SYSCO Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company, Good Workers!
Warehouse/Inventory Control (Former Employee) –  Lakeside, NS6 October 2017
Worked in total of four years at the Lakeside location, two years as a picker and two years as part of the inventory team. Inventory Control was an amazing group to work for! All helped each other, completed our tasks and good pay. As for order selection, very physically demanding. Extremely hard to obtain full time, and the Engineered Labour Standards can be hard to achieve. Overall my best experiences came from IC, warehouse was only good when I got posted to day shift and did forklift.
Pros
Pay, Benefits
Cons
Engineered Labour Standards!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped a guest with a surprise marriage proposal
Dishwasher/Cleaner/Catering (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 September 2017
I was asked by a guest where the perfect place was to propose to his fiancee. I told him about this view over the Gatineau side. I even helped him pick what to wear. I also told him what time the sun was going to set. He said thank you and the next day he told me everything. She said yes and he said they were going on their honeymoon in the Bahamas. Lastly, he said he would remember what I did for him and he invited me to the wedding. Although I could not attend because it was an expensive trip, he said he will not forget me. It was a great experience because I feel like I helped spark something for a special couple.
Pros
Was always able to eat food, during break and lunch break
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work treat employees well
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON12 September 2017
Would recommend working here great pay and great people great shifts and caring and understanding managers. I was lucky to have been employed here as long a s I was
Pros
Benefits, wage, and the midnight shift
Cons
Some long nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no one retires
Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 September 2017
middle age drama from the management team, this is not a young persons place - too stuffy and not for the older crowd - no one lasts long enough to retire.
Pros
free parking
Cons
no one retires ...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Merchandising Business Solutions (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 September 2017
Nice people
Fair salary
Fun place to work
Good environment
Great training
Clean office area
Very attentive to safety in Warehouse
Friendly warehouse employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Sourcing and Supply Chain Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2017
Its a good company to work for with good work/life balance. Salary and benefits are market averages or under. Opportunity to grow is not prominent but management is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about production
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 August 2017
Great pay and benefits. No room for advancement, or ability to change shifts. Night shifts is primarily the only shift you can get when applying for the job.
Cons
Very hard to advance or change shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Big Blue Machine
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON12 August 2017
Largest food service provider in North America, expanding into Europe, Ireland, etc.

Provides all food service needs from open to close.

It was a great 15+ years, time for a change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goood comapny
Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 August 2017
stead job with good hours work start earl morimg with grat pay cheque good management team and transport boss are there when you need them close to home
Pros
good money
Cons
wake up earl
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Class 1 delivery driver (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL12 July 2017
i highly recommend that everyone stay away from sysco they will work you likes dogs and be noting only rude and ignorant to you and they take money out of your pay for lunch brakes and your not even allowed to tale your brakes but you still loose the money on your check.
Pros
no pros what so ever
Cons
all cons to many to name
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced environment
DAY WAREHOUSE SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2017
Is a fast paced environment which is updating itself. New programs and processes are being introduced on a regular basis and a person needs to adapt quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organisation to work for
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Sysco Toronto5 June 2017
Sysco is a well establish industry, that supplies food to a wide range of restaurants and other small businesses. I enjoy working as part of Sysco multicultural team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work!
Earned Income Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2017
I have enjoyed my five years of working at this company and would recommend it to anyone who is looking into getting into the food service/distribution industry.
Pros
Fitness Centre onsite
Cons
Outside of City
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad pay, good incentive, and good benefits
Inventory Control Associate (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL16 May 2017
Worked here for about 4 years, not a bad company to work for. They have competitive wages, excellent incentive program, and good benefits. Management can be a little tough at times but overall everyone is usually happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work culture, great people
Business Technology Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 May 2017
Excellent work culture. Great people. Direct managers were located in another city, so lacked support and communication.

IT decision makers were sometimes unavailable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No review
IT & Admin Support (Former Employee) –  Alberta5 May 2017
NO REVIEW GIVEN FOR THIS COMPANY. A typical day at work, what you learned, management, workplace culture, the hardest part of the job, the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment, abusive management
Driver Checkin/Credit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB4 April 2017
Terrible place to work, poison work environment. Back breaking work, terrible shifts, dangerous working conditions. Nobody cares about their job, no teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun place to work
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 March 2017
Nice and friendly work environment, chances to grow in the company, chances to work overtime and save money for investments or travelling. Also improves your work skills.
Pros
Free lunches and lots of overtime
Cons
Heavy standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 March 2017
Full support of Management to make on going and productive changes, Fantastic attitude towards staff, feel good factor for all staff and customers. Got the best out of their staff
Pros
Great Enviroment
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benifits
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 March 2017
Sysco has a good benifits plan, and I was able to work many hours. It's was a very physical job , so was able to stay in shape. Staff was very friendly and there was a team atmosphere
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Very physical
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SYSCO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,293 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2