Syncrude Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work envioment,safety
"B" Pressure Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABMarch 18, 2016
long hours of work,also free time to use rec.facility .able to use welding skills of different welding process ,call for more information.
Pros
good food
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 6, 2016
Gave me lots of great experience!! Would of definitely gone back if it wasn't so far from town. Lack of childcare for my toddler.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work to accomplish organisation objictives
Office assistant (Former Employee) –  NamdebDecember 30, 2015
I Work on various tasks and projects, anything from preparing meeting, assisting with . Constant communication flow, meetings, organizing events, calendar management, routing phone calls contacting team members for deliverable , running reports
Pros
team work and healthy enveironment
Cons
unpropriate working enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company never did me wrong
Planner / Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABDecember 10, 2015
Enjoyed my time with them and would return if there was a position. All courses I had requested were paid for by Syncrude. They certainly look within at their own people when looking to fill positions.
Pros
Career progression
Cons
Bus ride to site working M-F
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Syncrude
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABAugust 12, 2015
Got to meet a lot of people that have been working there for their entire workers.
I enjoyed working for them
They dedicate a lot of time and effort in the community and charities
Family oriented company
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average at best
Post 8 Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJuly 7, 2015
Work was easy, people were friendly, you could pretty much do your own thing, some managers were on a power trip.
biggest issue, they hired kids out of school that didn't have a clue about working in the real world, and the woman that got hired, 90% were useless.
Pros
never a hard day
Cons
50% of co workers had no work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment Layoff - end of project
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJune 30, 2015
I didn't work at this position long enough to fully review company, I am sure it is a great company to be employed at, but unfortunately my project was not one of long term.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I didnt leave.
Tailings Operations Heavy Equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABApril 29, 2015
One of the best companies that I have worked for. Team mates are more like family. I was treated very good here. Highly recommended employer.
Pros
6&6 shift
Cons
No camp option
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great spot
Turnaround Planner (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABApril 10, 2015
If you can handle living up there, give it a chance. I wish I never left. Great pension, benefits, perks and training. The safety culture at Syncrude is amazing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at
Rock Truck Driver - Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  forth mcmurray abFebruary 19, 2015
fast pace, lots to learn , great guys to work with.
can work with a variety of equipment.
take your time work at your pace
getting to know the site is hardest part
obey the golden rules
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,learned diffrent skills and zero tolerance policy for quality and safety.
Supervisor at baseline (Mining) (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABOctober 29, 2014
Inspect the quality of the rocks used or refining by using calipers and different chemicals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good learning environment with great team work
Payroll analyst (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 18, 2014
I enjoyed working there because the management is very reasonable and understanding. I was able to explore different areas of payroll including filling in for front desk duties and working with accountants closely to make sure our process runs smoothly. I loved being challenged when new situations are being presented. Also I didn't mind helping the other payroll analysts when the work load gets to be too much for that one person.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A+++
Journeyman Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJune 25, 2014
it was excellent good hours , enjoyed the camp, made a lot of $$$$.
Pros
get paid well and lots of work
Cons
away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun workplace with pool tables, ping pong tables, etc.
ID Attendant (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABMay 20, 2014
I enjoyed working for Syncrude. Not only because it was my first employment opportunity in Alberta, but for how fun they made it seem and how much I felt right at home.
The management really took care of their employees and made sure everything was running smoothly. The hardest part of the job is figuring out what else there was to do once we were finished our work for the day. I would always finish really early in my shift and go out and find other work to do in my station.
Pros
environmemt
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I commute 5hours to get to Fort McMurray then its a 40min commute from there I work 3 12hr days then 3 12hr nights.....
Chemical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Operations LabApril 29, 2014
I commute 5hours to get to Fort McMurray then its a 40min commute from there I work 3 12hr days then 3 12hr nights.....
Was this review helpful?YesNo10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my work and the people
Senior Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABApril 28, 2014
There was a variety of work so you were learning new things.
Most management was good but some policies were not
The job involved an hours travel each way but they did provide bussing.
Overall it was fulfilling work
Pros
good wages and benifits
Cons
upper management could have been better
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Syncrude as a Client was in most respects a great organisation to work with
Senior Safety Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 6, 2013
I worked for AMEC Americas Oil sands - not for Syncrude. Syncrude is our client. I cannot review SCL but I can say that my interaction with their staff in Calgary and at Fort Mcmurray have always been positive and largely enjoyable(always, in any large organization, with Client interaction, there will be good days and some a little more challenging - depending on the programme and where we are perceived to be ...)
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good Company, with excellent values
Tech Supervisor and retired (Former Employee) –  Ft. McMurraySeptember 10, 2013
A typical day was an early start and late finish as a Supervisor.
Learned many Management skills which assisted me in developing solid relationships.
Was treated fairly by Management over my term of employment.
Having to approach unsatisfactory performance.
Recognition for my efforts.
Pros
salary based on merit
Cons
too many levels of management to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
power engineer worked solely on fluid cokers and looking to expand knowledge in the field
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  fort mcmurrayAugust 21, 2013
over the past 4 years I have worked on 3 different fluid cokers within my current company. We work rotating 12 hour shifts on a 3 days and 3 night with 6 off schedule.

a typical day within my experience involves standard mechanical and safety rounds multiple times per day if not outside all day. I have taken care of fluid coker unit processes, such as heavy ends processing, sour gas processing, working with large compressors, air blowers, turbine and electric pumps, fractionators, boilers, exchangers, steam production, reactor and burner management, isolations, shutdowns, start ups and overseeing that all work is completed from paperwork down to cleanup of the posts.

i have learned to work quickly and efficiently while keeping all process circuits, troubleshooting techniques and hands-on job completion in a high tempo environment working mainly outdoors for 12 hour shifts all year long.

i find the hardest part of my job is continuously doing the same tasks repeatedly and I am looking to expand my experiences and knowledge within the field so as to keep me in an upward learning curve within the field.

the most enjoyable part of my job is working outdoors and not sitting at a desk all day.
Pros
high rate of pay and good benefits enabling me to provide for my aging parents
Cons
working in the same area all the time can get monotonous
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract position
Team Admin (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABAugust 14, 2013
Loved the people and the place, learned alot and got to see alot.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

Syncrude Reviews by Location