Find companies:
Talbots
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
134 reviews

Talbots Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love all the beautifull fashion clothing
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), etobicokeNovember 18, 2013
Pros: great discount
Cons: long hours
sales, merchandising, inventory, customer service, managing staff and meeting sale quota's .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Few Perks To Keep Me Around
part time sales associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaSeptember 24, 2012
Working at Talbots is like working at any overpriced clothing store, I guess. A typical day includes an intense amount of sucking up to clients, attempting to boost egos in order for a sale and acting as a human shopping cart because they can't possibly hold their own clothes. Heaven forbid. Although as sales associates we need to be almost overbearing – more... and overly involved in every aspect of a customer's experience, the pay definitely does not reflect those added duties. Management switched a few times, going from good to bad over the time I was there all for the sake of a dollar. The most enjoyable part was probably the other sales associates; I've definitely made good friends with a few good girls. Other than that, all the brown nosing, minimal benefits and unrealistic sales expectations were just not for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Greenville, SCJuly 21, 2014
job was fun because of customers the stress got to be too much for me personally
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job
Sales Associate/ Data Entry (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GAJuly 15, 2014
This is a job, managment is fair and they try to work with you; but because the goals of the company are so important, it can sometimes be more difficult to maintain calmness while at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful People
Sales Support (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAJuly 3, 2014
Working here has felt like having a second family. Good positive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team
Sales Associates (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 22, 2014
Pros: the benefits
Cons: advancement in the company
Managers are helpful and motivate the team. however working in store can be a repetitive job and therefore not suited for people looking for challenging position. The clientele is nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and had great management/costumers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLJune 22, 2014
Talbots is a great place to work but right now (summer time) we are slow and not in season. A typical day at work is always helping the costumer first with anything they need, always satisfy the costumer. If we weren't as busy, we would get to work one on one with the costumer and really help them in anyway. We try to do that anyways, but it gets hard – more... to when we are real busy. The hardest part of the job was probably when we are swamped and you can't help everyone. The most enjoyable part of it for me, is when I would build a relationship with the costumers, to this day, when I see our regulars come in they remember me and I remember them; they are such good people, and that was the best part of it for me. Everyone I worked with was great, we all got along and worked well as a team! I learned a great deal from Talbots, how to work well with all types of age groups, great costumer service skills and improvement on communication skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Nashua, NHJune 20, 2014
Pros: discount, coworkers, customers
Cons: benefits are expensive, pay is low, they expect you to be a party planner
This is an ok company to work however the workload is very demanding. They also do not like to hire within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized Management, yet Satisfactory
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Charleston, SCJune 1, 2014
Pros: people, location, co-workers
Cons: organization
The pros and cons of basic retail apply, but managing seems to be improvised. The co-workers are extremely affable, which is always a plus. There is alot of work when adjusting the display of the store (as expected) the rest is menial.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my favorite place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), The Woodlands, TXMay 25, 2014
Pros: clothing discounts, and great customers
Cons: short breaks, manager at this store, quotas
They are just like any other retailer. They are looking at the bottom line. You have daily goals, daily charge accounts signed up, daily loyalty customers signed up, etc. The first manager I had was amazing. She left and we got a replacement. She was not helpful with my school schedule and my limitation due to a chronic illness. Hardest part of the – more... job is standing for 6 to 7.5 hours a day, only 15 min breaks, and having to wait to go to the bathroom because the staffing is minimal. Pay is not worth the pain. This is one of the reasons I left. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Peabody, MAMay 12, 2014
There was never a day that was the same at Talbots. We had a great team of sales associates that were the life blood of our weekend sales goal. Our manager was a team leader who always had a smile on her face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Asst. Store Mgr (Former Employee), Novi, MIMay 12, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: long hours on the feet
Retail

Standing for long periods of time

Loved the customers contact
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Upscale Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 27, 2014
Talbots is a great place to work! Great customers! Great managers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talbots
Retail Sales Associate/ Stock Room Manager (Former Employee), Cypress, TXApril 24, 2014
It's retail. Not much else to say. My managers and co-workers were awesome. Great brand to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive & fun work environment
Sales Assoicate & Stylist (Current Employee), Providence, RIApril 17, 2014
I have worked with a great team and awesome management throughout my years at Talbots while attending college. Working at Talbots has taught me a lot personally and professionally. I enjoy every aspect of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great at first
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Paramus, NJApril 16, 2014
Great place at first, but under new management and not enough hours available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Store Liaison (Former Employee), El Paso, TXApril 15, 2014
Pros: excellent business model, atmosphere
Cons: no benefits, low salary
I enjoyed working at Talbots very much. The culture was friendly and the staff were very hardworking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place for growth in the Retail Industry
Talbots - Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cypress, TXApril 14, 2014
I went from a sales associate to a keyholder in a short amount of time because the staff is AWESOME. They make you feel as if your part of a family. You get floor knowledge as well as backroom knowledge. The hardest part of the job is grumpy customers but, the most enjoyable part of the job is that one sweet lady who comes in and accepts your help who – more... doesn't make a fuss over little things just because she's the customer and she can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
....
Associate Buyer (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 5, 2014
Pros: small teams allow you to have a lot of ownership
Cons: no merit increases, location can not be reached by public transit
While there is a good ability to move up quickly, management is not accessible and compensation and recognition is poor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, wonderful customers that became friends
Store manager (Former Employee), Brighton, MIApril 2, 2014
Pros: lots of discounts, wonderful clients
Cons: a lot of slow time where you had to create projects to do to avoid boredom, some days you would only see 10 customers
A typical day at Talbots was reviewing sales and metrics and holding a morning meeting with the associates to inform them of the day/weeks sales and promotions. I learned to provide a high level of customer service and to gain clients that would become lifelong clients and personal friends. I learned to keep a client book and be able to call customers – more... and personally sell to them over the phone, or get them in the store for a personal shopping day. My co-workers were talented, many of them very seasoned with the company. The hardest part of the job was getting new customers in the door, Talbots had a reputation for being for the older, more affluent customer. The company tried unsuccessfully to change their target customer, they didn't market enough or keep the core customer happy and the company went through a rough period in sales, causing many store closings, the Brighton store being one of them. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to meet so many wonderful clients and to personally get to know them. It was fun hosting shopping parties and being able to dress up everyday to stay current with the fashion. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Talbots

In the trend-driven world of women's fashion, The Talbots is a 'head-to-toe' constant.¬†Although it flirted with hipper styles, – Read more