SYSCO Employee Reviews

Found 73 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Culture
Warehouse Supervisor/Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON1 April 2015
Sysco has a culture that most companies strive to emulate. Truly operating with their people in mind. A fast moving and continuous improvement focused business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to have no personal life work for sysco
Order selector (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 March 2015
I stuck there for 5 years for the money, no communication and favoritism infested work place. Fault free management. I saw 3 vp changes and 2 warehouse managers and no improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Quality Assurance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS22 December 2014
Very fast paced place to work, behind on the safety aspect of a work environment.
wants to be informed of safety concerns just very slow to do anything about it. co workers were great to be around and very informative of the working culture and express their concerns freely
Pros
the working hours
Cons
safety issues
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job acutally not that bad
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 February 2015
a typical day at work was when our supervisor almost died he got crushed between tow trailers he forgot to pull the spring brakes on one of the truck when he was moving pallets from a trailer to another then he ended up in the hospital with broken desk and both legs after one of the workers was at the site that time he heard him screaming with loud voice then he knew he was hurt.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place always something going on
Biiling Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary AB12 August 2014
Very stressful most times because all time management but do-able.Had to know alot of codes. The hardest part was when our printer's went down and all we could do was wait . The most enjoyable was most the people because become like second family.
Pros
learned alot
Cons
to many chief's
Was this review helpful?Yes13No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing company
Marketing Repressive (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB18 October 2014
I enjoyed my time with Sysco Edmonton very very much!!!!! Day to Day is great for Family life/ Work Balance
Pros
great Sal/Com
Cons
LONG HOURS
Was this review helpful?Yes8No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Order Selector (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK2 November 2014
Same work everyday. Learned pros and cons of unionized work culture. Head office issued new productivity plans are not suitable in common to all warehouses. Working in freezer for ninety cents more not worth damaging body. Week goes faster.
Pros
Fix schedule
Cons
transportation problem
Was this review helpful?Yes5No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is very productive place
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 September 2014
I am picking orders,I am selector putting right box on right pallet on right zone to keep our costumers happy.Main goal it is to deliver right product to our costumer.I am learned that even when is hard day and we are way behind of schedule when we all stick together we can deliver it on time and keep our costumers happy.That is a strength and spirit of good working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & busy environment
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Timberlea NS26 April 2015
Night shift
Always busy
Learned how to work under tight schedules and deadlines
The most enjoyable part was that I was always kept busy
Was this review helpful?Yes11No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable if you enjoy working with people
Food Sales (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC20 January 2014
Loved the job. Every day was different even thou i saw the same schaduled accounts each week.
Enjoyed the challenge of growing my cusatomer base as well as increasing sales in existing accounts
Pros
flexible schedule, to a point. great support from 1st manager
Cons
not so much support from final manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work day
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton23 August 2012
Work is very busy and can consist of 200 plus emails each day. Hard work is rewarded for incented group but only if you make your profit plan
Pros
vacation time is above average
Cons
long days, work load is extremely busy
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work place
Warehouse operator (Former Employee) –  edmonton, alberta10 April 2015
shipping and receiving goods, packing orders and shipping it to buyers. i worked from 9pm to 5am. i am hard working person willing to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes18No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to fly under the radar
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary8 August 2012
This is a great job if you're new to sales and learning the business.

It is boring as heck if you just want to go out and make a decent living.
Pros
lots of samples, extensive training
Cons
long probationary period, mediocrity unintentionally encouraged
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Accounts Receivable / Cash Application Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 June 2014
Awesome co-workers. Great place to work at. Occasionally free lunches.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with free use of gym
Warehouse Person (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 June 2014
I was assigned at night shift. Everyday you will be brief on how many cases will be dispatched for the night and how many was picked, how much is remaining.
Pros
Free Drinks & Food (low expiration)
Cons
Disregarded Safety procedures over quantity of work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for!
Recruiting Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto18 February 2015
Can't think of anything negative. Really good place to work. They take care of their employees. They promote within. Lots of family events.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
National Pricing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lakeside, NS20 January 2015
The company is a good place to work for - great co -workers! There is a lot of deadlines and you must be able to time-manage well.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult job but can have huge benefits
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON7 February 2013
Really have to be motivated and manage your time properly. High expectations from Sysco on a daily basis. Great job for balancing life and work.
Pros
financial and time
Cons
stressful and unpredictable
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company that believes in their employees
Health & Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 November 2013
The company believes in investing in their employees to help build a stronger team. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with all the hourly employees hands on.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High tech equipment / facility , high business volume , good food for employees , great appreciation , thank you.
runner (Former Employee) –  calgary11 March 2012
High tech equipment / facility , high business volume , good food for employees , great appreciation , thank you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 902 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2