TEKsystems Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Lead Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 October 2017
Disclaimer: I work in the Montreal office.
The Montreal office is a development shop, as opposed to the rest of TEKsystems where the company is rather a recruitment firm.

Typical day at work:
One agile team per project (Project Manager, Business Analyst, Architect, Team Lead, Developers & QAs)

What to learn:
* The very knowledgeable lead architect is always striving to better ourselves by spending an hour per week on discussing many technical topics.
* Formations are given to learn about the different phases of an Agile project (inception, sizing, story writing, etc.)

Workplace culture:
People are helping each other out, as much as they can - which is awesome!

All in all, a very good company to work for (again, specific to the Montreal office), however....
The downside: the salary increase does not compete enough with what the market has to offer, and thus TEKsystems has a hard time keeping the good players in.
Pros
great learning experience
Cons
yearly salary increase are mediocres
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time work as IT support
IT Support (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON29 June 2017
Great place to part time work. I never had full time with TEKsystems but they were amazing services and a great place to work.

Typical day was arrive early, get let in by security and get escorted to the place we needed to be working

Lead by a team lead and we were showed exactly how they wanted the work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its cool
Welder/Fabricator Alum (Former Employee) –  Aldergrove, BC31 May 2017
Fabricating from blueprints, building gensets for oil rigs
Welding Fluxcore, hardwire short circuit all positions thin gauge metal to thick plate
Worked in several man crews, as a team to finish massive projects on time
Cleaned up metal, sweeped floor, organized yard
Prepped metal for painters, minor painting
learned this all there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a job
Program Manager, Continuous Improvement (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 May 2017
This is a fair place to work with. As an outsourcing vendor company, the jobs are tough.
The compensations were fair, at par or even a bit lower than the market level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work and very professional support
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 January 2017
I really enjoyed working for Teksystems as they were able to bring the best out of me and I always wanted to give 100% effort.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization, Poor Leadership
Technical Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC24 January 2017
teksystems was a great company however the leadership while i was present was less than inspiring. It makes me wonder if I would have actually enjoyed recruiting at some point.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travailler comme travailleur autonome.
Programmeur sénior/Analyste (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 January 2017
Le management est très proche de ses employés.
Très bonne entreprise ou on ne sent pas juste un numéro.
Pros
Très bonne entreprise ou on ne sent pas juste un numéro
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TEKsystems
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2016
TEKsystems is a great place for an entry level aspiring sales professional. Great training, accountability and rewards. They do not believe much in work/life balance or better yet integration making it a difficult place to remain as you acquire other priorities come up in life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Technical Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 October 2016
American ran organization. Long hours, under paid. Disconnect from American to Canadian business processes. Management is under trained and supported. Organization is greedy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for ......
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 September 2016
Very good job work/ life balance with a very good job culture. Management is very supportive and overall job security is good. It's a great commutative multi-cultural environment with very good and highly trained technical people from QA's, Ba's, Architects to senior developers in .Net and Java.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report

Want to know more about TEKsystems?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with a diverse culture
Business Operations Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 April 2016
- Advanced my technical skills in all Microsoft Office Suites
- Majority of the role deals with Accounts Receivable and collection
- Co-workers are easy to get along with
Pros
Great employees
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Canada2 January 2016
It is a good job to start at after graduating. If you work really hard, you can get good money. The people you work with are really nice and is always there to help you
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on attracting, sourcing and selecting top IT professionals for organizations on a daily basis
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 November 2015
Excellent environment to learn the core drivers to successful hiring and management for organization. Success is always defined by client success
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get ready for LONG HOURS
recruiter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 November 2015
Very little guidance, quick turnover, low pay and long hours. If you are not the first to show up and the last to leave, get ready for the comments and criticism to come flooding in.

Sales environment that turns quite political, if you are not drinking the kool-aid then expect to be seen/treated like an outsider. Can be a great opportunity to grow a network and learn the in's out out's of sales.

Management is unorganized yet expects unrealistic expectations from you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team culture
Technical Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Toronto19 October 2015
Made 100 cold calls a day to prospective consultants, developed and maintained existing network. Company emphasis on teamwork, and support. Great people to work with.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very political and tense environment
Technical Recruiter- Healthcare Services (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 October 2015
TEKsystems has a lot of potential but lacks in a few places. the environment is extremely political and not the most collaborative place to work.
Pros
decent benefits
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Burnaby26 July 2015
I Joined Tek as part of their EA recruitment, they basically wasted my time.
Paying me was such a tough issue to solve, benefits were a joke compared to similar roles elsewhere
After my contract was ended it took me two days to find a better paying job without their help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A reignititing of the possibility for a career.
Temporary Scanning Specialist (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, NE7 July 2015
Loved my experience. Met old friends made new ones. Felt like something I wanted to be a part of. Black Hills Energy is a professional but very friendly place.
Management always made time to check in with me even though only temp. Have been back to visit.
Pros
Great people!
Cons
Only a tempary job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here
Sr. Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Montreal, quebec14 April 2015
A place where you can make a name for yourself and grow within the organisation. a company that rewards performance and leadership.

My coworkers are there to help and share knowledge.
Pros
great work life balance, "we are a family" culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract work, unable to obtain a full time position despite excellent performance.
Desktop Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary8 November 2014
Much like the rest of head hunters in the market for IT related work, TEKsystems normally has contract work, from short term (few months) to long term (yearly). It's a good place to start if you are into contract work. Unfortunately, when my contract came to an end, they were unable to provide me an immediate replacement job. Overall, I was satisfied with their service, I got hands on experience from an Oil and Gas company.
Pros
Occasional free lunches, competitive salary
Cons
Mostly contract roles..... very minimal full time roles
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TEKsystems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,131 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8