Enjoyable customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Greenville, SCJuly 21, 2014
job was fun because of customers the stress got to be too much for me personally
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job
Sales Associate/ Data Entry (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GAJuly 15, 2014
This is a job, managment is fair and they try to work with you; but because the goals of the company are so important, it can sometimes be more difficult to maintain calmness while at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful People
Sales Support (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAJuly 3, 2014
Working here has felt like having a second family. Good positive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team
Sales Associates (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 22, 2014
Pros: the benefits
Cons: advancement in the company
Managers are helpful and motivate the team. however working in store can be a repetitive job and therefore not suited for people looking for challenging position. The clientele is nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and had great management/costumers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLJune 22, 2014
Talbots is a great place to work but right now (summer time) we are slow and not in season. A typical day at work is always helping the costumer first with anything they need, always satisfy the costumer. If we weren't as busy, we would get to work one on one with the costumer and really help them in anyway. We try to do that anyways, but it gets hard – more... to when we are real busy. The hardest part of the job was probably when we are swamped and you can't help everyone. The most enjoyable part of it for me, is when I would build a relationship with the costumers, to this day, when I see our regulars come in they remember me and I remember them; they are such good people, and that was the best part of it for me. Everyone I worked with was great, we all got along and worked well as a team! I learned a great deal from Talbots, how to work well with all types of age groups, great costumer service skills and improvement on communication skills. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Talbots

In the trend-driven world of women's fashion, The Talbots is a 'head-to-toe' constant.¬†Although it flirted with hipper styles, – Read more