Find companies:
Talbots
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
121 reviews

Talbots Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Few Perks To Keep Me Around
part time sales associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaSeptember 24, 2012
Working at Talbots is like working at any overpriced clothing store, I guess. A typical day includes an intense amount of sucking up to clients, attempting to boost egos in order for a sale and acting as a human shopping cart because they can't possibly hold their own clothes. Heaven forbid. Although as sales associates we need to be almost overbearing – more... and overly involved in every aspect of a customer's experience, the pay definitely does not reflect those added duties. Management switched a few times, going from good to bad over the time I was there all for the sake of a dollar. The most enjoyable part was probably the other sales associates; I've definitely made good friends with a few good girls. Other than that, all the brown nosing, minimal benefits and unrealistic sales expectations were just not for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive & fun work environment
Sales Assoicate & Stylist (Current Employee), Providence, RIApril 17, 2014
I have worked with a great team and awesome management throughout my years at Talbots while attending college. Working at Talbots has taught me a lot personally and professionally. I enjoy every aspect of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great at first
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Paramus, NJApril 16, 2014
Great place at first, but under new management and not enough hours available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Store Liaison (Former Employee), El Paso, TXApril 15, 2014
Pros: excellent business model, atmosphere
Cons: no benefits, low salary
I enjoyed working at Talbots very much. The culture was friendly and the staff were very hardworking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place for growth in the Retail Industry
Talbots - Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cypress, TXApril 14, 2014
I went from a sales associate to a keyholder in a short amount of time because the staff is AWESOME. They make you feel as if your part of a family. You get floor knowledge as well as backroom knowledge. The hardest part of the job is grumpy customers but, the most enjoyable part of the job is that one sweet lady who comes in and accepts your help who – more... doesn't make a fuss over little things just because she's the customer and she can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
....
Associate Buyer (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 5, 2014
Pros: small teams allow you to have a lot of ownership
Cons: no merit increases, location can not be reached by public transit
While there is a good ability to move up quickly, management is not accessible and compensation and recognition is poor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, wonderful customers that became friends
Store manager (Former Employee), Brighton, MIApril 2, 2014
Pros: lots of discounts, wonderful clients
Cons: a lot of slow time where you had to create projects to do to avoid boredom, some days you would only see 10 customers
A typical day at Talbots was reviewing sales and metrics and holding a morning meeting with the associates to inform them of the day/weeks sales and promotions. I learned to provide a high level of customer service and to gain clients that would become lifelong clients and personal friends. I learned to keep a client book and be able to call customers – more... and personally sell to them over the phone, or get them in the store for a personal shopping day. My co-workers were talented, many of them very seasoned with the company. The hardest part of the job was getting new customers in the door, Talbots had a reputation for being for the older, more affluent customer. The company tried unsuccessfully to change their target customer, they didn't market enough or keep the core customer happy and the company went through a rough period in sales, causing many store closings, the Brighton store being one of them. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to meet so many wonderful clients and to personally get to know them. It was fun hosting shopping parties and being able to dress up everyday to stay current with the fashion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers are great
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLMarch 31, 2014
Pros: great customers
Cons: .........
Lots of work but no really good benifits everyday there are new things to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talbots is a fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMarch 27, 2014
Pros: discounts on clothes
Cons: bad hours
Talbots you were required to show up 30 min early to open up the store. Your daily tasks would consist of folding clothes, putting out new items that arrived, floor flips, and cleaning out dressing rooms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to intern.
Accounting Operations Intern (Current Employee), Hingham, MAMarch 21, 2014
Interned for accounting operations position. I was exposed to the Oracle system and have learned a great foundation to start my career in accounting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talbots is a great place to work.
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Hingham, MAMarch 19, 2014
I loved working at Talbots it's a great company to work for with great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is what it is
Co- Manager (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNMarch 11, 2014
great tips great place to make friends if that is what your looking for .. great food and drinksof course and pretty fun place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unstable company financially & upper management
Co-Manager (Former Employee), The Woodlands, TXMarch 5, 2014
company can't decide who their target customer is.
They have no formal training for management. They seem to value their culture over results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality company serving upscale customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: merchandise wearability, appealing product colors, moderate pricing, customer orientation
Cons: inconsistent merchandise fit, lost shoe quality, reduced merchandise selections, store and department downsizing
Positive environment for employees and customers. Company heritage. Premier location. Pleasant to meet and sell repeating customers. Good relations with supervisors. Constructive assistance when needed. Positive HR policies and benefits. Opportunity to make a positive shopping experience for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding to find outfits for customers and they leave happy
Assistant manager (Current Employee), Vero Beach, FLFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: i receive a big discount on the clothing i buy
Cons: i never receive a break and barely get a lunch in.
When opening in the morning, I review sales and see where we need to be, talk w/ associates about their productivity, and what we need to do to build sales, or how I open credit cards and build on the sale, getting the customer to return. Hardest part of the job is cutting hours on associates when we are down in sales. I enjoy working to help customers – more... build their wardrobe and finding that special outfit for them , getting to know them on a personal level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for a young lady
Customer Relations Associate (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIFebruary 8, 2014
liked management and the other employees. reasonable with hours. good pay for retail as well. great for college students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with the customers
Shipper and reciever (Current Employee), Glastonbury, CTFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Every day a new customer comes in through the doors and I have to figure out what kind of personality they have, so I can meet their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Freelance, Fabric Assistant for Woven's and Knits (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 28, 2014
Fantastic company to work for with amazing co-workers! Loved it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talbots in a nutshell
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 21, 2014
I enjoy what I do there. The ladies that shop there are usually educated and pleasant. I barely get any complaints or a hard time. The management is dependable and understanding. Sadly they only offer part time and the shifts are usually four hours long. They don't give raises and advancement opportunities are minimal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hell On Earth!!!!
Manager (Current Employee), GeorgiaJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: discount, employees and customers
Cons: workload, communication from upper management and unrealistic goals
I have work for Talbots for 2 years. It's was a cool place to work until they sold to the new owners. The upper management is crazy and they do not support the stores. Plus I have had 5 District Managers and 5 Regionals durning my tenure with the company. There is no work life balance and they are always rolling out more tools as if we don't have enough – more... work to do. The most enjoyable thing about the company are my co workers and the customers. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Talbots

In the trend-driven world of women's fashion, The Talbots is a 'head-to-toe' constant.¬†Although it flirted with hipper styles, – Read more