Symcor Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast and enjoyable work with the high tight deadlines
Associate 1 / Payment processing (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 August 2014
A day begins with thousands of payments invoices need to be process with the tight deadlines. I learned very valuable lessons such as how to handled the tight deadlines with the high volume, how to organize the work, how to communicate and handled if any issue comes, and learned about how to handled the clients work. Management is very friendly. The hardest part of the job is the deadlines for some companies payments has to process at the same time. The most enjoyable part of the job is very fast and time fly quickly and very friendly environment. My co- workers are very cool and friendly and i like them all.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved what i did...sad that i moved away
Statement Processing Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary Alberta20 July 2012
• Support the automated Statements area by performing insertion activities for all clients.
• Operation of Statement processing equipment for purposes of insertion of all applications for clients.
• Ensure service commitments are met on a consistent and timely basis with high degree of quality and accuracy.
• Ensures quality control measures and department goals are met and /or exceeded.
• Ensures optimal operation efficiencies are achieved by continuous process improvement.
• Organizes and prioritizes workload to meet service level commitments
• Display adaptability and innovation to change.
• Maximizes the benefits of technological advances
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High productive and learning environment
Clerk Processor (Former Employee) –  Macowan and Bellamy,Scarborough, Ontario15 November 2012
A typical day at work was to deal with so many cheques physically and in the computer system to screen them, to sort them and render them.Some of the international funds needed convertion and balancing which I was in charge of doing.

I learned speed and accuracy.

Merged bank upper management and very good supervisors to work with.

I had a very busy quiet co-workers.

The hardest part of the job was sorting and pre-screening the foreighn cheques.

The most enjoyable part of the job was helping other departments when we had lower volumes.
Pros
free food at all the celebrations.
Cons
big work load for three different big banks cofusing and chances to make errors
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Insertion Clerk /Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 November 2014
• Keyed transits, amounts, and verified dates.
• Checked encoding (numeric data entry) and balancing.
• Processed physical and electronic checks.
• Processed payments, verified rejected checks.
• Responsible for statement production and document management.
• Data Entry 18000 keystrokes, 27 wpm.
Pros
Nice work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with my colleaques, Team work is great, however, there is no opportunity to grow and develop.
Proof Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ont31 August 2015
I enjoyed working with my colleagues and I learned a lot from them. Team work is great. My Supervisor is very supportive. However, there is no opportunity to grow and develop
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work with recreation & team building, etc
Data Entry Operator (proof) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 February 2013
Run various reports, enter data in the system
Learned system and computer applications
Management is very supportive
Co-workers are very cooperative
Month-end need to work 2 to 3 days with overnights
We have recreation hall, subsidised lunches & breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 March 2014
- With minimal supervision and direction, my day would start off with instructions on what tasks need to be completed by the end of the day.
- I learned that, in this particular work environment, working with important and confidential data, it is okay to find shortcuts to get the job done, however, not all shortcuts are reliable. Sometimes taking the long route is the only way to get the job done perfectly.
- With very little change of plans and/or distractions, I was able to create an efficient system that worked for me and helped with the productivity for the day.
- My co-workers were very helpful with guiding me through the process. They gave me tips on the systems that they used to get the job done to ensure efficiency and accuracy.
- The hardest part of the job was only the physical aspect or it. Although being seated all day, the posture of the body (back, neck, shoulders, etc.) would cause straining in some areas along with minor headaches here and there.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was that I don't mind all the paperwork. While working at my own pace (which is quite fast), I had the chance to mingle with my co-workers to help pass the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy and comfortable job
Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 June 2015
Mail is sent from different banks such as Toronto dominion and Scotiabank. We take mail from banks and sort them into their categories and making sure stamp the right prices for each piece of mail.
Pros
Simple job
Cons
only part time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good work team
Account payable (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 June 2013
one day our payable department go out together to have lunch, we talked happily,like family, friends. Our manager is so kind, he told us how to work with each other and arrange the activities for the next week.
The hardest part of the job is to sit almost all day in the chair,except the lunch time. The most enjoyable part of this job is i can deal with what i interest and learned from school.
Pros
good environment
Cons
long sit
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun but also hard working environment
Data Preparation Clerk (Former Employee) –  calgary3 October 2014
I generally liked working here, i kept busy and everyone that worked here was nice and welcoming. The only thing i didn't enjoy about the job were the hours, i wanted a morning job and this was night shift.
Pros
little parties for employees all the time
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the financials would not allow salary increases for several years.
Document Control, Print Operator (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC5 May 2013
a dead end job.

they seem to like NON English speaking immigrants.
they had just built a new centre in Calgary but lost major
contracts so the laid-off over 70 people and shipped all of the
big machinery back to Toronto.
Pros
scheduled production work.
Cons
favorites do no work and do not complain about it...
Was this review helpful?Yes19No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All department / workers are easy going and co-operative
Print Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario19 November 2012
I had a very good time while I was employed there (IBM & Scotia Bank) , but it a business decision by head office that the Computer Operations department was outsourced to SYMCOR.
While working there it was very pleasant and enjoyment time
Pros
ttc access was a big plus; although i drove to work (free parking)
Cons
the driving distance
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance
Mail and Distribution Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 January 2015
Working here was a constant repetitiveness, they never really allowed any enhancement for growth, as well lacked the energy that was needed to drive for success.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The daily workflow was a challenge
Print Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario19 November 2012
I had a very good time while I was employed there , all team members were easily work with and very co-operative.
I learned other (statement) print than Bank statements itself and the interaction with other areas to ensure the SLA are met on a daily time frame.
Pros
the 12 hr rotation shift
Cons
the driving distance
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but lack of hours costs it.
Wholesale Lockbox Prep (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta8 May 2013
It's a very good place to work, if only there were more hours. Very nice atmosphere, very good people, just an overall lack of volume due to the changing nature of the job. Electronic submission cuts the need for many people
Pros
Good atmosphere, fun environment
Cons
Lack of hours and wages
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Payable Analyst
Account Payable Analyst (Current Employee) –  1 Robert Speck Parkways Mississauga26 July 2014
Recording Account Payable Invoices in EIRS IBM Lotus 8.5, Allocation expenses according to concern departments, Purchase order matching in Oracle, EFT and Checks processing and verifying the EFT/Checks statements with recorded Invoices
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bank and commecial statement processing.
SENIOR MANUAL INSERTION CLERK (Former Employee) –  1625 tech avenue mississauga2 October 2014
Rencode cheques into system to ensure bank is balanced
• locate and correct any bank error
• achievement: Top Performance Employee
• achievement: 5 out of 5 Manager Evaluation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and hocky table
Auto Insertion Operator (Current Employee) –  mississuga ontario13 July 2012
nothing
discipline,leadership,accurancy and responcibility
good enwirement,higly profile menegment
helpful ,coordinationand reliable
twelve hours job
when i complited good production
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization
Proof and Encoding Prep (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 March 2013
The job required you to have great interpersonal skills as well as organization skills. The job had required you to do some heavy lifting and data entry.
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
late hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun workplace, fast paced
Data Entry Operator/Cheque Processing (Former Employee) –  toronto, ON13 November 2012
the most enjoyable part of the job was being active for the entire shift.
worked independently.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 63 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6